124 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Official Honda Civic 10th Gen Owner/Fans Club V1, Turbo kick in yo...

SackBoy
post Jun 24 2016, 12:24 PM

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jun 24 2016, 12:18 PM)
thats another alternative, how much will it cost? and the wrap is matt surface right?
The price is definitely more expensive than re-paint, i might not want to go for the matte. Probably going to the more "premium" brushed steel finishes.

Starting price for a good quality wrap and service cost about 4k onwards.

For references:
http://www.getto.com.my/
sorry didn't managed to fix the url... little help please.

This post has been edited by SackBoy: Jun 24 2016, 12:27 PM
Jeff_lwh
post Jun 24 2016, 12:24 PM

294 posts

kray_keigo

Normally whole car wrap RM2500.
celciuz
post Jun 24 2016, 12:32 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(hamrog @ Jun 24 2016, 09:45 AM)
Personally, I think the first batch is technically the best batch to buy (for CKD cars at least).

> Top team leads will be selected to work on the car
> Japanese specialist supervising every step of the production
> Tedious QC check processes guided by specialist at every production stage-gate

In terms of assembly, the first batch will be the best. The worst case scenario is that they have probably taken your car apart a couple of times and redone it till its perfect.

Usually the parts that fail is the manufactured bits - i.e. small springs etc. which was certainly not produced for the first time, but this should be within the control limits - maybe 1% small defects - it's bound to happen on any batch.
* before I kena flame, better declare that I am an mfg-ops consultant
QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Jun 24 2016, 09:47 AM)
1st batch should also have the highest % of import content before more and more parts/components are sourced locally.  Heard most of the parts of this CKD Civic currently comes from Tomyam land.
QUOTE(knwong @ Jun 24 2016, 09:54 AM)
I agree fully with you on that. I'm into operation as well

Further months down, once the foreign experts are gone - the local team will local source for cheaper material.
As you know for local suppliers, they may give inferior quality
Same thought on this, but however the fitting on the showroom units I have seen is quite disappointing but that is in the bumpers and sides. This should be fixed easily by SC on first service I hope.

I'm from manufacturing background too, semiconductor though. And yes as times goes by source for cheaper parts 😂 I guess currently most parts from Thailand, till more local source are qualified.

I would prefer to get the car now but I'll have to wait till my desired car plate which is about first quarter 2017, sigh Melaka plate moves so slow.
Xaphier
post Jun 24 2016, 12:40 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 24 2016, 12:32 PM)
Same thought on this, but however the fitting on the showroom units I have seen is quite disappointing but that is in the bumpers and sides. This should be fixed easily by SC on first service I hope.

I'm from manufacturing background too, semiconductor though. And yes as times goes by source for cheaper parts 😂 I guess currently most parts from Thailand, till more local source are qualified.

I would prefer to get the car now but I'll have to wait till my desired car plate which is about first quarter 2017, sigh Melaka plate moves so slow.
I intend to get Melaka number plate too. Which number plate series that you are keen on that is coming in only at the first quarter 2017? I am still waiting to tender MCV XXX. Been waiting MCU to run out forever.
ddr3
post Jun 24 2016, 12:48 PM

HEDGIE :3
1,459 posts

QUOTE(SackBoy @ Jun 24 2016, 12:24 PM)
The price is definitely more expensive than re-paint, i might not want to go for the matte. Probably going to the more "premium" brushed steel finishes.

Starting price for a good quality wrap and service cost about 4k onwards.

For references:
http://www.getto.com.my/
sorry didn't managed to fix the url... little help please.
QUOTE(Jeff_lwh @ Jun 24 2016, 12:24 PM)
kray_keigo

Normally whole car wrap RM2500.
so i bet the colour will change right? need to tell JPJ about the colour change?
BravoZeroTwo
post Jun 24 2016, 01:25 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(hamrog @ Jun 24 2016, 09:45 AM)
Personally, I think the first batch is technically the best batch to buy (for CKD cars at least).

> Top team leads will be selected to work on the car
> Japanese specialist supervising every step of the production
> Tedious QC check processes guided by specialist at every production stage-gate

In terms of assembly, the first batch will be the best. The worst case scenario is that they have probably taken your car apart a couple of times and redone it till its perfect.

Usually the parts that fail is the manufactured bits - i.e. small springs etc. which was certainly not produced for the first time, but this should be within the control limits - maybe 1% small defects - it's bound to happen on any batch.
* before I kena flame, better declare that I am an mfg-ops consultant
QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Jun 24 2016, 09:47 AM)
1st batch should also have the highest % of import content before more and more parts/components are sourced locally. Heard most of the parts of this CKD Civic currently comes from Tomyam land.
QUOTE(knwong @ Jun 24 2016, 09:54 AM)
I agree fully with you on that. I'm into operation as well

Further months down, once the foreign experts are gone - the local team will local source for cheaper material.
As you know for local suppliers, they may give inferior quality

Can I qualify the above findings about first batch being the better cars ? My 2008 Altis and 2012 Civic both first batch and they suffered from engine knocking issues. Altis, after much waiting and emails, head was changed but problem came back three months later. Civic was pushing of responsibilities here and there. I would buy a car that has local branches not dealers that run the show only.
Alternation
post Jun 24 2016, 01:34 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(Taeng9389 @ Jun 24 2016, 12:12 PM)
kb veli small, me poor fag, drives city nia  biggrin.gif
Don't have to be rich fag to drive civic =)
SackBoy
post Jun 24 2016, 02:06 PM

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jun 24 2016, 12:48 PM)
so i bet the colour will change right? need to tell JPJ about the colour change?
In this case, the base color of the car has not been altered. Basically the original paint work is still there and it is being fully protected by a layer of wrap. As far i check in JPJ websites it doesn't state any regulation regarding this.

My SA says honda wouldn't impose any warranty issue for this either since it is a "coating", to be on the safe side before i install the wrap, better check with the insurance company.
hamrog
post Jun 24 2016, 02:09 PM

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Jun 24 2016, 01:25 PM)
Can I qualify the above findings about first batch being the better cars ? My 2008 Altis and 2012 Civic both first batch and they suffered from engine knocking issues. Altis, after much waiting and emails, head was changed but problem came back three months later. Civic was pushing of responsibilities here and there. I would buy a car that has local branches not dealers that run the show only.
Ahhh sorry to hear that. I really hope we don't have to go through the same pains...

What I meant by my statement applies to first batch for the assembly process, especially as this car is an all new design, all new engine, as opposed to a facelift (which does not require specialized teams, nor additional training to assemble) and certain car models that carry modular parts - like a engine that was built and used in a previous model
shinchan^^
post Jun 24 2016, 02:11 PM

K66
21,256 posts

TCP lunar silver mid valley
sweat.gif
Poor workmanship
knwong
post Jun 24 2016, 02:14 PM

3,559 posts

A total NEW model (facelift not included) will see a good hand holding by HQ experts to oversee the 1st batch operation and quality of manufacturing.

This new CIVIC should qualify as NEW
hamrog
post Jun 24 2016, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jun 24 2016, 02:11 PM)
TCP lunar silver mid valley
sweat.gif
Poor workmanship
Ouch. Rush job for demo I guess. I was really looking out for such gaps when I was collecting the car. Heard a lot of horror stories with the hrv when it first launched.
TShihihehe
post Jun 24 2016, 02:37 PM

13,790 posts

interesting.
shinchan^^
post Jun 24 2016, 02:43 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(hamrog @ Jun 24 2016, 02:26 PM)
Ouch. Rush job for demo I guess. I was really looking out for such gaps when I was collecting the car. Heard a lot of horror stories with the hrv when it first launched.
bro this is TCP man
quality like this ? doh.gif

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 24 2016, 02:37 PM)
interesting.
wow u've got mailed
hamrog
post Jun 24 2016, 02:44 PM

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 24 2016, 02:37 PM)
interesting.
Good site. Thanks bro. I bookmarked it
TShihihehe
post Jun 24 2016, 02:49 PM

13,790 posts

also the issues US owner facing. note that not everyone facing the same issue

http://hondacivicproblems.com/log/
Sanity
post Jun 24 2016, 03:09 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 24 2016, 02:49 PM)

Looks scary...the owner seems very patient tho
BravoZeroTwo
post Jun 24 2016, 03:28 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(hamrog @ Jun 24 2016, 03:09 PM)
Ahhh sorry to hear that. I really hope we don't have to go through the same pains...

What I meant by my statement applies to first batch for the assembly process, especially as this car is an all new design, all new engine, as opposed to a facelift (which does not require specialized teams, nor additional training to assemble) and certain car models that carry modular parts - like a engine that was built and used in a previous model
Let's hope for the best for each of us who buys the new Civic. Cheers.
ketiak_masyam
post Jun 24 2016, 03:38 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 24 2016, 02:49 PM)

doh.gif
reloadedprimus
post Jun 24 2016, 03:45 PM

81 posts