127 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

LYN Official FIA F1 World Championship 2007 Thread, Another McLaren 1-2

SUSRaikkonen
post Mar 28 2007, 07:11 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(edison_84 @ Mar 28 2007, 07:07 PM)
For me, i wish can watch live once... want to hear the real F1 sound tongue.gif
Sure 'pekak' one tongue.gif
edison_84
post Mar 28 2007, 07:16 PM

Redefine The Limit!!!
942 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Mar 28 2007, 07:11 PM)
Sure 'pekak' one  tongue.gif
lol.. pekak cos of F1 sound, also worth lar.. tongue.gif
at least I know the real F1 sound, won't regret... tongue.gif
Hornet
post Mar 28 2007, 08:43 PM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Mar 27 2007, 11:53 PM)
The spectre of a ten-place grid demotion still hangs over Kimi Raikkonen after Ferrari confirmed that his engine will require further inspection in Malaysia.
Although the Finn won comfortably at the season-opening Australian GP, he was forced to slow down in the closing stages of the race due to fears that his engine was developing a water leak. Any such problem will be exacerbated, potentially terminally, in the searing heat of Sepang next weekend.
"We had a small water leakage so the pressure dropped a little. And we were concerned about water temperature of course. That is why we asked him to be careful," Ferrari's engine chief Gilles Simon clarified.
Should Ferrari err on the side of caution and change the engine ahead of qualifying then Raikkonen would suffer a demotion of ten grid places - exactly the same penalty that his team-mate Felipe Massa endured in Melbourne on what proved to be a frustrating weekend for the Brazilian.
I think ferrari would change it after all.. read somewhere that they may conclude that it won't last the entire race distance... Well, its a lose lose situation. If kimi use a new unit here, next race is another hot temperature race, the engine will have to run 2 hot race...

its a shame such problem happens... It's not like the cooling is any new tech...

QUOTE(kapitan @ Mar 28 2007, 06:58 PM)
Today I went there, but I think I wont go on race day. Its damn hot out there, and haf to walk so far to just get to the grandstand.

Honestly, it was quite worth it. The sound of the engine rev and gear changes as well as the traction control, it was phenomenal. I haf to cover my ears cos the sound was too loud when the car went pass me.

When I first reach the entrance, I heard some sound liao but in my mind, I tot why ppl said must bring ear plug cos little bit only. When I walk past the first corner (covered with lots of plants), the traction control n gear downshifting sound was a bit like CNY crackers already. Imagine my surprise when I reach the grandstand, totally unbearable. Even when the cars did the pitstop, it was loud enough already. But the full throttle sound is totally off the mark liao. Nothing can compared with it I think... mayb airplane take off sound can...

One more thing is that, when you view from tv screen, you cant feel their cornering n braking speed. When you see it in real, you feel like WTF. From full throttle to braking to cornering actually takes seconds to complete which feel very long on tv but in front of your eyes, feels like a blink of your eyes. I guess thats why so many ppl go watch it.
thanks for sharing... now I can imagine the real sound of traction control... lol tongue.gif
TV cam always moving following the car through the corner making it look slower than it actually is...
forrest
post Mar 28 2007, 08:57 PM

1,045 posts

QUOTE(edison_84 @ Mar 28 2007, 07:16 PM)
lol.. pekak cos of F1 sound, also worth lar..  tongue.gif
anyone organize lyn F1 trip to sepang? tongue.gif
TSlinkinstreet
post Mar 28 2007, 09:52 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

FIA acts to close bodywork loophole
The FIA has introduced stringent new bodywork tests to close a loophole in the regulations that Ferrari and BMW Sauber were believed to be using to their advantage in the season-opening Australian Grand Prix.

The move comes after rival teams drew attention to the floor mounting system on Ferrari’s F2007 chassis, which they argued used a spring device to improve the car’s aerodynamics at speed.

McLaren boss Ron Dennis alluded to the issue in Melbourne – without specifically mentioning Ferrari – pointing out that the first race of the season always gives rise to question marks over interpretation of the rules.

Dennis suggested that if the FIA took no action to clarify contentious points, rival teams would adopt similar solutions for their cars before the next race.

And a report by autosport.com reveals that McLaren’s engineering director Paddy Lowe wrote to FIA technical delegate Charlie Whiting raising the floor mounting issue and asking for permission to use a Ferrari-style system.

Lowe’s letter was clearly intended to prompt the governing body to clarify whether it will continue to deem such systems legal even though their effect is to circumvent rules limiting bodywork flexibility.

F1’s technical regulations state that bodywork (including the floor) must not deflect more than 5mm vertically when a 500 Newton load is applied upwards.

The spring device used by Ferrari has been on the team’s cars since the end of last season and has passed all subsequent scrutineering checks.

The concern from rival teams is that, while the car passes the 5mm deflection test at rest, the spring device causes the floor to lift under greater loads at high speed, leading the diffuser to stall.

If true, this would confer aerodynamic benefits – reducing drag and thus either increasing straight-line speed or allowing the team to run more downforce for a given straight-line speed.

The FIA has responded by toughening up the deflection test to ensure that the bodywork flexibility rules are strictly adhered to in future.

From the Malaysian Grand Prix onwards, cars will have to pass scrutineering with any spring mounting devices removed.

The change could have a significant effect on the competitive state of play in F1, since the two teams expected to have to modify their cars are Ferrari and BMW Sauber.

Ferrari was a dominant force in the Australian GP while BMW lies third in the constructors’ championship.

laugh.gif Ask the FIA if you can use the same thing as your rival is a new trick it seems to get thing banned
TSlinkinstreet
post Mar 28 2007, 09:55 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(edison_84 @ Mar 28 2007, 07:01 PM)
Webber to test Singapore proposed track

source
look like Singapore will host F1 GP soon..
heh, lot of hot air. What with the "According the speed limit"? So F1 cars after this cannot go past the limit there? might as well use a hearse race
htkaki
post Mar 28 2007, 10:01 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I went to watch F1 a few times at Sepang. It was a good experience. What really put me off are some of the security personnel, which seriously lacked manners and only knows how to 'kowtow' to Mat Salleh and treats the locals like a bunch of 'criminals'. Sad but true. I guessed I have given up watching at Sepang. At least for me.

Oh yes, I forgot to mention the daylight robbery. Foods and drinks are overly priced.
TamiyaOne
post Mar 28 2007, 10:46 PM

936 posts

when there today... super aguri engine damn high peak. where othrs engine is loud only

car_o_scope
post Mar 28 2007, 11:20 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

I don't quite like to go to watch F1 at Sepang as well. Firstly, the food and drinks are expensive. doh.gif

Secondly, I don't like the way I was being treated by the security personnel. Maybe grand stand tickets got better treatment. I don't know.

Thirdly, it is too hot under the sun. Global warming some more.. biggrin.gif
kapitan
post Mar 28 2007, 11:33 PM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Mar 28 2007, 07:02 PM)
Heh, now you know. I had this one guy in another forum which I had a fight because he said going to watch live is not worth it. THERE IS NOTHING MORE WORTH IT THAN WATCHING IT LIVE!!!
I wish you had watched it during the V10 days. that was LOUD

Yeah, I was thinking the same too. I think thats why the sound wasnt as LOUD as I was imagining cos the engine CC drop and lost 2 cylinders somemore. But, lap times are dropping as well. So no love lost.

One more thing, when I watched it live on TV with my families, always scold drivers stupid bla bla bla. When view it in real, its actually hard for backmarkers to avoid the leading cars so as for battling drivers to overtake one another. Its the camera angle that lead us to believe the distance is much shorter, which in fact is quite far in real life.
SUSRaikkonen
post Mar 29 2007, 12:01 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(edison_84 @ Mar 28 2007, 07:16 PM)
lol.. pekak cos of F1 sound, also worth lar..  tongue.gif
nod.gif
When watching the race...so excited listening to the engine.
The upshift and downshift drool.gif
Ferrari's the smoothest.

Try rFactor's latest F1 mod...so realistic drool.gif
Sure cry.gif ..huhuhu laugh.gif

QUOTE(forrest @ Mar 28 2007, 08:57 PM)
anyone organize lyn F1 trip to sepang?  tongue.gif
tongue.gif
Rent a bus? tongue.gif

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Mar 28 2007, 11:20 PM)
I don't quite like to go to watch F1 at Sepang as well. Firstly, the food and drinks are expensive.  doh.gif

Secondly, I don't like the way I was being treated by the security personnel. Maybe grand stand tickets got better treatment. I don't know.

Thirdly, it is too hot under the sun. Global warming some more..  biggrin.gif
Me neither.
Those hot air sweat.gif
Can make you sick wooo...
When sweat a lot...dehydrated...been there.
Worse than jogging for 30 minutes shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Mar 29 2007, 12:02 AM
Hornet
post Mar 29 2007, 12:13 AM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 28 2007, 10:01 PM)
I went to watch F1 a few times at Sepang. It was a good experience. What really put me off are some of the security personnel, which seriously lacked manners and only knows how to 'kowtow' to Mat Salleh and treats the locals like a bunch of 'criminals'. Sad but true. I guessed I have given up watching at Sepang. At least for me.

Oh yes, I forgot to mention the daylight robbery. Foods and drinks are overly priced.
I think they don't allow people to bring outside food and drinks right...
damn "cut throat". The cost of going to a race is more suitable for those mat salleh people who can afford but for local, its very expensive.
TSlinkinstreet
post Mar 29 2007, 12:28 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

No, Macca has not gone nuts. they are testing new mirror positions, the old one will be the benchmark, and drivers will compare with the new one which can be changed it's position

Added on March 29, 2007, 12:31 am
QUOTE(Hornet @ Mar 29 2007, 12:13 AM)
I think they don't allow people to bring outside food and drinks right...
damn "cut throat". The cost of going to a race is more suitable for those mat salleh people who can afford but for local, its very expensive.
Foods and drinks were free for us at the main grandstand last 2 years when I went there. I even tapau the leftovers after the qualy and race finished. Also, i show student ID, and the guard just pull blind eye on my seludup drinks and food at the main gate....

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Mar 29 2007, 12:31 AM
SUSRaikkonen
post Mar 29 2007, 01:00 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Mar 29 2007, 12:28 AM)
No, Macca has not gone nuts. they are testing new mirror positions, the old one will be the benchmark, and drivers will compare with the new one which can be changed it's position

funny laugh.gif
Like the car we saw at the Merdeka parade tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Mar 29 2007, 01:01 AM
tokdukun
post Mar 29 2007, 02:07 AM

376 posts

lol, Mclaren wit 4 mirrors, I thought my eyes need to check edi.....

Perhaps I should go to Sauber's promo at KLCC.....dun support them, bt at least wanna hear F1, see them for real. All these while always no chance to see at Sepang, at least once oso enuf for me.....
pilotHans
post Mar 29 2007, 07:06 AM

scuderia ferrari pit crew (" ,)
2,525 posts

manage to get Kimi's siggy on my ferrari cap yesterday evening after press session behind the ferrari pit rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
SUSRaikkonen
post Mar 29 2007, 07:11 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Mar 29 2007, 07:06 AM)
manage to get Kimi's siggy on my ferrari cap yesterday evening after press session behind the ferrari pit  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Hope Kimi's engine does not blow up at Sepang laugh.gif tongue.gif
iRonTech
post Mar 29 2007, 08:59 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

manage to get Kimi's siggy on my ferrari cap yesterday evening after press session behind the ferrari pit  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
snap photo show us leh... drool.gif drool.gif

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Mar 29 2007, 07:11 AM)
Hope Kimi's engine does not blow up at Sepang  laugh.gif  tongue.gif
ah....tat only to apelonso tongue.gif tongue.gif
Hornet
post Mar 29 2007, 10:02 AM

What?
4,251 posts

took any picture there? pls share with us thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Mar 29 2007, 07:11 AM)
Hope Kimi's engine does not blow up at Sepang  laugh.gif  tongue.gif
still can't find any news on Kimi's engine >.<
TSlinkinstreet
post Mar 29 2007, 12:40 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

It's raining.. lol at Massa, as he's driving the test day today, and he will have no dry run at all...

anyways
Kimi Raikkonen won't know until the start of the Malaysian GP weekend whether or not he will need a new engine.

Although the Finn won the season-opening race in Australia, it later emerged that his engine had suffered a small water leak, which could have caused damage.

Explaining the problem, Raikkonen told Autosport: "I think we used the full potential for most of the (Australian) race but we had a small water leak in the engine so the engine was getting hot, and we had to cool it down."

A damaged engine could cost Raikkonen ten places on the Malaysian grid as 2007 regulations state that each driver must use the same engine for two race weekends or incur the engine penalty.

However, for now, Ferrari have yet to decide if they will chance racing the engine or swap it for a brand-new unit.

"Hopefully it is okay," he said. "The engine has been checked, we need to see what we do.

"We will decide on Friday or Saturday. We are trying to look at the situation. We have to wait and see on Saturday. So far the engine is okay but we will see."

127 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0580sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:26 AM