14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Hankook Ventus V12 evo2, anyone tried this tyre before?

andrekua2
post Jun 21 2019, 01:26 PM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(iymm @ Jun 20 2019, 02:48 AM)
Test every pressure yourself  (first pump to 40 psi then test if too bumpy then release 1 or 2 psi and then test again), you'll know when you find out the best tyre pressure (for your car).
For the grip in theory is lower psi better, but more risk of blowing the tire if pressure too low....
Im not using v12 but I pump my front tire cold pressure to 38psi, mine tire size is 205/55/R15 thumbsup.gif
Wait a minute, after doing some internet browsing, I just realized that V12 evo2 don't has 215/55/R16 size.... I'm very sad now cry.gif

Questions below not important anymore, because I don't have other choice sad.gif

Hi all sifu2, today i went to a TOYO tyre shop looking for 215/55/R16 tyre, when I ask about Hankook V12 he told me this tyre very expensive so no one sell it... is it true?? Compare to Toyo T1R, CF2 and NE03.

Thank you
I really wonder how you guys pump >35 psi and be fine with it. I mean even at 33PSI, I can feel its a bit too bumpy for my liking. I usually left mine at 32PSI (regardless of size, 195/55/15, 205/45/17, 215/55/17) and it feel just nice. I know many tyre shop will pump more hence thats why I will visit petrol station to find air pump after changing tyre. There was once the stupid technician at Honda who pumped my mom CRV with 40PSI. Fuck, it was literally like riding a horse when going over yellow lines.
Jonsnow68
post Jun 21 2019, 01:51 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jun 21 2019, 11:11 AM)
always start with the baseline set by manufacturer recommendation, after all, they spent many millions on every aspect of the car engineering, so assume they know best when coming out with this set of tyre pressure numbers.

After that you try +/- the pressure to your taste. Personally, i pump close to the maximum recommended pressure range (full load). Got a very little bit of extra fuel economy on higher pressures.
The baseline set manufacturer was for 14 inch. I upsized to 15 inch now that's why a little confused haha.

Wouldn't the ride be harder and less grippy if you pump to the max recommended pressure range?
Jonsnow68
post Jun 21 2019, 01:52 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jun 21 2019, 01:26 PM)
I really wonder how you guys pump >35 psi and be fine with it. I mean even at 33PSI, I can feel its a bit too bumpy for my liking. I usually left mine at 32PSI (regardless of size, 195/55/15, 205/45/17, 215/55/17) and it feel just nice. I know many tyre shop will pump more hence thats why I will visit petrol station to find air pump after changing tyre. There was once the stupid technician at Honda who pumped my mom CRV with 40PSI. Fuck, it was literally like riding a horse when going over yellow lines.
Same!! I tried 34/33 and I didn't like it. I moved back to 32psi haha.
Jonsnow68
post Jun 21 2019, 01:53 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(gacktleong @ Jun 21 2019, 11:12 AM)
Now still able to find PS3?
Yes. Ps3 still in production for 15 inch size.
gacktleong
post Jun 21 2019, 02:39 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(Jonsnow68 @ Jun 21 2019, 01:53 PM)
Ah my looking for 18.

Else will settle with evo2
kurty
post Jun 21 2019, 02:51 PM

224 posts

i see a lot of people commenting about this tire, saying the walls are soft.

may i know what significant role does this attribute to?
what about hard walls?

looks like i might be changing to this tire pretty soon.
currently, using re003
wkc5657
post Jun 21 2019, 02:51 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(Jonsnow68 @ Jun 21 2019, 01:51 PM)
The baseline set manufacturer was for 14 inch. I upsized to 15 inch now that's why a little confused haha.

Wouldn't the ride be harder and less grippy if you pump to the max recommended pressure range?
Usually when upsize, the recommended air pressure drops abit, but again, the car owner/driver needs to eperiment.

Just my preference for that, but i'm clear that once past the maximum recommended pressure, the car is really thrashy. When go to the lower end of the recommended range, my wife says the car a bit "loose". She lagi hebat....
leehernandez
post Jun 21 2019, 03:57 PM

QUOTE(iymm @ Jun 20 2019, 02:48 AM)
Test every pressure yourself  (first pump to 40 psi then test if too bumpy then release 1 or 2 psi and then test again), you'll know when you find out the best tyre pressure (for your car).
For the grip in theory is lower psi better, but more risk of blowing the tire if pressure too low....
Im not using v12 but I pump my front tire cold pressure to 38psi, mine tire size is 205/55/R15 thumbsup.gif
Wait a minute, after doing some internet browsing, I just realized that V12 evo2 don't has 215/55/R16 size.... I'm very sad now cry.gif

Questions below not important anymore, because I don't have other choice sad.gif

Hi all sifu2, today i went to a TOYO tyre shop looking for 215/55/R16 tyre, when I ask about Hankook V12 he told me this tyre very expensive so no one sell it... is it true?? Compare to Toyo T1R, CF2 and NE03.

Thank you
yeah 215 55 16 is rare abit. hard to find tyres.
usually can find achiles/michelin primacy 4 and continental mc5 about rm rm 380-390+-
6UE5T
post Jun 21 2019, 04:40 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kurty @ Jun 21 2019, 02:51 PM)
i see a lot of people commenting about this tire, saying the walls are soft.

may i know what significant role does this attribute to?
what about hard walls?

looks like i might be changing to this tire pretty soon.
currently, using re003
Softer sidewall means more comfortable at the expense of sharper handling, vice versa for harder sidewall.
6UE5T
post Jun 21 2019, 04:48 PM

1,704 posts

Yeah normally 35 is my limit. My car use 35/34. For lighter car like my son's Swift, we only use 32/30.
gacktleong
post Jun 21 2019, 06:44 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(Jonsnow68 @ Jun 21 2019, 01:53 PM)
Ah my looking for 18.

Else will settle with evo2
iymm
post Jun 21 2019, 06:44 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jun 21 2019, 07:57 AM)
V12E2 is better than T1R, not sure if compared to TR1 coz it's still very new but in general Toyo tires are overrated!
That remind me when NanoEnergy 3 first launched...then it become god tier eco class tyre lol.

That's why need to test your own to find out which suit better for your style, too much factors can effect the feeling.
Actually I'm not a person who intent to pump the pressure to 40PSI, but it's the pump at petrol station malfunction then pump in too much pressure than the target I set (33PSI).
But what surprised me is 40PSI better than 33PSI lol (on my car of course).

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jun 21 2019, 03:57 PM)
yeah 215 55 16 is rare abit. hard to find tyres.
usually can find achiles/michelin primacy 4 and continental mc5 about rm rm 380-390+-
Yep rare special size, only those expensive tyre come in this size.....
Does MC5 still in production? I know that MC6 don't has this size.

Hmmm out of topic I better stop discuss other tyres in v12 thread....

Thank you all sifu~
leehernandez
post Jun 21 2019, 07:15 PM

QUOTE(iymm @ Jun 21 2019, 06:44 PM)
That remind me when NanoEnergy 3 first launched...then it become god tier eco class tyre lol.
That's why need to test your own to find out which suit better for your style, too much factors can effect the feeling.
Actually I'm not a person who intent to pump the pressure to 40PSI, but it's the pump at petrol station malfunction then pump in too much pressure than the target I set (33PSI).
But what surprised me is 40PSI better than 33PSI lol (on my car of course).
Yep rare special size, only those expensive tyre come in this size.....
Does MC5 still in production? I know that MC6 don't has this size.

Hmmm out of topic I better stop discuss other tyres in v12 thread....

Thank you all sifu~
mc5 stil have.so far havt seen mc6 in market for this size.now is cheaper already.i remember mc5 was rm 400+..now maybe rm 370+-
OKLY
post Jun 22 2019, 09:54 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Noticed this damage when pumping air for my tires, will the tire need to be replaced? hmm.gif

jimmyteng18
post Jun 22 2019, 12:46 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jun 18 2019, 04:16 PM)
You can increase 1 or 2 more psi to give it a try, but v12evo2 inherently has soft side walls, no additional sidewall reinforcement. Maybe that's why price so damn good.

Go for falken fk510 on your next change which is a very slight premium (for now) japan made tyres against the v12evo2 but with reinforced sidewalls.
Today,managed to increase the V12EVO2 pressure from 35 to 36psi. Feels better ride and handling.

I was quoted the Falken fk510 rm430 per pc for 215/45/R17 and out of my budget. Next change will consider.

hafiez
post Jun 22 2019, 12:49 PM

2,980 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jun 22 2019, 09:54 AM)
Noticed this damage when pumping air for my tires, will the tire need to be replaced? hmm.gif

does the cut deep?

been driving with that condition in months no problem plus I had two cuts location, it is PS4

just as precaution, I just get it replaced with used tyre but in good condition
Quazacolt
post Jun 22 2019, 01:00 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jun 22 2019, 09:54 AM)

If totally not leaking, I would continue use.
kurty
post Jun 24 2019, 11:47 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jun 21 2019, 04:40 PM)
Softer sidewall means more comfortable at the expense of sharper handling, vice versa for harder sidewall.
how do we know the tyre is softer or harder sidewall?

will there be any indicator on the tyre?
Failed JJ
post Jun 24 2019, 01:53 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(kurty @ Jun 24 2019, 11:47 AM)

Usually high-performance tyre will have stiffer sidewall for better handling and less roll

I think these usually have a Z in the size. Eg (225/45/ZR17 on my friend's Michelin PS4), that indicate the tyres are rated to handle speeds above 240km/h
wkc5657
post Jun 24 2019, 02:05 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Jun 22 2019, 12:46 PM)
I was quoted the Falken fk510 rm430 per pc for 215/45/R17 and out of my budget. Next change will consider.
Orang lain sell cheaper :
https://www.mudah.my/225+45+17+FALKEN+AZENI...RU-75117345.htm

QUOTE(kurty @ Jun 24 2019, 11:47 AM)

No indicator, either ;
1) ask around tyre forums, some sifus will tell you whether reinforced or not.
2) totally unscietific, but go tekan the tyre tongue.gif

14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:06 AM