APPLE PAY IN MALAYSIA, Official arrives in Malaysia! Aug 2022!

megustatu
post Aug 15 2022, 09:20 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(armin3d @ Aug 15 2022, 08:53 PM)
Padini in Pavillion just said no virtual card in iPhone or watch, only physical card. where do we track of black listed merchants other than eating 1 star in google map?
Get another Google Sheet and let those volunteers put in, I guess? (eg: Shops/retailers/merchants that (*purposely*) DO NOT accept Apple Pay)
liberty0480
post Aug 15 2022, 09:28 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Aug 15 2022, 08:46 PM)
hmmmm i think something else might be factor here…

the fees that Apple charges for Apple Pay is deducted from the bank’s share of the MDR cost that the merchant already paid - so to merchant’s perspective, the MDR cost will be the same as physical contactless. this is how it works worldwide already (also Maybank already on record stating MDR fees they charge to merchants is same as physical contactless)

what i think might be influencing this is how the terminal is setup. it’s possible that PBB terminal runs the transaction through a different card networks - ie. it will try myDebit first, then only Visa/Mastercard. so physical cards which have support local myDebit network can end up getting lower MDR fees than Apple Pay which must run through the foreign Visa/Mastercard network (which causes higher fees)

also PBB might have different MDR rates for different banks so that might be why the Alliance card have a lower cost than the Maybank ones
Further to what @KaiHD has mentioned, in Australia, merchants are LEGALLY ALLOWED to pass card payment-related charges (MDR, terminal rental etc) to consumers if they choose to (normally between 1.0%-2.0%).

Locally in Australia, there is a locally operated Card Network like MyDebit called "eftpos". Generally, there are 3 types of merchants that I have met:
1. Don't charge surcharge at all (typically larger companies who can stomach the fees).
2. Discriminate between Visa/MC and eftpos, with the latter not being charged a fee (like Aldi and some restaurants).
3. Charge surcharge when you use *whichever* card for payment.

Initially when Apple Pay launched in Australia many years back, only Visa/MC/AmEx is supported. eftpos was a relatively new addition to Apple Pay (Google: "Apple Pay Australia eftpos support").

Since the merchant can legally pass card charges to consumers so long that they indicate upfront, consumers can choose which payment method to use (Cash, eftpos or Visa/MC).

Hopefully one day MyDebit would be supported in Apple Pay; could be a very long shot. However the good news is that PayNet (operator of MyDebit) has gotten approval for Token Service Provider from the EMVCo.

*It surprised me that Aussies don't mind the 1-2% charge for convenience even if the merchant offer 0% charge for eftpos. All it takes is for the user to pick eftpos and reauthenticate with Face ID*

jdachum
post Aug 15 2022, 09:41 PM

311 posts

Guys, is it normal for Apple Pay to not show the amount transacted? The Total shown is blank and status pending.

One is in Ichiban Boshi Publika, the other in Village Roast Duck in Gardens.
adrive
post Aug 15 2022, 09:47 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(GiganticBird @ Aug 15 2022, 06:17 PM)
haha if i hv AW i wont even bother to think of using phone to pay, AW is like the ultimate convenience to make a payment  biggrin.gif
yes i get u, cashback is one thing

just saying its just pathetic n laughable seeing people actually panic or fuss over minor n temporary issue like this lmao

as if AP is the only way to make payment, would rather choose to make a fuss like an entitled brat but wont simply take out card or cash to settle it first, crazy ppl
Well, yeah use aw to pay but viewing transaction history is too small on aw so it would be nice to be able to see a combined list in the phone
tzxsean
post Aug 15 2022, 09:50 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(adrive @ Aug 15 2022, 09:47 PM)
Well, yeah use aw to pay but viewing transaction history is too small on aw so it would be nice to be able to see a combined list in the phone
Check on watch app on iphone la bro
johnm
post Aug 15 2022, 10:49 PM

386 posts

today .. during exit parking wallet app blank relaunched a few times still blank (black screen no card visible)
fortunately since end of day reversed back into space. shut down and restarted the phone then all good again.
not pleasant at all. imagine at the exit and few cars behind ...
anyone else similar experience?
MB master card. first time this issue since started using AP
ericlaiys
post Aug 15 2022, 10:54 PM

7,576 posts

QUOTE(johnm @ Aug 15 2022, 10:49 PM)
today .. during exit parking wallet app blank relaunched a few times still blank (black screen no card visible)
fortunately since end of day reversed back into space. shut down and restarted the phone then all good again.
not pleasant at all. imagine at the exit and few cars behind ...
anyone else similar experience?
MB master card. first time this issue since started using AP
To be safe, i will avoid use for parking payment. If any issue, dunno who going to help.
tifosi
post Aug 16 2022, 02:33 AM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,156 posts

QUOTE(armin3d @ Aug 15 2022, 08:53 PM)
Padini in Pavillion just said no virtual card in iPhone or watch, only physical card. where do we track of black listed merchants other than eating 1 star in google map?
You can write a review here and give a 1 star rating.
GiganticBird
post Aug 16 2022, 10:09 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(liberty0480 @ Aug 15 2022, 09:11 PM)
Before discussing on the MDR charges on Apple Pay (charge amount and on who is liable), we should first understand how the card payment processing flow works during settlement:

Issuer Bank -----1----> Card Network -----2----> Acquiring Bank / Payment Service Provider -----3----> Merchant

Issuer Bank: The bank who issues the Credit / Debit Card used for payment (if I used a X Bank Credit Card to buy my coffee, the Issuer Bank for the transaction would be X Bank); Yes, the issuer bank gets paid whenever you use your card for providing the card facility in the first place. However when fraud occurs, the issuer bank may be the one who return the disputed funds out-of-pocket.
Card Network: Visa / Mastercard/ AmEx / MyDebit / etc.
Acquiring Bank / PSP: The financial institution used by the merchant to process card payments on their behalf (if the merchant contracted Y Bank to process their payments, Y Bank is most likely the one who provides the Card Terminal to them and Y Bank's info would be printed on the receipt)

*All MDR and fee percentages below are rough approximations for calculation purposes only; it is not meant to be relied on, only to make an example*
Settlement Part 1
When settlement occurs, the Issuer Bank would first deduct the Interchange fee (set by card networks typically) and pay the remaining to the Card Network.

Issuer Bank Keeps: RM100.00 * (0.5%) = RM0.50
Issuer Bank Pays: RM100.00 - RM0.50 = RM99.50

Settlement Part 2
Card Network takes a cut of the transaction as their fee (association fee etc.) and pass the remaining to the Acquiring Bank.

Card Network Keeps: RM99.50 * (0.1%) = RM0.10
Card Network Pays: RM99.50 - RM0.10 = RM99.40

Settlement Part 3
Acquiring Bank takes a cut on the mark-up for providing a service and pass it to the merchant.

Most acquiring banks quote an "all-in" Merchant Discount Rate (MDR) to the merchants and this is the only "public facing" fee. The difference between what the Acquiring Bank Receives and Pays would be the Acquiring Bank's mark-up for providing the service.

All-in MDR: RM100 * (2.0%) = RM2.00
Acquiring Bank Receives: RM99.40
Acquiring Bank Pays & Merchant Receives : RM100.00 - RM2.00 = RM98.00
Acquiring Bank Keeps: RM99.40 - RM98.00 = RM1.40
SUPPOSEDLY the issuer banks are the one who has to fork out the 0.15% (reportedly) to be paid to Apple, the idea is that payments made through Apple Pay are safer and less prone to fraud and Apple gets a cut for making that possible. This is recently in the centre of a court case in the US because some banks disagree with the amount to be paid to Apple for using Apple Pay.

In addition, with card payments, whether with a physical card or Apple Pay, it would still get charged with the same MDR by the Acquiring Bank / PSP since they are still a Visa / Mastercard transaction. If anything, participating FIs reportedly has to agree that they would absorb the fee and not push it to consumers or merchants. And this is very much reflected on Maybank's FAQ and other banks' policies.

Therefore, if the Apple Pay fees are paid by the merchants, issuer banks would not be suing isn't it?

On the experiment done by @asellus, we can see that "Apple Pay + Maybank MAE" and "Alliance Bank Visa CC + Paywave" has similar fee whereas "Maybank MAE card with Paywave" has a much lower fee. This could be because physical MAE Card payment is made through the MyDebit network where else the other 2 is processed through Visa / MC (Google: "[Card Network Name] Interchange Fee Malaysia"; Credit and Debit cards has different fees).

Therefore, I hope this explains or convinces some of you that Merchants would not be charged extra transaction-related costs for accepting Apple Pay payments. However some merchants might need to upgrade to a contactless-enabled terminal etc. which will incur costs. With that said, some merchants may not want to enable contactless payments at all for strategic reasons (Google: "Walmart Apple Pay").

Finally, I wish everyone a guilt-free and smooth experience on using Apple Pay. To say that the amount of convenience of having Apple Pay has changed my life in the past few years would be an understatement and I am just glad that I could enjoy the same convenience now even in Malaysia.

TLDR: Merchants do not pay more transaction fee to accept Apple Pay. However other upfront fees may apply (change of card terminal). Merchants may not want to accept Apple Pay for other reasons as well.

*Everything is a gross simplification, please do not rely on this post, it is meant to give a very high-level understanding*
*when lowyat whale/sifu surfaces*

one of the long ass post that i am willing to read to the end, thanks for the effort of sharing ur knowledge in such a way

so now i can be guilt free when using AP at small merchants and can kind of blame them(lol) for mainly the reason of simply not willing to spend the ‘one off’ investment to change/upgrade the terminal, be it thr might be other reasons.
tifosi
post Aug 16 2022, 02:11 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,156 posts

QUOTE(GiganticBird @ Aug 16 2022, 10:09 AM)
*when lowyat whale/sifu surfaces*

one of the long ass post that i am willing to read to the end, thanks for the effort of sharing ur knowledge in such a way

so now i can be guilt free when using AP at small merchants and can kind of blame them(lol) for mainly the reason of simply not willing to spend the ‘one off’ investment to change/upgrade the terminal, be it thr might be other reasons.
I think most merchant that accept credit card already has the capability to accept paywave (which means is able to accept AP with no issues). For the past few years probably I only encountered 1 or 2 places that doesn't have paywave but need to slot in the card to transact.
EpsilonStar
post Aug 16 2022, 02:19 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Aug 15 2022, 06:22 PM)
I have SC and Maybank and AMBANK which already registered with AP. I find no reason to use them since it doesn't give me any cashback benefit. In the end, priority is cashback first.
Wait just want to clarify. The SC cc you have doesn't have cashback or using it with Apple pay does not get cashback?
I want to know so i don't buta buta go apply cashback cc but can't get cashback from apple pay...
Gentleman_League
post Aug 16 2022, 02:45 PM

240 posts

Been using AP with maybank debit so fat loving it, just double tap my home button from my iphone8plus and good to go. Just hassle that when u wanna pay just tell the cashier by card, if u said apply pay they confirm said dont have LOL
loonsave
post Aug 16 2022, 03:04 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Aug 16 2022, 02:19 PM)
Wait just want to clarify. The SC cc you have doesn't have cashback or using it with Apple pay does not get cashback?
I want to know so i don't buta buta go apply cashback cc but can't get cashback from apple pay...
If your CC come with cashback by using paywave, it does the same when you using Apple Pay.
Icehart
post Aug 16 2022, 03:50 PM

14,899 posts

Today went to dine in a restaurant. Got mistake in billing and ended up with void sale for first transaction.
Surprisingly it got reflected in Apple Pay as "refunded" instantly after void sale.

ejump82
post Aug 16 2022, 03:53 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Aug 16 2022, 03:50 PM)
Today went to dine in a restaurant. Got mistake in billing and ended up with void sale for first transaction.
Surprisingly it got reflected in Apple Pay as "refunded" instantly after void sale.

same like samsung pay will display refunded as well if voided. basically, i like using apple/samsung pay because if refunded will display like that without waiting for bank statement.

duckcom9 P
post Aug 16 2022, 04:24 PM

Probation
13 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ Aug 15 2022, 08:27 AM)
Just as I predicted, some retailers started to block Apple Pay. The reason is pretty  much predictable.

My tests on the same PBB terminal:-

Apple Pay + Maybank MAE: I pay RM10.00, merchant account recorded RM9.82
Same Maybank MAE card with Paywave: Pay RM10. Get RM9.94
Alliance Bank Visa CC + Paywave: Pay RM10. Get RM9.86.
test my UOB terminal
Apple pay with Maybank credit card pay RM8.00, Get RM7.92
maybank Credit card pay RM8.00 , Get RM7.90
maybank Debit card pay RM8.00, Get RM7.96
tadashi987
post Aug 16 2022, 04:27 PM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Aug 16 2022, 03:50 PM)

chuan chiew BKT nicer than You Kee/Ah Bing BKT? tongue.gif
Icehart
post Aug 16 2022, 04:32 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Aug 16 2022, 04:27 PM)
chuan chiew BKT nicer than You Kee/Ah Bing BKT?  tongue.gif
Not bad lah boleh tahan
BuKeYi
post Aug 16 2022, 04:58 PM

Dame Dame
909 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Aug 15 2022, 12:37 PM)
Why the hell would the bank call the shop instead of the owner of the credit card? That's the SOP of the bank, call the owner to verify the transaction. Swipe and immediately the bank call the shop? I've never heard a bank that efficient, and CIMB is the shittiest bank around. The person might already left the store. I smell bullshit in your story.
I experienced it before, went to Poh Kong. Purchased more than 8k, the bank call the merchant to verify, and then call me to verify again. Forgot is HLB or CTB btw.
youngwolf2k
post Aug 16 2022, 05:00 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Aug 16 2022, 04:27 PM)
chuan chiew BKT nicer than You Kee/Ah Bing BKT?  tongue.gif
Perhaps its the only one among the three that accepts Apple Pay currently hahahahaha

0.0189sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:49 PM