Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

lsm1991
post Aug 16 2016, 10:26 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 16 2016, 10:13 AM)
quite a suitable choice, i must say u picked nicely, got secondary choice or any comparison choice?
ingatkan mau car......

the avanza sort of fit in right there then~ (fully loaded the 1.3 will bring a whole new meaning to the term sluggish)
an apv will set you back around that amount too....

kantoi cars that should be considered
- if u can stomach a fatter engine, you can have an unser with spare cash to pay that slightly higher road tax for many years
lsm1991
post Aug 17 2016, 10:35 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Aug 17 2016, 10:33 AM)
just drive kl-melaka once a month.
daily drive distance only 2km. to carry myownself and my bag.
alamak 2km je daily....... hmmm.... bicycle? (honest suggestion biggrin.gif )
lsm1991
post Aug 17 2016, 04:19 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Aug 17 2016, 10:52 AM)
sometimes, go other place at least once a week.
if you ask me, only thing about axia is that its not the best car around for long distance driving....

for town driving, it's a brilliant little thing. (pocket wise)

other relatively newish options are:
1)almost new, used p1 cars
2)OR the inkambing p1 cars...
3)bezza (no real point if space isn't something you're after)
lsm1991
post Aug 20 2016, 11:46 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(KinggJulez @ Aug 20 2016, 06:28 PM)
Hey guys,
I would like to apologise beforehand if any of my questions has been asked previously or might not be in the right thread.

Im currently looking to buy a second hand mazda 2 skyacriv hatchback

First hand owner
Bought at : march 2015 ( ~ 18 months )
Mileage : 17000km
Reason for selling : bought a bigger car
Asking price ~rm 67000

Hows the estimated depreciation value for this car?

I have tested the car, it was superb but theres some wear n tears as shown below. Meanwhile, the car would be sent for servicing, i was hoping mazda servicing centre could do a thorough check to ensure the owner's claims are true.

Should i go for it? Thx for any replies!!
[attachmentid=7359148]
[attachmentid=7359147]
only wana comment on the pics....
-make sure that stain is due to some spillage or something, not something horrible like a flood (to be fair, a flooded car would be stained everywhere else as well)
-scratched like that, well... its a used car, you will see many more of that if you really go through the car with a fine toothed comb~
lsm1991
post Aug 23 2016, 10:31 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Adjansi @ Aug 22 2016, 06:00 PM)
Hi guys,  I'm looking to buy an used car and my budget is around 35k to 40k (cash payment)
My conditions:
- used car
- year 2011 to 2016
- 4 seater (with room for a  baby car seater)
- auto transmission
- I'm tall (above 187cm)  so I prefer a Sedan

I'm inclined to buy a Proton preve 2012/2013

Any recommendations or comment about this model?

Thank you / terima Kasih
hmm just gona throw in a few options~~

1)forte
-decent car all round but.... there are others

2)inspira
+larger, more powerful and being a mitsu, its jepunis so > reliability thumbup.gif
-barely fits your budget
-more expensive to maintain than the preve for sure
-less safety features than a preve

3)sylphy
+very damned comfortable, its to me the most comfortable car in its segment that you can get for that kind of money
-costs more than a preve to maintain
-aint powerful (if you ask me at least)
-prefacelift models had issues with the gb

4)alza
+well its large, economical, whats more to say?
-minimalistic safety features

5)new persona/saga
+new stuff, you get latest tech
-new stuff, means its unproven new stuff
-you got to wait
-costs more than this

as for the preve... i would not touch anything which does not have the cfe.... the cps's are depressing. Thats my only opinion of it. The cfe models are what i would call decent, pretty decent features all round, only the lackluster built quality BUT it is acceptable given its pricetag. the engine (cfe) is alright i guess, just enough power and the fc while isnt great in town, is also not horrible. on the safety side, its great.

technically you can also afford to buy some other even nicer cars! but i do not think you want to maintain them
- focus

zenix will tell you all about the latio or you can roll back a few pages and read all about them thumbup.gif
lsm1991
post Aug 23 2016, 11:07 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(cikguMat @ Aug 23 2016, 07:18 PM)
Brand : Elgrand 2.5/ elysion 2.4 / Alphard 2.4
2. Budget : 170k and below @  1900/month
3. New/Used/Unreg : unreg maybe
4. Specs : 7 seater a must
5. Transmission :
6. NA or FI :  FI
7. Type : 7 seater
8. Remarks : pls help me
Im stuck with these car. . Pls help me . . Really need ur advice here...
oh hoho cant really comment cause me poorfeg, dont know much about these other than: these are very luxurious machines you have selected here.... all pretty good cars, reliability and comfort wise... if theres a downside to this selection, it would be with the engines. these 'smaller' cc ones just have enough ooomph to push that fully loaded fat heavy body around (not that its much of a problem since the 'small' engines are still decent)

they aint cheap so i think you should go and view and test drive all 3 before you come up with a decision..... end of the day it must appeal to you rclxm9.gif

*iirc, they came with a gazillion options and various trims, so yeah have to do some homework there or look out for the items you specifically want
lsm1991
post Aug 25 2016, 09:32 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(johnm @ Aug 24 2016, 09:49 PM)
1. Brand - Toyota Camry 2006 model
2. Budget -
3. New/Used/Unreg. : Used  - single owner
4. Specs.: Reach from point A to B enough
5. Transmission: Auto
6. NA or FI ? :
7. Type.: Sedan
8. Remarks.: Mileage 100.000km Accident free

How much would this car be worth todays market if one was to sell? Thanks
technically speaking... its never worth it to sell a car.. you always lose. Its a buyers market, many sellers few buyers (yours is around 20 so loans might be urm..... rclxub.gif for buyers)

early 06 (less uncle-like, xv40 camry) and late batch 06 (more uncle-like, xv30 camry) were 2 diferent camries iirc, not sure which camry you own~ also theres the 2.4 and 2.0
you can check mudah for the prices, xv30's are around 30+k while the xv40's are around 50+k
lsm1991
post Aug 25 2016, 12:54 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(jayzshadower @ Aug 25 2016, 12:48 PM)
Anyone can help me ??
😁😁

your budget is severely limited, not that many choices to narrow down to.... since theres not much to pick from in the first place.... im sure a few pop up in your mind.... what cars are you considering atm?

only thing i will note is that 'PETROL EFFICIENT' is not something you can get at this price tag...
lsm1991
post Aug 25 2016, 03:46 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(jayzshadower @ Aug 25 2016, 02:50 PM)
Some very old local model ? Basically I just wonder can RM 5000 car really work or not. I just planning to use it for two years then throw away, because I want to save the hassle for transferring my car to Sarawak. I'm a bit skeptical, I afraid I end up wasting more money to maintain & repair the car. Or you think I should raise my budget ? All in all, RM5000 car worth ?
have you checked out what you can get for 5k?

anyway even an old car will work if maintained properly, My own car is 21 years old, no major issues, just need to replace wear and tear parts whistling.gif. So whether it works or not, depends on the condition of the vehicle. Whether u want to raise your budget solely depends on you, what you want/accept in a car kekekeke
lsm1991
post Aug 25 2016, 04:36 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Aug 25 2016, 04:26 PM)
Slim pickings for this price point but let's try...

1999 Proton Wira 1.5 - this is one of the few that from visual inspection only i think it hasn't been in an accident or the mechanic did a superb job, the shut lines are nice and clean and the paint job looks worn yet uniform so most likely original paint. As for the interior i can't really see without pictures but stay away with cars that have been modified.

ngv camry.... back then (10 years ago maybe) it was considered to be a quite complex. ngv = more heat, not very nais to drive..... hope fully the guy's system can be optimized (configure ecu settings) for both petrol and gas modes otherwise its going to be absolute crap for one of the modes (have experience driving an ngv corona and satria (dont ask why a satria was fitted with ngv lol)
lsm1991
post Aug 26 2016, 11:35 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(strawberry.my @ Aug 25 2016, 09:58 PM)
What about Topmark?
topmark is one of the more reputable guys... but in general if the salesman says A, you check if A is indeed true, if he says B, check and double check to see if B is true

let me put it this way, if the sales man says something make sure its true, dont take his word just like that, end of the day all they want is for you to drive one of their cars away...... I myself will make it a point to try prove him wrong even if i like the car.
lsm1991
post Aug 28 2016, 11:53 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Aug 26 2016, 10:38 PM)
1. Brand : Undecided between used 2012 Peugeot 207 1.6 (AT) SV EDITION  & 2009 Proton Perdana 2.0
2. Budget : RM20,000
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : 2.0 or low
5. Transmission : AT
6. NA or FI : -
7. Type : Sedan
8. Remarks :
may i ask why these cars in particular?..... they are not cheap to maintain

perdana
i own a car with a sort of similar engine. the maintenance costs are on the higher side and and its a real pain in the arse to work with... (not enough space + in my case, changing one thing requires removing a plethora of other things) its a v6, more engine oil required (not a big issue), 6 sparkies, 6 injectors, 6 pistons i think you shoul notice a trend here.... pretty much most items cost alittle more than what you find on other mitsu's (non performance models ofc)... also, the gearbox on the perdana is a known sore point. some say adding a gearbox cooler helps but its one of those things that commonly goes wrong (
just some things you should consider before getting one

basically, would not touch thats it.
lsm1991
post Aug 28 2016, 11:57 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(strawberry.my @ Aug 26 2016, 10:42 PM)
Ok, I will avoid roadside dealer at all costs.
But one more question here. Those recon car, will you still recommend to buy or stay away since we cannot trace the car history here. And where to service?.
recon cars... well u dont know whats been tampered with and you dont know whats it been used for, thats the nature of recon cars. There is nothing holding you back from getting one IF you can pretty much guaranty its been taken care of. Where to service? anywhere! frankly speaking, if you join and talk to the ownerclubs of said models, they ALWAYS have a place they can recommend to you (more often than not, these guys are so well versed in the model, they are better than the sc)
lsm1991
post Aug 29 2016, 12:39 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Kosumaledoko @ Aug 28 2016, 04:33 PM)
1. Brand: Any, but preferably Japanese
2. Budget: RM100k max.
3. New/Used/Unreg: Any
4. Specs: Any
5. Transmission: Manual with clutch pedal
6. NA or FI : Any, but preferably NA
7. Type: Hatchback, Sedan, or Coupe. In such order.
8. Remarks: Fun to drive car, not older than 2010

Hi all,

I'm looking for a fun to drive car not older than 2010. With good reliability and some practicality. Currently the list on my mind as below, :

1. Suzuki Swift Sport ZC32S
2. Ford Fiesta ST
3. Peugeot 208 GTi

Do share if you know of any other car fit the bill.

How reliable is the Fiesta ST and 208 GTi? Are they expensive to maintain, do share some example.

Much thanks.  notworthy.gif
ahh....

fun to drive does not mean it needs to be silly fast yes?
i know of a few decent ones....

civic-r (fn/fd)
-easy to maintain, pretty decent cars, parts and upgrades are very easy to source, parts are not really that expensive (given its a car of this caliber)
-very fast on track (if thats your thing)

subaru sti (GH)
-around that age, costs abit more in general but you can find some just over 100k if you search hard enough
-very powerful and pretty reliable
-heavy on the maintenance (heavy duty parts, quite price)

crz
-not a powerful car for sure BUT its pretty decent, handling is on the better side
-seems to turn heads
-on the cheaper side to maintain (its pretty much a normal car setup to look and feel sporty which has a hybrid system)

mx5 (2010 models are around this price)
-a really nice car, fun to drive
-parts are soursable, not impossible to maintain (though some parts you might need to order from japan iirc, a forumer owns one, he will know better)

Suzuki Swift Sport ZC32S
-personally,i feel this car is way overstated. handles great im sure but.... i dont know...
*note that I have never been in one but my friends 'cheap' 30-40k almost stock car car made mince meat of it round Sepang, could be a fake bodykit-ed car, could be a bad driver (dun cucuk me any owners of this car do not mean any harm)
-maintenance is reasonable though

Peugeot 208 GTi
-love the looks of this thing, its fancy inside and out
-do not trust Peugeot as far as reliability goes (best join an owners club and ask them about this)

audi tt
lsm1991
post Aug 29 2016, 10:15 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(strawberry.my @ Aug 28 2016, 02:53 PM)
Thanks for the advice. I will put this as last choice. To me buying car must cheap to maintain. I'm eyeing the recon wish and evo 10, fd2r. One for family and one for myself. Once in your lifetime to own budget Street racing car. Life is short.
hoho just saw this.... wana make something very clear for you, there is NO such thing as a cheap to maintain performance car....

QUOTE(Kosumaledoko @ Aug 29 2016, 02:00 AM)
Thanks for bringing up CR-Z, lsm1991 and zenix! Why I didn't thought of it, damn... I guess now it's down to SSS and CR-Z, thanks a bunch!

Very inclined towards FD2R. But the ride is rock hard, 100km/h in 6th around 3100rpm will be loud and thirsty. So it's drop out from my list.

Note to zenix: I know those DSG-Semi-Robotic-DCT-Sequential manual gearbox are quick! But nothing beats the feel of shifting a delicious short-throw stick!  thumbup.gif
fd2r isnt very thirsty nor is it loud if left in stock condition. (Its only loud when you floor it to the redline but that's normal) fd2r will need ron97 but thats no dif from the swift, it too is designed to run on premium fuel. its very harsh yes, but not much worse than a sss.... that thing (sss) is also pretty much ready to track machine
lsm1991
post Aug 29 2016, 11:16 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(acevent @ Aug 29 2016, 10:52 AM)
Hi guys, i have a deal to own a used 2014/2015 Mit Attrage at RM40K. Do you think this is a good price 7 worth to own it? What is the pro & cons for this car?
not sure what range you are talking about, but im going to assume, the top spec model

1)price wise, thats a reasonable offer hmm.gif BUT keep reading

2)what i think about it? nothing much, its really an empty car. Only thing going for it is its decent fuel economy

3)part one of why i think its not great. its a small 3 cylinder which isnt really refined nor is it powerful. As with most fuel sipping cars, its not great in the handling department, its like a tiny sampan. Also, its looks offends me mad.gif

4)part two of why i think its not great, NEW competition. rclxm9.gif
Now we have the bezza, new persona and new saga (facelift, body lift, botox and plastic surgery everywhere). Yes unfortunately, all local cars. I feel that these cars are better options. they are newer, better safety, similar or better features (dollar for dollar), are completely new (latest tech + new car smell + warranty + almost 0 wear and tear, all win), these newer competitors being 'local' makes will cost less to maintain in general.
*admittedly the beza does offend me as much as the attrage but since it looks like its going to be common on the road we should get used to its extremely tiny/skinny tires and sky high bumm soon*

my few sens whistling.gif

lsm1991
post Aug 29 2016, 10:45 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(strawberry.my @ Aug 29 2016, 10:37 PM)
Unfortunately, the Subaru boxer engine sounds does not impress me. Anyhow, just my preference.
Actually the later models past the v7 dont really rumble anymore.... Ahh heck long as u like it and can afford it, by all means go ahead!
lsm1991
post Aug 29 2016, 10:47 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(studentas yourtutor @ Aug 29 2016, 10:25 PM)
I came across this car in carlist.com. Would like to ask all gurus whether it is worth it or not.

Brand - Hyundai Elantra 2004
Used
Manufactured at 2002
Mileage - 100k
Auto
Priced at RM6490, probably can nego.
I just need a car to travel around my uni, maybe sometimes go to someplace where it is 1 - 2 hours away from me. Low budget is priority. Hopefully can use for 4 - 5 years. Budget will be lower than 10k.

Any suggestions and recommendations is appreciate!

Ps: Have gone through the whole list of carlist.com and most of mudah.com listings.

Thanks!!
If the idea is to get a low cost runabout car, thats not exactly the best choice..... Best would be to go for a cheap local car.... Maintanance/running costs are much lower
lsm1991
post Aug 29 2016, 11:54 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(studentas yourtutor @ Aug 29 2016, 10:51 PM)
Ok, do you think that a RM6800 1999 year Perodua Kembara will make a better choice? Or better if go for a kenari or kerisa? A much low cost car.
kembara is also a poor choice.... with that kind of budget... you should be looking for those easy to maintain very common cars....

with a 5k budget
wira, saga, satria (if u dont really need to carry people) and the other tiny models

with a 10k budget
your options widen to include the kenari, gen 2, waja... i can go on and on
if you want a non local, seg
lsm1991
post Aug 30 2016, 10:12 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(studentas yourtutor @ Aug 30 2016, 12:11 AM)
Ok. Thank you so much, it had been so much helpful!!
Last thing is what you mean by seg? Is it mean those segment A,B,C,D car?
seg is an old toyota corolla. prety decent thing but its old so finding one in good condition isnt as common nowadays.

ohh yeah... best to find a later model proton (2000 and onwards) but IF you do look for an older proton (pre 2000) check for rust especially on the roof. its very common on protons back then.
*highly recommend you look for a manual car though..... easier to jaga, less headaches in event crap does happen

QUOTE(zenix @ Aug 30 2016, 01:21 AM)
I'm thinking CRZ but you've got a bunch of contradictory information.

CRZ doesn't have a short throw stick, imho it is a "shampoo girl" coupe that has aspirations to be a sports car or looks like a sports car but isn't really a sports car. It is pretty quick because of it's size but it is lugging around that extra weight from the IMA (hybrid) system so it isn't really an MX5/Miata kinda deal, infact it is so cheap is partly because of the hybrid system as it gets tax breaks else it would be expensive because the tax for coupe/2 door body types in malaysia is pretty high which is why even the entry level Scirocco 1.4 is way expensive. But then what makes it cheap in taxes to sell in many countries also makes it not as an exciting of a car to drive because of the additional weight and also because it is supposed to be an eco friendly hybrid it doesn't come with a environmentally barbaric K20 lump which the chassis can handle. But then again I do think it is something suitable for you because for all intents and purposes it is a cheap car to maintain, fuel consumption is very good, and it is quiet.

Cause I can't think of of anything else which meets all your criteria and isn't rock hard, loud and thirsty.  rclxub.gif
so it is a brand new one or used one?
aren't used ones around that price anyway?
short shifter, can install brows.gif (but... trust me Kosumaledoko depending on how short the throw is, the novelty can wear out daily after driving a while. Shorter the throw is, the stiffer it is.....)

hehe most 'performance' oriented cars are meant to be obnoxiously loud, difficult/harsh to drive (not so with the newer ones), whistling.gif . Like you say, he will probably like a sporty car better.

i think he is looking for anything round 5 years old or newer that fits his budget.

30 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.2558sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:32 AM