Tips Pokemon Go Home Made Nyonya Tips & Tricks, Mass Evolve 84K XP & 130K XP in 30 mins

TSsoonwai
post Aug 11 2016, 03:35 PM, updated 10y ago

11,455 posts

Some tips below. Probably known by the more experienced but may be helpful to beginners.

1. Save your lucky egg for a mass evolve. Collect a whole bunch of candies for the cheap-to-evolve pokemons like Pidgey, Weedle and Caterpie. Then break out a lucky egg for double XP. Lucky egg is active for 30 mins or 1800 secs. If you're real fast, say, 25 seconds for each evolve, you can evolve 72 or more pokemons for 72000 XP. Lucky eggs are awarded at levels 9, 10, 20, 25 and 30.
Tips for the tip
- Do it at a time when nobody is going to disturb you for 30 mins. Nothing worst than an incoming call 10mins into your mass evolve.
- While you may be tempted to remove your sim card to prevent any incoming calls, don't. It's a good idea to have your phone data as a backup in case your wifi goes down.
- Set your own 30min timer because you can't see the timer when doing the evolves.
- Don't exit to the map screen for whatever reason because if you have levelled up, the level-up animation will waste precious seconds.
- Favourite all the pokemons that you want to mass evolve. Sort them by Favourites and they will appear at the top. This saves a lot of time as you won't have to scroll through the list.
- It's also important to un-favourite them as they are evolved. This ensures that only the unevolved ones remain at the top of the list.
- If you get a new Pokemon as a result of an evolve, that's an extra 1000XP. The new pokemon animation adds only a few secs so it's worth it. With that in mind, you may want to avoid capturing pokemons that you will be evolving.
- Use http://www.pidgeycalc.com to double check your calculations for the optimum number of evolves.
- Start strategising your mass evolve from level 1. Decide if you want to catch evolved Pokemons now or skip them and save them for the bonus during your mass evolve.

For my 2nd mass evolve, utilising all the tips above, I managed 73 evolves (73000XP) with 11 new pokemons (11000XP) for a total of 84000XP.

Also see below for the Onoff method named after Swedish female player Appel Onoff.

2. Legitimate fake location If you're indoors, check to see if there's any difference in your location when your wifi is off and on. If there is, toggle your wifi every few minutes. That'll get you moving a little bit. It's not much but I find it good for hatching those 1.9/2.0km eggs.

3. Pokestop No. 10 If you spin 10 different pokestops. The 10th one will give you double XP and more items (6-8). You can do this multiple times as long as the pokestops are unique. There is a cooldown period (not sure how long) before you can re-use the same pokestop. Not sure if there's a time limit to go through all 10 pokestops.

4. Gym Pokecoins If you managed to put a pokemon into a gym, immediately, go and collect your 10 pokecoins. Many beginners seem to miss this. Collect from the shield icon in the Shop.

5. Hatching Eggs Hatch your 2km & 5km eggs first. Always try to ensure that you have space for an egg in case the next one that comes along is a 10km egg. Delay as much as possible until your level is higher before you start hatching your 5km and 10km eggs. The 10km eggs gives awesome Pokemons but their level will depend on your trainer's level. Egg level is determined when you received it & not when you hatch it. TBC but eggs collected have the same level as the trainer during collection time up to a cap of level 20.

6. 100th Bonus For every 100th of the same pokemon caught, you'll get 100 XP bonus.

7. Pokestop Wardriving When you're a "passenger" in a car, keep an eye on Pokestops on the roadside and spin them as you pass them by. After you spin and the stop turns purple, you can immediately exit. The items are automatically collected. You can't go too fast. Ensure you spin before the pokestop gets out of range or you won't get any items.

8. Pokemon Wardriving When you're a "passenger" in a car and see an awesome pokemon that you must have. Don't try to capture it in the car. It's too dangerous. Just tap it to start the capture and wait till you're safely stopped somewhere. You can still capture it even if you're far away from where you originally saw the pokemon. I've used this to catch pokemons 2, 5 and even 20KM from where I first saw and tapped them.

9. Zooming with 1 finger Everyone knows 2-finger zoom, you can also zoom with single-tap and drag up/down. Good for one-handed use.

10. Spending Money If you plan on spending money for pokecoins. Don't buy pokeballs. They're too expensive at ~20sen per ball for a consumable. I suggest Bag Upgrades for starters. Once you hit higher levels and start getting more types of balls and potions, there won't be enough space to store everything. Also good if you bot. Tip #18

11. Morning Balls While it's tempting to play till you're out of balls before retiring for the night. Save a few balls for the morning. Nothing is worse than waking up to a Draconite outside your house with no balls.

12. Practise Throwing Excellent throws are really difficult to achieve. Forget them and aim for Great Throws which gives an extra 50% XP and are much easier to connect. It's like having half an infinite lucky egg the whole day.

13. Morning Gyms The best time to get a few pokecoins is in the morning. Not many people, maybe even no-one, at the gyms then. Early Pidgey gets the Weedle.

14. Banana Leaf Rice When eating banana leaf rice, use fork & spoon. If use hands, may not have enough time to wash hands & come back to catch the Dragonite that just appeared.

15. Drive Slowly Especially near colleges. Watch out for fellow Pokemon Go players crossing the road. Also to hatch your own eggs.

16. 25XP Flee Bonus It's OK if the Rattata fled after throwing 10 balls at it, you still get a consolation prize of 25XP.

17. Poketrip Planning http://pokemongomap.info shows you locations of pokestops and gyms. Not entirely accurate but good enough that you can use it to plan for a Poketrip. MV or Pavi? Or to optimise the route taken to somewhere in order to pass the most pokestops. This is safe from bans as it doesn't use your PG account to access data from Niantic.

18. Kid Botting If you have a spare kid in the car... My daughter doesn't like to play Pokemon Go so I've taught her to bot for me. On the way to school, we pass 12 pokestops and her job is to spin all of them. A bag upgrade will be essential for this. Tip #10

19. Mass Evolve Onoff Method In a nutshell, quitting and restarting Pokemon Go in order to skip the evolve animation thereby saving up to 8 secs per evolve. Theoretically the max number of evolves one can do in 30mins is 1800/15=120 evolves. With a lucky egg, this equates to 120K XP.
negisf is the first to report back with a crazy result of 94 evolves or 94000XP in 30 mins.
See post below for my mass evolve of 111 in 30 mins. 111000 XP.

Also check this good list of tips from reddit.
reddit Lv22 Player giving small tips of advice by /u/Kolrich

This post has been edited by soonwai: Oct 14 2016, 04:43 AM
TSsoonwai
post Aug 12 2016, 03:15 AM

11,455 posts

Here's an example. i just did my first mass evolve with a lucky egg. Managed to get 69000 XP. 66 Evolves + 3 New rclxm9.gif

BeforeAfter
user posted imageuser posted image

2 things of note:
1. Set your own 30min timer because you can't see the timer when doing the evolves.
2. Don't exit to the map screen for whatever reason because if you have leveled up, the level-up animation will waste precious seconds.

Results of 2nd Mass Lucky Egg Evolve
Prepared 78 evolves, managed to evolve 73, 11 of them were new pokemons.
Total: 73000 + 11000 = 84000XP rclxm9.gif

BeforeAfter

Sorry, forgot to take a screenshot just before the evolve.

Results of 3rd Mass Lucky Egg Evolve
Embarrassing but I forgot to activate my lucky egg. Evolved 74 for 37000XP

Results of 4th Mass Lucky Egg Evolve
Prepared 78 evolves, managed 76 evolves + 2 new Pokemons = 78000XP

Results of 5th Mass Lucky Egg Evolve Onoff Method
Prepared 118 evolves. Managed to do 111 in 30 mins for 111000XP. blink.gif
Mass evolve performed on iPhone 6s.

Notes:
- No laughing at me for powering up Pokemons the first 3 or 4 times instead of evolving them. bangwall.gif It was 3am in the morning.
- Had to purchase one Pokemon Bag Upgrade in order to store all the pokemons for the evolve.
- I fav'ed all 118 before I began but the unfaving before the evolve did not work for me. Ended with a big mess and lots of scrolling especially towards the end. Very, very kelam kabut.
- Was afraid about login failure but none encountered.
- Made so many mistakes and mispresses, if the unfaving worked, i think could have done at least 5 more.
- I used AssistiveTouch to bring up iOS Multitasking instead of double pressing the Home button. If you set AssistiveTouch to just one item then it only takes one tap to activate Multitasking.
- Very stressing.
- Recorded the entire session. Once I edit it, I will post it up. Can do some timings from the video.
- App Launch (From touching PoGo icon to appearance of "Do not play while driving" dialog.): 5.6 secs
- Time for one Evolve (From launching PoGo, finding pokemon with no scrolling, starting evolve, quitting PoGo and back to home screen): 13.8 secs

Here's the video of my mass evolve. I added a timecode so you can time the evolves yourself.

Results of 6th Mass Lucky Egg Evolve Onoff Method
Sep 16
Faved: 131 Left: 19 Evolved: 112 New Pokemon: 0
XP Before: 1151202 XP After: 1263702 (1263702-1151202=112500)
112000 XP Level 27-27

Results of 7th Mass Lucky Egg Evolve Onoff Method
Sep 24 (10.0.1, 1.7.1)
Faved: 132 Left: 13 Evolved: 119 New Pokemon: 5
XP Before: 1411493 XP After: 1535518 (1535518-1411493=124025)
124000 XP Level 28.2-28.6

Results of 8th Mass Lucky Egg Evolve Onoff Method
Oct 4
Faved: 130 Left: 12 Evolved: 118 New Pokemon: 0
XP Before: 5563 XP After: 124063 (124063-5563=118500)
118000 XP Level 29.02-29.35

Results of 9th Mass Lucky Egg Evolve Onoff Method
Oct 14
Faved: 131 Left: 11 Evolved: 120+1 New Pokemon: 1 (Poliwrath)
XP Before: 1912312 XP After: 2034312 (2034312-1912312=122000)
122000 XP Level 29.75-30.07

Results of 10th Mass Lucky Egg Evolve Onoff Method
Oct 21 (10.0.2, 1.11.4)
Faved: 131 Left: 5 Evolved: 126+2 New Pokemon: 2 (Nidoking, Machoke)
XP Before: 2137397 XP After: 2267397 (2267397-2137397=130000)
130000 XP Level 30.27-30.53

This post has been edited by soonwai: Oct 23 2016, 01:20 AM
zawani
post Aug 12 2016, 05:15 AM

333 posts

Where you get the lucky egg?? Buy or from pokestop?
memphiz_zero88
post Aug 12 2016, 05:53 AM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(zawani @ Aug 12 2016, 05:15 AM)
You'll get free lucky egg when you reach certain level. So far I already got 3 lucky eggs just from leveling up.
zawani
post Aug 12 2016, 06:19 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Aug 12 2016, 05:53 AM)
You'll get free lucky egg when you reach certain level. So far I already got 3 lucky eggs just from leveling up.
sorry but at what level you get the egg.. i just reach level 5 n hard to find pokemon at my location ..
memphiz_zero88
post Aug 12 2016, 06:24 AM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(zawani @ Aug 12 2016, 06:19 AM)
sorry but at what level you get the egg.. i just reach level 5 n hard to find pokemon at my location ..
For mine, 1 at level 9. 1 at level 10 and the third one at level 15

i'm level 15 now btw

This post has been edited by memphiz_zero88: Aug 12 2016, 06:24 AM
zawani
post Aug 12 2016, 06:25 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Aug 12 2016, 06:24 AM)
For mine, 1 at level 9. 1 at level 10 and the third one at level 15

i'm level 15 now btw
ok.. TQVM for ur tips .. happy pokehunt .. hahaha~~
y500
post Aug 12 2016, 06:26 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(zawani @ Aug 12 2016, 06:19 AM)
Level 2 - Poké Ball x10
Levels 3, 4 - Poké Ball x15
Level 5 - Poké Ball x20, Potion x10, Revive x10, Incense
Level 6 - Poké Ball x15, Potion x10, Revive x5, Egg Incubator
Level 7 - Poké Ball x15, Potion x10, Revive x5, Incense
Level 8 - Poké Ball x15, Potion x10, Revive x5, Razz Berry x10, Lure Module
Level 9 - Poké Ball x15, Potion x10, Revive x5, Razz Berry x3, Lucky Egg
Level 10 - Poké Ball x20, Super Potion x20, Revive x10, Razz Berry x 10, Incense, Lucky Egg, Egg Incubator, Lure Module
Level 11 - Poké Ball x15, Super Potion x10, Revive x3, Razz Berry x 3
Level 12 - Great Ball x20, Super Potion x10, Revive x3, Razz Berry x 3
Levels 13, 14 - Great Ball x10, Super Potion x10, Revive x3, Razz Berry x 3
Level 15 - Great Ball x15, Hyper Potion x20, Revive x10, Razz Berry x 10, Incense, Lucky Egg, Egg Incubator, Lure Module
Levels 16, 17, 18 - Great Ball x10, Hyper Potion x10, Revive x5, Razz Berry x 5
Level 19 - Great Ball x15, Hyper Potion x10, Revive x5, Razz Berry x 5
Level 20 - Ultra Ball x20, Hyper Potion x20, Revive x20, Razz Berry x 20, Incense x2, Lucky Egg x2, Egg Incubator x2, Lure Module x2
Levels 21, 22, 23 - Ultra Ball x10, Hyper Potion x10, Revive x10, Razz Berry x 10
Level 24 - Ultra Ball x15, Hyper Potion x10, Revive x10, Razz Berry x 10
Level 25 - Ultra Ball x25, Max Potion x20, Revive x15, Razz Berry x 15, Incense, Lucky Egg, Egg Incubator, Lure Module
Levels 26, 27, 28 - Ultra Ball x10, Max Potion x15, Revive x10, Razz Berry x 15
Level 29 - Ultra Ball x10, Max Potion x15, Revive x10, Razz Berry x 15
Level 30 - Ultra Ball x30, Max Potion x20, Max Revive x20, Razz Berry x 20, Incense x3, Lucky Eggs x3, Egg Incubators x3, Lure Modules x3
zawani
post Aug 12 2016, 06:29 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(y500 @ Aug 12 2016, 06:26 AM)
Level 2 - Poké Ball x10
Levels 3, 4 - Poké Ball x15
Level 5 - Poké Ball x20, Potion x10, Revive x10, Incense
Level 6 - Poké Ball x15, Potion x10, Revive x5, Egg Incubator
Level 7 - Poké Ball x15, Potion x10, Revive x5, Incense
Level 8 - Poké Ball x15, Potion x10, Revive x5, Razz Berry x10, Lure Module
Level 9 - Poké Ball x15, Potion x10, Revive x5, Razz Berry x3, Lucky Egg
Level 10 - Poké Ball x20, Super Potion x20, Revive x10, Razz Berry x 10, Incense, Lucky Egg, Egg Incubator, Lure Module
Level 11 - Poké Ball x15, Super Potion x10, Revive x3, Razz Berry x 3
Level 12 - Great Ball x20, Super Potion x10, Revive x3, Razz Berry x 3
Levels 13, 14 - Great Ball x10, Super Potion x10, Revive x3, Razz Berry x 3
Level 15 - Great Ball x15, Hyper Potion x20, Revive x10, Razz Berry x 10, Incense, Lucky Egg, Egg Incubator, Lure Module
Levels 16, 17, 18 - Great Ball x10, Hyper Potion x10, Revive x5, Razz Berry x 5
Level 19 - Great Ball x15, Hyper Potion x10, Revive x5, Razz Berry x 5
Level 20 - Ultra Ball x20, Hyper Potion x20, Revive x20, Razz Berry x 20, Incense x2, Lucky Egg x2, Egg Incubator x2, Lure Module x2
Levels 21, 22, 23 - Ultra Ball x10, Hyper Potion x10, Revive x10, Razz Berry x 10
Level 24 - Ultra Ball x15, Hyper Potion x10, Revive x10, Razz Berry x 10
Level 25 - Ultra Ball x25, Max Potion x20, Revive x15, Razz Berry x 15, Incense, Lucky Egg, Egg Incubator, Lure Module
Levels 26, 27, 28 - Ultra Ball x10, Max Potion x15, Revive x10, Razz Berry x 15
Level 29 - Ultra Ball x10, Max Potion x15, Revive x10, Razz Berry x 15
Level 30 - Ultra Ball x30, Max Potion x20, Max Revive x20, Razz Berry x 20, Incense x3, Lucky Eggs x3, Egg Incubators x3, Lure Modules x3
thanks .. good info bro .. so its same for all player ..
fin307
post Aug 12 2016, 07:46 AM

198 posts

QUOTE(zawani @ Aug 12 2016, 06:29 AM)
thanks .. good info bro .. so its same for all player ..
yeap.
the rewards are fixed . smile.gif
Perbaman
post Aug 12 2016, 10:25 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 12 2016, 03:15 AM)
Here's an example. i just did my first mass evolve with a lucky egg. Managed to get 69000 XP.  rclxm9.gif

BeforeAfter

2 things of note:
1. Set your own 30min timer because you can't see the timer when doing the evolves.
2. Don't exit to the map screen for whatever reason because if you have leveled up, the level-up animation will waste precious seconds.
you got to level 16 using this method oso?
or isit after level 16 then u start the mass evolve party? dats a lot of XP gained yo
cicadasx
post Aug 12 2016, 10:55 AM

85 posts

I havent reached level 9 yet but just asking, does the Lucky Egg can be stacked, used 2 at the same time?
CornyHornHorn
post Aug 12 2016, 11:06 AM

42 posts

thanks for the tips m8
just a question, does stacking razz berry adds up to the catch rate as well?
what is the max?
BuncitPesonawan
post Aug 12 2016, 11:17 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(CornyHornHorn @ Aug 12 2016, 11:06 AM)
thanks for the tips m8
what is the max?
yes it will add the catch rate, but depends on pokemon level of difficulties. i once gave 3 berries but still, they cabut gave me asap doh.gif
TSsoonwai
post Aug 12 2016, 12:20 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(zawani @ Aug 12 2016, 05:15 AM)
Free lucky egg from level 9, 10, 15 and 2 from lvl 20. So far I've only used 1. Took me 5 days to catch all the Pidgeys/Rattata/Weedles/Caterpies for approx 73 evolves. In the 5 days I managed to collect 125k XP. After lucky egg total is 198k. So hopefully next week can reach lvl 21 and a half.
BuncitPesonawan
post Aug 12 2016, 02:33 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 12 2016, 12:20 PM)
Free lucky egg from level 9, 10, 15 and 2 from lvl 20. So far I've only used 1. Took me 5 days to catch all the Pidgeys/Rattata/Weedles/Caterpies for approx 73 evolves. In the 5 days I managed to collect 125k XP. After lucky egg total is 198k. So hopefully next week can reach lvl 21 and a half.
wah lao master. in 30 minutes can do 73 evolve? powerrrr thumbup.gif

btw you think maximum how much can we evolve in 30 minutes?
Lord Kyran
post Aug 12 2016, 02:57 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(BuncitPesonawan @ Aug 12 2016, 02:33 PM)
I've done about 60. Roughly 3 evolutions in a minute. Theorectically can do about 90 but I estimate 70-80 is more likely. There are 3 things I know that can influence how many you get to evolve in the 30 mins:
1. Whether you have seen the evolutions before. If you don't have the evolutions in your pokedex, then you will also get the pokedex entry animation when you evolve it. That will take up some time though. However, that's nicely compensated since you get the 500XP from seeing a new pokemon which at double becomes 1000XP.
2. How you order your list. If your list is haphazard and not ordered properly, you can end up wasting time checking to see which pokemon can evolve and looking for them. I recommend ordering by #Number and transferring all unneeded pokemon.
3. How fast your device is. I've read that force closing the app and restarting it can take about 8 seconds which is faster than waiting for the animation to finish. Haven't tested it yet but planning to do so soon.

BuncitPesonawan
post Aug 12 2016, 03:18 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Lord Kyran @ Aug 12 2016, 02:57 PM)
I've done about 60. Roughly 3 evolutions in a minute. Theorectically can do about 90 but I estimate 70-80 is more likely. There are 3 things I know that can influence how many you get to evolve in the 30 mins:
1. Whether you have seen the evolutions before. If you don't have the evolutions in your pokedex, then you will also get the pokedex entry animation when you evolve it. That will take up some time though. However, that's nicely compensated since you get the 500XP from seeing a new pokemon which at double becomes 1000XP.
2. How you order your list. If your list is haphazard and not ordered properly, you can end up wasting time checking to see which pokemon can evolve and looking for them. I recommend ordering by #Number and transferring all unneeded pokemon.
3. How fast your device is. I've read that force closing the app and restarting it can take about 8 seconds which is faster than waiting for the animation to finish. Haven't tested it yet but planning to do so soon.
thanks sifu!

and dont forget to update here point #4, whether it works or not. will be huge difference
TSsoonwai
post Aug 12 2016, 04:31 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(BuncitPesonawan @ Aug 12 2016, 02:33 PM)
For me, first time do mass evolve, a bit kelam kabut but quite happy to get 66 evolves plus 3 evolution bonus for 69000 XP.

Mistake that I made was exiting back to the map to check how much time I had left. The Level animation kicked in and that wasted precious seconds.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 12 2016, 09:10 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Perbaman @ Aug 12 2016, 10:25 AM)
or isit after level 16 then u start the mass evolve party? dats a lot of XP gained yo
Nope, I only learn about mass evolve on day 3 (day 1 being launch day Saturday). By the time I finish collecting enough candies for mass evolve on day 6, I was already lvl 16.

QUOTE(cicadasx @ Aug 12 2016, 10:55 AM)
I havent reached level 9 yet but just asking, does the Lucky Egg can be stacked, used 2 at the same time?
Lucky egg cannot be stacked. So nice if can have quadruple XP. :-)

QUOTE(CornyHornHorn @ Aug 12 2016, 11:06 AM)
thanks for the tips m8
what is the max?
Cannot stack razzberry. You activate 1 raz then throw, if miss can activate another and throw again. You can't feed 2 razz to the pokemon.

PS: Updated 1st post with more info.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 12 2016, 09:21 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post Aug 12 2016, 09:13 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(cicadasx @ Aug 12 2016, 10:55 AM)
can be only used one per session
matchut
post Aug 12 2016, 09:41 PM

95 posts

Nice tips. Should pin this thread.
waveweaver
post Aug 12 2016, 09:57 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

When coming to mass evolve time you can line up your in coming evolve pokemons by putting favourite (star) to that pokemon. They they will move to the upper line starting with the favourite highest CPs to the lowest.

chickunburrito
post Aug 12 2016, 10:23 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 12 2016, 09:57 PM)
When coming to mass evolve time you can line up your in coming evolve pokemons by putting favourite (star) to that pokemon. They they will move to the upper line starting with the favourite highest CPs to the lowest.
wow nice tips thumbup.gif
TSsoonwai
post Aug 12 2016, 10:36 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 12 2016, 09:57 PM)
Very helpful. I find it it even better to un-favorite the evolved Pokemon as you're doing the mass evolve. Helps prevent accidental double evolves. See first post.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 14 2016, 03:19 PM

11,455 posts

Added link to a really good faq/tips from reddit. Everyone should read this.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 14 2016, 03:20 PM
1qaz1qaz
post Aug 15 2016, 11:27 AM

What Are You Looking At???!
1,894 posts

QUOTE(Perbaman @ Aug 12 2016, 10:25 AM)
lv1 - lv 15/16 is very easy, but u need to spend time on grinding pokemon
imo only use this trick from lv17-lv20, coz each lvl u need 20k 20k 25k exp
Perbaman
post Aug 15 2016, 12:12 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Aug 15 2016, 11:27 AM)
lv1 - lv 15/16 is very easy, but u need to spend time on grinding pokemon
imo only use this trick from lv17-lv20, coz each lvl u need 20k 20k 25k exp
thanks for the tips cheers.gif
i think since i at level 11, not very much wild pokemon spawned as before. tensen betul la nak level up camni..
need to camp at lure spots baru boleh dapat a few
the temptation to level up some pokemons is soooo stronkk
ekudz
post Aug 15 2016, 12:18 PM

Vaper Enthusiast
736 posts

yupe .. most of my friend stuck at level 19-20 due to need high exp and they already used lucky egg when level 12-15 .. ayam still not yet use .. will use at level 17 or 18 hope it jump tu level 21 .. i got 2 lucky egg
1qaz1qaz
post Aug 15 2016, 12:19 PM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(Perbaman @ Aug 15 2016, 12:12 PM)
thanks for the tips cheers.gif
i think since i at level 11, not very much wild pokemon spawned as before. tensen betul la nak level up camni..
need to camp at lure spots baru boleh dapat a few
the temptation to level up some pokemons is soooo stronkk
i started playing on weekday due to working no time to camp haha
one day after work i spend about 2-3 hours at pyramid just to catch whatever i see for the (100exp) from lv2 - lv 8
then some casual playing get to lv10, and last weekend i camp at KLCC from 10am - 6pm lv10 - lv 16, and few hours in pyramid to lv17
after that i only spam lucky egg too lv20 total process in hours i think took less than 24 hours and im now lv20

but yeah lv1 - lv 17 is kinda easy but anything beyond lv20 is gg lol laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Aug 15 2016, 12:24 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 11 2016, 03:35 PM)

8. Pokemon Wardriving When you're a "passenger" in a car and see an awesome pokemon that you must have. Don't try to capture it in the car. It's too dangerous. Just tap it to start the capture and wait till you're safely stopped somewhere. You can still capture it even if you're far away from where you originally saw the pokemon.

This doesn't quite work actually. If you are "too far" from where the Pokemon was spotted, it will "resist" all your attempts to catch it and flee.
Perbaman
post Aug 15 2016, 12:38 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Aug 15 2016, 12:19 PM)
i started playing on weekday due to working no time to camp haha
one day after work i spend about 2-3 hours at pyramid just to catch whatever i see for the (100exp) from lv2 - lv 8
then some casual playing get to lv10, and last weekend i camp at KLCC from 10am - 6pm lv10 - lv 16, and few hours in pyramid to lv17
after that i only spam lucky egg too lv20 total process in hours i think took less than 24 hours and im now lv20

but yeah lv1 - lv 17 is kinda easy but anything beyond lv20 is gg lol  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
fuuuuu lvl 10->16->17 sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif talk about dedication mang lol rclxms.gif

1qaz1qaz
post Aug 15 2016, 12:54 PM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(Perbaman @ Aug 15 2016, 12:38 PM)
fuuuuu lvl 10->16->17  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  talk about dedication mang lol  rclxms.gif
I wanna be the very best~
Like no one ever was~

but well if u really into playing this games now is the time to power leveling atleast till lv20, this is the period where you need to lvl up before anything new implement in games. like any other online, first thing u do is to lvl up first asap, then only u farm for gear laugh.gif
even im lv20 i dont hv any imba/high cp pokemon yoo haha

TSsoonwai
post Aug 15 2016, 01:14 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Aug 15 2016, 12:24 PM)
This doesn't quite work actually. If you are "too far" from where the Pokemon was spotted, it will "resist" all your attempts to catch it and flee.
Any ideas how far is "too far"? I've tried about 2km, can still catch. Will test again when I finish lunch and go a bit further this time.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Aug 15 2016, 02:09 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 15 2016, 01:14 PM)
Any ideas how far is "too far"? I've tried about 2km, can still catch. Will test again when I finish lunch and go a bit further this time.
Previously when I do the same as you, the catch rate is 100%. After latest update, it seemed that if you go "out" of your screen range when catching the pokemon, most likely it will escape.
zhnix
post Aug 15 2016, 02:29 PM

14 posts

Whrs the place where growlithe will keep spwaning?
TSsoonwai
post Aug 16 2016, 12:35 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Aug 15 2016, 02:09 PM)
Previously when I do the same as you, the catch rate is 100%. After latest update, it seemed that if you go "out" of your screen range when catching the pokemon, most likely it will escape.
Strange for you yah. I just tested this afternoon.

Slowpoke CP400 - Picked up at traffic lights, stopped at Petronas. ~1.2km - Captured Ok.
Eevee CP250 - Picked up at Batu 11 toll, stopped at Cheras Sentral. ~5.4km - Captured Ok.

Tomorrow try even further.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 16 2016, 03:30 AM

11,455 posts

Total: 73000 + 11000 = 84000XP rclxm9.gif

BeforeAfter

Lord Kyran
post Aug 16 2016, 08:31 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 16 2016, 03:30 AM)
Total: 73000 + 11000 = 84000XP  rclxm9.gif

BeforeAfter

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Damn good eh you. So far max i evolve is bout 67 >.<
darrenwks
post Aug 16 2016, 08:53 AM

220 posts

I evolved about 50 ~ 52 pokemons last night using lucky egg, if not wrong from lv15 to lv18

really hard to prepare evolves, from launch until now i only managed to prepare 50+ evolves...not a hardcore player though haha
TSsoonwai
post Aug 16 2016, 02:37 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(ekudz @ Aug 15 2016, 12:18 PM)
yupe .. most of my friend stuck at level 19-20 due to need high exp and they already used lucky egg when level 12-15 .. ayam still not yet use .. will use at level 17 or 18 hope it jump tu level 21 .. i got 2 lucky egg
You should get 2 more lucky eggs. I had 4. Used 2 for 16-19 and 21-22. Still got 2 more. Mass evolve first time got 69000, 2nd time got 84000. :happy:
TSsoonwai
post Aug 16 2016, 11:29 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Aug 15 2016, 02:09 PM)
As promised, today tested:
Mankey CP491 - Picked up at Carcosa Seri Negara, stopped at Cheras C180. ~20km - Captured Ok.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Aug 16 2016, 11:32 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 16 2016, 11:29 PM)
As promised, today tested:
Mankey CP491 - Picked up at Carcosa Seri Negara, stopped at Cheras C180. ~20km - Captured Ok.
I tried also today.

Bulbusar - OUG. Went to Esplanade. Throw once, got out and escaped.
Psyduck - SS15. Went to Subang Parade. Again same thing happened.

leongboyz
post Aug 16 2016, 11:42 PM

42 posts

Yup drive few KM away, those pokemon will flee. Sunday 11 pokemon, ytd 8 pokemon and today 6 pokemon.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 17 2016, 11:39 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Aug 16 2016, 11:32 PM)
I tried also today.

Bulbusar - OUG. Went to Esplanade. Throw once, got out and escaped.
Psyduck - SS15. Went to Subang Parade. Again same thing happened.
QUOTE(leongboyz @ Aug 16 2016, 11:42 PM)
Yup drive few KM away, those pokemon will flee. Sunday 11 pokemon, ytd 8 pokemon and today 6 pokemon.
Very strange. I wonder what is different that causes the fleeing. I use this quite often, mostly short distances, will see if the fleeing happens to me.

If anyone else has tried this, let us know how it worked for you.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 17 2016, 12:30 PM
gempakstarz
post Aug 17 2016, 02:15 PM

1,933 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 16 2016, 03:30 AM)
Total: 73000 + 11000 = 84000XP  rclxm9.gif

BeforeAfter

er, how u prepare 78 evolve?how many pokemon is that?
1qaz1qaz
post Aug 17 2016, 03:27 PM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(gempakstarz @ Aug 17 2016, 02:15 PM)
er, how u prepare 78 evolve?how many pokemon is that?
78 evolve = 78 pokemon lo
1 evolve = 1k exp (lucky egg)

stack those pokemon that need 12 of candy.
1qaz1qaz
post Aug 17 2016, 03:36 PM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(ekudz @ Aug 15 2016, 12:18 PM)
im lv 21 now, so far i notice the best point to use lucky egg is lv17-20,
coz by i find lv1-lv17 is kinda easy to grind, but lv17 need 20k exp ady doh.gif
gempakstarz
post Aug 17 2016, 04:03 PM

1,933 posts

QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Aug 17 2016, 03:27 PM)
78 evolve = 78 pokemon lo
1 evolve = 1k exp (lucky egg)

stack those pokemon that need 12 of candy.
so if 1 pidgey = 12 candy, if 78 pidgey i need = 936 candy? sweat.gif
1qaz1qaz
post Aug 17 2016, 04:14 PM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(gempakstarz @ Aug 17 2016, 04:03 PM)
so if 1 pidgey = 12 candy, if 78 pidgey i need = 936 candy?  sweat.gif
yes haha so is "catch em all" hahaha
gempakstarz
post Aug 17 2016, 04:16 PM

1,933 posts

QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Aug 17 2016, 04:14 PM)
yes haha so is "catch em all" hahaha
i dont think i got enough space for pokemon now..now 232/250..any suggestion?
and my pidgey candy only 169 doh.gif
StarScream01
post Aug 17 2016, 04:18 PM

73 posts

If you want, those pidgeotto also can turn into candy so for every evolution you get back +1 candy.
1qaz1qaz
post Aug 17 2016, 04:28 PM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(gempakstarz @ Aug 17 2016, 04:16 PM)
i dont think i got enough space for pokemon now..now 232/250..any suggestion?
and my pidgey candy only 169  doh.gif
i dont know ur play style la
but when im between lv1 - lv 20 almosy 70/80% of my storage are Caterpie Weedle or pidgey
just send any extra back to professor....
TSsoonwai
post Aug 17 2016, 11:42 PM

11,455 posts

If Pidgeys alone then yeah. It can also be a mixture of the other pokemons. My 2nd mass evolve was quite diversified in terms of species evolved. I played 1-16 while collecting enough candies for my first mass evolve. Then lucky egg evolve 16-19. 2nd one was 21-22. Npw preparing for 3rd one. Still have 3 lucky eggs.
negisf
post Aug 18 2016, 09:19 AM

1,878 posts

Not really need that many candy.

Cause let's say u evolve 78 pidgey,

You will get 78 candy (from evolving to Pidgetto) + 78 candy transferring them to Professor.

So in another word, evolving 78 pidgey, u will get back 156 candy.

U can transfer right away after you evolve it.
gotenks
post Aug 18 2016, 09:34 AM

when mass evolve pidgeys, even if it's CP is 10, will still evolve?
is it advisable to catch enough magikarp before mass evolve (to level up) since it will be harder to catch pokemons when level is high?
BuncitPesonawan
post Aug 18 2016, 09:50 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(gotenks @ Aug 18 2016, 09:34 AM)
is it advisable to catch enough magikarp before mass evolve (to level up) since it will be harder to catch pokemons when level is high?
CP does not matter to evolve. so yup it still can be evolved.

you need 400 candy to evolve magikarp.. so better focus on other pokemons. pidgey, caterpie, weedle are most easiest.
gotenks
post Aug 18 2016, 11:21 AM

QUOTE(BuncitPesonawan @ Aug 18 2016, 09:50 AM)
CP does not matter to evolve. so yup it still can be evolved.

you need 400 candy to evolve magikarp.. so better focus on other pokemons. pidgey, caterpie, weedle are most easiest.
sorry, i think my question was not that clear.

1) i meant to ask if you guys, during mass evolve (lucky egg time), will choose to evolve pidgey that only has a CP of 10?

2) should i plan my mass evolve after i managed to catch/accumulate 400 magikarp candies? if i mass evolve now and level up to, say, lvl20, it will be harder for me to catch pokemons. therefore, i wanted to know if it is better to accumulate 400 magikarp candies first before proceed to use lucky egg for mass evolve to increase my trainer level?

Perbaman
post Aug 18 2016, 11:28 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(gotenks @ Aug 18 2016, 11:21 AM)
sorry, i think my question was not that clear.

1) i meant to ask if you guys, during mass evolve (lucky egg time), will choose to evolve pidgey that only has a CP of 10?

2) should i plan my mass evolve after i managed to catch/accumulate 400 magikarp candies? if i mass evolve now and level up to, say, lvl20, it will be harder for me to catch pokemons. therefore, i wanted to know if it is better to accumulate 400 magikarp candies first before proceed to use lucky egg for mass evolve to increase my trainer level?
1) yes. doesnt matter the CP. just want to milk all XP that can get from evolving

2) if your goal is to increase trainer level, then definitely wait till 400 magikap candy and evolve together with all your pidgeys while lucky egg is activated. can get XP from evelving the magikap PLUS new pokemon gyarados registered in pokedex.
ckuanglim
post Aug 18 2016, 11:41 AM

595 posts

what is the factor that determine/affect the level of pokemon found? the player level? or the highest CP pokemon you having? or by location?
BuncitPesonawan
post Aug 18 2016, 11:46 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(ckuanglim @ Aug 18 2016, 11:41 AM)
what is the factor that determine/affect the level of pokemon found? the player level? or the highest CP pokemon you having? or by location?
CP of wild pokemon found depends on trainer level. Pokemon type depends on location, not the pokemon level..

Highest CP in your pokedex is not a factor.
silent_stalker
post Aug 18 2016, 12:08 PM

852 posts

1 thing i hate about this game, they very kedekut xp.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 18 2016, 12:18 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(negisf @ Aug 18 2016, 09:19 AM)
Not really need that many candy.

Cause let's say u evolve 78 pidgey,

You will get 78 candy (from evolving to Pidgetto) + 78 candy transferring them to Professor.

So in another word, evolving 78 pidgey, u will get back 156 candy.

U can transfer right away after you evolve it.
negisf is correct. You'll only need 782 candies to evolve 78 Pidgeys if you transfer all the resultant Pidgeottos after the evolve.

782 will evolve 65 Pidgeys. Left with 2 candies and 13 Pidgeys.
The evolve and transfer will give 65+65 candies. So left with 132 candies

132 will evolve 11 Pidgeys. Left with 2 Pidgeys.
The evolve and transfer will give 11+11 candies. So left with 22 candies

22 will evolve 1 Pidgey. Left with 10 candies and 1 Pidgeys.
The evolve and transfer will give 1+1 candies. So left with 12 candies

12 will evolve your last 1 Pidgey.

But not recommended because the transfer of 77 Pidgeys will take significant time.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 18 2016, 07:51 PM

11,455 posts

Of course, They don't have to be all Pidgeys. This is my last mass evolve.
1 Bellsprout 1 Bulbasaur 3 Caterpie
1 Dratini 7 Eevee 1 Ekans
1 Gastly 1 Geodude 1 Goldeen
1 Krabby 1 Nidoran ♂ 1 Paras
32 Pidgey 1 Poliwag 2 Psyduck
11 Rattata 1 Slowpoke 1 Spearow
1 Venonat 7 Weedle 2 Zubat
TSsoonwai
post Aug 18 2016, 07:59 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(gotenks @ Aug 18 2016, 09:34 AM)
Yes, when mass evolve pidgeys, even if it's CP is 10, it will still evolve.
I haven't evolved my Magikarp because it's 400 candies and I want to catch a good one first.

QUOTE(ckuanglim @ Aug 18 2016, 11:41 AM)
The player level determines the level cap of the pokemon caught. I'm not sure exactly but I think it's max 2 levels higher than trainer level. If you're lvl 16, the pokemon caught may be max lvl 18.

QUOTE(pokemongohack @ Aug 18 2016, 12:08 PM)
Drive Slowly Especially near colleges. Watch out for fellow Pokemon Go players crossing the road. Also to hatch your own eggs.
Indeed, nothing more disastrous than a Pokemon Go driver versus a Pokemon Go Pedestrian.
kllonely1
post Aug 18 2016, 10:12 PM

321 posts

This game is so buggy/broken.

1) GPS is not accurate
2) GPS does not update your location as you move
3) GPS bounce your location all over, sometimes across the highway even

4) no pokemon radar
5) always hangs, needs to reboot always
6) phone heats up quickly

7) pokestop sometimes do not work, either white screen or ask you to try later when it is still blue (but after you tap it, it changes to pink without giving you anything)
8) no trading option, cannot swap pokemon and resources with another player
9) no difference between capture of low cp and high cp pokemon, reward system still gives the same xp points.

I wish
1) radar circle to be doubled, help make pickup easier
2) hatching eggs at any speed
3) fixed the game difficulty/reward system
terryfu
post Aug 19 2016, 03:44 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(kllonely1 @ Aug 18 2016, 10:12 PM)

1) GPS is not accurate

4) no pokemon radar

7) pokestop sometimes do not work, either white screen or ask you to try later when it is still blue (but after you tap it, it changes to pink without giving you anything)
9) no difference between capture of low cp and high cp pokemon, reward system still gives the same xp points.

I wish
I think different phones got different problems mate, and also if you use different Telco for the GPS problems.

My Xiaomi Note 2 can never register GPS properly and not accurate (using Maxis line) but my iPhone 6+ had no problem, accurate down to the last 10 meters even (using Celcom line). However Celcom line is finicky in my area so when I tether my iPhone to my Xiaomi every thing works proper but the Xiaomi still face problems. Also the Xiaomi Note 2 hangs more often while the iPhone hardly hangs. My friends Galaxy Note 4 also had same problem with GPS (Maxis line) and cant work properly inside the car while poke hunting. And my iPhone doesn't heat as much as Xiaomi (btw having phone calls for 15 mins heats it faster than Pokémon Go over couple of hours).

Pokestop does not work coz sometimes the lag between registering and moving fast. Happens to me when I drive fast past a stop. Never had white screen before (and I've swiped over 1000 pokestops).

Trading option coming soon according to website sources.
DemonKnight
post Aug 19 2016, 06:03 AM

238 posts

the rare pokemon will appear at the same spot?
metaloid
post Aug 19 2016, 09:45 AM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

Level 22 now which is the most gg, 100k exp needed, i think alot of ppl r stuck here. Anyway i have 3 lucky eggs meaning i only used 2 to get to 22 biggrin.gif
eligible
post Aug 19 2016, 09:54 AM

858 posts

^tips18 laugh.gif

TSsoonwai
post Aug 19 2016, 11:47 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(kllonely1 @ Aug 18 2016, 10:12 PM)

1) GPS is not accurate

Could it be problem with your phone. Here we play on iPhone 6s, 5c and iPad4. The GPS ok. Indoors, it will jump but not much, maybe 50m down the road. It's good for hatching eggs. At times where there's "No GPS Signal Detected", I just toggle wifi off/on and it goes away.

4) no pokemon radar

For me on iPhone 6s, so far got 1 hang, I mean can still open pokemon bag but map cannot rotate. Had to quit and reopen app. The iPhone 5c runs very hot when playing. Other than that, quite ok, stable for me.

If I go to pokestop, spin and exit very fast, the pokestop will remain blue and "Try again later" if try to spin again. But actually the items is already collected. Check the journal.

My daughter is using iPhone 5c with 64kbps data (very slow). When playing with no wifi, she will get entire screen white when trying to catch a new pokemon. Just have to wait. I think is transferring graphics and whatnot.

I wish
Make sure you let Niantic know.
1qaz1qaz
post Aug 19 2016, 02:30 PM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 18 2016, 12:18 PM)
negisf is correct. You'll only need 782 candies to evolve 78 Pidgeys if you transfer all the resultant Pidgeottos after the evolve.

782 will evolve 65 Pidgeys. Left with 2 candies and 13 Pidgeys.
The evolve and transfer will give 65+65 candies. So left with 132 candies

132 will evolve 11 Pidgeys. Left with 2 Pidgeys.
The evolve and transfer will give 11+11 candies. So left with 22 candies

22 will evolve 1 Pidgey. Left with 10 candies and 1 Pidgeys.
The evolve and transfer will give 1+1 candies. So left with 12 candies

12 will evolve your last 1 Pidgey.

But not recommended because the transfer of 77 Pidgeys will take significant time.
yes, dont transfer when u r doing mass evolve coz its waste of time doing so.
its dont hv to be all pidgey, any others pokemon will do as well

QUOTE(metaloid @ Aug 19 2016, 09:45 AM)
Level 22 now which is the most gg, 100k exp needed, i think alot of ppl r stuck here. Anyway i have 3 lucky eggs meaning i only used 2 to get to 22 biggrin.gif
u wasted 1 egg bro.
should had use one at lv17 only

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Aug 19 2016, 10:09 AM)
tips about egg

use infinity egg incubator (∞) for 2.0km egg
and for 5.0km or 10km better use 3 times used incubator.
so more worth it.

let say 10km u used egg incubator (3 times used) + 5X2.0km infinity egg incubator
so when we finish walking to hatch the 10km, we already can hatch 2.0km one 5 times.

my fei chai is jackpot from my 10km egg.
hatch it at CP 1.7k or 1.6k i also cannot remember liao  whistling.gif
wah gg move set lehhh....
why power up?
1qaz1qaz
post Aug 19 2016, 02:43 PM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Aug 19 2016, 02:39 PM)
bcos i wan him to be 2k CP.
but the move set kinda meh
TSsoonwai
post Aug 19 2016, 03:23 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(metaloid @ Aug 19 2016, 09:45 AM)
Currently 22.8. Almost there. Still got 4 lucky eggs and preparing for 3rd mass evolve. Lvl 23-24 is 125k!
1qaz1qaz
post Aug 19 2016, 03:40 PM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 19 2016, 03:23 PM)
Currently 22.8. Almost there. Still got 4 lucky eggs and preparing for 3rd mass evolve. Lvl 23-24 is 125k!
can u do 125 pokemon in 30min?
TSsoonwai
post Aug 19 2016, 03:55 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Aug 19 2016, 03:40 PM)
can u do 125 pokemon in 30min?
No way. Not for me. Best is 73/84.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 19 2016, 03:56 PM
TSsoonwai
post Aug 20 2016, 01:45 AM

11,455 posts

Did some analysis of my PG XP for another thread. Posting the results here too. May be interesting info.

Counting Friday Aug 20 as day 14. As of this post, I have 428503 XP.

So my average is: 428503/14 = 30607 XP/day

I've used 2 lucky eggs for mass evolve (Tip #1) for 69k and 84k XP. If minus that, my daily average for catching, hatching, spinning and battling but not evolving is:
(428503-69000-84000)/14 = 275503/14 = 19679 XP/day

Money spent so far, USD4.99 for 2 x bag storage (Tip #10). It's for collecting balls when I'm out cause my house is not in range of a pokestop. I have a helper bot (Tip #18) which collects balls from pokestops as I drive pass them at certain times of the day and certain days of the week. For safety reasons.

Lucky egg evolves will contribute significantly. Other things that contribute to XP not taken into account here:
Every 100th same Pokemon caught bonus (Tip #6): 100XP
Pokemon Flee (Tip #16): 25XP
New Pokemon in Pokedex Bonus: 500XP (best save for lucky egg)
Every unique 10 Pokestop bonus (Tip #3): 50XP
Battle Win XP: ??? (I don't battle gyms much)

Aiming to do my 3rd mass evolve tomorrow. Was planning for today but I only have 71 evolves, I usually prepare 78. This will skew the above calculations even more.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 20 2016, 01:50 AM
bearbear
post Aug 21 2016, 02:32 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

how come i evolve under lucky egg only 1k exp each?
TSsoonwai
post Aug 21 2016, 02:41 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Aug 21 2016, 02:32 PM)
how come i evolve under lucky egg only 1k exp each?
Normally you get 500XP for an evolve. With lucky egg, you should get double XP. So 500 x 2 = 1000. 1k exp each should be correct.
bearbear
post Aug 21 2016, 03:28 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 21 2016, 02:41 PM)
Normally you get 500XP for an evolve. With lucky egg, you should get double XP. So 500 x 2 = 1000. 1k exp each should be correct.
hm I thought each evolve is 1k exp?
TSsoonwai
post Aug 21 2016, 03:34 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Aug 21 2016, 03:28 PM)
hm I thought each evolve is 1k exp?
Without lucky egg, only 500XP. Unless the evolve gives you a new pokemon which you have not gotten before then you get another 500XP. x2 with lucky egg.
bearbear
post Aug 21 2016, 05:00 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 21 2016, 03:34 PM)
Without lucky egg, only 500XP. Unless the evolve gives you a new pokemon which you have not gotten before then you get another 500XP. x2 with lucky egg.
ah ok thanks.

guess I utilize it well then, from lvl 14 to 17 in 30 mins

time to hunt for more bird biggrin.gif
TSsoonwai
post Aug 21 2016, 09:11 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Aug 21 2016, 05:00 PM)
ah ok thanks.

guess I utilize it well then, from lvl 14 to 17 in 30 mins

time to hunt for more bird biggrin.gif
Also if you want to maximise your lucky egg, avoid catching evolved forms which you know you will be evolving. In my 2nd mass evolve, I managed 73 evolves (73k) and 11 of this were new so I got another 11k for a total of 84000XP. Check my Nyonya FAQ for the drillz.
Quantum_thinking
post Aug 22 2016, 12:19 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 11 2016, 03:35 PM)

- Don't exit to the map screen for whatever reason because if you have levelled up, the level-up animation will waste precious seconds.
Hi TS,

How to do the above?

I just notice on the mass evolved strategy, but maxed out at 30k plus XP only.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 22 2016, 12:27 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Aug 22 2016, 12:19 AM)
Hi TS,

How to do the above?

I just notice on the mass evolved strategy, but maxed out at 30k plus XP only.

This is while you're doing the mass evolve, don't go back to the main map screen. During my first evolve, I did so to check on time remaining. Because my level has gone up, the Level Up animation started and wasted some time. So you don't want to do it. Just keep evolving until the 30mins is up. I use a separate phone as a 30 min timer.

30k XP is quite low. That's only 30 evolves with lucky egg active or 60 evolves without a lucky egg. Did you activate your lucky egg before you start?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 22 2016, 12:30 AM
bearbear
post Aug 22 2016, 12:53 AM

10,061 posts

it was my first lucky egg as well today I think I only managed 40+, been a rookie making all those mistakes ( lvl animation, check time remaining etc)

TSsoonwai
post Aug 22 2016, 01:13 AM

11,455 posts

kevinlowl bearbear
Did you use the Favourite/UnFavourite tip? I find this to very important. This eliminates scrolling which saves a lot of time.

To recap, you first favourite all the Pokemons that you want to evolve. As you evolve each one, you unfavourite them after the evolve animation. It's only 1 extra tap. Maybe extra 100ms.

QUOTE(kevinlowl @ Aug 22 2016, 12:51 AM)
I just did my first one without any planning and wasted a minute or two because I ran out of pokemons to evolve plus I also exited the menu to check the timer a few times. Only managed 57. I counted the ticks of my clock while watching one evolution cycle and 25 seconds seems about right. If only I planned it out. Two more eggs to go so let the pidgey farming commence! Also gonna use all the precious coins I accumulated for more lucky eggs.

That's some quick fingers you have OP. I don't know how you managed to squeeze one more in on top of the theoretical maximum of 72 evoutions.
57 quite good already. I got 63 on my first try. I think if you didn't run out of pokemons, you'd be more than me.

QUOTE(bearbear @ Aug 22 2016, 12:53 AM)
it was my first lucky egg as well today I think I only managed 40+, been a rookie making all those mistakes ( lvl animation, check time remaining etc)
Let's see what you get next time. Were you scrolling the pokemon list to find the pokemons to evolve?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 22 2016, 01:17 AM
TSsoonwai
post Aug 22 2016, 01:22 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(kevinlowl @ Aug 22 2016, 01:18 AM)
I rename them all as the number '1' lol. Scrolling down doesn't waste too much time as you don't have to do the action for every pokemon. The list doesn't reset to the top after each evolution so you only need to scroll once to access 12 pokemons on screen and scroll another time to access the next 12. I think that's quicker at least.
Good idea. I didn't think of that. Maybe I can give this a try next time.
bearbear
post Aug 22 2016, 11:00 AM

10,061 posts

Nope i did not use the Fav function, and i even spent time trading off pidgeotto to get more pidgey candy doh.gif
mikeosl1148
post Aug 22 2016, 12:34 PM

my first mass evolving:
from level20 - 21, 11 new entry in pokedex, about 60 pokemon evolved.

my second mass evolving:
level didnt increase, 6 new entry in pokedex, about 68 pokemon evolved.

stupiak07
post Aug 22 2016, 07:33 PM

397 posts

mass evolve with lucky egg could get 90k-100k+ per lucky egg

ignore transfering, just focus on evolve

This post has been edited by stupiak07: Aug 22 2016, 07:33 PM
Quantum_thinking
post Aug 22 2016, 11:42 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 22 2016, 12:27 AM)
This is while you're doing the mass evolve, don't go back to the main map screen. During my first evolve, I did so to check on time remaining. Because my level has gone up, the Level Up animation started and wasted some time. So you don't want to do it. Just keep evolving until the 30mins is up. I use a separate phone as a 30 min timer.

30k XP is quite low. That's only 30 evolves with lucky egg active or 60 evolves without a lucky egg. Did you activate your lucky egg before you start?
A couple of mistake though, but i do see that the evolving process screen is time wasting. I ran out of pokemons to evolve and i have to waste time transfer the pokemons to get more candies and evolve another 3 more. I also walking around trying to catch more pokemons.

How many levels that we can achieve as a trainer?
Quantum_thinking
post Aug 22 2016, 11:44 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Aug 22 2016, 11:00 AM)
Nope i did not use the Fav function, and i even spent time trading off pidgeotto to get more pidgey candy doh.gif
One of the thing that i have to do that time. I will focus catching more pokemons first for these few days.
Dannyl
post Aug 23 2016, 12:21 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Ah just completed mine. Really need to count how many Pokemons and candies are available to make sure you have enough to evolve. The game crashed almost to the end! Had to kill it and restarted. Luckily no level up animation once I got in. Quickly evolved one last one before timer ran out.

1 Caterpie
31 Pidgey
24 Weedle
12 Rattata

Still got lefover Pidgeys for next round biggrin.gif

Total 68K exp, from Level 20 to Level 21. Someone said should do it at about Level 17 to shoot up to Level 20... got more feel. Mine like no oomph laugh.gif

Now comes the mass Transfer of all the evolved Pokemons biggrin.gif
waveweaver
post Aug 23 2016, 01:29 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 23 2016, 12:21 AM)
Ah just completed mine.  Really need to count how many Pokemons and candies are available to make sure you have enough to evolve.  The game crashed almost to the end!  Had to kill it and restarted.  Luckily no level up animation once I got in.  Quickly evolved one last one before timer ran out.

1 Caterpie
31 Pidgey
24 Weedle
12 Rattata

Total 68K exp, from Level 20 to Level 21.  Someone said should do it at about Level 17 to shoot up to Level 20... got more feel.  Mine like no oomph laugh.gif

Now comes the mass Transfer of all the evolved Pokemons biggrin.gif
Level 21 need to look for 75K EP pulak..! rclxub.gif
Me level 21 still looking another 11K to level 22..LOL

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Aug 23 2016, 01:32 AM
TSsoonwai
post Aug 23 2016, 02:47 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Aug 22 2016, 11:00 AM)
Try the Fav/UnFav tip or the "Renaming" tip that someone posted above. I think they should help a lot. And please no more transferring pidgeotto during evolves. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(mikeosl1148 @ Aug 22 2016, 12:34 PM)
my first mass evolving:
from level20 - 21, 11 new entry in pokedex, about 60 pokemon evolved.
my second mass evolving:
level didnt increase, 6 new entry in pokedex, about 68 pokemon evolved.
71k and 74k XP. That's pretty awesome. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(stupiak07 @ Aug 22 2016, 07:33 PM)
mass evolve with lucky egg could get 90k-100k+ per lucky egg
ignore transfering, just focus on evolve
Yeah, good advice about ignoring transfers.

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Aug 22 2016, 11:44 PM)
One of the thing that i have to do that time. I will focus catching more pokemons first for these few days.
I usually prepare 78 evolves before I start. Just in case I gain superspeed. But seriously, the last thing I want is running out of evolves before the timer ends.

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 23 2016, 12:21 AM)
Ah just completed mine.  Really need to count how many Pokemons and candies are available to make sure you have enough to evolve.  The game crashed almost to the end!  Had to kill it and restarted.  Luckily no level up animation once I got in.  Quickly evolved one last one before timer ran out.

Total 68K exp, from Level 20 to Level 21.  Someone said should do it at about Level 17 to shoot up to Level 20... got more feel.  Mine like no oomph laugh.gif
I use http://www.pidgeycalc.com/ to double check the candies and pokemons needed. Very handy.

Doesn't matter when you do it, 68k XP now is still 68k XP later but you're right that it's much much more satisfying at 17 and jump to 20. I did mine at 16 to 19 and then 21-22. The 16-19 one, like you said, much more oomph biggrin.gif
FirstAidKit
post Aug 23 2016, 08:24 AM

267 posts

Lvl 15 newbie here. Just saw this thread about leveling up fast using Lucky Egg. Hmmm seem like I have to catch more pidgey, caterpie and ratata. anyway what's the best combination of pokemons to be evolved? My house area mostly got voltord, pidgey and magnemite.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 23 2016, 11:41 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(FirstAidKit @ Aug 23 2016, 08:24 AM)
Lvl 15 newbie here. Just saw this thread about leveling up fast using Lucky Egg. Hmmm seem like I have to catch more pidgey, caterpie and ratata. anyway what's the best combination of pokemons to be evolved? My house area mostly got voltord, pidgey and magnemite.
There's no optimal combination. I just catch whatever that's available. For me, Pidgey and Ratata very common so those 2 make up the bulk of it. Usually I'll catch enough for 78 evolves before I do it.

My last evolve consists of:

If you can do, let's say, 70 evolve in 30 mins. That's 70000XP. If it's the first time evolve for all of the above 21 Pokemons, you'll get another 21000XP.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 24 2016, 01:43 PM

11,455 posts

Pokemon Go for iOS 1.5.0 just released an hour or two ago.

- Implemented Pokémon Appraisal: Trainers will now be able to learn about a Pokémon’s attack and defense capabilities from their Team Leader (Candela, Blanche, or Spark) to determine which of their Pokémon have the most potential for battle.

- Fixed a bug that kept defeated Pokémon at 1HP; these Pokémon will now return as fainted Pokémon. We’re working on rebalancing the training battle, stay tuned.
days
post Aug 27 2016, 02:14 AM

Nice thread, thanks! Yeah, I didn't know I got Pokécoins if I got into a gym and missed out. sad.gif

I don't really understand mass evolves yet but I'll look more into it. I need to lvl up for the cooler Pokémons otherwise seems like a lot being wasted.
FirstAidKit
post Aug 27 2016, 01:47 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 23 2016, 11:41 AM)
There's no optimal combination. I just catch whatever that's available. For me, Pidgey and Ratata very common so those 2 make up the bulk of it. Usually I'll catch enough for 78 evolves before I do it.

My last evolve consists of:

If you can do, let's say, 70 evolve in 30 mins. That's 70000XP. If it's the first time evolve for all of the above 21 Pokemons, you'll get another 21000XP.
hey thanks for the explanation. anyway does evolving a pokemon gives us candy? Like you evolve a pidgey to pidgeotto, does the resultant gives 3 candy after the evolution?
TSsoonwai
post Aug 28 2016, 12:10 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(days @ Aug 27 2016, 02:14 AM)
Nice thread, thanks! Yeah, I didn't know I got Pokécoins if I got into a gym and missed out. sad.gif

I don't really understand mass evolves yet but I'll look more into it. I need to lvl up for the cooler Pokémons otherwise seems like a lot being wasted.
Thanks, I missed out too on the 10 coins the first time I beat a gym. Thought have to wait 21hrs before can claim. LOL.

QUOTE(FirstAidKit @ Aug 27 2016, 01:47 PM)
hey thanks for the explanation. anyway does evolving a pokemon gives us candy? Like you evolve a pidgey to pidgeotto, does the resultant gives 3 candy after the evolution?
No prob, each evolve will give you back 1 candy.

Results of my 4th Mass Evolve.
76 evolves + 2 new Pokemons = 78000XP

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 28 2016, 01:09 AM
FirstAidKit
post Aug 28 2016, 03:49 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 28 2016, 12:10 AM)
Thanks, I missed out too on the 10 coins the first time I beat a gym. Thought have to wait 21hrs before can claim. LOL.

alright thanks sifu ! notworthy.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Aug 28 2016, 08:48 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 28 2016, 12:10 AM)

If i beat a 2nd gym within the 21 hour, i can go and claim another 10 coins?
Dannyl
post Aug 28 2016, 10:29 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Aug 28 2016, 08:48 AM)
If i beat a 2nd gym within the 21 hour, i can go and claim another 10 coins?
1. You can only claim once every 21 hours.
2. You can claim as many 10 coins as there are gyms you are holding at the time when you claim.

So, to answer your question:
If you have not claimed yet, then yes.
Quantum_thinking
post Aug 28 2016, 04:47 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 28 2016, 10:29 AM)
1.  You can only claim once every 21 hours.
2.  You can claim as many 10 coins as there are gyms you are holding at the time when you claim.

So, to answer your question:
If you have not claimed yet, then yes.
Do you mean 100 coins if i am holding 10 gyms that i am holding when i claim?

This post has been edited by Quantum_thinking: Aug 28 2016, 04:48 PM
madmoz
post Aug 28 2016, 06:14 PM

4,250 posts

If you claims gym in a less popular semi rural area, don't put your first stringers.
I took over a gym a few days ago when I came back from SG for a holiday and it is still there. I'm flying back to work soon and it'll be ironic if I get banned for allegedly gps spoofing.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 29 2016, 01:17 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Aug 28 2016, 04:47 PM)
Do you mean 100 coins if i am holding 10 gyms that i am holding when i claim?
That's right.

QUOTE(madmoz @ Aug 28 2016, 06:14 PM)
If you claims gym in a less popular semi rural area, don't put your first stringers.
I took over a gym a few days ago when I came back from SG for a holiday and it is still there. I'm flying back to work soon and it'll be ironic if I get banned for allegedly gps spoofing.
I think you should be alright. About 2 weeks ago I was in Sydney for a day. Managed to play about 4 hours there. Was quite concerned about being banned too but so far ok.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 29 2016, 01:20 AM
Perbaman
post Aug 29 2016, 10:39 AM

63 posts

1st time spam evolve just now. got +77000 HP
went from lvl 17 -> lvl 20
so boring to evolve sekor2 pidgey n wait i almost lost focus lol
now items in bag 437/350 ohmy.gif
TSsoonwai
post Aug 29 2016, 02:05 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Perbaman @ Aug 29 2016, 10:39 AM)
1st time spam evolve just now. got +77000 HP
went from lvl 17 -> lvl 20
so boring to evolve sekor2 pidgey n wait i almost lost focus lol
now items in bag 437/350  ohmy.gif
Wow, nice! How many evolves did you do? Was it 77 with no new pokemons or less with new pokemons registered to achieve the 77k XP?
spacelion
post Aug 29 2016, 02:15 PM

Ada Liu
1,689 posts

Now im very itchy hand, have about 5-6 pokemon ready to evolve into new forms, IF i evolve now I just waste 2k exp (1k for evolve and 1k for new pokedex entry) which is 8 Pidgeys ... each .... >.<
Perbaman
post Aug 29 2016, 02:40 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 29 2016, 02:05 PM)
Wow, nice! How many evolves did you do? Was it 77 with no new pokemons or less with new pokemons registered to achieve the 77k XP?
i failed to count sweat.gif
i prepared a lot, i think about 80+ favourited for evolve. itu pun i still forgot & missed a few new evolves.
hopefully can simpan until next mass evolve lah.
i think there are about 7 new pokemons in pokedex.
some i oredi found them in the wild but purposely didnt catch & waited to evolve tongue.gif

thanks for the tips, bro cheers.gif

This post has been edited by Perbaman: Aug 29 2016, 02:42 PM
terryfu
post Aug 29 2016, 06:49 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(spacelion @ Aug 29 2016, 02:15 PM)
Now im very itchy hand, have about 5-6 pokemon ready to evolve into new forms, IF i evolve now I just waste 2k exp (1k for evolve and 1k for new pokedex entry) which is 8 Pidgeys ... each .... >.<
Patience. I also had that problem last time. Want to evolve my near perfect pikachu to raichu. Now am waiting for my 10km eggs to near hatch before performing the lucky egg mass evolve.
negisf
post Aug 29 2016, 06:54 PM

1,878 posts

Soon Wai, U didn't try the on/off apps method? Was tempted to try but worry end up slower than normal. My mass evolve it's about 74-75 ekor each time now..

Theoretical can do more than 100 ekor if use the on/off apps method

This post has been edited by negisf: Aug 29 2016, 06:55 PM
Dannyl
post Aug 29 2016, 09:38 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(negisf @ Aug 29 2016, 06:54 PM)
Soon Wai, U didn't try the on/off apps method? Was tempted to try but worry end up slower than normal. My mass evolve it's about 74-75 ekor each time now..

What on/off apps method?! drool.gif
Dannyl
post Aug 29 2016, 10:27 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Did my second round of mass-evolve, this time with Favourite tip. Total 75,000 exp.

11 x Caterpie
1 x Clefairy NEW
1 x Eevee NEW
1 x Gastly NEW
1 x Goldeen NEW
1 x Nidorino NEW
1 x Oddish NEW
28 x Pidgey
1 x Poliwhirl NEW
1 x Psyduck NEW
1 x Staryu NEW
18 x Weedle
ckuanglim
post Aug 30 2016, 09:18 AM

595 posts

I prepared 100 pokemon for evolve. But I only able to evolve ~65 in 30min, using the Favourite tip. 6 of them newly register to Pokedex. I am too slow...
spacelion
post Aug 30 2016, 09:42 AM

Ada Liu
1,689 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 29 2016, 09:38 PM)
What on/off apps method?!  drool.gif
cancel evolve animation icon_idea.gif
TSsoonwai
post Aug 30 2016, 05:39 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(negisf @ Aug 29 2016, 06:54 PM)

Scared to try. Dun want to break my iPhone Home button. cause on iphone the way to quit app is to double press the home button. 3D touch on the edge also can but I think will be slower.

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 29 2016, 09:38 PM)
What on/off apps method?!  drool.gif
Normally the evolve plus animation takes about 23secs. The on/off method entails quitting the Pogo app right after you start an evolve and then launching it again so as to skip the animation. Provided everything goes smoothly, someone on youtube timed it at 15 secs. 1800secs/15secs = 120 theoretical evolves in 30 mins!

Here's a video that chrisling posted. Around 3:27 he times the evolve with animation at about 23secs. Then using on/off method, at 15 secs. But imagine doing that 100 times in a row. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 30 2016, 05:49 PM
Shoot@M3
post Aug 30 2016, 05:58 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

nice tips, thanks for sharing!
Dannyl
post Aug 30 2016, 07:06 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 30 2016, 05:39 PM)
Here's a video that chrisling posted. Around 3:27 he times the evolve with animation at about 23secs. Then using on/off method, at 15 secs. But imagine doing that 100 times in a row. sweat.gif

Nice! Android people maybe can try. Some phones don't have physical home push buttons. But also depends on your phone spec, need to check how fast it can load PoGo. Old phone like mine, Samsung Note 3, sure die lah laugh.gif
TSsoonwai
post Aug 30 2016, 09:11 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 30 2016, 07:06 PM)
Nice!  Android people maybe can try.  Some phones don't have physical home push buttons.  But also depends on your phone spec, need to check how fast it can load PoGo.  Old phone like mine, Samsung Note 3, sure die lah  laugh.gif
I was curious so I decided to try the on/off method just now. I only did for 10mins but must say that it can work with practise.

Anyway in 10 mins I managed to do 27-28 evolves. This equals to 84 evolves in 30mins. Not so good but already better than my best of 76 using normal method. I was quite kelam-kabut. Will take some practise to perfect the sequence: evolve, switch to app switcher, quit app, start app, tap ok, go to pokemon list, scroll, press evolve and repeat. I'm using iPhone 6s so speed is quite fast. Didn't encounter any probs with PoGo signing in multiple times in the 10 mins.

Probably for my next mass evolve, I'm going to try this.

A few things I noted:
- I double checked that the XP from the evolves are registered. Was afraid with all the quitting and restarting, some XP may have been missed. But no, it's all there.
- I believe you can quit PoGo as soon as you press Yes to evolve. The server seems to register the evolve as soon as you press Yes. But internet connectivity quality may affect this.
- There's no level up animation. During my test, I went from Level 24 to 25 after one of the evolves. The level up animation does not play after restarting PoGo. But I confirm that the level rewards are received.
- I'm on an iPhone and double pressing the Home button is one way to bring up the app switcher to quit PoGo. An alternative is to use AssistiveTouch. 2 taps to bring up the app switcher. Not sure which is faster but the latter will be less destructive to your home button.
- I did my test on 4G but wifi should work equally well.
- The "Sort By..." remains after app restart but the scroll position is reset to the top
- You can Fav as usual but you can't un-fav since un-Fav only works after the evolve PoGo needs to be restarted as soon as you press Yes to evolve so some scrolling will be needed which will eat up some time.
- I might consider not using Fav for this because the secondary sort for Fav'ed Pokemons is CP. It's going to be one big mess.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 30 2016, 11:51 PM
ajax91
post Aug 31 2016, 02:32 PM

macOS Enthusiast
1,206 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 30 2016, 07:06 PM)
Nice!  Android people maybe can try.  Some phones don't have physical home push buttons.  But also depends on your phone spec, need to check how fast it can load PoGo.  Old phone like mine, Samsung Note 3, sure die lah  laugh.gif
android version is still buggy
sometime it just lag on my phone for no reason
TSsoonwai
post Sep 1 2016, 09:03 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(ajax91 @ Aug 31 2016, 02:32 PM)
android version is still buggy
sometime it just lag on my phone for no reason
If you don't mind me asking, what device are you using?
Shoot@M3
post Sep 2 2016, 02:55 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

i didn't try mass evolve yet, still gathering the caterpie, pidgey and weedle. Im just lvl13, mostly from pure catching poke
i tested on my device, close the app then start it, its way longer than the animation 23 sec so im gonna stick with the animation i guess
using cheapo redmi note 3g here...
negisf
post Sep 2 2016, 03:13 PM

1,878 posts

I got 2 different ID, played on 1 S.Note 4 and 1 iphone 6s+.

I noticed Note tends to be more laggy, sometimes connection / gps problem.
But smooth and easy on ip6..

Somehow i felt the game it's better executed and played on apple device compare to android
negisf
post Sep 2 2016, 05:01 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 30 2016, 09:11 PM)
I was curious so I decided to try the on/off method just now. I only did for 10mins but must say that it can work with practise.

Anyway in 10 mins I managed to do 27-28 evolves. This equals to 84 evolves in 30mins. Not so good but already better than my best of 76 using normal method. I was quite kelam-kabut. Will take some practise to perfect the sequence: evolve, switch to app switcher, quit app, start app, tap ok, go to pokemon list, scroll, press evolve and repeat. I'm using iPhone 6s so speed is quite fast. Didn't encounter any probs with PoGo signing in multiple times in the 10 mins.

Probably for my next mass evolve, I'm going to try this.

A few things I noted:
- I double checked that the XP from the evolves are registered. Was afraid with all the quitting and restarting, some XP may have been missed. But no, it's all there.
- I believe you can quit PoGo as soon as you press Yes to evolve. The server seems to register the evolve as soon as you press Yes. But internet connectivity quality may affect this.
- There's no level up animation. During my test, I went from Level 24 to 25 after one of the evolves. The level up animation does not play after restarting PoGo. But I confirm that the level rewards are received.
- I'm on an iPhone and double pressing the Home button is one way to bring up the app switcher to quit PoGo. An alternative is to use AssistiveTouch. 2 taps to bring up the app switcher. Not sure which is faster but the latter will be less destructive to your home button.
- I did my test on 4G but wifi should work equally well.
- The "Sort By..." remains after app restart but the scroll position is reset to the top
- You can Fav as usual but you can't un-fav since un-Fav only works after the evolve PoGo needs to be restarted as soon as you press Yes to evolve so some scrolling will be needed which will eat up some time.
- I might consider not using Fav for this because the secondary sort for Fav'ed Pokemons is CP. It's going to be one big mess.
I did a test run with this kill app method,. Cause i proceed without any practice, i only able to get 94 evolve in the 30 minutes.
Yes, i kill the apps immediately after i press yes evolve without loading the animation.
BTW bro, a tips for you,. we can still FAV those evolve pokemon like usual,, just that instead of un-fav them after we evolved,
we can un-fav it before we click yes to evolve it. That way it won't be messy after we kill the apps and restart
fuzzy
post Sep 2 2016, 05:48 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(negisf @ Sep 2 2016, 05:01 PM)
I did a test run with this kill app method,. Cause i proceed without any practice, i only able to get 94 evolve in the 30 minutes.
Yes, i kill the apps immediately after i press yes evolve without loading the animation.
BTW bro, a tips for you,. we can still FAV those evolve pokemon like usual,, just that instead of un-fav them after we evolved,
we can un-fav it before we click yes to evolve it. That way it won't be messy after we kill the apps and restart
Time your kill app / restart time.

The animation takes about 20 secs to complete, so if your kill + restart is under that 20, then it is worth it.
Shoot@M3
post Sep 2 2016, 06:00 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

94!!!! oh mai... so many... thats like 3 in one min eh... brows.gif
negisf
post Sep 2 2016, 11:47 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Sep 2 2016, 05:48 PM)
Time your kill app / restart time.

The animation takes about 20 secs to complete, so if your kill + restart is under that 20, then it is worth it.
Bro, won't be so consistent. Cause timing doing 1-2 run and doing non-stop for 30 minutes. It's sometimes too many on/off u lose track what's e next step n blur out awhile. But on average I would say it's much more tedious. But definately produce better result.

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Sep 2 2016, 06:00 PM)
94!!!! oh mai... so many... thats like 3 in one min eh... brows.gif

This methis very depending on high spec phone. Mine it's iPhone so quite smooth la. Not sure if running on android how would it be
TSsoonwai
post Sep 3 2016, 01:30 AM

11,455 posts

rclxms.gif 94! That's fantastic. Thanks for the tip. The un-fav will help a lot. I'm saving evolves now to try but not much time to play these few days so it's a bit slow going. Hope can do this early next week.

TSOM
post Sep 4 2016, 12:22 AM

2,145 posts

when evolve + lucky egg, should I just do all pidgey to pidgeotto??

or should I also do secondary evolution like pidgeotto to pidgeot or haunter to Gengar??
bearbear
post Sep 4 2016, 12:37 AM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 4 2016, 12:22 AM)

or should I also do secondary evolution like pidgeotto to pidgeot or haunter to Gengar??
pidget to pidgeotto, because it give you the volume with least candy required. (12)

regardless of how many candies you used for each evolve, you only get awarded 500XP (x2 with lucky egg). so spam the most 'cost effective' lvl up is spam on pidget, caterpie and weedle
TSOM
post Sep 4 2016, 12:47 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 4 2016, 12:37 AM)
pidget to pidgeotto, because it give you the volume with least candy required. (12)

regardless of how many candies you used for each evolve, you only get awarded 500XP (x2 with lucky egg). so spam the most 'cost effective' lvl up is spam on pidget, caterpie and weedle
the reason I asked is because I already caught Pidgeotto. I read somewhere that you get more XP if you evolve to something you never caught.
so I'm not sure it's worth evolving to something I never caught, like Pidgeot and Gengar.
bearbear
post Sep 4 2016, 12:50 AM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 4 2016, 12:47 AM)
the reason I asked is because I already caught Pidgeotto. I read somewhere that you get more XP if you evolve to something you never caught.
so I'm not sure it's worth evolving to something I never caught, like Pidgeot and Gengar.
Yes you get extra 500XP (x2 with lucky egg) if you evolve something you never caught

but your candy cost will be more than double to evolve pidgeot. (50 vs 12) You can effectively upgrade 4 pidgets (48 candies required) vs 1 Pidgeotto (50 candies required)

so my advise is still spam evolve pidget, as your aim is to get more XP and lvl up.

Once your level is higher you are bound to find these pokemon in the wild somewhere, or you can just evolve one for collection.
TSsoonwai
post Sep 4 2016, 01:53 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 4 2016, 12:22 AM)

Doesn't all have to be Pidgeys, I usually do a mixture of everything, whichever I have candies for.

If you have enough candies to do your Pidgeys and have extra for one Pidgeotto to Pidgeot, by all means go for it. The new Pokemon animation is only about 3-4 secs, definitely worth it for the extra 2x500XP.

Remember the limiting factor is time, the lucky egg's 30mins. Candies can always be collected beforehand.
GameFr3ak
post Sep 4 2016, 03:00 AM

3,849 posts

When do you quit in order to skip the animation? Right after when the evolution begins?
TSsoonwai
post Sep 4 2016, 03:11 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Sep 4 2016, 03:00 AM)
When do you quit in order to skip the animation? Right after when the evolution begins?
For me, right after I press "Yes" to evolve. But you may want to do a test run to make sure it's ok for you and that the evolve actually takes place.
TSOM
post Sep 4 2016, 04:25 AM

2,145 posts

I already caught two pidgeotto before any evolution. If I trade all pidgeotto to Prof Oak and then I evolve my pidgey, does the pidgeotto considered as new pokemon?

so I can get 1000XP for a new pokemon (becomes 2000XP with lucky egg)???

if not, then I better not catch any second stage evolution pokemon when I find them, like Pidgeotto, Haunter, Kingler etc???
memphiz_zero88
post Sep 4 2016, 06:21 AM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 4 2016, 04:25 AM)
I already caught two pidgeotto before any evolution. If I trade all pidgeotto to Prof Oak and then I evolve my pidgey, does the pidgeotto considered as new pokemon?

so I can get 1000XP for a new pokemon (becomes 2000XP with lucky egg)???

if not, then I better not catch any second stage evolution pokemon when I find them, like Pidgeotto, Haunter, Kingler etc???
new pokemon = newly registered to pokedex. so so it's only new if you catch/evolve for first time.
bearbear
post Sep 4 2016, 12:11 PM

10,061 posts

you can trade but it is registered on pokedex so no more bonus of 500XP

basically you can only register a new pokemon on pokedex once.
Quantum_thinking
post Sep 4 2016, 01:23 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 4 2016, 12:47 AM)
The goal of mass evolving is to get the necessary experience. Hence, i always evolve the pidgey, caterpie and weedle as it is the "cheapest" to evolve.

However, i tend to look out before i trade off my Raticate as some of them may have a very high damage attack for their Hyper Beam. For the Pidgeottos, i just trade them all. biggrin.gif
TSOM
post Sep 4 2016, 02:51 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 4 2016, 12:50 AM)
Yes you get extra 500XP (x2 with lucky egg) if you evolve something you never caught

but your candy cost will be more than double to evolve pidgeot. (50 vs 12) You can effectively upgrade 4 pidgets (48 candies required) vs 1 Pidgeotto (50 candies required)

so my advise is still spam evolve pidget, as your aim is to get more XP and lvl up.

Once your level is higher you are bound to find these pokemon in the wild somewhere, or you can just evolve one for collection.
QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Sep 4 2016, 01:23 PM)
The goal of mass evolving is to get the necessary experience. Hence, i always evolve the pidgey, caterpie and weedle as it is the "cheapest" to evolve.

However, i tend to look out before i trade off my Raticate as some of them may have a very high damage attack for their Hyper Beam. For the Pidgeottos, i just trade them all.  biggrin.gif
it may come as a surprise but I don't see a lot of caterpie and weedle. Pidgey is more but still not that many.

I got most Drowzee candies (310), Ratata (258) and then Pidgey (244).

currently I can do 47 evolution. I'm waiting until 60 then I'll use lucky egg.
TSsoonwai
post Sep 4 2016, 02:55 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 4 2016, 02:51 PM)
it may come as a surprise but I don't see a lot of caterpie and weedle. Pidgey is more but still not that many.

For me, it's mostly Pidgeys and Rattata. I've caught 488 Pidgeys, 433 Rattatas and only 44 Caterpies and 134 Weedles.

I think you should prepare at least 70. On my first try, I got 66 evolves.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Oct 23 2016, 12:00 AM
bearbear
post Sep 4 2016, 04:24 PM

10,061 posts

just prepare more, I think 80 is sufficient unless you do the restart thing. sometimes my phones longer than usual to log in so I just let the game flow.

mark all the pokemon you wish to evolve as favourite, you should do at least 50-60 easily depending on how many new pokemon there is.
Quantum_thinking
post Sep 4 2016, 11:10 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

That's something rare for me.

For me, i am not pushing hard on getting the candy's and level up as i am not in a big hurry, but i am more focus on being consistent and always beating the gyms for pokecoins.
TSOM
post Sep 4 2016, 11:49 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 4 2016, 04:24 PM)
just prepare more, I think 80 is sufficient unless you do the restart thing. sometimes my phones longer than usual to log in so I just let the game flow.

mark all the pokemon you wish to evolve as favourite, you should do at least 50-60 easily depending on how many new pokemon there is.
today I went out hunting and got more drowzee. Hard to find pidgey, as hard as finding magikarp.

what is the restart thing? I don't understand.

when choosing pokemon to evolve, do we go for the one with the highest CP or highest IV or best attack move?? Because some even though CP is high, the attack moves suck.
fkinmeng
post Sep 5 2016, 12:33 AM

6,372 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 4 2016, 11:49 PM)
today I went out hunting and got more drowzee. Hard to find pidgey, as hard as finding magikarp.

when choosing pokemon to evolve, do we go for the one with the highest CP or highest IV or best attack move?? Because some even though CP is high, the attack moves suck.
where you get drowsee?
XeactorZ
post Sep 5 2016, 12:45 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

number 5 is true ??

5. Hatching Eggs Hatch your 2km & 5km eggs first. Always try to ensure that you have space for an egg in case the next one that comes along is a 10km egg. Delay as much as possible until your level is higher before you start hatching your 5km and 10km eggs. The 10km eggs gives awesome Pokemons but their level will depend on your trainer's level. Egg level is determined when you received it & not when you hatch it. TBC but eggs collected have the same level as the trainer during collection time up to a cap of level 20.

TBH right now me level 21 don't even got any 10km eggs
is it due to I didn't hatch a lot eggs (now my bag got 9 eggs, hatching 2 eggs which are 2km and 5km)
if like this I better spend those egg incubator to hatch those 5km eggs rclxub.gif
negisf
post Sep 5 2016, 11:45 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 5 2016, 12:45 AM)
number 5 is true ??
is it due to I didn't hatch a lot eggs (now my bag got 9 eggs, hatching 2 eggs which are 2km and 5km)
if like this I better spend those egg incubator to hatch those 5km eggs rclxub.gif
I think that is not true. The egg CP it's based on your level when you collect them,
not when u hatch them.
rx330
post Sep 5 2016, 11:54 AM

11,808 posts

on the safe side, prepare 70 for evolve
once u get used to it, 60 plus will leave u ard 3-5 minutes depending on how many new pokemon u registered

TSsoonwai
post Sep 5 2016, 11:57 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 5 2016, 12:45 AM)
number 5 is true ??
QUOTE(negisf @ Sep 5 2016, 11:45 AM)
I think that is not true. The egg CP it's based on your level when you collect them,
not when u hatch them.
negisf is correct as is the faq. Note the strikethroughs.

I always hatch the 2km ones first then the 5km ones to ensure there's always at least one extra space. And forever hoping the next pokestop will give me a 10km egg.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 5 2016, 12:01 PM
kllonely1
post Sep 5 2016, 12:00 PM

321 posts

A general question - which team is strongest in Selangor + WP?

bearbear
post Sep 5 2016, 01:11 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 4 2016, 11:49 PM)

magikarp - usually near sea or river. Cant speak for Msia but in Singapore places like Vivo / MBS area are magikarp nest. I just sit there (within 3 pokestops) and they spawn like sperms lol. I basically sit there 3 hours = minimum 50-60 magikarp. Now i have an IV 90 gyarados with perfect move set biggrin.gif

Restart means once u press "evolve" then u kill the apps and reload because the evolve animation take away your precious time. But you need to make sure your phone load the apps faster that animation period.

Bro, after evolve pidget / weedle / caterpie I just trade them for more candies. You wont use these pokemon for figthing wo.

** I saw in the other thread you can actually readjust the time on your phone and the timer will follow the time on your phone? This is kinda cheating but anyone tried? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bearbear: Sep 5 2016, 01:12 PM
ck_boon
post Sep 5 2016, 01:17 PM

1,894 posts

evolve got xp or power up only got xp? i press evolve no xp tambah pun
XeactorZ
post Sep 5 2016, 03:00 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 5 2016, 11:57 AM)
negisf is correct as is the faq. Note the strikethroughs.
I always hatch the 2km ones first then the 5km ones to ensure there's always at least one extra space. And forever hoping the next pokestop will give me a 10km egg.
okay, guess is time to hatch those 2km and 5km eggs biggrin.gif
ckuanglim
post Sep 5 2016, 03:11 PM

595 posts

For the lucky egg and mess evolve, can we log-in the same account in two phone, then evolve using two phone?
thirty6whoisit
post Sep 5 2016, 03:20 PM

Where did you find all the drowzees if you don't mind sharing would be gr8! Thanks!
TSsoonwai
post Sep 5 2016, 04:10 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Sep 5 2016, 01:17 PM)
evolve got xp or power up only got xp? i press evolve no xp tambah pun
Evolve will give you 500XP. Power Up no XP.
TSOM
post Sep 5 2016, 04:44 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Sep 5 2016, 12:33 AM)
where you get drowsee?
QUOTE(thirty6whoisit @ Sep 5 2016, 03:20 PM)
Where did you find all the drowzees if you don't mind sharing would be gr8! Thanks!
not sure where in Malaysia because I live overseas...

drowzee is useless to be honest. Need 50 candies to evolve. I rather have more pidgey. laugh.gif
bearbear
post Sep 5 2016, 10:32 PM

10,061 posts

dear sifu sekalian,

does your trainer level affects the pokemon you evolve?

just caught a 93.3 IV eevee, shall i hold or can evolve now? Currently im lvl 22

This post has been edited by bearbear: Sep 5 2016, 10:33 PM
SUSnasrulafiq93
post Sep 5 2016, 10:38 PM

625 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 5 2016, 10:32 PM)
dear sifu sekalian,

does your trainer level affects the pokemon you evolve?

just caught a 93.3 IV eevee, shall i hold or can evolve now? Currently im lvl 22
Nope. Evolutions depends on the Pokemon's CP and its pre-calculated CP Multiplier. Yup, there's thing thing called CP multiplier. Each species of Pokemon has its own multiplier calculation. Google to know more about it.
bearbear
post Sep 5 2016, 10:40 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(nasrulafiq93 @ Sep 5 2016, 10:38 PM)
Nope. Evolutions depends on the Pokemon's CP and its pre-calculated CP Multiplier. Yup, there's thing thing called CP multiplier. Each species of Pokemon has its own multiplier calculation. Google to know more about it.
ok so ic may proceed, many thanks!

common to evolve a 13xx CP gyarados? The Magikarp was 13x CP and the IV calculator show min. 88% IV. So the only random is the move set?
SUSnasrulafiq93
post Sep 5 2016, 11:35 PM

625 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 5 2016, 10:40 PM)
ok so ic may proceed, many thanks!

common to evolve a 13xx CP gyarados? The Magikarp was 13x CP and the IV calculator show min. 88% IV. So the only random is the move set?
Yup, good luck in not getting the infamous Twister moveset thumbup.gif
bearbear
post Sep 5 2016, 11:41 PM

10,061 posts

i already evolved the magikarp earlier, no twister tongue.gif perfect move set.

now waiting for better IV magikarp, had a few 130 - 140 but the IV was sad.

Just saw a friend posted on fb his 171 CP magikarp end up having twister. he was going mad lol

This post has been edited by bearbear: Sep 5 2016, 11:42 PM
ReaperX
post Sep 6 2016, 04:38 AM

U can be the moon but still be jealous of the stars.
892 posts

QUOTE(negisf @ Sep 2 2016, 11:47 PM)
Bro, won't be so consistent. Cause timing doing 1-2 run and doing non-stop for 30 minutes. It's sometimes too many on/off u lose track what's e next step n blur out awhile. But on average I would say it's much more tedious. But definately produce better result.
This methis very depending on high spec phone. Mine it's iPhone so quite smooth la. Not sure if running on android how would it be
Thanks for the tip for the fav/unfav and off/on app technique. It really helped me to manage 94 evolves (86 normal + 8 new additions) for a total of 102k XP!

But honestly I could do faster though, was stucked enjoying the 3 animations of Vaporeon, Flareon and Exeggutor... staring in awe of its beautiful transformation laugh.gif

By the way, I ran on a Note 7 (yes, i was praying all the while it won't explode midway sweat.gif ) Really hope it stays in 1 piece till the replacement made with Samsung in 2 weeks time *touchwood*

So I have 2 more lucky eggs, will grind more and try to aim for >95 next. Will report back tongue.gif

shinchan^^
post Sep 6 2016, 09:56 AM

K66
21,256 posts

is it true
same stop same egg same hatch?

Ive been getting same kilometre egg from the same stop
TSsoonwai
post Sep 7 2016, 01:07 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(ReaperX @ Sep 6 2016, 04:38 AM)
Thanks for the tip for the fav/unfav and off/on app technique. It really helped me to manage 94 evolves (86 normal + 8 new additions) for a total of 102k XP!

But honestly I could do faster though, was stucked enjoying the 3 animations of Vaporeon, Flareon and Exeggutor... staring in awe of its beautiful transformation  laugh.gif

By the way, I ran on a Note 7 (yes, i was praying all the while it won't explode midway  sweat.gif ) Really hope it stays in 1 piece till the replacement made with Samsung in 2 weeks time *touchwood*

So I have 2 more lucky eggs, will grind more and try to aim for >95 next. Will report back tongue.gif

94 evolves is fantastic. I'm going to try tomorrow. Currently saving up on evolves. So far 101. I think I'll prepare another 9 more then try.
XeactorZ
post Sep 7 2016, 02:09 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

btw any recommend android apps to check pokemon IV ?
currently I am using website to check them ...
waveweaver
post Sep 7 2016, 07:06 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 7 2016, 02:09 AM)
btw any recommend android apps to check pokemon IV ?
currently I am using website to check them ...
Am using All G app from Play Store. Though it still use log in atleast it not overlay directly in PoGo app. It open with it own app.
yeelong
post Sep 7 2016, 10:26 AM

K for /K
1,218 posts

QUOTE(ReaperX @ Sep 6 2016, 04:38 AM)

But honestly I could do faster though, was stucked enjoying the 3 animations of Vaporeon, Flareon and Exeggutor... staring in awe of its beautiful transformation  laugh.gif

By the way, I ran on a Note 7 (yes, i was praying all the while it won't explode midway  sweat.gif ) Really hope it stays in 1 piece till the replacement made with Samsung in 2 weeks time *touchwood*

bro, i tried mass evolved last saturday only manage to get 73 (67 pidgey and 6 ratata) Any special tips to get to 90 plus? I Planning for another evolve in 2 weeks times with my weedles and caterpie.
TSsoonwai
post Sep 7 2016, 12:08 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(yeelong @ Sep 7 2016, 10:26 AM)
bro, i tried mass evolved last saturday only manage to get 73 (67 pidgey and 6 ratata) Any special tips to get to 90 plus? I Planning for another evolve in 2 weeks times with my weedles and caterpie.
He's the using the Onoff method where you start the evolve and immediately quit the PoGo app, restart PoGo and repeat. This skips the evolve animation which saves many secs. But also depends on the speed of the device.
yeelong
post Sep 7 2016, 12:12 PM

K for /K
1,218 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 7 2016, 12:08 PM)
He's the using the Onoff method where you start the evolve and immediately quit the PoGo app, restart PoGo and repeat. This skips the evolve animation which saves many secs. But also depends on the speed of the device.
huh?? meaning each tiime evolved then sign out. and then sign in again to evolve another one???
bearbear
post Sep 7 2016, 12:58 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(yeelong @ Sep 7 2016, 12:12 PM)
huh?? meaning each tiime evolved then sign out. and then sign in again to evolve another one???
means u kill the apps as soon as you confirm the evolve. Then click to load the application again.

you can trail run how many seconds you can kill and restart the app, if lesser than the animation then you can evolve more.
yeelong
post Sep 7 2016, 01:00 PM

K for /K
1,218 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 7 2016, 12:58 PM)
means u kill the apps as soon as you confirm the evolve. Then click to load the application again.

you can trail run how many seconds you can kill and restart the app, if lesser than the animation then you can evolve more.
lucky eggs timer will stop once app is stopped???? hmm.gif
bearbear
post Sep 7 2016, 01:01 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(yeelong @ Sep 7 2016, 01:00 PM)
nope, it runs with the time on your phone

i have not personally tried it, we have a few user here shared they did it.

This post has been edited by bearbear: Sep 7 2016, 01:02 PM
TSsoonwai
post Sep 7 2016, 01:04 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(yeelong @ Sep 7 2016, 01:00 PM)
No, it'll still be there. It's tracked server-side. That's also why if you turn back the clock 30 mins on the phone, you'll see 1hr for your lucky egg but it's actually still 30mins.
ckuanglim
post Sep 7 2016, 01:42 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(ckuanglim @ Sep 5 2016, 03:11 PM)
For the lucky egg and mess evolve, can we log-in the same account in two phone, then evolve using two phone?
Can we do this?
TSsoonwai
post Sep 7 2016, 01:48 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(ckuanglim @ Sep 7 2016, 01:42 PM)
Can we do this?
I've not tried. Can you try and let us know?
yeelong
post Sep 7 2016, 02:17 PM

K for /K
1,218 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 7 2016, 01:04 PM)
No, it'll still be there. It's tracked server-side. That's also why if you turn back the clock 30 mins on the phone, you'll see 1hr for your lucky egg but it's actually still 30mins.
hmm.gif seems like a lot of work to do... i will still try the conventional method and hope can best my previous 73
ckuanglim
post Sep 7 2016, 02:54 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(ckuanglim @ Sep 5 2016, 03:11 PM)
Will get banned?
nagflar
post Sep 7 2016, 03:37 PM

1,813 posts

QUOTE(ckuanglim @ Sep 7 2016, 02:54 PM)
Will get banned?
No one know .
But did the few extra thousand xp worth the risk ? mulitlogin with same id , Niantic will suspect one of the login session is a bot .

This post has been edited by nagflar: Sep 7 2016, 04:00 PM
bearbear
post Sep 7 2016, 05:07 PM

10,061 posts

those of you who did the on/off method, on average how many seconds you need to close and open apps?

i did an experiment, my phone take 11 - 15 seconds
XeactorZ
post Sep 7 2016, 05:16 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Sep 7 2016, 07:06 AM)
Am using All G app from Play Store. Though it still use log in atleast it not overlay directly in PoGo app. It open with it own app.
Got play store link ??
yeelong
post Sep 7 2016, 05:54 PM

K for /K
1,218 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 7 2016, 05:07 PM)
those of you who did the on/off method, on average how many seconds you need to close and open apps?

i did an experiment, my phone take 11 - 15 seconds
mine is 10 sec (kill off app and run again)
waveweaver
post Sep 7 2016, 09:08 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 7 2016, 05:16 PM)
Got play store link ??
Duhh...no more at Play Store. Taken down edi I think.
If you wanna the apk let me know. Can give to you for sideloading.
bearbear
post Sep 8 2016, 01:51 AM

10,061 posts

ok so I just tried the on/off method, managed to evolve 86 pokemons with 3 minues to spare!!

90 is easy, I made some small mistakes here and there

tips: for weedle, caterpie and pidget. keep the lower cp ones. if you keep high cp some of the lower cp you evolve will still have lower cp than the weedle / caterpie / pidget then you will waste time as they are mixed up.

I sort of time myself based on time remaining on the lucky egg, fastest was 15 seconds and average can count 18-20 seconds. Later phase will be slower cos u need to browse down the pokemon list.
TSsoonwai
post Sep 8 2016, 04:55 AM

11,455 posts

Finally tried the Onoff method.

Prepared 118 evolves.
2 Bellsprout 1 Bulbasaur 9 Caterpie 1 Clefairy 7 Eevee 1 Ekans 2 Exeggcute 1 Geodude 1 Goldeen 1 Krabby 1 Nidoran ♂ 2 Oddish 1 Paras 45 Pidgey 1 Poliwag 3 Psyduck 18 Rattata 2 Slowpoke 1 Spearow 2 Staryu 1 Tentacool 2 Venonat 11 Weedle 2 Zubat

Managed to do 111 in 30 mins for 111000XP. blink.gif

Mass evolve performed on iPhone 6s.

Notes:
- Had to purchase one Pokemon Bag Upgrade in order to store all the pokemons for the evolve.
- I fav'ed all 118 before I began but the unfaving before the evolve did not work for me. Ended with a big mess and lots of scrolling especially towards the end. Very, very kelam kabut.
- Was afraid about login failure but none encountered.
- Made so many mistakes and mispresses, if the unfaving worked, i think could have done at least 5 more.
- I used AssistiveTouch to bring up iOS Multitasking instead of double pressing the Home button. If you set AssistiveTouch to just one item then it only takes one tap to activate Multitasking.
- Very stressing.
- Recorded the entire session. Once I edit it, I will post it up. Can do some timings from the video.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 8 2016, 01:04 PM
negisf
post Sep 8 2016, 08:15 AM

1,878 posts

There's something that puzzled me.

I check the stats of my dragonite on the website pokeassist.

The Stats of a level 20.5 & level 1 it's the same for the ATK / Defense / Stamina. What's difference it's just the CP & HP.

So does it means that the stats it's the same regardless level? When level up on the CP & HP increase?

TSsoonwai
post Sep 8 2016, 10:43 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(negisf @ Sep 8 2016, 08:15 AM)
There's something that puzzled me.

I check the stats of my dragonite on the website pokeassist.

The Stats of a level 20.5 & level 1 it's the same for the ATK / Defense / Stamina. What's difference it's just the CP & HP.

So does it means that the stats it's the same regardless level? When level up on the CP & HP increase?
Those are the IVs of this Dragonite. They are constant for each individual Pokemon. We often refer to IVs as 01-15 but it's actually 0-15 plus the base value. The base value is the same for one type of Pokemon.

HP & CP and also damage & defense are calculated from those IVs and Pokemon level and move set for damage.
mitodna
post Sep 8 2016, 11:10 AM

14,039 posts

soonwai wow, my first lucky was only 71k exp, with pidgey, caterpie and weddle, normal method
negisf
post Sep 8 2016, 02:53 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 8 2016, 10:43 AM)
Those are the IVs of this Dragonite. They are constant for each individual Pokemon. We often refer to IVs as 01-15 but it's actually 0-15 plus the base value. The base value is the same for one type of Pokemon.

HP & CP and also damage & defense are calculated from those IVs and Pokemon level and move set for damage.
Yes. I understand.
So if damage & defense are calculated base on the same base stat, so we can say that the damage done by a level 20 & level 40 of that Pokemon it's the same damage. What's matters is higher Pokemon has higher hp for endurance. Betul?
TSsoonwai
post Sep 8 2016, 11:44 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(negisf @ Sep 8 2016, 02:53 PM)
Yes. I understand.
So if damage & defense are calculated base on the same base stat, so we can say that the damage done by a level 20 & level 40 of that Pokemon it's the same damage. What's matters is higher Pokemon has higher hp for endurance. Betul?
Damage & defense is calculated based on CPM. CPM is related to level. Higher level = higher CPM. So lower level pokemons will deal lower damage.
TSsoonwai
post Sep 9 2016, 02:13 AM

11,455 posts

Here's the video of my mass evolve. 111000XP in 30mins. Done on iPhone 6s. I added a timecode so you can time the evolves.

No laughing at me for powering up Pokemons the first 3 or 4 times instead of evolving them. bangwall.gif It was 3am in the morning.

Timings:
App Launch (From touching PoGo icon to appearance of "Do not play while driving" dialog.): 5.6 secs
Time for one Evolve (From launching PoGo, finding pokemon with no scrolling, starting evolve, quitting PoGo and back to home screen): 13.8 secs

Warning: 30mins of mass evolve boredom.

QUOTE(mitodna @ Sep 8 2016, 11:10 AM)
soonwai wow, my first lucky was only 71k exp, with pidgey, caterpie and weddle, normal method
71 is great for a first try! I only managed 63 on my first.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 9 2016, 03:31 AM
ReaperX
post Sep 9 2016, 10:59 AM

U can be the moon but still be jealous of the stars.
892 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 9 2016, 02:13 AM)
Here's the video of my mass evolve. 111000XP in 30mins. Done on iPhone 6s. I added a timecode so you can time the evolves.

No laughing at me for powering up Pokemons the first 3 or 4 times instead of evolving them. bangwall.gif It was 3am in the morning.

Timings:
App Launch (From touching PoGo icon to appearance of "Do not play while driving" dialog.): 5.6 secs
Time for one Evolve (From launching PoGo, finding pokemon with no scrolling, starting evolve, quitting PoGo and back to home screen): 13.8 secs

Impressive! I am actually more impressed with your effort lol

AnythingK
post Sep 9 2016, 11:29 AM

223 posts

Using cheapo budget xiaomi phone, the time of evolving animation is as slow as I restart the apps.

So all the time I can only evolve max 30-50 pokemon only. laugh.gif
VeeJay
post Sep 9 2016, 11:54 AM

3,845 posts

BTW, why do you have your Pokemon renamed and it is in numbers? Thx
yeelong
post Sep 9 2016, 12:19 PM

K for /K
1,218 posts

QUOTE(AnythingK @ Sep 9 2016, 11:29 AM)
Using cheapo budget xiaomi phone, the time of evolving animation is as slow as I restart the apps.

So all the time I can only evolve max 30-50 pokemon only.  laugh.gif
iphone 7 come out liao. Get one and feel the fast and furious of mass evolve.
TSsoonwai
post Sep 9 2016, 12:52 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Sep 9 2016, 11:54 AM)
BTW,  why do you have your Pokemon renamed and it is in numbers? Thx
It's the IV% or range of possible IVs. Some have the attack, defense and stamina values in hex eg: fad=15/10/13. Some have the moveset also.
AnythingK
post Sep 9 2016, 01:48 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(yeelong @ Sep 9 2016, 12:19 PM)
unker sponsor me? iphone 6s is enough liao since dropped price liao. drool.gif
yeelong
post Sep 9 2016, 02:17 PM

K for /K
1,218 posts

QUOTE(AnythingK @ Sep 9 2016, 01:48 PM)
unker sponsor me? iphone 6s is enough liao since dropped price liao.  drool.gif
ok go for it
TSsoonwai
post Sep 9 2016, 03:01 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(ReaperX @ Sep 9 2016, 10:59 AM)
Impressive! I am actually more impressed with your effort lol
Thanks!

Yeah, the speed of the phone matter a lot. How long does the evolve animation lasts on yours?

QUOTE(yeelong @ Sep 9 2016, 12:19 PM)
iPhone 7 is supposedly 50% faster. I wonder how much of a difference that'll make. Must try when it comes out in Malaysia.
terryfu
post Sep 9 2016, 03:16 PM

514 posts

Yup. Using xiaomi note 2. Not only slow but in the last 2-3 mins always hang. Like cannot cope lol
BuncitPesonawan
post Sep 9 2016, 04:26 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(terryfu @ Sep 9 2016, 03:16 PM)
Yup. Using xiaomi note 2. Not only slow but in the last 2-3 mins always hang. Like cannot cope lol
oh nooo. I'm using Redmi Note 2 oso sweat.gif

already prepared 60 pokemons to evolve tomorrow, hopefully can get all done on time.. fuhhh
negisf
post Sep 9 2016, 04:54 PM

1,878 posts

Timings:

What app you use to record your phone?

TSsoonwai
post Sep 9 2016, 04:59 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(negisf @ Sep 9 2016, 04:54 PM)
What app you use to record your phone?
Quicktime Player on a MacBook with the iPhone connected with a Lightning cable. macOS Yosemite is required. I'm using Sierra. Not sure about Windows.

If you're jailbroken, there're some apps in Cydia that'll allow you to record the phone all on its own.

QUOTE(BuncitPesonawan @ Sep 9 2016, 04:26 PM)
oh nooo. I'm using Redmi Note 2 oso  sweat.gif

already prepared 60 pokemons to evolve tomorrow, hopefully can get all done on time.. fuhhh
How long is the evolve animation on your Redmi Note 2? I'm wondering if they're the same or depends on the speed of the phone.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 9 2016, 05:13 PM
bearbear
post Sep 9 2016, 05:22 PM

10,061 posts

phone dependent and seems like Androids are slower for some reason, my Huawei Mate 8 takes around 10 seconds. And i purpose restart my phone before i start.
yeelong
post Sep 9 2016, 05:29 PM

K for /K
1,218 posts

Android memory management still a step behind IOS
TSOM
post Sep 9 2016, 06:15 PM

2,145 posts

how to get pokemon with high CP?? hmm.gif

I'm at level 20 after evolving 60+ pokemons with lucky egg, but highest also less than 900 CP. How do other ppl get 1500++ CP with lower level than me?? rclxub.gif
bearbear
post Sep 9 2016, 06:20 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 9 2016, 06:15 PM)

I'm at level 20 after evolving 60+ pokemons with lucky egg, but highest also less than 900 CP. How do other ppl get 1500++ CP with lower level than me?? rclxub.gif
dont think you can decide, just keep hunting. try lvl up faster to 22-25 I think you will see higher cp
TSsoonwai
post Sep 9 2016, 10:51 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 9 2016, 06:15 PM)

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 9 2016, 06:20 PM)
dont think you can decide, just keep hunting. try lvl up faster to 22-25 I think you will see higher cp
bearbear is right, the higher your level, the higher the CP of wild pokemons that you may find. Wild pokemons are capped at level 30 or your trainer level + n, where is either 0 or 1, whichever is lower. Eggs on the other hand are capped at level 20 or your trainer level when you obtained the egg whichever is lower.
kllonely1
post Sep 10 2016, 03:36 AM

321 posts

Anyone know the current pokemon nest location?
Is there is list somewhere?

Dannyl
post Sep 10 2016, 07:17 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(terryfu @ Sep 9 2016, 03:16 PM)
You know what? I'm using Galaxy Note 3, and I have that same problem. At the 29th minute, the game will hang. I have to kill the game and start it again in time for one last evolve. I have done 2 mass evolves and it happened both times.

QUOTE(BuncitPesonawan @ Sep 9 2016, 04:26 PM)
oh nooo. I'm using Redmi Note 2 oso  sweat.gif

Prepare another 10. In case you finish that 60 with time to spare.

QUOTE(kllonely1 @ Sep 10 2016, 03:36 AM)
Anyone know the current pokemon nest location?
Is there is list somewhere?
Here got:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4024179

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Sep 10 2016, 07:20 AM
ananur
post Sep 12 2016, 04:00 PM

54 posts

Since I've zero pokeballs for two days, stuck at this level and not going anywhere, I just tried out first mass evolution. Prepared 68 mons with cheap and easily to get candies to level up from 22 to 23 and get ultraballs and other stuff. I started when my 5km egg was about to hatch, and there's some distraction when ekans, pidgey, zubat and oddish suddenly appeared after 30 minutes of lucky egg started the timer lol.

Out of 68, only 58 managed to evolve and 3 registered to pokedex. So here's the full result:
1. 3 metapod
2. 9 kakuna
3. 8 pidgeotto
4. 4 raticat
5. 3 fearow
6. 3 arbok
7. 1 wigglytuff (registered to pokedex)
8. 4 golbat
9. 1 gloom (registered to pokedex)
10. 3 parasect
11. 1 persian
12. 1 poliwhirl
13. 1 kadabra
14. 1 weepinbell
15. 1 kingler
16. 1 rhydon (registered to pokedex)
17. 1 seadra
18. 3 seaking
19. 1 starmie
20. 4 jolteon
21. 4 flareon

Total of xp increase: 62,050

This post has been edited by ananur: Sep 13 2016, 04:43 PM

negisf
post Sep 15 2016, 01:45 PM

1,878 posts

Damn it, wasted 1 lucky eggs.

After update to the new patch with buddy systems, I just did a mass evolve with the on/off apps tricks.

Realized that it's very unstable. Sometimes after launch app, at the Niantoc Page, the apps would auto close down. Made me have to launch the app again. It happen a lot of times and wasted my times. I think the apps crash got 3-4 crash continually each times it happen, repeating on several interval. Don't know it's apps unstable or Niantoc counter measurement to the on/off trick

End up with the on/off method I only managed to get 93 evolves. Damn it.
BuncitPesonawan
post Sep 15 2016, 03:09 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(negisf @ Sep 15 2016, 01:45 PM)

After update to the new patch with buddy systems, I just did a mass evolve with the on/off apps tricks.

Realized that it's very unstable. Sometimes after launch app, at the Niantoc Page, the apps would auto close down. Made me have to launch the app again. It happen a lot of times and wasted my times. I think the apps crash got 3-4 crash continually each times it happen, repeating on several interval. Don't know it's apps unstable or Niantoc counter measurement to the on/off trick

wtf 93 evolves so good dy wehhh! ohmy.gif
TSsoonwai
post Sep 15 2016, 03:32 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(ananur @ Sep 12 2016, 04:00 PM)
Out of 68, only 58 managed to evolve and 3 registered to pokedex. So here's the full result:

Pretty good result! Bet you will do better for the next lucky egg.

That's bad news. I'm planning another mass evolve tonight. Already prepared 121 evolves. Will see how it goes tonight.
ckuanglim
post Sep 15 2016, 03:39 PM

595 posts

Agree with this. Now always failed to connect to the server, and cannot log-in.
shinchan^^
post Sep 15 2016, 04:06 PM

K66
21,256 posts

I m worse than u
accidently activated the egg from my pocket

only have some birds for evolved cry.gif
TSsoonwai
post Sep 15 2016, 04:08 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Sep 15 2016, 04:06 PM)
I m worse than u
only have some birds for evolved  cry.gif
LOL, me too, accidentally activated while scrolling through my items. :-( Wasted 2 lucky eggs like this.
mi-g
post Sep 15 2016, 04:18 PM

Part-time Troll
1,500 posts

last week my son play with my phone, he open pokemon go and activate lucky egg.. just realize that when timer shows 15min left sleep.gif

so i evolve pidgeys only lol

he's 2yo btw
TSsoonwai
post Sep 16 2016, 03:46 AM

11,455 posts

My latest result. 112 evolves for 112k XP.

The app crashing took me by surprise at the beginning. I faced the same problem as negisf and ckuanglim.

Towards the middle, I found that by pausing about 1 sec before relaunching PoGo seems to help. But by then already wasted too much time. I was hoping to reach at least 120 evolves. I had prepared 131 evolves. :-(

Till the next lucky egg!

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 16 2016, 03:54 AM
NightHeart
post Sep 16 2016, 08:33 AM

3,991 posts

93k exp is good de lo. I usually get like 70k+ only cause I can't do the off/on trick.

The app is indeed more unstable now, I play normally also sometimes will crash. Taking down gyms half way, suddenly crash, using potions sometimes game froze.
ananur
post Sep 16 2016, 10:29 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 15 2016, 03:32 PM)
Pretty good result! Bet you will do better for the next lucky egg.
That's bad news. I'm planning another mass evolve tonight. Already prepared 121 evolves. Will see how it goes tonight.
Thank you Sir! 😊
ananur
post Sep 16 2016, 10:38 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Sep 15 2016, 04:06 PM)
I m worse than u
only have some birds for evolved  cry.gif
First time I received the lucky eggs I was curious how it works so I click on it. Only few mons appeared at my house. Obviously I don't know wth is lucky egg and I just waste it. I also face the same problem, accidentally pressed on lucky egg but I close the page, like we use berry, we still can tap on it or close it.
ananur
post Sep 16 2016, 03:17 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(kevinlowl @ Sep 16 2016, 11:20 AM)
I did my second mass evolution and got 77000 exp with six new pokedex entries and I'm guessing 71 evolutions. Not really sure since I was a bit kelam kabut at the start setting up the timer and I've wasted a few seconds there plus a few more during mass evolving.
Wow that's a lotta eevee candies.Trade me some?  biggrin.gif  I've only enough to evolve like three eevees and I've been saving them up since the beginning.
If only Eevee we are talking about...

TSOM
post Sep 18 2016, 07:06 AM

2,145 posts

I just reached level 22.
These are my top 9 pokemon. Is this normal?? I see many ppl have higher CP pokemon than me. sad.gif

This post has been edited by TSOM: Sep 18 2016, 07:06 AM
FirstAidKit
post Sep 18 2016, 11:00 AM

267 posts

Just did my first lucky egg mass evolving. Managed to only evolve 63 pokemon and 7 new registered pokedex. Kinda slow ;(

But finally got my first gyarados 96% iv with bite and hydro pump skillset ^^
nagflar
post Sep 18 2016, 01:27 PM

1,813 posts

[quote=TSOM,Sep 18 2016, 07:06 AM]
I just reached level 22.
These are my top 9 pokemon. Is this normal?? I see many ppl have higher CP pokemon than me. sad.gif

[/quot

wehre u catch so many losmah lol?
TSOM
post Sep 18 2016, 09:55 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Sep 18 2016, 01:27 PM)
ceh... she's not that powerful.

Her best psychic move is only psyshock, no psychic like Hypno. sad.gif

her ice attacks are better, Frost Breath and Ice Punch, although would be nice if she got Blizzard.
NightHeart
post Sep 19 2016, 12:51 AM

3,991 posts

[quote=nagflar,Sep 18 2016, 01:27 PM]
[quote=TSOM,Sep 18 2016, 07:06 AM]
I just reached level 22.

[/quot

[/quote]
I'd suggest to level to 25 first before attempting to build your dream team. But if you're getting restless & wanna take down gyms already, at least evolve your good IV Eevees? Eeveelutions are decent Pokemon except for Vaporeon, that's damn imba strong.

Then other targets you wanna consider are Vileplum, Victreebel, Exeggutor, Gyarados.

If you get any high IV Pokemons, evolve it & see whether it'll learn good move set or not. Then only consider powering it up.
terryfu
post Sep 19 2016, 12:56 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 16 2016, 03:46 AM)
My latest result. 112 evolves for 112k XP.

The app crashing took me by surprise at the beginning. I faced the same problem as negisf and ckuanglim.

Towards the middle, I found that by pausing about 1 sec before relaunching PoGo seems to help. But by then already wasted too much time. I was hoping to reach at least 120 evolves. I had prepared 131 evolves. :-(

Till the next lucky egg!
NIce. What phone u use for this?

mi-g
post Sep 19 2016, 03:10 AM

Part-time Troll
1,500 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Sep 18 2016, 01:27 PM)

got losmah nest here - https://goo.gl/maps/wCoc5hcSTCz
TSOM
post Sep 19 2016, 03:18 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Sep 19 2016, 12:51 AM)
I'd suggest to level to 25 first before attempting to build your dream team. But if you're getting restless & wanna take down gyms already, at least evolve your good IV Eevees? Eeveelutions are decent Pokemon except for Vaporeon, that's damn imba strong.

Then other targets you wanna consider are Vileplum, Victreebel, Exeggutor, Gyarados.

If you get any high IV Pokemons, evolve it & see whether it'll learn good move set or not. Then only consider powering it up.
I cannot wait anymore.... sad.gif
getting bored with just throwing pokeballs.

The best IV pokemon I've is Nidorina but current CP is 441 only.

I did power up liao until my stardust is running low. Now only about 15k stardust. cry.gif
I didn't know the power up increase so little only.
:3mushy:3
post Sep 19 2016, 08:17 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 19 2016, 03:18 AM)

I did power up liao until my stardust is running low. Now only about 15k stardust. cry.gif
Got two accounts, the first one I obviously made a lot of mistakes.

The second one is better than the first account, now I'm being ridiculously patient to catch and transfer until I'm level 30, just two more level to go before I make my team biggrin.gif
shinchan^^
post Sep 19 2016, 08:23 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 18 2016, 07:06 AM)
I just reached level 22.

u evolve too early without power up I guess
NightHeart
post Sep 19 2016, 09:26 AM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 19 2016, 03:18 AM)

Powering up your current team is a bad idea. They aren't a top tier Pokemons so you'll waste stardust like that.

Only consider powering up a top tier Pokemon with good IV & good move sets. Those are the ones you'll be keeping with you for a long time. No point powering up something that you will stop using after 2 weeks.
shinchan^^
post Sep 19 2016, 09:34 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(ananur @ Sep 12 2016, 04:00 PM)
Since I've zero pokeballs for two days, stuck at this level and not going anywhere, I just tried out first mass evolution. Prepared 68 mons with cheap and easily to get candies to level up from 22 to 23 and get ultraballs and other stuff. I started when my 5km egg was about to hatch, and there's some distraction when ekans, pidgey, zubat and oddish suddenly appeared after 30 minutes of lucky egg started the timer lol.

1. 3 metapod
2. 9 kakuna
3. 8 pidgeotto
4. 4 raticat
5. 3 fearow
6. 3 arbok
7. 1 wigglytuff (registered to pokedex)
8. 4 golbat
9. 1 gloom (registered to pokedex)
10. 3 parasect
11. 1 persian
12. 1 poliwhirl
13. 1 kadabra
14. 1 weepinbell
15. 1 kingler
16. 1 rhydon (registered to pokedex)
17. 1 seadra
18. 3 seaking
19. 1 starmie
20. 4 jolteon
21. 4 flareon

should have prepare more pigeot , weedle and caterpie
ananur
post Sep 19 2016, 11:10 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Sep 19 2016, 09:34 AM)
should have prepare more pigeot , weedle and caterpie
Yup! Indeed. 10 more didn't managed to get evolve. Will try better for next time. For the cheap candy mons I don't care about the IV but I'm quite picky about the rest. I've more candies now but still looking for better candidates. 😅

This post has been edited by ananur: Sep 19 2016, 11:11 AM
TSOM
post Sep 19 2016, 09:14 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Sep 19 2016, 08:23 AM)
u evolve too early without power up I guess
am I supposed to power up first?

some internet reviews said I should evolve first because if you power up first, they may not have the best moves after evolving.
ckuanglim
post Sep 20 2016, 12:25 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(mi-g @ Sep 19 2016, 03:10 AM)
got losmah nest here - https://goo.gl/maps/wCoc5hcSTCz
Is this really a nest?
Dannyl
post Sep 20 2016, 02:02 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(ckuanglim @ Sep 20 2016, 12:25 PM)
Is this really a nest?
A couple of weeks ago it still was. Now dunno.
hirota
post Sep 20 2016, 02:17 PM

2,386 posts

I prepared 80 evolve, managed to evolved 75 and 2 new pokedex

using mi max

This post has been edited by hirota: Sep 20 2016, 02:18 PM
negisf
post Sep 20 2016, 06:57 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Sep 16 2016, 08:33 AM)
93k exp is good de lo. I usually get like 70k+ only cause I can't do the off/on trick.

The app is indeed more unstable now, I play normally also sometimes will crash. Taking down gyms half way, suddenly crash, using potions sometimes game froze.
Nice seeing you again after Guardian Cross, bro.. smile.gif

BTW why can't u use the on/off tricks?
NightHeart
post Sep 20 2016, 10:18 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(negisf @ Sep 20 2016, 06:57 PM)
Nice seeing you again after Guardian Cross, bro.. smile.gif

BTW why can't u use the on/off tricks?
Hehe, it's been a long time since GC. Playing PoGo with some old GC players too. From our 1st gathering, i think you'd only know Funnytone.

I can't use it cause my phone isn't that good, the time for it to off & reload the game is more or less the same as watching the whole animation (roughly 20 seconds).
VeeJay
post Sep 20 2016, 11:02 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Sep 20 2016, 10:18 PM)
Hehe, it's been a long time since GC. Playing PoGo with some old GC players too. From our 1st gathering, i think you'd only know Funnytone.

I can't use it cause my phone isn't that good, the time for it to off & reload the game is more or less the same as watching the whole animation (roughly 20 seconds).
Same here, mine is about the same as well, so its a hassle to just close/open the app..grrr
NightHeart
post Sep 20 2016, 11:10 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Sep 20 2016, 11:02 PM)
Same here, mine is about the same as well, so its a hassle to just close/open the app..grrr
Plus the fact that the game is crashing wayyyy more frequently now compared to before, definitely not making it worthwhile to do that trick.
VeeJay
post Sep 20 2016, 11:38 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Sep 20 2016, 11:10 PM)
Plus the fact that the game is crashing wayyyy more frequently now compared to before, definitely not making it worthwhile to do that trick.
mine is fine thus far, no crash since the "buddy" update..phew But my wifey's xiaomi seems to be having issues or either hung or intermittent network disconnects
TSOM
post Sep 23 2016, 09:24 AM

2,145 posts

I got enough candy for my 500CP eevee. Should I power it up first before evolve??
#Epol
post Sep 23 2016, 09:27 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 23 2016, 09:24 AM)
I got enough candy for my 500CP eevee. Should I power it up first before evolve??
Evolve first then look at the moveset, if ok, proceed to power up...
TamashiiHeroes
post Sep 23 2016, 09:34 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 23 2016, 09:24 AM)
power up b4 or after evolve is the same
so evolve it 1st and check on the move set then make ur decision
TSOM
post Sep 23 2016, 09:36 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(TamashiiHeroes @ Sep 23 2016, 09:34 AM)
power up b4 or after evolve is the same
so evolve it 1st and check on the move set then make ur decision
if power up before evolve, doesn't it mean we need less candies to reach max CP??
waveweaver
post Sep 23 2016, 09:40 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 23 2016, 09:36 AM)
if power up before evolve, doesn't it mean we need less candies to reach max CP??
It take same amount of candies to power up then evolve or evolve then power up. Evolve your first then only power up if got good moveset.
TamashiiHeroes
post Sep 23 2016, 10:37 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 23 2016, 09:36 AM)
Nope ,each pokemon have maxinum capped CP ,let say u have a pikachu each power up give u 10cp and evolve to raichu x 2.0 CP ,but power up raichu u will get 20cp instead
TSOM
post Sep 23 2016, 09:40 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(#Epol @ Sep 23 2016, 09:27 AM)
Evolve first then look at the moveset, if ok, proceed to power up...
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Sep 23 2016, 09:40 AM)
It take same amount of candies to power up then evolve or evolve then power up. Evolve your  first then only power up if got good moveset.
QUOTE(TamashiiHeroes @ Sep 23 2016, 10:37 AM)
Nope ,each pokemon have maxinum capped CP ,let say u have a pikachu each power up give u 10cp and evolve to raichu x 2.0 CP ,but power up raichu u will get 20cp instead
Oh I see, thanks.

Do you guys do secondary evolution? I wonder if I should evolve my Nidorina to Nidoqueen.
Or do you wait until you catch a Nidoqueen, Gengar etc??

This post has been edited by TSOM: Sep 23 2016, 09:41 PM
#Epol
post Sep 23 2016, 09:44 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 23 2016, 09:40 PM)
Oh I see, thanks.

Do you guys do secondary evolution? I wonder if I should evolve my Nidorina to Nidoqueen.
Or do you wait until you catch a Nidoqueen, Gengar etc??
Pokemon like nidorina is pretty common to find and quite easy to get from egg...evolve if you managed to get a good one...
TSOM
post Sep 23 2016, 09:52 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(#Epol @ Sep 23 2016, 09:44 PM)
Pokemon like nidorina is pretty common to find and quite easy to get from egg...evolve if you managed to get a good one...
I got one with perfect IV but second evolution costs 100 candies.

So I wonder if it's possible to catch Nidoqueen, Gengar etc in the wild.

Has anyone caught Charizard, Blastoise, Venesaur in the wild?
#Epol
post Sep 23 2016, 09:56 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 23 2016, 09:52 PM)

Definitely possible, its just quite hard to find in the wild...depends a lot on your luck...
TSsoonwai
post Sep 24 2016, 02:52 AM

11,455 posts

Latest Mass Evolve results.

iPhone 6s 64GB
iOS 10.0.1
Pokemon Go 1.7.1

Faved: 132
Left: 13
Evolved: 119
New Pokemons: 5
XP Before: 61493+25
XP After: 185518
185518-61518=124000

Towards the end, PoGo had trouble opening, it was stuck at the white Niantic screen. I had to restart the app 4/5 times. Wasted at least a minute there. :-( There were also a few app crashes, maybe 7 or so. I'll have to check the video to confirm.

I think if everything went smoothly, it's not a prob to reach 125 evolves, maybe even more. Let's see if the impending app update improves stability.

Update:
PoGo 1.9.0 iOS just released and one of the fixes is this:
- Fixed a bug that caused some users to get stuck on the loading screen, even after restarting the app.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 24 2016, 08:47 AM
TSOM
post Sep 24 2016, 09:17 AM

2,145 posts

when you evolve the pokemon, does the new CP depends on your level??

say I got a squirtle with 500 CP. Does it matter if I evolve it at level 21 or level 22?? Will the new CP be the same regardless of my level??
#Epol
post Sep 24 2016, 09:42 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 24 2016, 09:17 AM)
when you evolve the pokemon, does the new CP depends on your level??

say I got a squirtle with 500 CP. Does it matter if I evolve it at level 21 or level 22?? Will the new CP be the same regardless of my level??
Nope...remain same...
TSOM
post Sep 25 2016, 03:39 AM

2,145 posts

should I evolve
a) Squirtle
- CP71
- wonder, breathtaking pokemon
- best attribute is defence
- it exceeds my calculation, incredible

or

b) Squirtle
- CP 511
- overall not likely to make much headway
- its stats are noticeably trending to the positive.
terryfu
post Sep 25 2016, 03:42 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 25 2016, 03:39 AM)
should I evolve
a) Squirtle
- CP71
- wonder, breathtaking pokemon
- best attribute is defence
- it exceeds my calculation, incredible

or

b) Squirtle
- CP 511
- overall not likely to make much headway
- its stats are noticeably trending to the positive.
Neither. Be patient and catch more. First one too low CP and will take ages of stardust to power up and be useful. Second one not great and might as well catch another who might be a wonder.

TSOM
post Sep 25 2016, 08:36 AM

2,145 posts

I managed to do 65 evolutions, gained 70,000 XP. smile.gif
lionelzc
post Oct 13 2016, 02:09 AM

333 posts

I'm not sure whether it is a loophole or bug, it seem you can login m-ore t-han o-ne d-vice and mass evolve.

I tried it by accident and surprised still logged in, in b4 soft ban.
TSsoonwai
post Oct 13 2016, 01:09 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(lionelzc @ Oct 13 2016, 02:09 AM)
I'm not sure whether it is a loophole or bug, it seem you can login m-ore t-han o-ne d-vice and mass evolve.

I tried it by accident and surprised still logged in, in b4 soft ban.
What were your results?
lionelzc
post Oct 13 2016, 01:55 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 13 2016, 01:09 PM)
What were your results?
i got 70 with 9 minutes to spare because i ran out of pokemon.

previously only managed 50.

Add: probably could do at least 100 evos with this trick.

This post has been edited by lionelzc: Oct 13 2016, 01:57 PM
TSsoonwai
post Oct 14 2016, 01:05 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(lionelzc @ Oct 13 2016, 01:55 PM)
i got 70 with 9 minutes to spare because i ran out of pokemon.

previously only managed 50.

Add: probably could do at least 100 evos with this trick.
That's fantastic. 90-100 without having to restart the app is very good. Less stressful also.
TSsoonwai
post Oct 14 2016, 04:35 AM

11,455 posts

Been a little busy so haven't had time to post the results of my mass evolves. So here they are. All performed on iPhone 6s 64GB.

Oct 4
Faved: 130
Left: 12
Evolved: 118
XP Before: 5563
XP After: 124063
124063-5563=118500-500=118000

Oct 5 (My daughter's account)
Faved: 138
Left: 29
Evolved: 109
Second Evo: 1
Total Evolves: 110
New Pokemons: 20
XP Before: 165780
XP After: 295780
295780-165780=130000

She normally plays on her iPhone 5c but the mass evolve was done on my iPhone 6s. The 5c is too slow. In preparation, I asked her to avoid capturing evolved Pokemons so as to maximise the new Pokemon bonus. This mass evolve went very smoothly so I'm not sure why I only managed 110 evolves.

Oct 14
Faved: 131
Left: 11
Evolved: 120
Second Evo: 1
Total Evolves: 121
New Pokemon: 1
XP Before: 1912312
XP After: 2034312
2034312-1912312=122000

Made a few mistakes like powering up one Pokemon instead of evolving it. There were 4 times where PoGo couldn't connect. Best of all, I got the "I'm not a Robot" reCaptcha at the 13:30min mark. Fortunately just once. Using PoGo 0.41.2 here, quite stable and fast.

Videos were recorded but I'm too lazy to edit and post them.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Oct 14 2016, 04:42 AM
kllonely1
post Oct 14 2016, 06:02 AM

321 posts

Anyone know where is the current Squirtle nest is at?
ckuanglim
post Oct 14 2016, 09:19 AM

595 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Sep 23 2016, 09:52 PM)

I catch Nidoking in the wild. Blastoise and Venesaur ran away after a few balls.
TSsoonwai
post Oct 21 2016, 03:17 AM

11,455 posts

Latest Mass Evolve Result Onoff Method
Pokemon Go 1.11.4 (0.41.4)
iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 10.0.2

Oct 21
Faved: 131+2 (2 x 2nd tier evolve)
Left: 5
Evolved: 128 (126 + 2)
New Pokemon: 2 (Nidoking, Machoke)
XP Before: 2137397
XP After: 2267397
2267397-2137397=130000 rclxms.gif

Pics or it didn't happen

Very happy with this one. 128 evolves in 30 mins. No login problems, no white Niantic screen hang, no crashes, no reCaptcha, no accidental power-ups and just a few minor mistakes.

Video or it didn't happen (Warning: 30 mins of evolve boredom)

This post has been edited by soonwai: Oct 21 2016, 04:48 AM
Dannyl
post Oct 21 2016, 09:15 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 21 2016, 03:17 AM)

Oct 21
2267397-2137397=130000  rclxms.gif

Pics or it didn't happen

Very happy with this one. 128 evolves in 30 mins. No login problems, no white Niantic screen hang, no crashes, no reCaptcha, no accidental power-ups and just a few minor mistakes.
Damn. That's double my regular mass evolve. Using good phone has its advantages biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Oct 21 2016, 09:15 AM
501-Elite
post Oct 21 2016, 09:40 AM

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 21 2016, 03:17 AM)

Oct 21
2267397-2137397=130000  rclxms.gif

Pics or it didn't happen

Video or it didn't happen (Warning: 30 mins of evolve boredom)

AWESOME rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TSsoonwai
post Oct 21 2016, 11:40 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Oct 21 2016, 09:15 AM)
Damn.  That's double my regular mass evolve.  Using good phone has its advantages biggrin.gif
QUOTE(501-Elite @ Oct 21 2016, 09:40 AM)
AWESOME  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Thank you, thank you. Next one will try to go for 130 evolves. I think it's doable. If I can shave 200ms off each evolve, I'll have an additional 25.6 secs.

Anyone with an iPhone 7 128GB wanna try? I wonder how much faster that will be.
hybridkit
post Oct 22 2016, 11:17 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 21 2016, 11:40 PM)
Thank you, thank you. Next one will try to go for 130 evolves. I think it's doable. If I can shave 200ms off each evolve, I'll have an additional 25.6 secs.

Anyone with an iPhone 7 128GB wanna try? I wonder how much faster that will be.
How many Lucky eggs mass evolve has u done so far?

Do you plan to purchase more lucky egg for power leveling or plan to stop power leveling once your level up obtain lucky egg finished?
TSsoonwai
post Oct 23 2016, 01:06 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(hybridkit @ Oct 22 2016, 11:17 AM)
How many Lucky eggs mass evolve has u done so far?

Do you plan to purchase more lucky egg for power leveling or plan to stop power leveling once your level up obtain lucky egg finished?
So far I've done 10 Mass Evolves. 9 of them with lucky eggs. There was one mass evolve where I intended but forgot to activate the lucky egg. Before Level 30, I used 8 lucky eggs. I had 6 lucky eggs from level rewards but I wasted 2 by accidentally activating them so I had to buy 4 lucky eggs.

Total XP from the Mass Evolves:
69+84+78+37+111+112+124+118+122+130 = 985K XP

Number of Evolves:
66+73+74+76+111+112+119+118+121+128=998 evolves

My initial intention was to reach level 30 which I've done. I've used one egg at level 30 and still have 2 left. I'll probably not do any more after the last 2 eggs. Will be spending my pokecoins on storage or maybe incubators.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Oct 23 2016, 11:01 PM
terryfu
post Oct 23 2016, 04:10 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 23 2016, 01:06 AM)
So far I've done 10 Mass Evolves. 9 of them with lucky eggs. There was one mass evolve where I intended but forgot to activate the lucky egg. Before Level 30, I used 8 lucky eggs. I had 6 lucky eggs from level rewards but I wasted 2 by accidentally activating them so I had to buy 4 lucky eggs.

My initial intention was to reach level 30 which I've done. I've used one egg at level 30 and still have 2 left. I'll probably not do any more after the last 2 eggs. Will be spending my pokecoins on storage or maybe incubators.
Nice. U still doing the evolve then off the app method? Normal method I manage around 90k I think but had a few crashes. Using iPhone 6 Plus 128 gb.
TSsoonwai
post Oct 23 2016, 11:00 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(terryfu @ Oct 23 2016, 04:10 AM)
Nice. U still doing the evolve then off the app method? Normal method I manage around 90k I think but had a few crashes. Using iPhone 6 Plus 128 gb.
Yeah, been doing the Onoff method since the 5th one.

Number of evolves as opposed to XP which I posted earlier.
66+73+74+76+111+112+119+118+121+128=998 evolves.

I'm using iPhone 6s 64GB. The 5th (or 1st using Onoff) was quite smooth, no crashes or login problems. The 6th to 9th ones, I had crashes, being stuck at the white screen and being stuck at the login screen. The 9th one even triggered the "I'm Not a Robot" reCaptcha. The 10th and the latest was smooth sailing, no problems at all.
hybridkit
post Oct 24 2016, 04:40 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 23 2016, 01:06 AM)

Number of Evolves:
66+73+74+76+111+112+119+118+121+128=998 evolves
Thanks for the reply. Your video has helped me a lot for my mass evolution.

Better phone really makes a huge difference. My best is 85k XP with on/off method (pre-update) and same for normal method (post-update). I am using iphone 6

I am currently at level 27 with 2 eggs left, do you recommend to buy eggs to power level to level 30? or just normal leveling after finished the 2 eggs

This post has been edited by hybridkit: Oct 24 2016, 04:41 PM
TSsoonwai
post Oct 27 2016, 02:25 PM

11,455 posts

Did another mass evolve last night. The pre-Halloween update, v1.13.3, really sucked. It's so sluggish so I went back to 1.11.4 to do my mass evolve. Halfway through it forced the update on me (white on red message at the top). I had update to 1.13.3 immediately in order to continue. In the end I only managed 103 evolves.

This morning 1.13.4 was released. It feels much faster. Just my luck that I chose last night to do the mass evolve. :-(
TSsoonwai
post Oct 27 2016, 02:29 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(hybridkit @ Oct 24 2016, 04:40 PM)
Thanks for the reply. Your video has helped me a lot for my mass evolution.

Better phone really makes a huge difference. My best is 85k XP with on/off method (pre-update) and same for normal method (post-update). I am using iphone 6

I am currently at level 27 with 2 eggs left, do you recommend to buy eggs to power level to level 30? or just normal leveling after finished the 2 eggs
If you're getting some free coins from gyms, why not? Lucky eggs are fairly cheap at 80 coins each.
dante1989
post Oct 27 2016, 03:07 PM

288 posts

soonwai are u using gmail or PTC? as i feel PTC has more issues during login compared to gmail. maybe thats just me.

its fine if you dont want to reveal
thirty6whoisit
post Oct 27 2016, 03:17 PM

Anyone tried out soonwai's method on android?
Can achieve anything close to that?

For me, i'm at half of that - normal method. Logging in take longer than evolution animation.

TQ all!
TSsoonwai
post Oct 27 2016, 03:28 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(dante1989 @ Oct 27 2016, 03:07 PM)
soonwai are u using gmail or PTC? as i feel PTC has more issues during login compared to gmail. maybe thats just me.

its fine if you dont want to reveal
I'm using PTC. Seems ok to me. My son's account is Google. Maybe one day I'll try a mass evolve on his account and see if there's any difference. He doesn't play much so it's taking ages for him to collect Pidgeys.

LiMi
post Nov 21 2016, 10:51 PM

735 posts

just wondering if it is worth to use lucky egg on the 7th day streak xp bonuses

so it's a free and easy 4k xp *2 = 8k xp just by flipping at pokestop and catch a pokemon within the 30 mins time frame, should take about 1 min only
dante1989
post Nov 26 2016, 11:05 PM

288 posts

bump

do we still get exp like normal during mass evo if have no gps signal?
Dannyl
post Nov 26 2016, 11:35 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(LiMi @ Nov 21 2016, 10:51 PM)
just wondering if it is worth to use lucky egg on the 7th day streak xp bonuses

so it's a free and easy 4k xp *2 = 8k xp just by flipping at pokestop and catch a pokemon within the 30 mins time frame, should take about 1 min only
Spin Pokestop, catch a Pokemon with Excellent throw, then evolve Pokemons in storage.

0.5145sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:15 AM