127 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

LYN Official FIA F1 World Championship 2007 Thread, Another McLaren 1-2

kapitan
post Apr 8 2007, 11:53 PM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Apr 8 2007, 11:41 PM)
The thing about Ferrari is, you don't see them nvolved with junior Formulaes like other teams. While other teams are getting younger drivers from Junior Formulaes easily (think Vettel - BMW, Piquet JR & Heikki - Renault, Lewis - Macca), Ferrari have none. NADA.
First, Ferrari doesnt join junior Formula or whatsoever race. Secondly, Ferrari got the cash pile to buy success. MSC n Raikonen are the best example.
SUSRaikkonen
post Apr 8 2007, 11:55 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(kapitan @ Apr 8 2007, 11:53 PM)
First, Ferrari doesnt join junior Formula or whatsoever race. Secondly, Ferrari got the cash pile to buy success. MSC n Raikonen are the best example.
The success of Ferrari is phenominal.
Legendary too.
They were so dominant, FIA need to stop them laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Apr 8 2007, 11:56 PM
edison92133
post Apr 8 2007, 11:57 PM

Myvi SE - It's a passion
3,097 posts

next week gp quali and race what time ar ?

rtm got live ?
astro got live for sure but lots of advertisment

rolleyes.gif
SUSRaikkonen
post Apr 9 2007, 12:00 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Don't know yet tongue.gif
Malaysian time.... hmm.gif

But ASTRO much clearer...but gpt few seconds delay lah.

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Apr 9 2007, 12:00 AM
kapitan
post Apr 9 2007, 12:04 AM

2,205 posts

Few seconds? come one!! almost 2 minutes leh...
TSlinkinstreet
post Apr 9 2007, 12:15 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(kapitan @ Apr 8 2007, 11:53 PM)
True, but still it's a problem when wanting to secure other drivers. looking at the grid today, if they replace Massa with any drivers on the grid that is not a young gun (2 years of F1 experience or younger), they still cannot find a driver that is better. Heck, some of the oldies out there are overrated and overpaid (case study, the "I got paid more than the world champ" Ralf Schumacher).
Nico is a good target, but he has a long term future contract, adn looking back at Buttongate, Sir frank is not who you want to negotiate contract with
Hornet
post Apr 9 2007, 12:27 AM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Apr 9 2007, 12:15 AM)
True, but still it's a problem when wanting to secure other drivers. looking at the grid today, if they replace Massa with any drivers on the grid that is not a young gun (2 years of F1 experience or younger), they still cannot find a driver that is better. Heck, some of the oldies out there are overrated and overpaid (case study, the "I got paid more than the world champ" Ralf Schumacher).
Nico is a good target, but he has a long term future contract, adn looking back at Buttongate, Sir frank is not who you want to negotiate contract with
I think naturally top teams are more conservative when it comes to finding drivers, although I think Ferrari is more so compare to the rest. Lewis is very very lucky to be able to step straight into a top team car. Even Kimi and Montoya debuted with other teams. So did Alonso.

I think Flavio is still the best at spotting new talents lol, as he did with Schumi and Alonso. Only problem is that after making them into champions, he lose them to other team and his own team goes back to mid field.

So far his champion all have been very good drivers. Needless to say what Schumi has done for Ferrari, now seems like Alonso is putting McLaren back on top too.

This post has been edited by Hornet: Apr 9 2007, 12:28 AM
kapitan
post Apr 9 2007, 12:57 AM

2,205 posts

I dont share the same view. Ferrari make a gamble by promoting Massa, whom is nobody when he races for Red Bulls. Although he did test for Ferrari once in a while back then, he still a nobody.

I dont see why replacing Massa is so hard. Ferrari doesnt want to gamble on rookie, neither do they want a drivers competing with MSC (RB getting cocky that time). So they end up signing up Massa cos he's available and low pay. If Ferrari wanna a replacement for Massa, I think Rosberg got a good chance.
tokdukun
post Apr 9 2007, 01:50 AM

376 posts

Nico for Ferrari, that'll be interesting: Twin Finn driver!!! rclxm9.gif
verx
post Apr 9 2007, 01:52 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Apr 8 2007, 11:55 PM)
The success of Ferrari is phenominal.
Legendary too.
They were so dominant, FIA need to stop them  laugh.gif
More like the FIA helped them to be dominant. And to label them legendary is abit premature. The Schumi era is still too recent and before that Ferrari were nowhere to be seen anyway. Maybe if u meant the Ferrari brand is legendary then i would agree with u.
hihihehe
post Apr 9 2007, 01:53 AM

13,784 posts

i heard tht tht massa is jean todt "son-like"...thts y ferrari keen to keep massa in team...
SUSRaikkonen
post Apr 9 2007, 06:23 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Apr 9 2007, 01:50 AM)
hmm.gif
A lot of possibilities.
Up to the teams to decide whom they're gonna sign.
I wonder what Nico can do if he got a good car.
He did well yesterday but engine blew up.
He worked hard during the weekend.
Williams were lucky to signed him.

QUOTE(verx @ Apr 9 2007, 01:52 AM)
More like the FIA helped them to be dominant. And to label them legendary is abit premature. The Schumi era is still too recent and before that Ferrari were nowhere to be seen anyway. Maybe if u meant the Ferrari brand is legendary then i would agree with u.
I mean in 2005, with the new regulations and all...clearly FIA wish to stop the Ferrari
domination.
I guess Schumi era was the greatest performance Ferrari ever had.

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 9 2007, 01:53 AM)
i heard tht tht massa is jean todt "son-like"...thts y ferrari keen to keep massa in team...
nevertheless, Massa is a lucky kid being accepted by Ferrari.
Ross Brawn on a sabatical...I wonder will he be back hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Apr 9 2007, 06:26 AM
kapitan
post Apr 9 2007, 08:35 AM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 9 2007, 01:53 AM)
He's being managed by Todd's son.. go figure...
evoHahn
post Apr 9 2007, 08:47 AM

Mika !
1,711 posts

QUOTE(kapitan @ Apr 9 2007, 12:57 AM)
I dont share the same view. Ferrari make a gamble by promoting Massa, whom is nobody when he races for Red Bulls. .
source please.
TSlinkinstreet
post Apr 9 2007, 09:31 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Apr 9 2007, 01:50 AM)
Sorry to say this, but if you watched the grid formation and the end result, he has a german flag near his name.....

And considering Massa, was he a nobody? At the time of Rubens departure, they needed
1 - A driver that knows the team, quickly
2 - A driver that can be no 2 to Schummi
3 - A driver that can win

because of no 2, it's hard to find anyone in the current field at the time to drive for them. barring the fact that Kimi already signed a pre contract, that stated he will get equal status no matter who his teammate was, they only need to find a driver that they can rely upon if Schummi retired or can dispose to testing if Schummi did not. So the only logical choise was Massa, who had tested the car countless of times, and had the speed duirng his sauber days (Dude, tell me when did he drove for Red Bull?). Badoer or Gene? they are too unreliable and no doubt cannot find the speed to win.

another thing
Honda looking at Ross Brawn
Honda Racing boss Nick Fry is in talks with Ross Brawn in a bid to convince Ferrari's former technical director to join the Japanese manufacturer, autosport.com can reveal.

On the back of Honda's disastrous start to their 2007 campaign, with the RA107 suffering from major aerodynamic problems, Fry is targeting Brawn as a key appointment to resurrect his team's fortunes in the long term.

Following the departure of then technical director Geoff Willis in the middle of last year, Honda Racing have lacked leadership from someone with extensive F1 design experience. Senior technical director Shuhei Nakamoto's background is in engine design and motorbike racing.

Brawn is currently on a sabbatical from Ferrari and, although he has promised to speak to the Maranello outfit before deciding his future, sources have revealed that the Briton has no contractual obligation to rejoin his old team.

That means Brawn is free to join any outfit from the start of 2008 and, it is understood, the Briton has expressed an interest in joining Honda. It is not clear, though, just how advanced the talks with the Brackley-based team have become.

Brawn has made no secret of the fact that he eventually wants to return to Britain, having worked at Ferrari since 1996, and the challenge of turning Honda into world championship contenders would certainly provide a suitable enough challenge to stimulate him.

Autosport.com understands that the discussions between Brawn and Fry began without the pre-approval of Honda's senior management, as Fry moved unilaterally in a bid to convince Brawn on a personal level.

When asked by autosport.com, Fry refused to confirm that talks were going on, but he fell short of denying it. He said: "I've got no comment to make on that."

However, Fry did later admit that the addition of a leading technical figure like Brawn would be a huge boost to his team.

"I think every team would benefit from Ross Brawn," he said. "Whether it be us or others, but I am sure Ross has some sort of arrangement with Ferrari, so we will see."

Brawn is clearly a big attraction for any F1 team, having guided Ferrari to world championship success from 2000 to 2004.

Despite taking a sabbatical this year, it is widely believed that Brawn does want to return to F1 - with his key interest likely to be in becoming team boss at Ferrari.

In the shorter term, Honda Racing are planning to introduce a new car for the Canadian Grand Prix in a bid to turnaround their season.

Although the new car will not officially be designated a B-spec, team insiders have told autosport.com that it will likely be a complete revamp of the RA107 concept.

Work on the new car began after pre-season testing in Bahrain when the team first realised the difficulties they were in.

Fry would not confirm specific details of what was planned, but admitted that major upgrades were in the pipeline for Montreal.

When asked by autosport.com how new the car would be, he said: "That's to be established at the moment.

"We are working on a fairly extensive array of improvements but, at the moment, a lot of those are being worked on in the wind tunnel.

"Clearly there is a limit in what you can do before Canada and we will do the maximum amount, but it will only be if it works.

"There is no point in changing things for the sake of it. We need to understand why we have the problems we do and make sure they are being properly addressed.

"Changing bits of the car just to make ourselves feel good is not being very constructive, so there is a lot of work to be done."

bysquashy
post Apr 9 2007, 09:41 AM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Apr 8 2007, 10:46 PM)
Same to you.
You do what you have to do, I'll do what I have to do  icon_rolleyes.gif
Unless the moderator felt otherwise.

Next stop, Sakhir, Bahrain.
Hope Ferrari's can continue smoking what they smoke at Melbourne  cool2.gif
QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Apr 8 2007, 11:03 PM)
Exactly my point.

I wonder will the moderator ban us for calling names of those F1 drivers  hmm.gif  brows.gif
You have no respect for others so I won't have respect for you. Please grow up or go and play barbie with the kid next door.

This post has been edited by bysquashy: Apr 9 2007, 09:43 AM
Amanda85
post Apr 9 2007, 10:00 AM

Scuderia Ferrari
2,232 posts

rtm will b having a delayed broadcast...;(
SUSRaikkonen
post Apr 9 2007, 10:29 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(kapitan @ Apr 9 2007, 08:35 AM)
He's being managed by Todd's son.. go figure...
I see smile.gif
Saw a picture in the paper where Massa's fiancee did took picture with Todd's son.

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Apr 9 2007, 10:00 AM)
rtm will b having a delayed broadcast...;(
Where were you yesterday?

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Apr 9 2007, 10:37 AM
Amanda85
post Apr 9 2007, 10:33 AM

Scuderia Ferrari
2,232 posts

yesterday watching f1 race lor...

i don't on9 during weekend punya..

n i dun bother wat ppl post d last 2 days...coz i know massa must got critisize badly.......

woo~~ dissapointing day for him..

but v still had some good news....kimi got off safe n sound..
SUSRaikkonen
post Apr 9 2007, 10:34 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Apr 9 2007, 10:33 AM)
yesterday watching f1 race lor...

i don't on9 during weekend punya..

n i dun bother wat ppl post d last 2 days...coz i know massa must got critisize badly.......

woo~~ dissapointing day for him..

but v still had some good news....kimi got off safe n sound..
On tv?
Or at Sepang?

127 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0486sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:53 PM