119 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

TSParaOpticaL
post Mar 31 2007, 06:48 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

QUOTE(siaokia @ Mar 31 2007, 02:46 PM)
hi,

I'm interested in this farming thing.

i have one question here... for the aquaculture... how will be the fish and prawn taste? cause the fish and prawn feed by ourself will have some " not nice taste or mud" in chinese is " chao cho" Hopefully u got what  i mean.

How to solve this type of problem?  Sorry I'm newbie in this.  notworthy.gif
the reason for those is two things :-

a) they are reared in mud ponds
b) they dont have exercise

my system is reared in Fibre Glass Tanks.

so there will be better fish taste and texture quality.
cktwai
post Mar 31 2007, 07:14 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Mar 26 2007, 09:28 PM)
actually planting what plants or herbs i really dont have an idea.
will go to MARDI and Pertanian to ask around.

as for the fish species am going to Shah Alam on wednesday for advice.
Para...

Today i was at this fair... There's someone exhibiting on specific fish pellets for Red Tilipia fishes... It's like RM 1.20 for 1 kg.... you interested ???

I can give you the contact... smile.gif

Also i got some leaflets on some new technology on farming... later i take photo and upload somewhere la

siaokia
post Mar 31 2007, 08:10 PM

HIii.. HikHikHik!!
1,811 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Mar 31 2007, 06:48 PM)
the reason for those is two things :-

a) they are reared in mud ponds
b) they dont have exercise

my system is reared in Fibre Glass Tanks.

so there will be better fish taste and texture quality.
Thanks for the answer... smile.gif then now i know whats the problem... about the exercise thing... is it we gv them a bigger area to swim can solve the problem or gv them a bigger force of water flow?

This post has been edited by siaokia: Mar 31 2007, 08:12 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Mar 31 2007, 10:04 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Mar 31 2007, 07:14 PM)
Para...

Today i was at this fair... There's someone exhibiting on specific fish pellets for Red Tilipia fishes... It's like RM 1.20 for 1 kg.... you interested ???

I can give you the contact... smile.gif

Also i got some leaflets on some new technology on farming...  later i take photo and upload somewhere la
hi cktwai,

when were you at the fair ?
i was there on Friday @ PWTC.

i think the product is from Mardi right ?
they arent in production yet are they ? if they are please PM me...

what new technology ?
share share...thanks

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Mar 31 2007, 10:06 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Mar 31 2007, 10:07 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(siaokia @ Mar 31 2007, 08:10 PM)
Thanks for the answer...  smile.gif  then now i know whats the problem... about the exercise thing...  is it we gv them a bigger area to swim can solve the problem or gv them a bigger force of water flow?
not necessary a bigger area. depends on how you rear the fish...

too big the area also no point as you cant make all the fish "exercise"
AsiaPartTime
post Apr 1 2007, 01:44 AM

311 posts

Hi guys, really fun to read this post. I am almost going into agri industry. Currently, I am helping my brother to market his Aquarium Fish trading business. If anyone know some breeder on aquarium fish, please share your contact.

Hi Para, why don't you try to breed aquarium fish? The market is better.

Btw, my family oso have 100 hectars of durian farm. my advice to you guys, dun plant durian, the market is too saturated oredi. everytime hv to depends on those Singaporean bcos all my durians are export to singapore. So, No point plant durian.

we start to venture into new farming, livestock on cow. it is good because we can use their SHIT as organic fertilizer for my durians trees. hahahahah.

i am interested on the gathering too. When is the next session.
TSParaOpticaL
post Apr 1 2007, 12:00 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(AsiaPartTime @ Apr 1 2007, 01:44 AM)
Hi guys, really fun to read this post. I am almost going into agri industry. Currently, I am helping my brother to market his Aquarium Fish trading business. If anyone know some breeder on aquarium fish, please share your contact.

Hi Para, why don't you try to breed aquarium fish? The market is better.

Btw, my family oso have 100 hectars of durian farm. my advice to you guys, dun plant durian, the market is too saturated oredi. everytime hv to depends on those Singaporean bcos all my durians are export to singapore. So, No point plant durian.

we start to venture into new farming, livestock on cow. it is good because we can use their SHIT as organic fertilizer for my durians trees. hahahahah.

i am interested on the gathering too. When is the next session.
AsiaPartTime,

i have thought about it but since i have my own goal so i will be going into Consumer Fishes.

i think after a few more gathering session we can start a informal information centre.
hehe

next session should be in early May.
draggy
post Apr 1 2007, 11:01 PM

200 posts

I wonder how many person in this thread own a farm , plantation or land......
AsiaPartTime
post Apr 2 2007, 11:26 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Apr 1 2007, 12:00 PM)
AsiaPartTime,

i have thought about it but since i have my own goal so i will be going into Consumer Fishes.

i think after a few more gathering session we can start a informal information centre.
hehe

Consumer fish is abit hard. those restaurants like to hold ur payment. last time my brotehr used to supply seafood fish like prawn to them, their payment really bad.

anyway, with ur facility, u can convert into breeding any kind of fish easily.

Do you have any water from jungle? fresh water , not paip water for ur farm?
TSParaOpticaL
post Apr 2 2007, 02:57 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(draggy @ Apr 1 2007, 11:01 PM)
I wonder how many person in this thread own a farm , plantation or land......
i will be looking around for some farm land when my project takes off..

QUOTE(AsiaPartTime @ Apr 2 2007, 11:26 AM)
Consumer fish is abit hard. those restaurants like to hold ur payment. last time my brotehr used to supply seafood fish like prawn to them, their payment really bad.

anyway, with ur facility, u can convert into breeding any kind of fish easily.

Do you have any water from jungle? fresh water , not paip water for ur farm?
yeah i heard about those notorious restaurants. but what i can do is only do Cash payment. you pay cash then i supply. there are lots of restaurants if you supply is good

yeah i can convert anytime if the commercial fish is really poor then i might change tactic.

yes i have a stream passing thru the farm. so i get "spring jungle water"
AsiaPartTime
post Apr 2 2007, 08:19 PM

311 posts

with ur "spring jungle water", your fish will grow faster and high quality. Where is your farm?
rexis
post Apr 3 2007, 12:26 AM

*** 7-star status Old Bird ***
3,590 posts

No, i do not have any property, land is wat i am looking for now, and also the initiative to start something, rather then keep talking/ranting.

QUOTE(AsiaPartTime @ Apr 1 2007, 01:44 AM)
Heres another landlord!

Sound like you are somewhere in johor, i read about the sweet corn planters there exporting baby corn to s'pore too. Also, about the durian, yeah, durian market is too satuated, common species like D24 pricing is so.... i read about another article bout a deer rearer feed his D24 to his live stock sleep.gif

There are certain species still remain high price. Like mountain cat king, red prawn, "khuan yuk/kun yu". And you mentioned about exporting too, exporting is a very important way to ensure success too. You should pay attension to the international market requirement. Example, long lasting, pesticide residue, etc.

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Apr 1 2007, 12:00 PM)
AsiaPartTime,

hehe

Its already an information center here biggrin.gif

Para, have you thought about replicating the river environment to make your fish tastier? Like adding in some water jet stream, make some artificial waterfall, etc. ust a thought. Not sure how will it end up like but for sure will add COST, hahaha.

Theres another article i read about is this guy rearing talapia in prawn pool with salt water, the end result is a tastier and better meat texture fish compare to freshwater talapia. (note: talapia can survive in both fresh and salt water, can do by slowly increasing the salt content, just dont them straight away into sea!)

Oh yeah, i know you should not rear talapia tongue.gif any idea about what fish yet?

How about learn to breed fish? Then sell baby fish? Like that you only need a few adult fish and the proper skill and your fish farm can start production right away.
cktwai
post Apr 3 2007, 05:00 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

HI Para,

Most of the things i got it from the same place at PWTC smile.gif

HEre's what i have:-

1. LEaflets on Mixed Farming Production System
2. Leaflets on Sistem Perladangan Campuer Berasaskan Tanaman Padi Aerobik
3. Leaftlets on New Cost Effective Feed for Red Tilapia.

There's also two technologies on fish feeding which i find are ridiculous inventions. Too expensive and not useful.

The feed for red tilapia is actually in production for small scale. I suppose if you buy like 3 kg a month they will have supplies. smile.gif

What fish are you planning to farm ???

Anyway, if you guys want to setup an information centre, i could put up a website where everyone can post information...

Added on April 3, 2007, 5:02 pm
QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Mar 31 2007, 10:07 PM)
not necessary a bigger area. depends on how you rear the fish...

too big the area also no point as you cant make all the fish "exercise"
PAra... is there anymore land available near your area ??? YOur area is also within my reach... smile.gif

This post has been edited by cktwai: Apr 3 2007, 05:02 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Apr 3 2007, 06:09 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(AsiaPartTime @ Apr 2 2007, 08:19 PM)
with ur "spring jungle water", your fish will grow faster and high quality. Where is your farm?
yeah because of the spring water...
fish will be better and save cost...

my farm is at Hulu Langat.

QUOTE(rexis @ Apr 3 2007, 12:26 AM)
Its already an information center here  biggrin.gif

Para, have you thought about replicating the river environment to make your fish tastier? Like adding in some water jet stream, make some artificial waterfall, etc. ust a thought. Not sure how will it end up like but for sure will add COST, hahaha.

Theres another article i read about is this guy rearing talapia in prawn pool with salt water, the end result is a tastier and better meat texture fish compare to freshwater talapia. (note: talapia can survive in both fresh and salt water, can do by slowly increasing the salt content, just dont them straight away into sea!)

Oh yeah, i know you should not rear talapia tongue.gif any idea about what fish yet?

How about learn to breed fish? Then sell baby fish? Like that you only need a few adult fish and the proper skill and your fish farm can start production right away.

though its an info center but we need to organise it properly.
rearing tilapia could be a choice if i can market it to the right place.

QUOTE(cktwai @ Apr 3 2007, 05:00 PM)
HI Para,

Most of the things i got it from the same place at PWTC smile.gif

HEre's what i have:-

1. LEaflets on Mixed Farming Production System
2. Leaflets on Sistem Perladangan Campuer Berasaskan Tanaman Padi Aerobik
3. Leaftlets on New Cost Effective Feed for Red Tilapia.

There's also two technologies on fish feeding which i find are ridiculous inventions. Too expensive and not useful.

The feed for red tilapia is actually in production for small scale. I suppose if you buy like 3 kg a month they will have supplies. smile.gif

What fish are you planning to farm ??? 

Anyway, if you guys want to setup an information centre, i could put up a website where everyone can post information...

PAra... is there anymore land available near your area ??? YOur area is also within my reach... smile.gif
yeah i saw those above.

funny thing about the expo is that cant commercialise it anytime soon so i dont understand why they display a commercial contact no. wasting time and space.

i think that one is from MARDI about the fish feed. i might go and ask and might try and buy to test it out.

about the information centre hope you can start a simple website or something if possible ?

how is the fibreglass coming ? about the area i dont think Langat would be a good place for you except you are ready to pay about RM 200k per acre ?

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Apr 3 2007, 06:10 PM
cktwai
post Apr 3 2007, 10:10 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Apr 3 2007, 06:09 PM)
yeah because of the spring water...
fish will be better and save cost...

my farm is at Hulu Langat.

though its an info center but we need to organise it properly.
rearing tilapia could be a choice if i can market it to the right place.

yeah i saw those above.

funny thing about the expo is that cant commercialise it anytime soon so i dont understand why they display a commercial contact no. wasting time and space.

i think that one is from MARDI about the fish feed. i might go and ask and might try and buy to test it out.

about the information centre hope you can start a simple website or something if possible ?

how is the fibreglass coming ? about the area i dont think Langat would be a good place for you except you are ready to pay about RM 200k per acre ?

The guy told me he can do the tanks for about 5k.... if more can get cheaper deal... also the thickness of this tank is 6mm.. the guy was commenting that if it's less that 6mm might not hold the water plus 300kg fishes..

About the pump he's having problem calculating the pressure to make the water flow... he needs more time ... smile.gif

TSParaOpticaL
post Apr 11 2007, 07:58 AM

2,348 posts

Last Update before i go to Hong Kong @ 12 Apr

The Pump

My Tanks in a Row

Individual Tank

TSParaOpticaL
post May 2 2007, 06:58 AM

2,348 posts

i had just gotten back from Terengganu for my Recirculating Aquaculture System (RAS) will update when i get back to the office. exciting things about this Aquaculture getting me crazy about the opportunities.
Ripp87
post May 2 2007, 07:13 AM

Zombie
726 posts

whoa, can't believe there's so many pros here in lowyat. im thinking about venturing into palm oil plantation. anyone any idea how to manage?
AsiaPartTime
post May 2 2007, 03:13 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ May 2 2007, 06:58 AM)
i had just gotten back from Terengganu for my Recirculating Aquaculture System (RAS) will update when i get back to the office. exciting things about this Aquaculture getting me crazy about the opportunities.
Can you share more on the opportunities? We are waiting for it smile.gif
TSParaOpticaL
post May 2 2007, 08:57 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(AsiaPartTime @ May 2 2007, 03:13 PM)
Can you share more on the opportunities? We are waiting for it smile.gif
dont worry will post up the opportunity with photos also by the week.
lots of things to sort out.

--------------------

QUOTE(Ripp87 @ May 2 2007, 07:13 AM)
whoa, can't believe there's so many pros here in lowyat. im thinking about venturing into palm oil plantation. anyone any idea how to manage?
what kind of land size are you talking about ?

for palm oil plantation if the land is too small like 50 acres and below no point in doing it as there might not be enough ROI.

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: May 3 2007, 12:10 PM

119 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0160sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:06 PM