Travel Travel To Japan V9.5, Konnichiwaaa

joefacker
post Feb 21 2017, 01:42 PM

72 posts

Guys, going to Japan for 14 days, following a friend. I left it to him to plan everything. So it's 4 days Tokyo, 2 Hakone, 4 Kyoto, 1 Nara and 3 Osaka.

Question is, friend advised to buy 7 day JR Pass which I think is quite exorbitant considering that it will be mostly used to travel between these locations. In town travel using metro and busses will not be covered by JR Pass if I'm not mistaken. Is the JR Pass then worth to buy or I can save from buying at the ticketing counters itself?

joefacker
post Feb 21 2017, 02:07 PM

72 posts

Thanks guys, I thought of that too. The above is my friend's itinerary as he has been to Japan before. For me, it is my first time there, that's why I left all the planning to him.

I did a quick check using Hypedia on the train tickets. Even if we were to cover all these places, it would take up only about 10k+ yen or RM 400+. Bloody 7 day pass already RM 1100+. Of course this is only from city to city. I haven't included all the inter city transportation to those tourists destinations etc.

I have no idea what my friend has planned but knowing him since high school, it will mostly be museums, castles, parks etc. For me, I prefer city stuff like Akihabara, drinking and getting to know the locals at izakayas at Memory Lane and Golden Gai, or maybe go for some dirty shows at Kabukicho.

Yes I know all of the above although I've never been to Japan. Got do research one. Haha
joefacker
post Feb 21 2017, 02:18 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(JooSeng @ Feb 21 2017, 02:10 PM)
good luck bro...im sure it will not be ur last visit to japan brows.gif
thanks bro, definitely won't be my last trip.

My friend and me are totally 2 worlds apart. If I can get him to accept my idea, that's RM 700+ saved which can be used for other more "interesting" things. biggrin.gif
joefacker
post Feb 22 2017, 10:59 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Feb 22 2017, 09:45 AM)
Is your return flight in Tokyo as well? If not then its not worth it at all.
We'll be flying out of Osaka...so totally not worth it right, the JR pass?
joefacker
post Feb 22 2017, 11:00 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(kehadapan @ Feb 22 2017, 10:40 AM)
if i am your friend, i will suggest to use this pass instead

Tokyo - no need pass, unless u are super stingy, use metro pass http://www.tokyometro.jp/en/ticket/value/travel/index.html
bear in mind that u only can use this on tokyo metro only

usually for tokyo no need pass, just use Suica/Pasmo

Hakone - Hakone Free Pass

Kyoto - Hankyu Pass 2 days, the rest of 2 days u can use Bus Pass

Osaka - Osaka Amazing Pass 2 days, 1 day left just use Suica/Pasmo

or Kyoto/Osaka/Nara combined - Kintetsu Rail Pass or Kansai Thru Pass
but this pass kinda limited on days since u gonna spend most of days on this area

transportation from Tokyo to Osaka/Kyoto and vice versa - Willer Bus or budget airlines like Peach Airlines etc
Thanks for the tips.

There are all inter city passes right? The JR Pass won't work in these cities kan?
joefacker
post Feb 22 2017, 12:15 PM

72 posts

thanks guys...yes my friend did mention the shinkansen...but after he mentioned RM 1k+ for train tickets, my brain switched off d while he went on and on about other details...
joefacker
post May 15 2017, 10:36 AM

72 posts

good day to all the japan sifus,

just want to check on icoca cards + haruka discount tickets to KIX from Osaka.
JR website says I need to buy 1 Icoca card@2000 yen then I will get to ride Haruka for 1100 yen. Without the ICOCA, it's 1710 yen (according to Hyperdia).

Just wondering, is it possible to buy the Icoca card + Haruka discount tix at 2000+1100 = 3100yen, then take a full refund of the Icoca once I reached KIX. Minus the 220yen management fee, I should be able to take back 1780yen.

So my actual tix price to KIX will be 3100 - 1780 = 1320 yen versus 1710 yen without Icoca+haruka discount.

I know the difference is small but I'm very OCD about it. I save where I can save. After all it's just an additional 5 mins to apply for the Icoca card. Can save, why not right?

0.1072sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:57 PM