128 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

MeToo
post Nov 11 2016, 11:17 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Nov 10 2016, 07:46 PM)
woah, that motherboard sure is overpriced for a B150 mobo. Just get a normal B150 is sufficient  sweat.gif
Normal B150 all starts 500++ wor... unless go for B150M...
terence_nwb
post Nov 11 2016, 03:04 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 11 2016, 11:16 AM)
As always, thank you for your thoughts  thumbsup.gif

CPU : I canont bring myself to buy 6500 when the benchmark show so little imporvement over my current... so die die must see 20%+ improvement.. the price diff like 1.5 jug of beer la tongue.gif

Mobo : Good point on H170, I wont go Z170 cause I dont see myself overclocking or SLI. How about Gibabyte GA-H170-D3HP @ RM516? As for looking good... the casing doesnt have a see thru window... so is syiok sendiri saja hahaha

PSU : Hmmm didnt realise Straight Power 10 is 2nd tier, it was getting pretty decent reviews... i was going for a silent PSU.. cause those things really does contribute a lot of the noise coming from the PC.. will go back drawing board

Edit : Read there are some issues with SuperPower Leadex low hold up time? Maybe its model specific..
You can look for 0db PSU like Corsair RM series (and higher end series), the fan of the PSU will not spin until it reaches specific load (40%+), this will give you a complete silence PSU/rig.

Low hold up time should be fixed in the new batch, new stock should be ok but you can always swap to other option if you wish, check for revision number before making the purchase if needed.
MeToo
post Nov 11 2016, 03:11 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 11 2016, 03:04 PM)
You can look for 0db PSU like Corsair RM series (and higher end series), the fan of the PSU will not spin until it reaches specific load (40%+), this will give you a complete silence PSU/rig.

Low hold up time should be fixed in the new batch, new stock should be ok but you can always swap to other option if you wish, check for revision number before making the purchase if needed.
Been trying to struggle finding a decent quiet PSU...

The COrsair RM series are also Tier 2... the RMi series are Tier 1, but @ $660 for 750w sweat.gif

Edit 2 : My unit 650w enuf kan? Recommended PSU Wattage: 353 W

Edit : And no I dont dare to use the Seasonic fanless series... not with that casing...

This post has been edited by MeToo: Nov 11 2016, 03:53 PM
Woods of Ypres
post Nov 11 2016, 04:05 PM

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 11 2016, 10:13 AM)
Usually no trial and error is needed, but improper installation of hardware like RAM doesn't get seated properly may need some troubleshooting initially, but those are quite easy to solve, most of the mobo nowadays come with hardware failure troubleshooting code/LED so you don't really need to tinker around to find out what's the problem when PC is not booting. Can you get into BIOS with your current problematic rig?

Your budget can get you a Skylake i5 + GTX1060 already, those pre-built OEM PC are just doing daylight robbery with their low end specs  doh.gif

Can you suggest a rig for me based on my earlier requirement? Thanks!

Anyway, can't boot into bios. Lights and fan all running but no signal to monitor. It appears my motherboard has no internal speaker to produce beeps for troubleshooting.

terence_nwb
post Nov 11 2016, 04:21 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 11 2016, 03:11 PM)
Been trying to struggle finding a decent quiet PSU...

The COrsair RM series are also Tier 2... the RMi series are Tier 1, but @ $660 for 750w  sweat.gif

Edit 2 : My unit 650w enuf kan? Recommended PSU Wattage: 353 W

Edit : And no I dont dare to use the Seasonic fanless series... not with that casing...
I forgot RM series is already discontinued, left RMx and RMi only.

500W is enough for i5 + GTX1060 setup, even with mild OC, you can look for EVGA Supernova 650 GQ (SRP is RM 459), much cheaper than Corsair but without Corsair Link support (an app that allows you to fine tune the PSU).

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Nov 11 2016, 04:22 PM
Prothero
post Nov 11 2016, 04:41 PM

239 posts

Hi guys, I am currently looking to upgrade my current graphic card, appreciate your inputs and suggestions.

My current specs are as follows :

Mobo : Gigabyte GA-B150M-D3H
RAM : 8GBx2 Kingston Value RAM DDR4
GC : Sapphire HD7870XT
CPU : Intel i5 6500
PSU : 550W Semi Modular NAXN brand PSU
Casing : Bitfenix Prodigy M
Monitor : DELL S2415H

My preference to upgrade my GC is as follows :

Budget : <RM1.2k
Cooling : Im using normal air flow, so need GC which has good cooling
OC : I am not planning to OC my new GC card
Brand : Wanna try NVIDIA this time, but not sure which brand to use (i.e. ASUS, MSI, ZOTAC, etc)
Required Specs : GTX1060 with 6GB memory
Usage : Heavy usage of World of Warcraft with graphic settings of 7+ out of 10.

I am looking at :

1. Zotac GTX 1060 AMP 6GB,

but also had a quick look at other brands such as :

2. MSI GTX 1060 6GT OC 6GB
3. Palit GTX 1060 Dual Fan 6GB

Hope that you guys can recommend which GC I should take to upgrade from my current GC.

Thanks!

This post has been edited by Prothero: Nov 11 2016, 04:44 PM
terence_nwb
post Nov 11 2016, 04:41 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Woods of Ypres @ Nov 11 2016, 04:05 PM)
Can you suggest a rig for me based on my earlier requirement? Thanks!

Anyway, can't boot into bios. Lights and fan all running but no signal to monitor. It appears my motherboard has no internal speaker to produce beeps for troubleshooting.
Here you go.

Intel Core i5 6400 - RM 777
MSI B150M Pro-VDH - RM 340
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 218
MSI GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 OC - RM 1129
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Segotep Chariot TF - RM 119

Total: RM 2986 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

You can request the shop to install the rig for you.
MeToo
post Nov 11 2016, 04:44 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 11 2016, 04:41 PM)
Here you go.

WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188

Oh ya bro how come u always recommend 8GB... enuf for gaming? tak payah 16GB ka? hmm.gif
terence_nwb
post Nov 11 2016, 05:10 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Prothero @ Nov 11 2016, 04:41 PM)
Hi guys, I am currently looking to upgrade my current graphic card, appreciate your inputs and suggestions.

My current specs are as follows :

Mobo : Gigabyte GA-B150M-D3H
RAM : 8GBx2 Kingston Value RAM DDR4
GC : Sapphire HD7870XT
CPU : Intel i5 6500
PSU : 550W Semi Modular NAXN brand PSU
Casing : Bitfenix Prodigy M
Monitor : DELL S2415H

My preference to upgrade my GC is as follows :

Budget : <RM1.2k
Cooling : Im using normal air flow, so need GC which has good cooling
OC : I am not planning to OC my new GC card
Brand : Wanna try NVIDIA this time, but not sure which brand to use (i.e. ASUS, MSI, ZOTAC, etc)
Required Specs : GTX1060 with 6GB memory
Usage : Heavy usage of World of Warcraft with graphic settings of 7+ out of 10.

I am looking at :

1. Zotac GTX 1060 AMP 6GB,

but also had a quick look at other brands such as :

2. MSI GTX 1060 6GT OC 6GB
3. Palit GTX 1060 Dual Fan 6GB

Hope that you guys can recommend which GC I should take to upgrade from my current GC.

Thanks!
All of them spot the similar full specs GP106 chipset so expect the performance to be very close with each other (with few FPS differences due to different clock speed and cooling solution of each card), I will go for Zotac in this case due to 5 years warranty being offered to their customers.

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 11 2016, 04:44 PM)
Oh ya bro how come u always recommend 8GB... enuf for gaming? tak payah 16GB ka?  hmm.gif
If budget allows, then surely I will go for 16GB RAM, 8GB is still enough unless you are lazy to do RAM management (like having many Chrome tabs open at the same time when gaming).

DDR4 RAM price hike recently, almost 50% increment doh.gif
rickk
post Nov 11 2016, 05:49 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 11 2016, 10:13 AM)
Kingston UV400/Samsung 750 EVO should do the trick for fast and speedy storage disk, if you are looking for a more premium one, you can consider Samsung 850 EVO.
very noob question here. How to change the SSD as primary boot drive and can move completely win10 to SSD?

What is the price range for SSDs above?

thanks!

This post has been edited by rickk: Nov 11 2016, 05:50 PM
Woods of Ypres
post Nov 11 2016, 05:50 PM

Here you go.

WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188

Thanks a lot Terence.
Hantu641
post Nov 11 2016, 05:53 PM

150 posts

Need mechanical keyboard suggestion.
Brown or clear switch.
Budget under 400
Never used any mechanical keyboard before
redsonja
post Nov 11 2016, 06:16 PM

27 posts

Is corsair vs550 good enough for this

Fx6350
Gtx 1050ti oc

Thank You!
Woods of Ypres
post Nov 11 2016, 06:39 PM

Here you go.

WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188

Oh yeah sorry further noob questions. This build list is complete and ready to run once pass to the shop and built? No need further add-ons like cooler, fans, sound card etc already right? Sorry not sure what parts are required for a fully functional pc ready to plug and play.
Woods of Ypres
post Nov 11 2016, 07:17 PM

QUOTE(NipsiumOxide @ Nov 10 2016, 07:58 PM)
Go for a custom build rig. Wont be much of a trial and error process. My first time went well i can tell. biggrin.gif
Aight bro, thx!
aladibfahmi
post Nov 11 2016, 07:49 PM

Helo everyone.

need suggestion for rig.

[B][Budget] = RM 5000

[Purpose] = GAMING

[Hardwares that will be re-use] NONE?

[Monitor resolution] = 1920x1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] CSGO, CRYSIS 3, BATTLEFIELD 4/HARDLINE, CoD

[Personal preferences]

[Location] KUCHING SARAWAK

Much appreciated for your suggestions. Thanks.
tgmape
post Nov 11 2016, 08:10 PM

89 posts

[Budget] RM3k

[Purpose] Gaming (latest game with high setting), programming extensive, able to open game and run browser with alot of tabs, graphic card can handle 3 monitors with at least hdmi

[Hardwares that will be re-use] 2 x Hdd, 2 1080p monitor

[Monitor resolution] 1920 x 1080, 144hz

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Battlefield, civilization 6(latest), matlab, vmware

[Personal preferences] Rig and 1 monitor only

[Location] KL

This post has been edited by tgmape: Nov 11 2016, 08:30 PM
terence_nwb
post Nov 11 2016, 08:30 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Nov 11 2016, 05:49 PM)
very noob question here. How to change the SSD as primary boot drive and can move completely win10 to SSD?

What is the price range for SSDs above?

thanks!
You can clone your current C drive to SSD by using 3rd party software (too many to list, just search online).

Kingston UV400 120GB/240GB - around RM 200/RM 300
Samsung 750 128GB/250GB - around RM 230/RM 330
Samsung 850 EVO 128GB/250GB - around RM 280/RM 450

QUOTE(Hantu641 @ Nov 11 2016, 05:53 PM)
Need mechanical keyboard suggestion.
Brown or clear switch.
Budget under 400
Never used any mechanical keyboard before
You may ask here.

QUOTE(redsonja @ Nov 11 2016, 06:16 PM)
Is corsair vs550 good enough for this

Fx6350
Gtx 1050ti oc

Thank You!
Yes (in general).

QUOTE(Woods of Ypres @ Nov 11 2016, 06:39 PM)
Oh yeah sorry further noob questions. This build list is complete and ready to run once pass to the shop and built? No need further add-ons like cooler, fans, sound card etc already right? Sorry not sure what parts are required for a fully functional pc ready to plug and play.
Cooler: CPU comes with 1 new Intel HSF so 3rd party cooler is not needed.

Casing fan: Most of the chassis in the market do come with at least 1 or 2 pre-installed intake/exhaust fans, can be added later if needed (optional).

Sound card: Use onboard sound card.

The build list is complete, just assemble the parts and install the OS to start using the PC. SSD is not included in the list due to budget constraint but SSD is completely optional, it helps to improve the system responsiveness and reduce the time needed to boot up the OS FYI, you can add one later when you have more funds.
terence_nwb
post Nov 11 2016, 09:26 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(aladibfahmi @ Nov 11 2016, 07:49 PM)
Helo everyone.

need suggestion for rig.

[B][Budget] = RM 5000

[Purpose] = GAMING

[Hardwares that will be re-use] NONE?

[Monitor resolution] = 1920x1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] CSGO, CRYSIS 3, BATTLEFIELD 4/HARDLINE, CoD

[Personal preferences]

[Location] KUCHING SARAWAK

Much appreciated for your suggestions. Thanks.
Actually there are few options available for you.

1. i5 + GTX1070 + 1080p 60Hz monitor (for fancy ultra graphics)
2. i5 + GTX1060 + 1080p 144Hz monitor (recommended for FPS gamer)
3. i7 + GTX1060 + 1080p 60Hz monitor (the less preferred build, doesn't bring too much performance improvements compared to the other builds)
terence_nwb
post Nov 11 2016, 09:27 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(tgmape @ Nov 11 2016, 08:10 PM)
[Budget] RM3k

[Purpose] Gaming (latest game with high setting), programming extensive, able to open game and run browser with alot of tabs, graphic card can handle 3 monitors with at least hdmi

[Hardwares that will be re-use] 2 x Hdd, 2 1080p monitor

[Monitor resolution] 1920 x 1080, 144hz

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Battlefield, civilization 6(latest), matlab, vmware

[Personal preferences] Rig and 1 monitor only

[Location] KL
Your current 1080p monitor is 144Hz one or normal 60Hz?

128 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:06 PM