128 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

cressalve
post Aug 9 2016, 04:24 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Aug 9 2016, 02:44 PM)
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1295
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 489
GSKill Aegis 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 338
Palit GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Jetstream - RM 1999
Samsung 750 EVO 250GB SSD - RM 349
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409
NZXT S340 - RM 320

Total: RM 5418 (Idealtech price inclusive of GST)

You can remove the SSD or downgrade to 120GB SSD/8GB RAM one to reduce the total cost.

Case selection is very subjective, you can go with your own preferences, just have to make sure the components (especially mobo & GPU) are compatible.
Thanks man. I'll start hunting for the parts. Just in case I can't find the parts here at my place, I wonder if Idealtech or Etech (assuming they have the parts) do delivery? Also, Any significant difference between i7 6700 and i5 6600 in gaming? If the performance is not much of difference, could i switch out to i5 6600? Would save me 300 bucks there heheh
terence_nwb
post Aug 9 2016, 04:40 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(cressalve @ Aug 9 2016, 04:24 PM)
Thanks man. I'll start hunting for the parts. Just in case I can't find the parts here at my place, I wonder if Idealtech or Etech (assuming they have the parts) do delivery? Also, Any significant difference between i7 6700 and i5 6600 in gaming? If the performance is not much of difference, could i switch out to i5 6600? Would save me 300 bucks there heheh
Yes, they do have delivery/courier service.

Currently most of the DX11/OpenCL games are still based on the performance of single core (single threaded operation), only few titles are utilizing the extra cores/threads of i7, namely Fallout 4, Hitman 2016 and most of the RTS games (CPU demanding) etc.

I suggested i7 mainly to reduce the CPU bottleneck as much as possible (even i5 can carry on but if you have sneaky background operation ongoing, it hurts the FPS) and more future proof for upcoming DX12/Vulkan titles (less CPU overhead, more cores utilization for better performance).

You can switch to i5, i5 6500 carries the best price/performance ratio among all the i5 models available in Skylake CPU series.
wongtk
post Aug 9 2016, 05:32 PM

76 posts

Hi Sifu,
Please pardon me if this side track. Most of newest games are on Windows 7 or 8...just wonder which OS I should purchase to cater for future demand of upcoming new title?

Thanks and Regards
wfwong
post Aug 9 2016, 11:35 PM

80 posts

Hi Expert,

I would like to assemble one new desktop with the following specification, in which I would like to have your further recommendation to "improve" the specification:

[Budget] RM 5500 to RM 6000
[Purpose] Main purpose is not for game, but for enterprise software that running on at least 32GB RAM above (now I would like to have 64GB RAM)
[Hardware that will be re-used] Monitor SAMSUNG LED 23.5" S24SF350FHE
[Monitor resolution] 1920 x 1080 (or above)
[Games & software that use frequently] Enterprise software running one 64GB RAM (I will run on Windows 7 Professional)
[Personal preferences] N/A
[Location] KL, Lowyat

============== I have the following recommendation, Kindly comment, and suggest any other hardware to be recommended:

I7 6800K 3.4GHz - RM1900++
ASUS X99A - RM1400++
16GB RAM DDR4 2133MHz x 4 pieces = RM1110++

128GB SSD Sandisk Z400 - RM210
512GB Transcend SSD 370s - RM650

Cooler Master K282 - RM200
Cooler Master Elite V2 460w PSU - RM179

TOTAL ... around RM5650

This post has been edited by wfwong: Aug 9 2016, 11:38 PM
terence_nwb
post Aug 10 2016, 08:50 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(wongtk @ Aug 9 2016, 05:32 PM)
Hi Sifu,
Please pardon me if this side track. Most of newest games are on Windows 7 or 8...just wonder which OS I should purchase to cater for future demand of upcoming new title?

Thanks and Regards
Don't worry, Windows 10 has started to become mainstream now and games will support it (in fact old titles are running fine on Windows 10 as well), you get DX12 support in Windows 10 too.

QUOTE(wfwong @ Aug 9 2016, 11:35 PM)
Hi Expert,

I would like to assemble one new desktop with the following specification, in which I would like to have your further recommendation to "improve" the specification:

[Budget] RM 5500 to RM 6000
[Purpose] Main purpose is not for game, but for enterprise software that running on at least 32GB RAM above (now I would like to have 64GB RAM)
[Hardware that will be re-used] Monitor SAMSUNG LED 23.5" S24SF350FHE
[Monitor resolution] 1920 x 1080 (or above)
[Games & software that use frequently] Enterprise software running one 64GB RAM (I will run on Windows 7 Professional)
[Personal preferences] N/A
[Location] KL, Lowyat
============== I have the following recommendation, Kindly comment, and suggest any other hardware to be recommended:

I7 6800K 3.4GHz - RM1900++
ASUS X99A - RM1400++
16GB RAM DDR4 2133MHz x 4 pieces = RM1110++

128GB SSD Sandisk Z400 - RM210
512GB Transcend SSD 370s - RM650

Cooler Master K282 - RM200
Cooler Master Elite V2 460w PSU - RM179

TOTAL ... around RM5650
i7 6800K doesn't come with stock cooler because Intel assumes you gonna need to overclock it when you go for X99 platform, so you need to get a cooler for it, if you are planning to overclock the CPU, get a decent cooler for better heat dissipation.

Since you didn't mention the enterprise software that you are going to use, so I cannot determine if more cores > clock speed of single core is better in your case. If the software you use do take advantage of the multicore of the CPU then you can go for Xeon E5 2620 v4 (8C16T) instead of i7 6800K and vice versa, price is about the same.

VanillaThunder18
post Aug 10 2016, 03:40 PM

15 posts

Hi sifus im wondering if gtx 960 can play AAA titles at 60+ fps on high settings... thinking about buying that particular card

terence_nwb
post Aug 10 2016, 04:57 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(VanillaThunder18 @ Aug 10 2016, 03:40 PM)
Hi sifus im wondering if gtx 960 can play AAA titles at 60+ fps on high settings... thinking about buying that particular card
Some can some cannot.

ThE-1cY
post Aug 10 2016, 05:54 PM

332 posts

Asked this question before about upgrading the default TIME router (ZTE H298N).

8 users will be sharing the internet (100Mbps) in a condo unit. Gaming and video streaming at the same time with the default router is terrible and the ping will jump to 2000ms++.

Got these 3 routers in mind. Just want to know if paying more will get significant better results in gaming?

Signal strength is important as well as there is one room at the corner (approximately 15 meter from the default router) has trouble getting good download speed using the default router (less than 10 Mbps).

1. TP-Link Archer C7 (RM 400+)
2. Asus AC68U (RM 800+)
3. Asus AC87U (RM 1200+)

From the reviews I read, Asus router has much better user interface and better in dividing bandwidth across devices. Is this true?

This post has been edited by ThE-1cY: Aug 10 2016, 05:54 PM
terence_nwb
post Aug 10 2016, 10:02 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ThE-1cY @ Aug 10 2016, 05:54 PM)
Asked this question before about upgrading the default TIME router (ZTE H298N).

8 users will be sharing the internet (100Mbps) in a condo unit. Gaming and video streaming at the same time with the default router is terrible and the ping will jump to 2000ms++.
Got these 3 routers in mind. Just want to know if paying more will get significant better results in gaming?

Signal strength is important as well as there is one room at the corner (approximately 15 meter from the default router) has trouble getting good download speed using the default router (less than 10 Mbps).

1. TP-Link Archer C7 (RM 400+)
2. Asus AC68U (RM 800+)
3. Asus AC87U (RM 1200+)
From the reviews I read, Asus router has much better user interface and better in dividing bandwidth across devices. Is this true?
You just missed the cheap AC68U's alternative, the Huawei WS880 tongue.gif

Asus Merlin firmware is nicer than other firmware (other brands), many features are being offered as well including games boost mode, adaptive QoS which you can use to prioritize the traffic to your games, I feel like banging the wall every time I see the green and simple interface of TP-LINK router, too get used Asus already sweat.gif

C7 is able to handle 8 devices at the same time but might have problem when there is a lot of traffics to handle because the latest V2 only comes with a single core CPU. AC68U carries a dual core CPU (800MHz) and is having the similar chipset with the one in WS880 which only costs RM 199 few weeks ago. Another option would be C9, around RM 700 and is even faster than AC68U (1GHz dual core AC 1900).

Changing the router will not guarantee to have significant improvement to gaming as there are many factors that can contribute to bad latency, WiFi band/interference/bandwidth hogger/ISP etc. If you have tested the latency when using LAN cable and found no issue then high chance it can be solved by getting a high end router.

MagnificM
post Aug 10 2016, 10:13 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(VanillaThunder18 @ Aug 10 2016, 03:40 PM)
with some tweak at the settings, yes you can, mine is set at ultra and high quality where it gives average 48-52 fps
ThE-1cY
post Aug 11 2016, 12:03 AM

332 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Aug 10 2016, 10:02 PM)
You just missed the cheap AC68U's alternative, the Huawei WS880  tongue.gif

Asus Merlin firmware is nicer than other firmware (other brands), many features are being offered as well including games boost mode, adaptive QoS which you can use to prioritize the traffic to your games, I feel like banging the wall every time I see the green and simple interface of TP-LINK router, too get used Asus already  sweat.gif

C7 is able to handle 8 devices at the same time but might have problem when there is a lot of traffics to handle because the latest V2 only comes with a single core CPU. AC68U carries a dual core CPU (800MHz) and is having the similar chipset with the one in WS880 which only costs RM 199 few weeks ago. Another option would be C9, around RM 700 and is even faster than AC68U (1GHz dual core AC 1900).

Changing the router will not guarantee to have significant improvement to gaming as there are many factors that can contribute to bad latency, WiFi band/interference/bandwidth hogger/ISP etc. If you have tested the latency when using LAN cable and found no issue then high chance it can be solved by getting a high end router.
I read abit on the Huawei WS880 thread. It does not have external antennas and I'm not sure if this will affect performance. It is selling for RM299 now...

Guess I will be getting an Asus brand router due to the better interface and the adaptive QoS which looks really simple to use. Does adaptive QoS really work by putting gaming at the highest priority?

Did some research on the internet that there is an actually a C1 revision of Asus AC68U which has 1GHz processor instead of 800MHz. Can we get this in Malaysia?

Btw, what router are you using?

This post has been edited by ThE-1cY: Aug 11 2016, 12:05 AM
retsnom
post Aug 11 2016, 12:09 AM

51 posts

Hi guys;

I am planning to get a new desktop, and currently is checking on various motherboards.

Some have USB 3.1 port (Type-C), while others have SATA Express; which one is more important or useful?

Also; currently Palit GTX1070 Dual Fan 8G GDDR5 is the cheapest gtx 1070. I'm interested but can't find any major reviews on it; is it quiet enough during gaming? how about thermal performance?

This post has been edited by retsnom: Aug 11 2016, 12:16 AM
terence_nwb
post Aug 11 2016, 09:00 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ThE-1cY @ Aug 11 2016, 12:03 AM)
I read abit on the Huawei WS880 thread. It does not have external antennas and I'm not sure if this will affect performance. It is selling for RM299 now...

Guess I will be getting an Asus brand router due to the better interface and the adaptive QoS which looks really simple to use. Does adaptive QoS really work by putting gaming at the highest priority?

Did some research on the internet that there is an actually a C1 revision of Asus AC68U which has 1GHz processor instead of 800MHz. Can we get this in Malaysia?

It has 6 internal antennas, so far the review from WS880 thread is quite positive, it is a cheap alternative with the same chipset that is shipped with AC68U, I don't think anyone would complain too much biggrin.gif

I rarely play any online games so I cannot guarantee the adaptive QoS will work well for all situations, just ensure that you set a range of bandwidth which is dedicated for gaming port then you are good to go.

You need to check with local store for C1 revision stock availability, some stores are still keeping the old stock and they will try to clear their old stock first, just make sure you are allowed to check the revision number if you were to buy one. Usually the sticker which contains the barcode and stuffs will have the revision number written on it, if not please check the specifications printed on the box.

I am using Asus RT-AC3200 currently.

QUOTE(retsnom @ Aug 11 2016, 12:09 AM)
Hi guys;

I am planning to get a new desktop, and currently is checking on various motherboards.

Some have USB 3.1 port (Type-C), while others have SATA Express; which one is more important or useful?

Also; currently Palit GTX1070 Dual Fan 8G GDDR5 is the cheapest gtx 1070. I'm interested but can't find any major reviews on it; is it quiet enough during gaming? how about thermal performance?
Type C is more important to me, smartphones (Nexus 6P/5X, Note 7, Mi5 etc) have started to use type C port while SATA Express is unlucky to have short lifespan due to the takeover from M.2, it is very hard to find anything new with SATA Express port nowadays, people and manufacturers prefer M.2 interface for their SSD product (either SATA or PCIe). But you can get a mobo with these two features included if you want.

As you said, no review online for the dual fan model so it is very hard to us to determine the noise level and temperature of the card too, try to find someone with the card in Nvidia GPU thread in Hardware Club subforum. If you aren't sitting too close to your rig then no need to worry about the noise, the sound of the games can fully cover the sound of the GPU already laugh.gif

Considering the FE blower cooler still able to survive in Malaysia, I guess the Palit dual fan version will work fine too, I am using Zotac AMP version which is also a dual fan model, the temperature is fine and hardly go over 70°C except when I run benchmark tools on it.
retsnom
post Aug 11 2016, 12:10 PM

51 posts

1) So if i plug in smartphone or tablet, i could transfer files faster on usb 3.1 compared to 3.0?

2)Could usb 3.1 also charge up mobile devices faster?

3)I always use wireless internet connection, so when selecting a motherboard, mobo's LAN chipset such as Realtek/Killer/Intel GBe LAN doesn't matter right?

This post has been edited by retsnom: Aug 11 2016, 12:30 PM
terence_nwb
post Aug 11 2016, 02:57 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(retsnom @ Aug 11 2016, 12:10 PM)
1) So if i plug in smartphone or tablet, i could transfer files faster on usb 3.1 compared to 3.0?

2)Could usb 3.1 also charge up mobile devices faster?

3)I always use wireless internet connection, so when selecting a motherboard, mobo's LAN chipset such as Realtek/Killer/Intel GBe LAN doesn't matter right?
If the USB Type C port on the phone itself is USB 2.0 (like Nexus 6P and 5X) then it will follow USB 2.0 Type C standard speed and vice versa.

USB 3.0 and 3.1 carry the same power 4.5W (5V, 0.9A) so charging speed will be the same (for non Type C port), what matters the most is the specification of the USB Type C port (devices and the connectors), there are few revisions already since the launch of USB Type C and the basic 1.0 and 1.1 can output 3A (5V) without the aid of USB PD, this is commonly used on most of the smartphones. PD stands for Power Delivery and it is required for Type C 2.0 standard, both devices exchange the info via the connector's pin and the correct configurations will be applied based on the power acceptance level of the devices (up to 20V 5A) to prevent any excessive power delivery which might cause permanent damage.

Yes, if you use WiFi only, then LAN doesn't really matter that much, but Intel LAN is more preferred for LAN users.

wallacetan
post Aug 11 2016, 06:08 PM

55 posts

Any good mini ITX casing and motherboard(H110) recommendations?

Leon be here now
post Aug 11 2016, 06:19 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Aug 10 2016, 10:02 PM)
You just missed the cheap AC68U's alternative, the Huawei WS880  tongue.gif

Asus Merlin firmware is nicer than other firmware (other brands), many features are being offered as well including games boost mode, adaptive QoS which you can use to prioritize the traffic to your games, I feel like banging the wall every time I see the green and simple interface of TP-LINK router, too get used Asus already  sweat.gif

tell me more about this recent WS880 RM 199? now only 1 lelong seller for RM400
Leon be here now
post Aug 11 2016, 06:22 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(ThE-1cY @ Aug 11 2016, 12:03 AM)

what about this Xiaomi Mi Router 3 AC
MT7620A processor, 128MB SLC Nand Flash ROM, 128MB DDR2 RAM: Stable and reliable.
http://www.11street.my/productdetail/xiaom...design-18645751
Leon be here now
post Aug 11 2016, 06:27 PM

466 posts

Laser printer
Can someone recommend me a laser
b/w a4 prints only,
medium usage
replacement toner must be cheap
full duplex or copier is nice but not necessary but would be willing to pay extra if its not too expensive.

previously saw lots of people recomend i think its a fuji or xerox unit, now discontinued, i think the printer was around RM200 and the replacement toners were very very cheap like RM50
Leon be here now
post Aug 11 2016, 06:29 PM

466 posts

A3 colour printer

recommendations
replacement compatible ink must be cheap,

128 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled