18 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 26 2007, 02:14 PM, updated 11y ago

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

Hello People,

we are proud to inform that a bunch of us (you guys know who you are) had just finished publishing an Agri & Aqua Culturing Newsletter.

its available for download for FREE

Latest Edition :

December 2013 (Quarterly) Newsletter

September 2013 (Quarterly) Newsletter

June 2013 (Quarterly) Newsletter

Cheers and Download away.

ParaOptical aka Johnny

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here is the list of public training courses offered by the respective Jabatan Pertanian :-

a) Negeri Sembilan :- http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?074its71s10mzm5

b) Melaka :- http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?hr6iu9zd44284fe

c) Johor :- http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?e7d9ymqqc9raaxy

d) Perak :- http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?btsvcbkp3m6a46n

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Year 2012 Plans

http://forum.lowyat.net/user/MrFarmer

Planning my strategy for year 2012.
Looking at crops with minimal care
Short Term crops
Field Corns
Groundnuts
Pumpkins/Winter Melon
Sweet Potatoes

Mid Term crops
Bananas
Yam (for area prone to floods)

http://forum.lowyat.net/user/ParaOpticaL

My Focus & Strategy for 2013 is as follows :-

12ac :-
Finish planting the below
- Nangka (80%) - Well on track to fruit by end of the year (The tree fruited around the 18th month which i will post pictures later but because the tree not big enough thus added fertiliser and delay fruiting till after CNY 2014)
- Banana - Once finish harvesting TOTAL REMOVAL
- Papaya - Intercropping (Will remove as my Nangka are progressing very well)
- Durian (20%)

5ac :-
Planning to start a 1 acre papaya intercrop with durian planting before going full scale. (Changed to 1/2 acre Papaya + Durian & 1/2 acre Papaya + Soursop)

=====================================================

[color=blue]"Hotlinks" for this thread! Click the small arrows.

- Planting Material Supplier *
- Quoted question "basics to clear lands" *
- A little bit about short, mid and long term crops *
- Comments about automated farming machine *
- Official job in clearing land *
- a sea fish seed supplier joined the discussion! *
- something about grass farming *
- Agriculture Diploma Programme! *

Articles
- Haruan fish breeding and raising *
- Soon Hock fish breeding and raising *

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Dec 27 2013, 01:14 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 26 2007, 02:15 PM

2,348 posts

About the previous thread starter. REXIS

QUOTE(rexis @ Sep 27 2006, 09:28 AM)
Woke up at 6am, mindlessly finish your washroom work, dress up, even thou you feel like taking another 3 hours nap. You rush a cup of caffeine down your throat, finally gaining some conciousness, and head to your vehicle to go to work.

You hit the road, right at the end of the junction, great traffic jams ahead. Despite feeling more and more impatient, and worried about getting late again. Yeah, late, and you will get the wrath of boss, the one who seem like staying in office, and always guarding the office front door for anyone come late. OMG, you finally found the source of this unusual jam! It a chain accident involved multiple car...

...after a good 30 minutes lecture from your boss, you heading to your office desk, with a huge pile of ducuments on top of it, before you even seat down, your office phone rang furiously, you picked up the phone, a sharp tone cut thru the air and arrived your ear drum in supersonic speed. You mindlessly say ok, ok, ok, yes, I will...

The wall clock seem broken and damaged significantly, or just the battery is too weak, it took forever to reach the number 5. Suddently the zombies all received new life, all jumped up and rush to the car park, getting their own vehicles. You did the same, while you entering your vehicle, you look at the aging on your vehicle, and realised that its been too long since you gave your beloved ride a good shower. With the doubts in your mind, you get into your ride, and headed to another endless wave of traffic jams....

Deep inside youself, you wanted to make a change, to get out of this robotic chain. You have the love to green stuff and fresh air. You want to make a living with your own hand.

tbc...

btw, something about the author/thread starter

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Jan 26 2007, 02:57 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 26 2007, 02:15 PM

2,348 posts

yukikaze,Oct 11 2006, 06:06 PM

Interested parties could contact me for info. [ 016-5641853 ]
(please call after 7,i have classes during day)

=======================================

Okay,i'm pretty sure that rexis and ParaOptical got the info above.
Like what rexis has posted,all the hard works require for farming are pain in the ass for those who's not used to those kampung type of life,what my product is trying to aim is to reduce the work and optimise the result.
Get what i mean?
High water absorbancy,one week you'll just have to water once.
Compare to using sand which sometimes you have to control the PH level and humidity which sometimes may causes bad crops.Right?
In short,i'm trying to bring some advancement to the traditional farming.
The products is more to a package,
-it's filled with fertilizer
-small size just like the construction bricks (compare to bags of sands which may used up alot of spaces)
-Nature friendly(recycle-able) which is now in the trend where you can sell them to those recycle factory and get some money back
-Free from weeds,which is the pesky thing one wouldnt want in your farm.
-one brick could expand up to 9-10 liters
above is what i'm trying to elaborate the description and info i had gather from my supplier.
you may use it to nurse the seeds to grow and etc that you could think of.
if you need a sample,i would be glad to send you one just to let you see how it works.

i'm staying at ipoh =)

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Jan 26 2007, 09:06 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 26 2007, 02:16 PM

2,348 posts

rexis,Oct 12 2006, 03:33 PM

I might not be accurate as i never do it before, but according to what I know...

Chop off all the original vegetations like tall grass, small trees, bush etc. You can rent some tractor to do the job for you, there are people doing this charging a package fees. In my hometown, it is possible to hire cheap indon labours to do the job for you. To use manpower or machinepower, depends, sometimes one is better then another, in short manpower is cheaper but need longer time, machinepower is expensive but faster, it is up to you to balance the bill. (This also apply to all farm job, you just cant do everything yourself rite?)

Then turn the soil, and leave it under the hot sun for bout 2 weeks to eliminate pest and diseases. You can use the most traditional method like cangkul + kerbau to turn the soil, but we usually rent those machine to do the job. The dept of agriculture might have a clue about where to rent these machine, otherwise, your land lord might have some friends doing this.

It is recommended to leave the land under strong sunlight for 2 weeks to eliminate pest, during this time, some farmers will spray pesticide on the soil as well, this is up to you, as you see, pesticide overdosage is certainly not a good thing as it might kill all the good things as well. If possible dont use chemical pesticide, there are natural pesticide to use.(I am not quite sure how pesticide works but have my own untested opinions on it, i prefer to go organic)

(While you turn the soil, you can first prepare a small area as young plant nursary, you will need some shade as direct sunlight might damage young plant. Some planting material like what yukikaze mentioned is very handy. Start preparing the planting meterial now, ie, plant the seed and let it germinate into small plant, after your land is prepared you can straight away plant your crops.)

After 2 weeks of sunlights, you can start put in the fertilizer, now this is depends on what type of fertilizer you used. If you use fresh chicken sh!t, you will have to leave it for another 2 weeks to allow the sh!t decayed into plant nutrient otherwise the sh!t will carry diseases and also not suitable for plants. This chicken goodies is known as base fertilizer, ie you put them in before planting your crops.

And then, you can start to plant your small crop plants in you farm! Arrange it properly to allow easy harvesting. Usually people will make a "mud box"(or rows of small hills) and plant the crops on top of the box, this enable more loosy soil for better root development. Also do not plant your crops too close together as this will affect photosynthesis, pollenation, competition, etc. There should be a guideline for each kind of crops.

For the fertilizers, use organic fertilizer regularily, eg fermented chicken sh!t every 2 weeks, and use chemical fertilizer according to situation, like if it is flowering, fruiting, leaves yellow.... etc. Because even thou organic fertilizer are better in the long run, chemical fertilizer react faster as it can be absorb immediately. Even thou chemical fertilizer contains everything a plant need and do not require that many comparing to organic fertilizer, note that a heavily chemical fertilized soil is as good as dead soil, while organic fertilizer can keep your soil alive.

Thats it! Seem like you can start plant your crops now! And I am sure you will find out more details in the process of working out your farm.

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Jan 26 2007, 03:01 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 26 2007, 02:16 PM

2,348 posts

rexis,Oct 19 2006, 11:54 AM

a) Short (1-3 mths)
Vegetable, jagung, etc.

b) Medium (3-9 mths)
Timun, bitter gourd, brinjal, lady's fingers, chily, you name it.

c) Long (12 mths and above)
Red pitaya(this is the hottest one covering several episod), papaya, all kind of fruit trees, the current one mentioned about star fruit.

I read somewhere that it even suggest you to rear kampung chicken among your crops to improve profit and free organic fertilizer(chicken pop).

How fast could you get your land ready for planting? Anyway, you wont be able to catch up with the CNY holiday(as the schedule is pretty tight you have to start planting them NOW) where demand is the greatest, especially for brinjal and bitter gourd.

However, planting vegetable to meet demand for CNY might make sense, meeting up seasonal demand is the way to go as you usually get better price due to festival demand. I will say plant some mid term crop and while waiting it grows busy yourself with some vegetable. Didnt study much about vegetable thou but I think they are pretty straight forward.

Anyway, even thou our gov website is pretty, it do provide some useful information, check the following link:
http://agrolink.moa.my/doa/bdc/

Pick your favourite crop here thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Jan 26 2007, 03:02 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 26 2007, 02:17 PM

2,348 posts

pacer,Oct 31 2006, 11:41 PM

bro, u serious ahh, have u even been to a farm?
u no need do work also need a bit manual labour.
what about harvesting? at least need ppl to drive the truck. operate the machines.
what about acessing the plants, i think no maching can do that...

most probably machines can help in making life easier but U STILL NEED TO WORK. machines can only do so much, still need humans to work.

but maybe u have been watching discovery on how the japanese do it in their greenhouse. let me tell u, our country does not have the capacity to produce like that, even if we can, i think u wont want to pay rm15 for a banana or rm10 for 500g of kangkung

and also, machines are not as effective or fast and gentle enough to harvest some sensitive commodities.

fyi, even in developed countries, oranges and apples are hand picked although there are machines that can do it faster. why? becoz they also pick unripen fruites and can cost some major loses to farmers, on top of tht labour there is not cheap but justified when accounting the lost accured in using machines.

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Jan 26 2007, 03:03 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 26 2007, 02:17 PM

2,348 posts

ParaOpticaL,Nov 11 2006, 09:10 AM

i was referring to the steps to be taken.
you dont need govt approval to clear your land. just have a think for the environment and stuff.

1) need to survey the land (if its like a mini forest) and have the boundary pegged so you dont go into other people's land

2) get some advice from the dept of agriculture and what should be done (just for reference and to check)

3) bring people to quote on the land (backhoe or ploughing machine)

4) monitor them clearing the land.

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Jan 26 2007, 03:04 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 26 2007, 02:18 PM

2,348 posts

questnetter,Nov 14 2006, 11:20 PM

I saw some posts earlier asking about fish breeding. Well, i am the supplier for live fish seeds and i have a lot to share.

Basically, my hatchery farm is located in Sandakan, Sabah. Has been venturing in seawater fish business for over 20 years and gained success in fish breeding activities for the past 10 years. Sales of fish varies from any sizes, either from eggs up to markettable sizes that you can see in seafood restaurants.

List of fish seedlings that are available throughout the whole year are:
1.Siakap (Sea-water type which taste better than those u see in TESCO)
2.Red Snapper (Ikan merah)
3.Green Snapper (Green type of ikan merah)
4.Tiger Grouper (Kerapu Harimau)
5.Giant Grouper (Keratang/Yellowish giant type of grouper/"Lung Dan" in Chinese)
6.Humpback Grouper (Kerapu Tikus)
7.7 Star Grouper (Kerapu Bintang/"Chat Sing Pan" in chinese)
8.A few more species which are not so consistent in producing eggs...

Usually, the popular orders will be of 1 inch to 3 inches of sizes. Quantity will be from 5k pieces to 100k pieces. We do export to Taiwan, Sarawak, West Malaysia, Brunei, Indonesia, Labuan, and etc... Company name will be provided if required, definitely well known if u ask the fisheries department.

Interested to buy?survey?need help?bargain?visit?COD?
Feel free to email szuboon@yahoo.com or call 012-9319828 anytime. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Jan 26 2007, 03:06 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 26 2007, 02:18 PM

2,348 posts

ParaOpticaL,Nov 16 2006, 09:00 AM

COW Grass is NOT those grasses for cow to feed on. its for those project or maybe fields where they place them one by one. if got opportunity i will take picture so you can know.

sure will keep the contacts.
they potong my leher i am going after them.

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Jan 26 2007, 03:06 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 26 2007, 02:19 PM

2,348 posts

ParaOpticaL,Nov 21 2006, 02:31 PM

Plantation Technology & Agro-Entrepreneurship
Introduction
This 12 - 15 month Executive Diploma programme is structured to improve skills and knowledge of participants in enhancing career development. The objective of the programme is to enable participants to manage their career more efficiently and effectively to increase productivity.
The Modules

1. Overview of Plantation Industry

2. Human Resource Management

3. Organizational Behaviour

4. Business Communication

5. Plant and Soil Sciences

6. Agronomic Practices and Operations

7. Integrated Pest and Disease Management

8. Sustainable Practices and Environmental Development

9. Integration and Entrepreneurship

10. Project Paper and Presentation

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Jan 26 2007, 03:07 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 26 2007, 03:08 PM

2,348 posts

rexis,Nov 23 2006, 11:49 AM

HARUAN FISH BREEDING

Since para mentioned to me that he is looking into fish breeding, I have translated some articles from the Agroworld Magazine. Hopefully its useful and readable.

Agroworld July 2006 issue

PKPS Bukit Tinggi Fishfarm Sdn Bhd industrial breeding and raising of Haluan fish has achived excellence result, and received good remarks from Dato Sri Abdullah Badawi. On PM recent visit to the fish farm, PM encouraged the company to explore and develop more down stream industry for the Haluan fish to produce Haluan fish products like smoked fish, fish essential drink, etc.

PKPS Bukit Tinggi Fishfarm Sdn Bhd is one of the destination for PM official visit to Selangor agriculture production areas. The Menteri Besar of Selangor is proud of PKPS Bukit Tinggi Fishfarm Sdn Bhd success on the Haluan fish and therefore name the fish as "Haluan Selangor", and the naming ceremony was officiated by PM.

On a land of 35 acres situated at Selangor Bukit Batu Arang, PKPS fresh water fish breeding center is promoting fresh water fish breeding. The company has offered training courses on fish breeding and raishing to train up fish breeders. PM hope that this center can train contract farmer and throught industrialized fish breeding contract to produce more Haluan, and the Haluan they produced will be purchased back by PKPS for down stream production.

PKPS successfully industrialized the breeding of Haluan fish, they are using 100% fish feed to grow best quality fish, and the process of looking for a better fish feed formula is still in progress.

90% of Haluan fish egg hatch rate

Other then Haluan, PKPS also supply a variaty of fresh water fist like bating.... etc. The fish farm manager Mr Kok said that they main business is producing Haluan fish seed, with average monthly production of 300,000 fish seeds. Mr Kok said that the species used by fish farm for breeding is a local species. The fish farm has some 2500 of female Haluan fish as breeder, and through hormone injection to stimulate egg production, the females will lay eggs after 24 hours of injection. Usually they will do the injection every three months, and each time on 25 female fish. Each female fish can produce 6000 eggs, and in each months there will be 75 fish undergo the hormone injection(or stimulate egg laying), therefore the fish farm will get 450,000 eggs monthly. And with the average of 90% hatching rate, they will get 400,000 fish seed monthly.

The fish seed will grow to 1/2 inch long 10 days after hatched, these 1/2 inch Haluan fish have a golden orange colour, in this period the fish seeds are being fed with Moina Microbes. When the fish seeds has grew to 1/2 inch long they will feed them with fish feed. The fish feed will be grounded into powder before feeding. After 15 more days, these 1/2 inch fish seeds will grow to 1 inch long.

They will start feeding the 1 inch fish seeds with raw fish feed. The colour of the fish seeds will turn from golden orange into black colour, and to grow from 1 inch to 2 inches long, they will need another 15 days as well. Mr Kok pointed out that this is a vital period and must ensure that the breeding management work is carried out properly, to make sure that the fish seeds can adapt to the fish feed, otherwise if the small fish dont adapt to the new food, they will attack each other if they are hungry, and thus affect the survivor rate of the fish seed.

Successful raised fish seed to 4.5 inches

It will take about 40 days for a newly hatched fish to grow to 2 inches long, and the survival rate usually as high as 98-99%. In this stage the fish seeds were usually kept in indoor concrete pools, after they reached 2 inches they will be transfered to out door pools.

The 2 inches fish seeds can already adapt to the fish feed, and after a month they will grow to 4-4.5 inches long, and are ready for sale as fish seed. Outdoor pool survival rate is not as high as indoor pool, but still as high as 80%. The whole fish farm will consume about 10,000 kg of variety of fish feed.

Mr Kok said that usually the fish seeds are not easy to grow to as big as 4.5 inches, but they successfully did it. The advantage of 4.5 inches fish seeds will have a higher survival rate, and have a very stable quality.

PKPS Bukit Tinggi Fishfarm Sdn Bhd is selling their fish seeds for RM0.50 each, the biggest market is in Johor and Kedah. If it is calculated in terms of 300,000 fish feed, the total cost of breeding, labour, and raw material cost around RM43,000, which avarage out as RM0.13 for each fish seeds, therefore they will have profit of RM0.37 for each fish seed. Of couse, they do not sell the entire 300,000 fish seeds in one batch, but in multiple seperate deals.

PKPS Bukit Tinggi Fishfarm Sdn Bhd breeding and training center have 90 fish pools of different size. Other then fresh water fish, recently they start breeding and raising fresh water long leg prawns(Udang Galah). The local recently are short of fresh water long leg prawn seeds and adult prawns.

(the fish farm have a small advertisement beside the article, PM me for the contacts and details)

Credits to: Agroworld Malaysia
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 26 2007, 03:14 PM

2,348 posts

rexis,Sep 27 2006, 10:16 AM

LAND Clearing

A few things to think about before you decide to farm

Planting mushroom or rearing snails is some example.

There are long term crops and short term crops.

Seem like the idea of agribusiness has attracted a few people.

My CONSTRAINT

TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 29 2007, 08:49 AM

2,348 posts

Ex-engineer's hot success as chilli farmer

Source : The Star

By IAN MCINTYRE

PASIR PUTEH: He quit his job as an engineer to become a chilli farmer and 24-year-old Alamim Muhamad has yet to regret the decision.

"It started off as a hobby but after impressive sales of my chillies, I decided to resign from my engineering job and work on an abandoned plot to grow better crops," said Alamim, who has a degree in mechanical engineering.

With his determination to succeed, Alamim has shown that modern farming can indeed be a lucrative venture.

Met at his village in Gong Pasir, Alamim said he adopted a systematic approach to grow his crops.

He has cultivated 3,000 chilli plants using an underground fertilising system and is using a mixture of dust from sawn wood and soil.

Alamin said each plant was carefully packed into a polybag to prevent infection.

He claimed his harvest was three times that obtained using the traditional method.

"The modern approach is environmentally-friendly and improves irrigation as the water is supplied directly to the roots," said Alamim.

He is assisted by his mother and a younger brother.

Bukit Awang farmers' area organisation general manager Ishak Mat Rotim said they were impressed with Alamim's efforts and had approved an interest-free RM15,000 loan to him to expand his farm.

The allocation was for the purchase of additional machinery, seeds, polybags and fertiliser.

Added on February 5, 2007, 2:32 pmMy Plan for the Site

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Feb 5 2007, 02:32 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Feb 6 2007, 11:55 AM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(am_eniey @ Feb 6 2007, 10:45 AM)
I have a 12 acre piece of land in Pasir Salak, Perak.......please help me what should I do with it to make benefit?
please refer to the website below :-

Business Development Centre - Ministry of Agriculture

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Feb 6 2007, 11:56 AM
TSParaOpticaL
post Feb 6 2007, 03:57 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(am_eniey @ Feb 6 2007, 02:16 PM)
thanx for the link bro
welcome hope you find the link useful and hopefully give you some idea.

best bet is also to visit the State Agriculture Office or District Agri Office for their advice.
TSParaOpticaL
post Feb 7 2007, 08:56 AM

2,348 posts

Building a Water Trap aka "DaM"

TSParaOpticaL
post Feb 7 2007, 05:34 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Feb 7 2007, 05:00 PM)
Let say i interested opening a farm (maybe a small scale) to raise goats or cows, how much it need roughly?

Any source out there that can help me to build those barn, setup the farm, sell me the goats and cows and provide me training in 1 package?
"Franchise" method for this farm is not widely available in Malaysia. though alot of people are doing it small scale.

Read in the papers today that there was a guy rearing Saanen goats for their milk. quite profitable it seems.

You can also read BOER goats from Australia if not mistaken for their meat. i was at the MAHA 2006 expo and saw their powerpoint presentation of the farm and goats. those goats are HUGE.

also please refer to the link below :-

Info on Goats from Ministry Of Agriculture
TSParaOpticaL
post Feb 7 2007, 06:43 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(am_eniey @ Feb 7 2007, 06:00 PM)
this looks interesting for my 12 acre.....
i would suggest you get some books to read up. depending on your interest.

a) Agriculture
b) Aquaculture
c) LiveStock

then you will have a feel on roughly what to do.

and then its all about

A
C
T
I
O
N

TSParaOpticaL
post Feb 7 2007, 09:23 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 7 2007, 07:58 PM)
cant wait for the meeting!!
The meeting for agenda btw?
agenda not yet set.
i will come up with it next week.

need sometime to think about it over the weekend...hehe

TSParaOpticaL
post Feb 8 2007, 06:12 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(am_eniey @ Feb 8 2007, 05:38 PM)
ParaOpticaL, I'll be glad to join your meeting, I'm into farming business although I'm currently employed with an Oil n Gas company....I find that it's a waste having a 12 acre land and doing nothing profitable with it....I'll return to Penang probably at the end of this month or early March...really hope to meet you and everybody else involved.....I need to know all the techniques and costs and support...thanx
brother...

we are having a meeting in Kuala Lumpur wor.
please refer to the 1st page in case there is any miscommunication.

18 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0597sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:15 AM