post Feb 22 2017, 09:58 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Feb 22 2017, 07:51 AM)
when i was at japan last december
i work a T-shirt and winter jacket
i was expecting around sub 10c but not until 3-4c
so i was shivering the whole week laugh.gif
not that i dnt have enough cloth on but i missed out gloves and scarf....my fingers literally hurt
True biggrin.gif I can tahan single digit degree cold with just fleece tees + thin rain coat, but my hand cant laugh.gif also my head ( shaved ) tongue.gif
kehadapan
post Feb 22 2017, 10:40 AM

488 posts

QUOTE(joefacker @ Feb 21 2017, 01:42 PM)
Guys, going to Japan for 14 days, following a friend. I left it to him to plan everything. So it's 4 days Tokyo, 2 Hakone, 4 Kyoto, 1 Nara and 3 Osaka.

Question is, friend advised to buy 7 day JR Pass which I think is quite exorbitant considering that it will be mostly used to travel between these locations. In town travel using metro and busses will not be covered by JR Pass if I'm not mistaken. Is the JR Pass then worth to buy or I can save from buying at the ticketing counters itself?
if i am your friend, i will suggest to use this pass instead

Tokyo - no need pass, unless u are super stingy, use metro pass http://www.tokyometro.jp/en/ticket/value/travel/index.html
bear in mind that u only can use this on tokyo metro only

usually for tokyo no need pass, just use Suica/Pasmo

Hakone - Hakone Free Pass

Kyoto - Hankyu Pass 2 days, the rest of 2 days u can use Bus Pass

Osaka - Osaka Amazing Pass 2 days, 1 day left just use Suica/Pasmo

or Kyoto/Osaka/Nara combined - Kintetsu Rail Pass or Kansai Thru Pass
but this pass kinda limited on days since u gonna spend most of days on this area

transportation from Tokyo to Osaka/Kyoto and vice versa - Willer Bus or budget airlines like Peach Airlines etc

This post has been edited by kehadapan: Feb 22 2017, 10:41 AM
MR_alien
post Feb 22 2017, 10:44 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Feb 22 2017, 09:58 AM)
True  biggrin.gif  I can tahan single digit degree cold with just fleece tees + thin rain coat, but my hand cant  laugh.gif  also my head ( shaved )  tongue.gif
its not the temperature
its the wind
as long as you're well protected from the wind, anyone should be fine
i saw most ppl put their hand into their jacket's side pocket...it helps a little only laugh.gif
joefacker
post Feb 22 2017, 10:59 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Feb 22 2017, 09:45 AM)
Is your return flight in Tokyo as well? If not then its not worth it at all.
We'll be flying out of Osaka...so totally not worth it right, the JR pass?
joefacker
post Feb 22 2017, 11:00 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(kehadapan @ Feb 22 2017, 10:40 AM)

Tokyo - no need pass, unless u are super stingy, use metro pass http://www.tokyometro.jp/en/ticket/value/travel/index.html

but this pass kinda limited on days since u gonna spend most of days on this area

transportation from Tokyo to Osaka/Kyoto and vice versa - Willer Bus or budget airlines like Peach Airlines etc
Thanks for the tips.

There are all inter city passes right? The JR Pass won't work in these cities kan?
kehadapan
post Feb 22 2017, 11:05 AM

488 posts

QUOTE(joefacker @ Feb 22 2017, 11:00 AM)
Thanks for the tips.

There are all inter city passes right? The JR Pass won't work in these cities kan?
JR pass works only on JR railway, which is exist in those cities.
it wont work on private railway.

but JR pass will suffice u if u back and forth from tokyo and osaka/kyoto, or any parts/region in japan
or if u love to ride the shinkansen

use this calculator to estimate the budget if u insist of using JR pass
https://www.jrpass.com/es/cost-calculator

This post has been edited by kehadapan: Feb 22 2017, 11:06 AM
sacwoc
post Feb 22 2017, 11:20 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(joefacker @ Feb 22 2017, 11:59 AM)
We'll be flying out of Osaka...so totally not worth it right, the JR pass?
Then its a total waste of money. Did your friend really check all the information?
kehadapan
post Feb 22 2017, 11:22 AM

488 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Feb 22 2017, 11:20 AM)
Then its a total waste of money. Did your friend really check all the information?
i think his friend really want to ride shinkansen lol
deodorant
post Feb 22 2017, 11:25 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(kehadapan @ Feb 22 2017, 11:22 AM)
i think his friend really want to ride shinkansen lol
Ride shinkansen is fine but he should buy individual tickets instead of the double priced JR pass.
kehadapan
post Feb 22 2017, 11:36 AM

488 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 22 2017, 11:25 AM)
Ride shinkansen is fine but he should buy individual tickets instead of the double priced JR pass.
true that hmm.gif

and since he said that they depart back to kl from osaka, 1 ride shinkansen is enough.

JR pass totally not worth the value joefacker
kehadapan
post Feb 22 2017, 11:39 AM

488 posts

has anyone rode on shimanami kaido cycling route?
any experience/tips?

this looks interesting
joefacker
post Feb 22 2017, 12:15 PM

72 posts

thanks guys...yes my friend did mention the shinkansen...but after he mentioned RM 1k+ for train tickets, my brain switched off d while he went on and on about other details...
look416
post Feb 22 2017, 12:36 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(joefacker @ Feb 22 2017, 12:15 PM)
thanks guys...yes my friend did mention the shinkansen...but after he mentioned RM 1k+ for train tickets, my brain switched off d while he went on and on about other details...
I think you have a rich friend, should ask him to sponsor you a bit. whistling.gif
Based on most people in this thread, it would be best that you just rely on your suica/pasmo/icoca cards. Those card is like our tng here.
Reasons:
1. Passes is only worth it if you are travelling to more than 3 places per day, or extremely far places.
2. If you bought the passes, you are pretty bound to the trip you planned, because you want to get the most money out from it. No more flexible planning.
3. And you will have headache in planning the routes for yourself, due to fixed railway company you can opt for. E.g. JR Passes = Only JR lines, Metra passes = only metro lines are unlimited usage, except KTP, which covers most of the railway lines in kansai area.

DozeMeWithTea
post Feb 22 2017, 12:41 PM

106 posts

How do I get the Disneyland Express pass?
SUShuaweie5830
post Feb 22 2017, 12:49 PM

967 posts

Guys, wat gadget / items did u all buy from japan, which is not availble in Malaysia or u think super worthy ?

I plan to buy some Japanese whisky, other than that don't knw wat to buy liao
lucaswjk
post Feb 22 2017, 01:10 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Feb 22 2017, 12:49 PM)
Guys, wat gadget / items did u all buy from japan, which is not availble in Malaysia or u think super worthy ?

personal vibrator and dom2
lyc1982
post Feb 22 2017, 01:16 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

japan exclusive kitkat
gundam
anime stuff
ps4

and lots
lyc1982
post Feb 22 2017, 01:17 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(kehadapan @ Feb 22 2017, 10:40 AM)

good tips
SUShuaweie5830
post Feb 22 2017, 01:36 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Feb 22 2017, 01:16 PM)
japan exclusive kitkat
gundam
anime stuff
ps4

and lots
kitkat bought before , then found out many places in singapore also selling samething, price wise is cheaper there lah , but not really a wao factor for me liao

gundam , bought tat last time, not buying it tis time

wat anime stuff ?

last time i bought the burberry blue label for my gf, exclusive in japan, but now not burberry brand anymore , not so worthy .....

Someonesim
post Feb 22 2017, 02:05 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(DozeMeWithTea @ Feb 22 2017, 12:41 PM)
How do I get the Disneyland Express pass?
FastPass. Go to the ride, put in entry ticket for scanning and you'll get FastPass ( typically for 2-4 hours later entry ). Tips, go take the most popular or the one you most interested to ride, first thing you go in ! I missed both House of Horror and Toy Story Mania, as I reached these rides mid day and FastPass all gone cry.gif while standby need over 2 hours, this is weekday.

Camera stuff ! Much cheaper there, as you get tax exemption, foreigner discount and sometimes credit card discount rclxm9.gif mostly up to 15-20% discount on already cheaper-that-bolehland price.

137 Pages « < 79 80 81 82 83 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:25 PM