128 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

imbagaijiin
post Aug 7 2016, 05:48 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Aug 7 2016, 04:22 PM)
Which 7700? 7700 is a series which consists of 7730, 7750, 7770 and 7790.
XFX Radeon 7770 OC 1gb 128bit

TristanX
post Aug 7 2016, 06:02 PM

Where is my stars?
24,327 posts

QUOTE(imbagaijiin @ Aug 7 2016, 05:48 PM)
XFX Radeon 7770 OC 1gb 128bit
450W or better recommended for HD7770. Your PSU is 250W. Continuous wattage is the one you will be looking at, not max or peak wattage.
imbagaijiin
post Aug 7 2016, 06:04 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 7 2016, 06:02 PM)
450W or better recommended for HD7770. Your PSU is 250W. Continuous wattage is the one you will be looking at, not max or peak wattage.
So do you think going from geforce 210 to radeon HD 7770 is a worthwhile upgrade for rm200?
terence_nwb
post Aug 7 2016, 06:11 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(CubeLogic @ Aug 7 2016, 04:31 PM)
My budget is 4-5k. of course lower better. again dont need powersupply and case. smile.gif
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 835
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 450
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 262
Palit GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Dual Fan - RM 1249
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 179
Seagate Barracuda 2TB HDD - RM 309

Total: RM 3284 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

This build is a good starting point for high end 1080p gaming, it can handle graphics demanding games without any major issue too on 1080p 60Hz (GTX980 equivalent), I don't see the need to go for GTX1070 when you mostly run Dota 2, CS:GO and other online games.

You didn't mention your casing form factor so I assume it is ATX size and is able to fit the above components.

TristanX
post Aug 7 2016, 06:12 PM

Where is my stars?
24,327 posts

QUOTE(imbagaijiin @ Aug 7 2016, 06:04 PM)
So do you think going from geforce 210 to radeon HD 7770 is a worthwhile upgrade for rm200?
Yup, its a big jump. Even your built-in GPU is better than G210. What is your monitor resolution?
TristanX
post Aug 7 2016, 07:35 PM

Where is my stars?
24,327 posts

QUOTE(Slick69 @ Aug 7 2016, 07:26 PM)
Holy moley!

Damn,that is gpu heavy. WOW sure had gone a long way since the last time i saw it
Yup. They cater for latest hardware now. Hopefully when WoW: Legion launches, there is driver optimization.
DhenoTheDino
post Aug 7 2016, 10:45 PM

Hello there, I am new here and am from Seremban N9. Am looking build a rig that is mainly for gaming. Would like to of course get the best prices of each parts. Will also plan to overclock in the future and sli or xfire but for now a single VGA will do and the VGA Should be in the GTX 1070 series. Please take in to consideration of our ridiculous weather here in msia and if those parts will be largely affected by it. Also willing to travel to the shop to buy the parts and the dates i will be going around to purchase the parts would be 26/8 and 27/8. Also if there are any combo offers, not full rig combos would be great to include those in too and also any freebies biggrin.gif

Parts Not needed:
1) Casing CM 690 Series
2) HDD
3) Softwares
4) Monitor
5) No special coolers needed for now

Important Part to include would be a SSD the lowest possible and cheapest as well just to add the windows in to it and certain important software.

Budget 4-(5k+-) <<<< If can go less would be nice

[B]PS: Would love if some one can explain why you chose those parts[/B]

imbagaijiin
post Aug 7 2016, 11:33 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 7 2016, 06:12 PM)
Yup, its a big jump. Even your built-in GPU is better than G210. What is your monitor resolution?
I use a 24in monitor on 1920x1080 res
TristanX
post Aug 7 2016, 11:43 PM

Where is my stars?
24,327 posts

QUOTE(imbagaijiin @ Aug 7 2016, 11:33 PM)
I use a 24in monitor on 1920x1080 res
HD7770 should be fine for CS:GO and DOTA 2.
terence_nwb
post Aug 7 2016, 11:57 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DhenoTheDino @ Aug 7 2016, 10:45 PM)
Hello there, I am new here and am from Seremban N9. Am looking build a  rig that is mainly for gaming. Would like to of course get the best prices of each parts. Will also plan to overclock in the future and sli or xfire but for now a single VGA will do and the VGA Should be in the GTX 1070 series. Please take in to consideration of our ridiculous weather here in msia  and if those parts will be largely affected by it. Also willing to travel to the shop to buy the parts and the dates i will be going around to purchase the parts would be 26/8 and 27/8. Also if there are any combo offers, not full rig combos would be great to include those in too and also any freebies  biggrin.gif

Parts Not needed:
1) Casing CM 690 Series
2) HDD
3) Softwares
4) Monitor
5) No special coolers needed for now
Important Part to include would be a SSD the lowest possible and cheapest as well just to add the windows in to it and certain important software.

Budget 4-(5k+-) <<<< If can go less would be nice
[B]PS: Would love if some one can explain why you chose those parts[/B]
Price might change by the time you are ready to purchase the items so the price that I am going to list down is based on today's rate taken from the seller.

Intel Core i7 6700K - RM 1461
Asus Z170 Pro Gaming - RM 699
Kingston HyperX Savage 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 3000MHz RAM - RM 423
Palit GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Jetstream - RM 1999
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 255
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409

Total: RM 5246 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

OC build isn't cheap to build and the performance/price ratio is bad when it comes to gaming, most of the games do not show any significant performance bump in terms of FPS.

I don't include a cooler yet, but you need to grab a cheap stock cooler (around RM 50) because Skylake K CPU doesn't come with stock cooler.

You can save at least 1k by going for non-OC build (more budget friendly).

DhenoTheDino
post Aug 8 2016, 01:19 AM

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Aug 7 2016, 11:57 PM)
Price might change by the time you are ready to purchase the items so the price that I am going to list down is based on today's rate taken from the seller.

Intel Core i7 6700K - RM 1461
Asus Z170 Pro Gaming - RM 699
Kingston HyperX Savage 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 3000MHz RAM - RM 423

Total: RM 5246 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

OC build isn't cheap to build and the performance/price ratio is bad when it comes to gaming, most of the games  do not show any significant performance bump in terms of FPS.

I don't include a cooler yet, but you need to grab a cheap stock cooler (around RM 50) because Skylake K CPU doesn't come with stock cooler.

You can save at least 1k by going for non-OC build (more budget friendly).
Tks so much for the feedback, What is your take on the Non-OC build?

How about the core shaving that part off and instead using i5 6600k
And also can i reduce the DDR4 rams to a slightly less pricy one

Moongrave
post Aug 8 2016, 03:13 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Aug 7 2016, 04:26 PM)
Intel Core i5 6400 - RM 773
Gigabyte H110M-DS2 (D4) - RM 249
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 131
Sapphire RX460 4GB GDDR5 Nitro - RM 689
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 199
Tecware Alpha - RM 189

Total: RM 2445 (Techview price inclusive of GST)
The amd rx 460 exist or is it preorder?
terence_nwb
post Aug 8 2016, 08:45 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DhenoTheDino @ Aug 8 2016, 01:19 AM)
Tks so much for the feedback, What is your take on the Non-OC build?

How about the core shaving that part off and instead using i5 6600k
And also can i reduce the DDR4 rams to a slightly less pricy one
If I were to go for OC build, I won't take 6600K considering DX12 and Vulkan have started to become mature now in games (slowly) and should become the major API for all the upcoming games in next 3 years, this is where the 6700K starts to shine thanks to its multicore. DX12 and Vulkan aim to take advantage of the multicore of the CPU and reduce the CPU overhead for better graphics output performance.

It is just like you have 4 legs (i5) vs 8 legs (i7), no matter how much steroid (OC) you put in 4 legs, it is still very hard to beat the 8 legs, either in speed or efficiency, but then if you cannot fork out extra for the 8 legs (i7), stick with 4 legs (i5), it will work too, regardless of K or non-K, K gives you extra ability to OC it when needed (after several years when Skylake CPU starts to show some bottleneck symptoms like 1st and 2nd gen Intel CPU now).

RAM can be downgraded to normal one but Skylake does show performance improvements when pairing with high speed RAM, this is normally not the case during DDR3 era, but DDR4, they are biggrin.gif

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1311
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Kingston 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 290

Total: RM 4710 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

QUOTE(Moongrave @ Aug 8 2016, 03:13 AM)
The amd rx 460 exist or is it preorder?
Stock reached Malaysia last week, if it hasn't sold out yet then you can get it on the spot.

Please consult Techview for stock availability.
entire
post Aug 8 2016, 10:40 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Aug 8 2016, 08:45 AM)
If I were to go for OC build, I won't take 6600K considering DX12 and Vulkan have started to become mature now in games (slowly) and should become the major API for all the upcoming games in next 3 years, this is where the 6700K starts to shine thanks to its multicore. DX12 and Vulkan aim to take advantage of the multicore of the CPU and reduce the CPU overhead for better graphics output performance.

It is just like you have 4 legs (i5) vs 8 legs (i7), no matter how much steroid (OC) you put in 4 legs, it is still very hard to beat the 8 legs, either in speed or efficiency, but then if you cannot fork out extra for the 8 legs (i7), stick with 4 legs (i5), it will work too, regardless of K or non-K, K gives you extra ability to OC it when needed (after several years when Skylake CPU starts to show some bottleneck symptoms like 1st and 2nd gen Intel CPU now).

RAM can be downgraded to normal one but Skylake does show performance improvements when pairing with high speed RAM, this is normally not the case during DDR3 era, but DDR4, they are  biggrin.gif

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1311
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Kingston 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 290

Total: RM 4710 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
Stock reached Malaysia last week, if it hasn't sold out yet then you can get it on the spot.

Please consult Techview for stock availability.
in that case issit i7 6800k would be more benefit for DX12 for gaming itself?
terence_nwb
post Aug 8 2016, 10:49 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(entire @ Aug 8 2016, 10:40 AM)
in that case issit i7 6800k would be more benefit for DX12 for gaming itself?
So far all the available DX12 games in the market don't show any significant improvement when going from 6700K to 6800K, the performance is mostly same or just 1 to 2 FPS difference only, so 6700K is the max you should spend on currently, focus more on the GPU instead.

Faster cores matter more than more cores currently, still, provided the games have all the resources it needs from the system.

terence_nwb
post Aug 8 2016, 10:52 AM

7,016 posts

goldfries Can you please pin this thread?

wongtk
post Aug 8 2016, 11:04 AM

76 posts

hi sifu,
Just want to ask those gaming rigs from Techview,etc are good? as I see those 2k~3k setup is around my budget too.

Thanks and Regards
imbagaijiin
post Aug 8 2016, 11:15 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 7 2016, 11:43 PM)
HD7770 should be fine for CS:GO and DOTA 2.
Hello bro, I changed my mind, will go for Palit GTX 750 Storm now.

So if I buy the GTX 750 card, will this PSU be able to handle it?

http://www.lazada.com.my/avf-ps550-power-s...0w-3186387.html
(AVF PS550-F12R)

terence_nwb
post Aug 8 2016, 11:16 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(wongtk @ Aug 8 2016, 11:04 AM)
hi sifu,
Just want to ask those gaming rigs from Techview,etc are good? as I see those 2k~3k setup is around my budget too.

Thanks and Regards
It depends on your requirements, some people prefer to max out the GPU instead of bundling the rig with SSD (which doesn't help in improving the FPS), some prefer AMD/Nvidia card, some prefer to have better/nice looking casing, you can always customize it yourself, not necessary need to follow the bundle.

GroundMan
post Aug 8 2016, 12:05 PM

210 posts

Hi guys

I have asked earlier for mitx build for office use. Local shops only sell this mobo

Msi h110m pro vh
Msi b150m bazooka

Is this compatible for mitx build? Casing used is cm130

128 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:01 PM