Thanks a lot bro!
[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!
Nov 11 2016, 09:31 PM
12 posts Joined: Jan 2016 |
Thanks a lot bro!
Nov 12 2016, 05:35 AM
89 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 11 2016, 10:27 PM) Both at normal 60Hz. If you think 60Hz will suite normal gaming experience, then we can stick to 60Hz for the third monitor.My aim is to have PC that can do all of these at the same time. (basically a professional workstation and gaming rig) - spawn a few vm's(maybe 2) - open multiple tabs in chrome (maybe 20-30 tabs) - open IDE and text editing tool - play high quality games The PC also at least must be able support 3 hdmi monitors, im saying this because I think some gpu you mentioned in previous build seems having limited hdmi ports. I might be wrong though Budget is 3k as a reference, you can increased a bit if you think necessary but keep it at optimun budget. Planning to buy before end of this year to still get the 3k tax exemption for PC Thanks you so much for your help and time This post has been edited by tgmape: Nov 12 2016, 05:42 AM |
Nov 12 2016, 08:57 AM
7,016 posts Joined: Jul 2012 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(tgmape @ Nov 12 2016, 05:35 AM) Both at normal 60Hz. If you think 60Hz will suite normal gaming experience, then we can stick to 60Hz for the third monitor. 144Hz monitor ain't cheap, that's why I asked if yours is 144Hz already or looking to get a new 144Hz, now I know your decision and budget isn't fully restricted to 3k then it should be alright.My aim is to have PC that can do all of these at the same time. (basically a professional workstation and gaming rig) - spawn a few vm's(maybe 2) - open multiple tabs in chrome (maybe 20-30 tabs) - open IDE and text editing tool - play high quality games The PC also at least must be able support 3 hdmi monitors, im saying this because I think some gpu you mentioned in previous build seems having limited hdmi ports. I might be wrong though Budget is 3k as a reference, you can increased a bit if you think necessary but keep it at optimun budget. Planning to buy before end of this year to still get the 3k tax exemption for PC Thanks you so much for your help and time HDMI port is being phased out by DisplayPort, high end GPU now spots more DisplayPort than HDMI due to few reasons (bandwidth, resolution support etc). If you plan to run 144Hz monitor, you need at least HDMI 1.3 and above (for HDMI), the old school DP 1.2 already can support up to 4K60H/2K165H. You can use adapter to convert HDMI to DP and vice versa. Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1360 Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446 Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 436 Gigabyte GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Windforce OC - RM 1225 Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 296 EVGA SuperNova 650 GQ - RM 459 Tecware Alpha - RM 229 Acer XB240H 144Hz - RM 952 Total: RM 5403 (ETech price inclusive of GST) You can reduce total cost by: 1. Downgrade to i5 2. Downgrade to cheaper/low end mATX mobo 3. Remove the SSD 4. Get a cheaper PSU (sub RM 200 one, but much lower quality) 5. Get a normal 60Hz monitor Not recommended to downgrade the RAM to 8GB due to heavy multitasking (as I can see) and GPU due to **Gaming (latest game with high setting)**. The GPU doesn't have 3 HDMI outputs, it is very hard to find any high end GPU with lots of HDMI outputs now, please use adapter/converter if necessary. The standard currently is 3 x DP, 1 x HDMI and 1 x DVI. |
Nov 12 2016, 10:35 AM
171 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Hey wanna ask everyone's opinion of Ideal Tech at Pandan Indah.
Thinking of buying some parts from them and asking them to assemble my new rig. Will be reusing some old components like my PSU, monitor, casing, etc. I don't know how to install the rig myself, rather have an expert to do it properly. What do you think of their prices and service? |
Nov 12 2016, 12:10 PM
1 posts Joined: Aug 2016 |
Hi, need some suggestion for my new rig.
[Budget] = Around RM3k-3.5k (trying to save as much as possible) [Purpose] = Heavy Photoshop, 3D, 30+ firefox tabs, and AAA games. [Hardwares that will be re-use] = Dell Ultrasharp 24", 1TB HDD [Monitor resolution] = 1920x1080p [Location] Penang Currently I'm considering this, but wondering if sifus here have better suggestion : i5-6600, gtx1060 3gb 16gb DDR4 2133 M12IIEvo 520w 120gb SSD as boot drive Mobo(no idea) Casing(no idea, but prefer budget simple classy design) |
Nov 12 2016, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(Justeafy @ Nov 12 2016, 10:35 AM) Hey wanna ask everyone's opinion of Ideal Tech at Pandan Indah. Feedback and after sales services are positive so far. As for price, I don't want to comment too much, you can search the market (Lelong/Garage Sales etc) for comparison and you will know the result Thinking of buying some parts from them and asking them to assemble my new rig. Will be reusing some old components like my PSU, monitor, casing, etc. I don't know how to install the rig myself, rather have an expert to do it properly. What do you think of their prices and service? QUOTE(extheist @ Nov 12 2016, 12:10 PM) Hi, need some suggestion for my new rig. Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 862[Budget] = Around RM3k-3.5k (trying to save as much as possible) [Purpose] = Heavy Photoshop, 3D, 30+ firefox tabs, and AAA games. [Hardwares that will be re-use] = Dell Ultrasharp 24", 1TB HDD [Monitor resolution] = 1920x1080p [Location] Penang Currently I'm considering this, but wondering if sifus here have better suggestion : i5-6600, gtx1060 3gb 16gb DDR4 2133 M12IIEvo 520w 120gb SSD as boot drive Mobo(no idea) Casing(no idea, but prefer budget simple classy design) MSI B150M Pro-VDH - RM 340 Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 436 MSI GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 OC - RM 1120 Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 196 Superflower Leadex Silver 550W - RM 339 Tecware Alpha - RM 229 Total: RM 3522 (ETech price inclusive of GST) Seasonic PSU is facing stock shortage almost everywhere, I have to replace it with another model, you can still look for the one you need if you wish to do so. |
Nov 12 2016, 03:30 PM
89 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 12 2016, 09:57 AM) 144Hz monitor ain't cheap, that's why I asked if yours is 144Hz already or looking to get a new 144Hz, now I know your decision and budget isn't fully restricted to 3k then it should be alright. wow. Thanks. i think i need to reduce the cost and follow your suggestionHDMI port is being phased out by DisplayPort, high end GPU now spots more DisplayPort than HDMI due to few reasons (bandwidth, resolution support etc). If you plan to run 144Hz monitor, you need at least HDMI 1.3 and above (for HDMI), the old school DP 1.2 already can support up to 4K60H/2K165H. You can use adapter to convert HDMI to DP and vice versa. Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1360 Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446 Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 436 Gigabyte GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Windforce OC - RM 1225 Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 296 EVGA SuperNova 650 GQ - RM 459 Tecware Alpha - RM 229 Acer XB240H 144Hz - RM 952 Total: RM 5403 (ETech price inclusive of GST) You can reduce total cost by: 1. Downgrade to i5 2. Downgrade to cheaper/low end mATX mobo 3. Remove the SSD 4. Get a cheaper PSU (sub RM 200 one, but much lower quality) 5. Get a normal 60Hz monitor Not recommended to downgrade the RAM to 8GB due to heavy multitasking (as I can see) and GPU due to **Gaming (latest game with high setting)**. The GPU doesn't have 3 HDMI outputs, it is very hard to find any high end GPU with lots of HDMI outputs now, please use adapter/converter if necessary. The standard currently is 3 x DP, 1 x HDMI and 1 x DVI. 1. Downgrade to i5 2. Downgrade to cheaper/low end mATX mobo 3. Get a normal 60Hz monitor Can you provide alternative for these 3 requirements? |
Nov 12 2016, 04:31 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
83 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Hi, need recommendations for a new mid tower
Budget - rm 150 Parts to consider - using Hyper 212 and a modular psu Etc - good air flow Saw a lot of recommendations for segotep and tecware, are these casing good? |
Nov 12 2016, 09:49 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(tgmape @ Nov 12 2016, 03:30 PM) wow. Thanks. i think i need to reduce the cost and follow your suggestion 1. i5 65001. Downgrade to i5 2. Downgrade to cheaper/low end mATX mobo 3. Get a normal 60Hz monitor Can you provide alternative for these 3 requirements? 2. ASRock H110M-HDV (low end)/MSI B150M Pro-VH/Gigabyte B150M-D3H etc. 3. BenQ GW2470H (VA)/Acer R241Y (IPS) etc. QUOTE(kunang @ Nov 12 2016, 04:31 PM) Hi, need recommendations for a new mid tower Tecware and Segotep were chosen mostly due to their attractive pricing.Budget - rm 150 Parts to consider - using Hyper 212 and a modular psu Etc - good air flow Saw a lot of recommendations for segotep and tecware, are these casing good? Your budget is somehow restricting you from getting other brands, Armageddon or Segotep would be your choice if your mobo is ATX, Tecware F3 (within your budget) is a mATX chassis. Of course there are still other brands available, you can try to search the market for the availability. |
Nov 12 2016, 11:21 PM
3 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Hi all. Need recommendation for a new rig.
[Budget] ~RM4,500 [Purpose] Gaming, game streaming (Twitch), media (Photoshop/After Effects), virtual machines. [Hardwares that will be re-use] None. [Monitor resolution] 1440p [Games & softwares that use frequently] Dota, Twitch, Photoshop, After Effects, Hyper-V [Personal preferences] Black+White color scheme or Red+Black color scheme; preferable if case is see-through [Location] Bandar Sunway, Selangor Thanks all! <3 This post has been edited by Ethereal_: Nov 12 2016, 11:22 PM |
Nov 13 2016, 10:55 AM
3 posts Joined: Nov 2016 |
QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 11 2016, 09:26 PM) Actually there are few options available for you. Ill take option 2. What do i need to put in?1. i5 + GTX1070 + 1080p 60Hz monitor (for fancy ultra graphics) 2. i5 + GTX1060 + 1080p 144Hz monitor (recommended for FPS gamer) 3. i7 + GTX1060 + 1080p 60Hz monitor (the less preferred build, doesn't bring too much performance improvements compared to the other builds) |
Nov 13 2016, 12:33 PM
11,248 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(Ethereal_ @ Nov 12 2016, 11:21 PM) Hi all. Need recommendation for a new rig. this [Budget] ~RM4,500 [Purpose] Gaming, game streaming (Twitch), media (Photoshop/After Effects), virtual machines. [Hardwares that will be re-use] None. [Monitor resolution] 1440p [Games & softwares that use frequently] Dota, Twitch, Photoshop, After Effects, Hyper-V [Personal preferences] Black+White color scheme or Red+Black color scheme; preferable if case is see-through [Location] Bandar Sunway, Selangor Thanks all! <3 |
Nov 13 2016, 01:26 PM
744 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Hello all,
I have an i5 4440, looking to upgrade my processor into a better i5 or i7. Planning to sell this + add RM500 to get a new processor. Which processor can I get with this budget? |
Nov 13 2016, 01:29 PM
403 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
request for Budget mini atx case pc ( RM 3000 )
Case prefer: SilverStone Milo Series ML08 ( any one sell this? how much? ) GPU prefer: GTX 1060 other please suggest me! |
Nov 13 2016, 03:13 PM
611 posts Joined: Feb 2016 |
QUOTE(xhakox @ Nov 13 2016, 01:26 PM) Hello all, why would you want to upgrade ? if you want to upgrade, you have to consider the motherboard as they are on a different chipset board though I have an i5 4440, looking to upgrade my processor into a better i5 or i7. Planning to sell this + add RM500 to get a new processor. Which processor can I get with this budget? |
Nov 13 2016, 06:40 PM
78 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
hi guys
need recommendation for gc as my hd6950 just dead... only for dota2 1080 full setting. btw im.not sure whether is the card dead or not. As i switch on the pc with dedicated card dvi will detect no signal... Although the fan & everything is moving. If i boot with integrated display dvi then unplug & plug to dedicated dvi then it work fine. my pc detect the card is still working fine. This post has been edited by kun5455: Nov 13 2016, 06:46 PM |
Nov 13 2016, 06:46 PM
Nov 13 2016, 07:07 PM
78 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
QUOTE(MagnificM @ Nov 13 2016, 06:46 PM) how bout rx460? which 1 is better?btw im.not sure whether is the card dead or not. As i switch on the pc with dedicated card dvi will detect no signal... Although the fan & everything is moving. If i boot with integrated display dvi then unplug & plug to dedicated dvi then it work fine. |
Nov 13 2016, 07:25 PM
744 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Nov 13 2016, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(kun5455 @ Nov 13 2016, 07:07 PM) how bout rx460? which 1 is better? a 750Ti will serve you well. If you have the money to get a RX460, why not ? regarding your old gpu, im not entirely sure what is the problem btw im.not sure whether is the card dead or not. As i switch on the pc with dedicated card dvi will detect no signal... Although the fan & everything is moving. If i boot with integrated display dvi then unplug & plug to dedicated dvi then it work fine. |
| Change to: | 0.0339sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:40 AM |