BorneoAlliance
post Dec 7 2016, 08:25 AM

Russia is having a bad couple of weeks in Syria

Earlier this week, Russia lost yet another fighter jet off its aircraft carrier the Admiral Kuznetsov. That’s at least the second one since the carrier began it’s first-ever combat deployment in November. Satellite photos now suggest that Russia has entirely given up on using the carrier to launch strikes.

Another huge blow to Russia’s military credibility came on December 4, when footage tweeted by Rami al-Lolah showed what appeared to be Russia’s vaunted S-300 missile defense system catastrophically malfunction in Syria.

The S-300, in addition to the previously deployed S-400, were thought by experts to provide Russia with an almost impenetrable air defense zone within Syria and the Mediterranean. Even President Obama admitted that Russia’s air defenses considerably limit the US’s options in Syria.

Business insider
BorneoAlliance
post Dec 7 2016, 08:30 AM

ANIMATED MAP: MILITARY SITUATION IN SYRIA’S ALEPPO CITY NOV.17, 2016 – DEC.5, 216

SouthFront Analysis and Intelligence
TechSuper
post Dec 7 2016, 09:09 AM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Dec 7 2016, 01:42 AM)
Still there
your browser lah something brows.gif

I didn't know we put Damocles pod on our Su30
Seems all the more reason to go Rafale for commonality now
we've had the damocles for quite sometimes already.
but yeah, it's quite a surprise RMAF managed to combine both. it's either our engineers somehow managed to break the source code or both US and Russkies gave us their source codes. Not many countries managed to combine US arms and Russian plane or US planes with Russian arms, with exception of Iran of course.
Even PTU also told press that he said too much already brows.gif brows.gif
waja2000
post Dec 7 2016, 09:48 AM

137 posts

Still there

if we get Rafale can use Damocles pod also.
anyway Damocles pod many military analysis said it is not very good pod due to scan area are only 320x320, other figther jet manufacture reconn pod may may have 640 or 800 scan area. also Damocles NG (new Generation) pod currently in develop & testing by Thales and estimated ready in 2018, Damocles NG will have 1024 scan area.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Dec 7 2016, 09:52 AM
pcboss00
post Dec 7 2016, 09:57 AM

177 posts

if not mistaken we got 3 types of targeting pod
waja2000
post Dec 7 2016, 10:14 AM

137 posts

SUSGregyong
post Dec 7 2016, 10:35 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Dec 7 2016, 08:36 AM)
launcher fail  sad.gif
I mean, they wouldn't have a reason to launch those missiles in the first place, maybe overheat due to desert launch causing self ignition? biggrin.gif
azriel
post Dec 7 2016, 12:27 PM

Still there

Marhalim deleted his post article. No longer there.

Yes unfortunately I had to kill it, nothing wrong with it but as I had pointed out some got concerns about it. That’s why I hate writing about operational issues, even if I am right about it, if some got concerns about it I will be wrong..

http://www.malaysiandefence.com/gempita-on-the-roll/

TechSuper
post Dec 7 2016, 12:41 PM

QUOTE(Dreadstar @ Dec 7 2016, 12:38 PM)
nope. article part of paveway no more.  doesnt mention about american bomb. just laser guide bomb.

banyak hisap weed lah that marhalim.
he edited oredi.. even part of PTU saying he told too much oso has been removed. shud've screen shot it yesterday
DDG_Ross
post Dec 7 2016, 12:52 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(TechSuper @ Dec 7 2016, 12:41 PM)
he edited oredi.. even part of PTU saying he told too much oso has been removed. shud've screen shot it yesterday
yup the even the title on fb newsfeed b4 it got edited tells way2 too much laugh.gif

SUSKLboy92
post Dec 7 2016, 01:13 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Dec 7 2016, 09:48 AM)
if we get Rafale can use Damocles pod also.
anyway Damocles pod many military analysis said it is not very good pod due to scan area are only 320x320, other figther jet manufacture reconn pod may may have 640 or 800 scan area.  also Damocles NG (new Generation) pod currently in develop & testing by Thales and estimated ready in 2018, Damocles NG will have 1024 scan area.
Yes thats why I'm not terribly thrilled
The Typhoon pod is said to be better (I think its RAPTOR?)

QUOTE(azriel @ Dec 7 2016, 12:27 PM)
Marhalim deleted his post article. No longer there.
http://www.malaysiandefence.com/gempita-on-the-roll/
I think he edited it and put it back up by the time I rechecked

The part about using Damocles to drop Paveway is gone

Either
1) we really did and its top secret or
2) we dropped a Russian LGB not Paveway or
3) we dropped Paveway but didn't use Damocles

Hmmmmmm
waja2000
post Dec 7 2016, 03:16 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Dec 7 2016, 01:13 PM)
Yes thats why I'm not terribly thrilled
The Typhoon pod is said to be better (I think its RAPTOR?)
I think he edited it and put it back up by the time I rechecked

The part about using Damocles to drop Paveway is gone

Either
1) we really did and its top secret or
2) we dropped a Russian LGB not Paveway or
3) we dropped Paveway but didn't use Damocles

Hmmmmmm
if not wrong Typhoon use LITENING pod,new one LITENING pod have 640x480 resolution. but it make by Rafael Corporation/Northrop Grumman (We can use on F18?)

This post has been edited by waja2000: Dec 7 2016, 03:22 PM
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 7 2016, 03:22 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Dec 7 2016, 03:16 PM)
if not wrong Typhoon use LITENING pod,new one LITENING pod have 640x480 resolution. but it make by Rafael Corporation/Northrop Grumman (we can use?)
seems Malaysia defense already delete artical on Mkm Paveway ?
Yeah that's the one
Impossible to use lar then rolleyes.gif
sigh.... Damocles NG it is.

In the comments MA insists he heard Paveway not LGB brows.gif and he deleted it because he was warned of "operational concerns" brows.gif

Someone also pointed out we have KAB-500L already though.
TechSuper
post Dec 7 2016, 03:46 PM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Dec 7 2016, 03:22 PM)
Yeah that's the one
Impossible to use lar then rolleyes.gif
sigh.... Damocles NG it is.

In the comments MA insists he heard Paveway not LGB brows.gif and he deleted it because he was warned of "operational concerns" brows.gif

Someone also pointed out we have KAB-500L already though.
Paveway IS LGB. it's sort of a trademark any way

patt_sue
post Dec 7 2016, 04:41 PM

867 posts

the next generation pod, thales talios right now is being tested on rafale
BorneoAlliance
post Dec 7 2016, 06:32 PM

Russian Tankmen to Spot Enemy 10 Km Away With New High-Tech Drone

The new generation of UAVs capable of flying up dozens of meters in the air will allow Russian tanks to scan areas almost 10 kilometers away.

The Zavod Electromash plant in the Russian city of Nizhny Novgorod has created a unique stealth robotic system capable of detecting unmanned aerial vehicles, Zavod Electromash spokesman Valery Pyatkin told Sputnik

The Pterodaktyls, attached via cable to Russia’s advanced Armata T-14 tanks, will carry thermal night vision gear and radar and will considerably increase the distance at which the tank crews can spot targets.

“Tank operators are unable to see far away and improving their visibility is something our engineers have always tried to do. Conventional drones don’t fit the bill because they need to be steered. The new ones are attached to the tank via a cable power and video information goes through and are more efficient,” said Nikolai Kim, who is a professor at Moscow’s Aviation Institute.

“Each time the tank crew needs additional information, like, for example, when surrounded by the enemy, they send the drone aloft and then to bring it back,” Kim explained, adding that the Pterodaktyls can have peaceful applications as well.

“Tethered drones can be deployed at stationary positions where they can spend hours protecting areas where observation towers are hard or impossible to build.”

Nikolai Kim said that a new generation of self-contained UAV’s capable making their own decisions, were now being developed in Russia.

“In another first, we are going to have several drones working in sync ensuring observation from different angles, diverting, attacking and acting like human beings,” Nikolai Kim said.

Sputniknews
pcboss00
post Dec 7 2016, 08:56 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Dec 7 2016, 03:16 PM)
if not wrong Typhoon use LITENING pod,new one LITENING pod have 640x480 resolution. but it make by Rafael Corporation/Northrop Grumman (We can use on F18?)
Kuwait will use sniper pod on their euro fighter. Our f-18 already got ATFLIR.
KYPMbangi
post Dec 7 2016, 09:05 PM

39 posts

US F/A-18 Hornet fighter jet crashes in southwestern Japan

A US F F/A-18 Hornet military jet has crashed in Japan, NHK reported, citing the country’s Defense Ministry.

It was stationed at the Iwakuni base in the Yamaguchi prefecture.

The plane crashed around 6:00pm local time in the Kochi Prefecture, the report said, adding that the pilot survived.

The US Marine Corps’ Iwakuni Air Station hosts around 5,000 American troops and is used for Marine pilot training and to conduct air patrols with F/A-18 Hornets.

[sos]
MilitaryMadness
post Dec 8 2016, 09:16 AM

1,302 posts

Fat & Fluffy
post Dec 8 2016, 10:11 PM

397 posts

Gempita, Adnan and KIFV Drive-past

Malaysian Army armored vehicles Gempita, Adnan and KIFVs from 4th Brigade (Mechanized) at the farewell parade for retiring Lt. Gen. Shahrani Sany at Batu 10 Camp, Kuantan, Pahang on Dec. 1. 2016.

Kenderaan Gempita, Adnan and KIFV dari 4 Brigade Mekanis di perbarisan perpisahan Lt. Jen. Shahrani Sani di Kem Batu 10, Kuantan, Pahang, Dis 1. 2016.

105 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0307sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:13 AM