30 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

lsm1991
post Sep 1 2016, 12:24 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Aug 31 2016, 10:17 PM)
Sifu , Which one better if compare Teana vs Sylphy ?
well... counter question, toyota corolla compared with the camry? Which is better, answer is 99% (if not 100%) the same.
Same brand, dif segment/class thats it.... more expensive, bigger and classier vs smaller,cheaper to own and less grand

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Aug 31 2016, 10:51 PM)
I like toyota wish a lot, but also heard someone mentioned the recon car is not easy to maintain, any comment on this Zenix ? thanks in advance !
me wana weigh in sikit....
who ever said more 'difficult' to maintain?? why?
to me there are only 2 possible issues which are not really issues if you know what you are doing
1)recon cars = history unknown, not an issue if you can make sure its in good cond
2)recon cars are usually models less common here but, mechanical parts not a problem unless its a very pecial car cause most models share parts
lsm1991
post Sep 1 2016, 03:24 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Sep 1 2016, 03:03 PM)
Ok so,

my dad is currently driving a 1997 1.5L carb Proton Wira. However, recently got some problems so I decided to change car for my dad.

Was actually considering 1.6L Persona first gen or Waja CPS. Did my homework, felt that me & my dad would like the Waja more.

I saw one that I like Yr'2011 Proton Waja CPS Premium for RM13K. Would appreciate any feedback. Because my dad necessitates a higher CC vehicle as he kept saying that the Wira is underpowered. Also ABS + dual airbags is a must. Would like the cost to be as low as possible, so ideally <20/15K.

Initially I was also considering the older Waja variants with the Mitsubishi engines, however those are already quite old with high mileage. And most do not come equipped with ABS+arbags. The 1.8L models people said that spare parts are significantly more expensive, that's why I'm only considering the 1.6L CPS

Thansk all notworthy.gif
few words of advise....
1)mitsu 1.6 engines are relatively decent. IIRC, only that these variants did not come with abs/dual airbags and since you mentioned that it is a necessity this is out of the picture
2)1.8 models are utter garbage. Old renault engine, nough said (avoid at all costs!)
3)cps engines, newer and came in higher end trims with the features you want (dont think it was sold in any basic config so do some homework 1st). Maintenance is alright, and but its not frugal.

Yr'2011 Proton Waja CPS Premium for RM13K... sounds abit cheap?? Check it out properly and make sure its really a cps model and if you saw it at a dealership, ask for the otr price... it adds up.

other cars you might wana consider is the high line persona and the gen2 cps.
lsm1991
post Sep 1 2016, 03:29 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Sep 1 2016, 03:26 PM)
I am very eager to know why VW Polo 1.2 is never being suggested? Is it a bad car or the maintenance wise cost bomb. Or because it is in continental category? Bcuz the used ones are as low as >50k.
lol you are the one which likes the fiesta kan? i can see what types of cars you are trending towards....

anyway, tell me what tranny does that polo use? brows.gif

frankly speaking.... there's always reasons why something depreciates that quickly.
lsm1991
post Sep 1 2016, 04:06 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(nasbbq1992 @ Sep 1 2016, 03:58 PM)
Yes, u can still remember me. Hahaha. Yup from 100k down to 45k in less than 4 years indicates something is not right about the car perhaps.

Still saving for deposit cash and my mind can't get it right 😂
hehe i remember u cause you were the guy around my age looking for a sporty car biggrin.gif

anyway, its not that the polo is a bad car or anything, its quite a powerful little thing. Just not many are willing to spend on maintanance and there is always the risk of that tranny suddenly giving you a heart attack
lsm1991
post Sep 1 2016, 10:05 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Sep 1 2016, 08:04 PM)
Hi lsm1991, i'm comparing in term of petrol consumption and comfort level..both are 2.0 and i mentioning previous Sylphy 2.0 model,

also interest to know Sylphy 1.8 new model vs Teana 2.0 if you have visibility on this smile.gif
i dont know how to answer this =="..... its pretty clearcut... one is a higher end car simple as that.

teana is a higher end car..... a more luxurious model.... it is the more expensive, larger, more comfortable and feature loaded of the two.

not given that you are comparing the 2.0 models of both cars, and that they use the exact same engine, its pretty easy to come up with a conclusion here....
*top tips icon_idea.gif ;
i)heavier car = use more fuel
ii)heavier car struggles during acceleration*
lsm1991
post Sep 2 2016, 11:55 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Sep 2 2016, 11:49 AM)
Hey guys,

i trying to find the previous Perdana model which identical to previous Accord model, but couldn't find it in mudah.com, not sure what is the 2nd sales price.

Anyone got idea on this model ?
only the CURRENT perdana is based on the accord.... there was no previous perdana based on a honda for the matter

I think what you are reffering to is the non-facelifted(protonified) perdana which is actually the same as the current perdana other than it was not facelifted (it used the original accord's face)... those are for goverment use only, dont think those are going to be sold off any time soon....
lsm1991
post Sep 3 2016, 06:02 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 3 2016, 03:24 PM)
hey jack can add this to the sticky? oh and delete this line  laugh.gif

Today I'm going to talk about the thing on everyone's mind. How to buy, finance and maintain a sports car.
A real sports car not some sporty car, special edition, standard car with higher capacity engine & bodykit, R3, TRD, GT (thank you) and all those other bullshit.

First let's talk about affordability.
Let's say you have a take home salary after deductions of $3000.
Let's put a ballpark figure on your cost of living and savings from this.

Rental = $400 (assume your rental includes your water, electric and internet)
Food = $5 * 3 meals a day * 30 days = $450 (total budget of course if you eat $1 nasi lemak for breakfast you got extra $4 for dinner)
Petrol = RON95 @ $1.70 per litre * $0.15 per km * 2000km in a month = $510 (assuming you cannot claim this from your company)
Phone = Umobile $28 plan
Savings = $500
Total = $1888

Your sports car budget is $1112.

Next is 3 options you need to think about.

Option 1: Everything into one basket
Option 2: Cheap runabout + Expensive sports car
Option 3: Cheap sports car + Moderate runabout

In Option1 at first you might think is $1000 really enough? It can be enough if you plan properly.
-also need self control. Join car clubs, there are sure to be some poison members. If you are one who is easily poisoned, plan accordingly~

This is going to be a sports car so you're going to go all-in on the banking side which means low downpayment and maximum of 9 years loan, because of two reasons, one a true sports car no matter how old there will be interest and value, and secondly sports car if maintained well you'll want to keep it for a long time so no point saving on the banking side  because you're not going to do a quick loan and resell the car after 5 years like you would if you own a Vios.

hehe mah fav topic rclxm9.gif
depending on the type and state of the car you get, you will 'try' keep it for a long time... sometimes they become too impractical or well, things change in the future~~ so pick/plan accordingly
lsm1991
post Sep 4 2016, 01:18 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(young_97 @ Sep 3 2016, 10:44 PM)
im thinking should i cancel my booking for Honda city as my relative told me honda car nowadays have alot of problem, and his relatives city 3 years gt gearbox problem dy. and his old honda also alot of maintenance.

im wondering should i change to new persona ? 
not going for vios as vios does not have VSC.
Other than the airbag fiasco, the citi's are pretty tanky cars. Few friends own this car (current gen), no problems. Afaik, only the city GD (4th gen) had some hiccups to do with the cvt

whether you should change to a persona? really depends on what you want.
lsm1991
post Sep 6 2016, 04:00 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(madspeed02 @ Sep 3 2016, 02:35 PM)
Hey guys, feel like buying this car trade wit proton saga 1.3 flx executive. Still thinking whether to buy vios or bezza or new persona. Any review on this car vios 2016?vios j version will do
dump the vioslah... pretty much the last of its kind....

whats wrong with your saga.... the other 2 options are not much bigger, just newer with more features
lsm1991
post Sep 7 2016, 09:33 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 6 2016, 02:59 PM)
I think it is easier to put in the extra interest cost  to the price of the 2nd hand car so that a 1-1 comparison can be made to new car.

On average 2nd hand car interest rate is about 1% higher so:-

Price of 2nd hand car + (1% X  number of years loan X loan amount) + processing fee.

Once you factor this in sometimes it may not be as cheap as you think.

eg:-
Mazda 6 2015 - 119k
http://www.mudah.my/2015+Mazda+6+2+0L+Skya...pe-48051712.htm

lets assume 7 year loan + 2k processing fee and 110k loan.
Total Cost = 119k + (1% X 110k X 7 years) + 2k = 128.7k
So the price you see is not the price you pay if you include the overhead.

now if you take the  128.7k and compare it with an unreg 2015.
http://www.mudah.my/UNREG+FACELIFT+2015+Ma...IV-46807875.htm

128.7k vs 139k unreg  <-- this is a more accurate comparison to new car price, not 119k vs 139k.

so the difference in price doesn't seem to be very big now and in fact the 2nd hand car is only 10k cheaper than new.

Just want to point out the 2nd hand purchase price is not what you get. There is a lot of "overhead" cost when you buy a second hand car that one needs to factor in that is not applicable when you buy new.
im no good with loans and whatnot... but if you bought a new car usian a loan, dont you have to apply a similar multiplier to the new car's price?

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Sep 7 2016, 09:49 AM
lsm1991
post Sep 7 2016, 04:32 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(tekplyrX @ Sep 7 2016, 04:13 PM)
True that.. lack of experience is what the sellers capitalize on to dupe buyers. I went to get a mazda 6 2010 model and the seller told me that the insurance would cost me the same amount it was in 2010, rm3k+ WTF??? He started talking about the car < 10yrs old e.t.c.. Well at the end I didn't' buy.
alamak... u can call up and ask yourself on the spot and ask the fella balik what bs u spewing~

cars 10 and over memang kene loading sikit, over 20 and insurance agents avoid you like the plague.......... but whylah he talk about that when the car you were looking at isnt even 10..... bangwall.gif
lsm1991
post Sep 7 2016, 04:36 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Sep 6 2016, 09:18 PM)
Guys any recommendation on a car with 15k budget max? Planning to pay 20% and the rest loan for maybe 2 or 3 years then I will sell it off.
save cash... beli cash. if short distance + you won a bike license, why not a kapcai~~
lsm1991
post Sep 8 2016, 09:30 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Soul Seeker @ Sep 7 2016, 11:08 PM)
Now considering to get either cerato city or vios.
Main concern should be RV reliability. cerato kx seems attractive at current discount but worried about the RV. Any insight for this three car ?
cerato
-no comment, some will tell you its resale is as good as the sushi brands but frankly speaking i doubt it. laugh.gif (dont think im biased, but who knows....)
city
-well known good allrounder, plenty of features and is fairly reliable if you look after it. its an alright car
vios.
-other than the base and mid specs, i think its sold out.... offering goodish deals on the existing units but this thing is obsolete, the new model however, will come with actually new stuff, not just some plastic surgery
lsm1991
post Sep 8 2016, 11:34 AM

309 posts

hmm.. you would be dumping the car after 1-2 years...

personally, i would buy some cheap runabout and just offload it to someone else after that....... car depreciation is heaviest the first few years of its life... personally would buy something 1-2 years old which is cheap to maintain... maybe a preve/iris (1-2 year old models are very cheap)

*neighbor got an under 1 yr old iriz (highest spec) for around 40k, still under waranty and all that
lsm1991
post Sep 8 2016, 04:59 PM

309 posts

IhaveUsername you have not mentioned anything you want (priorities) in the car...

85k~ get a crz, why? i like it..... (even better if you can somehow get your fingers on the s660)

*do note that a crz is technically smaller than your saga at the back BUT its decent up front

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Sep 8 2016, 05:00 PM
lsm1991
post Sep 9 2016, 10:03 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 9 2016, 09:16 AM)
Funny I was talking to a 2015 Mazda M3 GL spec owner on mudah who wanted to sell his car for rm95k. I said that his car is close to new car price(new car =105k for gl spec), and ask how much can he lower his car price down to. He then claimed that his new car is worth 115k. I showed him the price list of the car that showed 105k and then he said I better buy the new car then and that I never include GST. (The price list that I gave him is shown with GST)

It seems like nowadays even private owners are behaving like 2nd hand car dealer. Maybe he thinks that he will get lucky.
I don't think he even realize the extra interest rate buying his car will probably eat up any of the difference in price.
lol, to me thats fine, biarlah these people.... good luck selling, let them hold on to the car longer. Longer they hold it, the more it depreciates rclxms.gif

when i was looking for a car, there were some ppl like this. 2 of them called me back later on asking if i was still interested~ one more is still trying to sell his car, price has not gone down yet, it's been over a year (an eg hatch b18b, 43k++ admittedly the engine was very nicely built up tho)
lsm1991
post Sep 9 2016, 11:42 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 9 2016, 11:01 AM)
Who is a better person Devil or Satan?  devil.gif
In mudah now got one guy selling Mitsu Colt 1.5 turbo for 43k.
Abit high.  doh.gif
28-35k is a decent price.
theres also a colt rallyart (the real thing). last i saw 80++k.....

owner has been trying to sell it for yearrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrs. whistling.gif

then again, its condition is really nice + its a special model so niche market kind of thing wink.gif

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Sep 9 2016, 11:42 AM
lsm1991
post Sep 9 2016, 11:59 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 9 2016, 11:33 AM)
What do you think is a cheap, fun to drive,  d segment car.
Lets assume I have 20k-25k cash on top of the regular maintainence for all those repairs.
if you dont mind the heavy heavy tax... and potential bombs along the way(and assuming no loans)
sometimes, me no realistic person. will spew out stuff i like~~

e39
+ very nais car (some do think its one of the less popular 5 series) also pretty powerful
+ rwd
+ shove in a 1jz and you can literally fly
+shops offering owners around 15k (then they try sell for somewhere around 25k not even otr mad.gif) for them so you can capitalise on that whistling.gif
- when things do go wrong, it can go wrong bad....
- parts can be exp.
- old

Cefiro a33 is kinda nais.
+powerful, luxurious, reliable and tanky
-roadtax will kill you.. its that bad (ayam talking bout 3.0 since thats the good stuff)
- old

s60
+powerful (very much so actually)
- if things do go very wrong, it can cost 'more than/as much as' the beemer to fix

if you want something that wont burn your pocket, get something like a accord/camry~ but they are nowhere as nice to drive as the 3 above, not even in the same ballpark
lsm1991
post Sep 9 2016, 01:35 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 9 2016, 01:29 PM)
That's a bit too old... I was thinking in the range of 50-70k. That's why I was asking on peugout 508 /passat , but dunno what other choices i have
oh my god *sorry... bangwall.gif

i read something else entirely... i read : have 25k cash to buy a d segment car........... ohmy.gif doh.gif
lsm1991
post Sep 9 2016, 02:16 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 9 2016, 01:29 PM)
That's a bit too old... I was thinking in the range of 50-70k. That's why I was asking on peugout 508 /passat , but dunno what other choices i have
60-70k....

These are the types of cars 'I' like:

kizashi (less than 5 years old)
+just within budget, quite a powerful car, very sporty looking
+will be cheaper to deal with compared to what you have in mind
- model specific accessories might be harder to come by
- body parts are more difficult to source (but as zenix mentions you dont have to bother bout that, you only need to care about the wear and tear parts)
-2.4l tax might put you a little off?

CL7
+also just within budget
+parts (mechanical parts at least) are plentiful, shares the k20 engine (some have the k24)
+very sporty as well, basically sold as a performance oriented d segment
+available in a manual format brows.gif (guessing you are probably not into this)
+somewhat comfortable for a performance oriented car
- not comfortable compared to most typical d segments
- many are abused/modified unfortunately
- much older than the others

Lexus IS 250
+luxury + class all in one

and then we have your typical go-to mellow d segs
Camry
Accord
Teana

30 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top