119 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

TSParaOpticaL
post Mar 1 2007, 12:07 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

Update 1 week after CNY

The Base of Place for my Tanks

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Mar 1 2007, 12:08 PM
Humping^Panda
post Mar 1 2007, 02:27 PM

528 posts

where to find buyer for the fish?

let say rear grouper,

1 baby grouper = rm15. (from the news, the price of the baby grouper)we buy 1000.

cost:
wait for X month.
fish food for X month.
utility bil for X month.
how many fish died during X month.(do we have any insurance plan if our fish die?)
transport?
maintainance?
worker salary?
land rental?
water filter?

so, after X month i earn for 1000 fish n sell at rm50 each.(rm50 each can or not? coz the news say can sell rm100 each not sure about it)
i get return rm50K(without minus cost).

anyone can shed expected cost for this?
how to calculate how much space need to rear x no. of fish?
where to look for such information?

ParaOpticaL,
beside how much fish/prawn u can rear in your fish farm?
how much is your office setup cost?

This post has been edited by Humping^Panda: Mar 1 2007, 03:30 PM
rexis
post Mar 2 2007, 01:16 AM

*** 7-star status Old Bird ***
3,590 posts

QUOTE(Humping^Panda @ Mar 1 2007, 02:27 PM)
where to find buyer for the fish?

let say rear grouper,

1 baby grouper = rm15. (from the news, the price of the baby grouper)we buy 1000.

cost:
wait for X month.
fish food for X month.
utility bil for X month.
how many fish died during X month.(do we have any insurance plan if our fish die?)
transport?
maintainance?
worker salary?
land rental?
water filter?

so, after X month i earn for 1000 fish n sell at rm50 each.(rm50 each can or not? coz the news say can sell rm100 each not sure about it)
i get return rm50K(without minus cost).

anyone can shed expected cost for this?
how to calculate how much space need to rear x no. of fish?
where to look for such information?

ParaOpticaL,
Panda should be rearing freshwater fish, haha kiddings, I think the easiest way to find this out is to pay RM5950 for a full package of 25 days of courses including theories and practical (www.todayaqua.com) or a mere RM580 for 2 weekends (Sat and Sun) courses about almost anything you need to know and who to call in rearing fish, also, they provide many other agri short courses too, like the one i am planning to take, dipping system organic vegetables(03-21424046, call they to know what they have now).

Basically you can also get to know all these from some agriculture magazine like the one I have(unfortunately, I am unable to join the gathering @ taman congnaught).

Fish marketing - first ask yourself, where can you get fish? Pasar pagi, seafood restaurant, ikan bakar stall... yup, go ask whether they want to buy fish. As simple as that. Oh, and dont stop asking when 10/20 of them turn you down, keep on asking.

Fish Food - ask the vendor, usually they can provide some extra tips or information, how much, how frequent, etc. Also dont forget about all those supplyment to make your fish happier and healthier, fish food vendors will have an idea about them.

Utility bills - how big is your pool? What is your fish density? Electric or diesel engine? All these will justify your bills.

Fish Survival - Usually the fish seed vendor have a figure about how many % of your seed can reach adulthood, provided the proper condition of course, like outside pool or concrete pool? Or the circulation system Para mentioned? The later one surely can increase the survival rate. Also, keep the fish well fed can inprove the survival rate - otherwise some hungry fish species will eat their own kind.

Transport - Lori rental? Or purchase lorry yourself? With fridge or without. You prefer to look for vendors who go straight to your farm? Or you want to fetch your goods to the fish market for better price? Compare these, and compare with the fuel cost. Then you will have a rough figure.

Maintanence - (actually utility bill is part of maintanence)so are you doing two job? Or you planning to take care the farm yourself?

Worker - How big is your farm? Do you need a worker? How many worker?(refer above) Where are your farm(KL indon workers RM800 monthly, Kelantan local workers RM300 will do), you can try get one or two helpers and increase or decrease them when required.

land - rent or own land? Usually the land problem need to figure out yourself? Keep asking and looking is the key.

Water - salt water or fresh water? Surely you need a water source nearby, usually openair pools dont use filter, they simply change water. And surely its very tough to rear grouper in midland(though not impossible)! you would want somewhere near sea, or on sea.

Sorry, I dont have an exact numbers here. The above are barely some road signs, not destinations.
TSParaOpticaL
post Mar 2 2007, 09:06 AM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(Humping^Panda @ Mar 1 2007, 02:27 PM)
ParaOpticaL,
i have 5 big tanks and 1 small tanks

a) each big tank can rear approx 500 plate-size fish which roughly is totalling at 2500 fishes

b) the small tank can get you about approx 300 plate-size fish but the main function of the small tank is for PURGING so it makes the fish texture and taste better.

office setup depends on lots of things. basically $$$$
i got a hand cabin/container for around RM 4.5k (20' x 8')

anything else you want to know ?

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Mar 2 2007, 09:07 AM
Humping^Panda
post Mar 2 2007, 11:08 AM

528 posts

ParaOpticaL,

thanks alot! biggrin.gif anyway, i need to do more research n budgetting bf i get invovle in any project. coz i m not like u mar...got FAMA. biggrin.gif

by the way,
i tot normally ppl will sell the fish to org tgh then to the org tgh sell to market.

but from wat i knw from my fishmen cousin, now they doing it theirself.
they sell it directly rather go thru org tgh.but need to have small lari with tanks.
to bring your goods to the market n distribute.
the main reason ppl go thru org tgh coz some of them take large order.
i think they took sometime to get so many buyer.but they are not in this area. so the org tgh is not the same.

by the way, when you said your fish tanks can handle 2500 fish meaning full grown?wat plate size? :biggrin.gif

anyway, i notice those in the tank grouper taste not nice compare to those fresh from sea. taste like mud. anyway the modern science counter this?
TSParaOpticaL
post Mar 2 2007, 04:10 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(Humping^Panda @ Mar 2 2007, 11:08 AM)
ParaOpticaL,

thanks alot! biggrin.gif anyway, i need to do more research n budgetting bf i get invovle in any project. coz i m not like u mar...got FAMA. biggrin.gif

actually going into Aquaculture aint cheap that's what i can say even if you are going for ponds or tanks like i am doing. btw what's FAMA ? biggrin.gif

by the way,
i tot normally ppl will sell the fish to org tgh then to the org tgh sell to market.

if they sell to org tgh then those ppl can jack up the price thus making your items less saleable.

but from wat i knw from my fishmen cousin, now they doing it theirself.
they sell it directly rather go thru org tgh.but need to have small lari with tanks.
to bring your goods to the market n distribute.
the main reason ppl go thru org tgh coz some of them take large order.
i think they took sometime to get so many buyer.but they are not in this area. so the org tgh is not the same.

normally org tgh will bully the "producer" which is you. so if you have the time do your own marketing is better.

by the way, when you said your fish tanks can handle 2500 fish meaning full grown?wat plate size? :biggrin.gif

plate size = 500g to 700g min.

anyway, i notice those in the tank grouper taste not nice compare to those fresh from sea. taste like mud. anyway the modern science counter this?

just curious how can the grouper in tanks taste like mud? or are you referring to pond ?

my reply in BLUE
Humping^Panda
post Mar 4 2007, 12:48 AM

528 posts

ParaOpticaL,
FAMA = father mother sponser

yeah, fish farming or etc is very exp project.

hmmm...i think becoz of the water in the tanks lor.
but mark my word. it taste like mud. but i m not reffering to fish farming grouper. i mean those in restaurant grouper tht they put in tanks to keep them fresh n alive.if it is steam cook, it will taste like mud.
my really concern is tht will it taste like mud too if rear in pond or tanks.
just incase to do came across such studies during your research.

i assume the tanks you use is fiberglass?
how much per tanks cost?

org tgh, hmm...so i assume you figure out your market ady biggrin.gif.

how you going to take your farm? u going full time to take care?
if not does the worker need alot training one inorder for them to be take care? biggrin.gif

sorry asked u too much. not time to chat msn nowadays. biggrin.gif

anyway, all the best. biggrin.gif

TSParaOpticaL
post Mar 5 2007, 08:46 AM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(Humping^Panda @ Mar 4 2007, 12:48 AM)
ParaOpticaL,
FAMA = father mother sponser

brother if you dont know what i am doing then please dont SPECULATE that i am under FAMA. get your facts rights.  biggrin.gif

yeah, fish farming or etc is very exp project.

hmmm...i think becoz of the water in the tanks lor.
but mark my word. it taste like mud. but i m not reffering to fish farming grouper. i mean those in restaurant grouper tht they put in tanks to keep them fresh n alive.if it is steam cook, it will taste like mud.
my really concern is tht will it taste like mud too if rear in pond or tanks.
just incase to do came across such studies during your research.

if you dont mind how did you know it tastes like mud ? you tried it before ?

i assume the tanks you use is fiberglass?
how much per tanks cost?

tanks cost about RM 5k each

org tgh, hmm...so i assume you figure out your market ady biggrin.gif.

how you going to take your farm? u going full time to take care?
if not does the worker need alot training one inorder for them to be take care? biggrin.gif

doing it full time for a few months and then go hire people...

sorry asked u too much. not time to chat msn nowadays. biggrin.gif

anyway, all the best. biggrin.gif
my replies in blue
Humping^Panda
post Mar 5 2007, 08:59 AM

528 posts

of course i tried before.in my place grouper is cheap.but only when i come to west malaysia the grouper here is super expensive n some of them taste like mud(not all).

hey sorry about the fama thingy. coz i tot u told me bf....maybe i remember wrongly.
TSParaOpticaL
post Mar 5 2007, 09:09 AM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(Humping^Panda @ Mar 5 2007, 08:59 AM)
of course i tried before.in my place grouper is cheap.but only when i come to west malaysia the grouper here is super expensive n some of them taste like mud(not all).

hey sorry about the fama thingy. coz i tot u told me bf....maybe i remember wrongly.
maybe the method to raise grouper here not so established like in Sabah. A Sabah University Professor even asked me is i would like to go for attachment. i probably would take up the offer in the 2nd half of the year.

its ok. i am venturing into this business with the money i made from my other ventures.

are you residing in KL now? if yes would you like to come to our gathering this saturday.

TSParaOpticaL
post Mar 9 2007, 09:05 AM

2,348 posts

Please be reminded that the Meet Up session is this Saturday 10th March 2007 @ 7.30pm @ Secret Recipe, Taman Connaught

cktwai
post Mar 11 2007, 11:31 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Mar 9 2007, 09:05 AM)
Please be reminded that the Meet Up session is this Saturday 10th March 2007 @ 7.30pm @ Secret Recipe, Taman Connaught

ParaOptical...

Thanks for the knowledge sharing session at Taman Connaught! Really appreciate your help ! notworthy.gif

I tried looking for information online and i don't think there's a lot of information that can actually help people to start up... Perhaps you might want to put all these information you know online smile.gif

Anyway... now my first aim is to look for a land .. Preferably with water source laugh.gif
TSParaOpticaL
post Mar 12 2007, 05:40 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Mar 11 2007, 11:31 AM)
ParaOptical...

Thanks for the knowledge sharing session at Taman Connaught! Really appreciate your help !  notworthy.gif

You are most welcome. Am glad you get to know something from this. btw thanks for the dinner also. appreciate it.

I tried looking for information online and i don't think there's a lot of information that can actually help people to start up... Perhaps you might want to put all these information you know online smile.gif

true the information online is kinda limited and not so accurate also. well i am not really well versed in this putting info online perhaps you can help me if you got the time ? me bit IT laggard nowadays...

Anyway... now my first aim is to look for a land .. Preferably with water source  laugh.gif

Yes that's the spirit. most important is too

A C T I O N Good Luck

btw tell your friend the actual material is RFP (Reinforced Fibre Plastic)

phat
post Mar 14 2007, 12:35 AM

328 posts

gud info u got here..maybe i will join u later.when i got free time.. smile.gif
TSParaOpticaL
post Mar 14 2007, 01:05 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(phat @ Mar 14 2007, 12:35 AM)
gud info u got here..maybe i will join u later.when i got free time..  smile.gif
thank you. hope you can join us and share and get more ideas.

Place for my COMPOSTING

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Mar 14 2007, 03:28 PM
sAkUrAg1
post Mar 18 2007, 07:19 PM

42 posts

Dear all,

I am a new bee, and want to venture to aqua bussines.

thanks for all the information.

it really made me aware of the cost and the risk.

i got alot of readings yo do, before i start the project.

Para,

thanks for sharing with us your project pictures.

kong5091
post Mar 18 2007, 07:53 PM

942 posts

May i ask roughly how much money needed to invest into this business include buying land etc?? What is the size of ur land?
cktwai
post Mar 18 2007, 08:42 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Mar 14 2007, 01:05 PM)

Place for my COMPOSTING
looks like a lot of progress... can i like visit your farm ar ?
rexis
post Mar 18 2007, 11:46 PM

*** 7-star status Old Bird ***
3,590 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Mar 14 2007, 01:05 PM)

Place for my COMPOSTING
Hi guys, it is really a good idea to held a visiting to para farm.

Ehh? I tot you rearing fish, why construct a compost pit?
draggy
post Mar 19 2007, 02:05 AM

200 posts

ParaOpticaL, are you using normal pipe water?

if yes, then better use natural water.... it will save you a lot

and is better also to have an egg incubation place to hatch eggs

This post has been edited by draggy: Mar 19 2007, 02:09 AM

119 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:31 AM