126 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V3<<, The Journey Continues Here!

raymond5105
post Aug 21 2007, 03:01 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 21 2007, 10:37 AM)
too bad in p4p800x the pat settings is really limited. hmm...... hows your p4p800x pat setting?? share share...hehe
I just keep the setting in stock except changing the memory timing in bios only.I got nothing to set with even my RAM divider. sad.gif
sang_karim
post Aug 21 2007, 04:16 PM

:: sάής ЌάЯΐм ::
1,557 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Aug 21 2007, 02:52 PM)
Just tried the method posted by sang_karim, and I'm happy to say that it works for me.

My AI7 cannot boot with 240FSB with full PAT enabled, so I tried the workaround instead. Placed the command switch into the boot.ini, set the FSB at 200 and enabled PAT, went into Windows and used Uguru to bump up the FSB to 240.

Now I'm happily running with full PAT with faster memory. I'll post some pictures later. smile.gif
wah .... it can works on Abit mobo too ... hmm, now i'm so excited to try it later this nite ... icon_idea.gif
KahLooN
post Aug 21 2007, 05:21 PM

~(^^)~
704 posts

@colinwong89
You change the NBStrap option or juz enable the GAT setting for full PAT? For me, i cant play with the GAT option as it will juz hang before showing the window loading screen. cry.gif
kabukiawie
post Aug 21 2007, 05:56 PM

2,039 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Aug 21 2007, 02:52 PM)
Just tried the method posted by sang_karim, and I'm happy to say that it works for me.

My AI7 cannot boot with 240FSB with full PAT enabled, so I tried the workaround instead. Placed the command switch into the boot.ini, set the FSB at 200 and enabled PAT, went into Windows and used Uguru to bump up the FSB to 240.

Now I'm happily running with full PAT with faster memory. I'll post some pictures later. smile.gif
is it have to set to default clock then can change the boot.ini trick?? i just change it without set to default. hmm....try my luck again. Any boost in performance?? opss......forget to say...CONGRATES!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Compelica
post Aug 21 2007, 05:57 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(KahLooN @ Aug 21 2007, 05:21 PM)
@colinwong89
You change the NBStrap option or juz enable the GAT setting for full PAT? For me, i cant play with the GAT option as it will juz hang before showing the window loading screen. cry.gif
I changed the NBstrap to 667 to enable PAT. If I enable PAT using Turbo, Street Racer or F1 settings, I would get the same problem as you.

I think I'm having a bit of stability problems with PAT enabled...

Added on August 21, 2007, 6:02 pm
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 21 2007, 05:56 PM)
is it have to set to default clock then can change the boot.ini trick?? i just change it without set to default. hmm....try my luck again. Any boost in performance?? opss......forget to say...CONGRATES!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
LOL, thanks! There's definitely a performance improvement, which can be seen in the pictures soon. smile.gif I'll later install the Bioshock demo to test for stability laugh.gif

This post has been edited by colinwong89: Aug 21 2007, 06:04 PM
Compelica
post Aug 21 2007, 06:09 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

KahLooN, I have a question to ask. When you use Uguru, does the changes that you do affect the BIOS settings as well? For example, if you set your FSB at 200, then in Uguru you increase it to 220, and when you reboot, the board boots at 220 instead of 200?

Do you know any other programs like Clockgen or SetFSB that can work with the AI7?

As I mentioned earlier, I can only enable full PAT when my FSB is at 200. So after I increase the FSB using Uguru, it changes my BIOS settings, making my PC unable to boot when I restart it unless I hold the Insert button. sad.gif
KahLooN
post Aug 21 2007, 08:05 PM

~(^^)~
704 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Aug 21 2007, 06:09 PM)
KahLooN, I have a question to ask. When you use Uguru, does the changes that you do affect the BIOS settings as well? For example, if you set your FSB at 200, then in Uguru you increase it to 220, and when you reboot, the board boots at 220 instead of 200?

Do you know any other programs like Clockgen or SetFSB that can work with the AI7?

As I mentioned earlier, I can only enable full PAT when my FSB is at 200. So after I increase the FSB using Uguru, it changes my BIOS settings, making my PC unable to boot when I restart it unless I hold the Insert button. sad.gif
I never try use the Uguru before as all my OC done through the BIOS. Maybe using the Uguru doesnt "hard lock" the clocking compare to BIOS as we need to save it, am i rite? hmm.gif

Compelica
post Aug 21 2007, 08:56 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(KahLooN @ Aug 21 2007, 08:05 PM)
I never try use the Uguru before as all my OC done through the BIOS. Maybe using the Uguru doesnt "hard lock" the clocking compare to BIOS as we need to save it, am i rite? hmm.gif
The problem is, Uguru saves the settings into the BIOS when you do any changes. I prefer it to only apply during when I use Windows because my AI7 cannot boot up at that particular speed. sad.gif

So far I haven't found any workarounds. Having to clock up when Windows starts and clock down when I want to shut down is a big nuisance. shakehead.gif

Added on August 21, 2007, 9:03 pmHere are my benchmark screenies.

No PAT enabled

Partial PAT enabled

Full PAT enabled

As you can see, full PAT gives a considerable 200MB boost over not having PAT enabled. Funny, for some reason having partial PAT enabled drops the scores instead of increasing them. Also, do forgive about the CPU-Z screen and the image sizes, these screens were done in a hurry laugh.gif

All tests were done with the same settings in the No PAT enabled picture to ensure the scores don't change. smile.gif

This post has been edited by colinwong89: Aug 21 2007, 09:03 PM
KahLooN
post Aug 21 2007, 09:45 PM

~(^^)~
704 posts

@colinwong89
You also change the Refresh Mode Select to set as 64us, it helps bit by increasing it around 10-30MB/s.

Eventhou not much big difference, but is self satisfaction. tongue.gif
pengster
post Aug 21 2007, 09:56 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 20 2007, 02:44 PM)
i know why you got full enabled PAT. Its because you are running <200fsb. my prescott last time also full PAT enabled with just 170fsb+-. too bad i cant make it till 200fsb. now running with 2.8C and oc a bit already exceed 200fsb. Even enable it using tweak865 also only manage to get partial enable. sad.gif
oh i see.no wonder lah. laugh.gif do you think i should disable PAT so that i can oc higher?currently with my 2xKVR400s i cant even reach 140fsb doh.gif
sang_karim
post Aug 21 2007, 10:06 PM

1,557 posts

the trick not working for me also ... wink.gif but i notice something ... look the screenie

the bigger ctiaw window is after i apply the trick .. its change the Overflowdevice from enable and unlocked to disabled and unlocked .. i don't really what it's mean .. maybe somebody here know what is Overflowdevice? unsure.gif
fylon
post Aug 21 2007, 10:12 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(sang_karim @ Aug 21 2007, 10:06 PM)
the trick not working for me also ...  wink.gif but i notice something ... look the screenie

the bigger ctiaw window is after i apply the trick .. its change the Overflowdevice from enable and unlocked to disabled and unlocked .. i don't really what it's mean .. maybe somebody here know what is Overflowdevice?  unsure.gif
Yea.. Bro, i got the same result as u do. Just wander whats that mean.. Anyone know? Care to share? laugh.gif
pengster
post Aug 21 2007, 10:37 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

okay this is weird.with PAT fully enabled and my rams running at DDR280 the bandwidth im got is 3459.8 mb/s.

and after i disabled my PAT the bandwidth changed from 3459.8 mb/s to 3493.7 mb/s

laugh.gif i get better bandwidth with PAT disabled laugh.gif
sang_karim
post Aug 21 2007, 10:57 PM

1,557 posts

I try changing Performance Mode to Turbo and Enable Memory Acceleration Mode in bios but still can't get fully PAT but the Memory Read Bandwith showing at ctiaw increasing so high ...

maybe it will make my system unstable but gonna try this setting first ... i think i know y Abit mobo can use this trick and Asus mobo need to flash modded bios for fully PAT enable ... refer here

This post has been edited by sang_karim: Aug 21 2007, 11:00 PM
kabukiawie
post Aug 21 2007, 11:41 PM

2,039 posts

enable and disable doesnt give me much different. sad.gif downloading sisoft sandra to test out the bandwidth.

check out my ctiaw: is it the cacheline size for northwood is 128 where prescott is 64??

btw, can any sifu can tell me what is "slic"???

This post has been edited by kabukiawie: Aug 21 2007, 11:56 PM
kabukiawie
post Aug 21 2007, 11:43 PM

2,039 posts

--DOUBLE POST-- vmad.gif damn TMNut these days really lag like hell at night time.

This post has been edited by kabukiawie: Aug 21 2007, 11:49 PM
edministrator
post Aug 22 2007, 12:01 AM

1,940 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Aug 21 2007, 11:41 PM)
enable and disable doesnt give me much different. sad.gif downloading sisoft sandra to test out the bandwidth.

check out my ctiaw: is it the cacheline size for northwood is 128 where prescott is 64??

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry12943807
yes, check out the details below, it is related to L2 cache.

http://www.digit-life.com/articles2/cpu/rmma-p4-latency.html

http://72.14.235.104/search?q=cache:dv9kh5...clnk&cd=5&gl=my

This post has been edited by edministrator: Aug 22 2007, 12:03 AM
Compelica
post Aug 22 2007, 12:33 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

@KahLooN
Eh? 64us or 64ms? According to TechARP, keeping the refreshes longer is better.

But thanks for the tip, I'll try it out later. smile.gif

@kabukiawie
I was just about to mention that. So is 64 or 128 better? laugh.gif Anyway where is this 'slic' you are mentioning about?

@fylon and sang_karim
For mine, it has been enabled and unlocked the whole time. hmm.gif

By the way guys, whoever who got PAT enabled or partially enabled, what are your differences in 3DMark03? I do not see any gain or loss from a PAT disabled setup. sad.gif
GCI99
post Aug 22 2007, 05:13 AM

44 posts

i need to make some survey for the items that maybe i will sell first week september...

my fren want to sell some part of his item.. he is S478 user and now upgrade to S775..

1. Asus P4C800-E Deluxe

2. ASUS P4P800 Deluxe

3 PNY 1GB (2X512) PC4200 533MHz DDR2

4. Pentium4 2.4GHz processor (hyper-thread capable) Includes heatsink & fan

5. Pentium 4 3.4 Ghz Socket 478 - extreme edition

6. 256 Mb PNY Video Card -gigabyte dunno either fx5500 or what.

7. Sapphire RADEON X1600 PRO 512MB GDDR2 AGP Graphic Card

he got 2 rig and want to sell some of the item..

we are the S478 user.. he ask maybe we know what will be HOT is i help him sell in lowyat.net.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

* this is second extreme cpu i will missed (budjet not enough) maybe i will take 1 of the mobo only.. icon_question.gif
kabukiawie
post Aug 22 2007, 10:17 AM

2,039 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Aug 22 2007, 12:33 AM)
@KahLooN
Eh? 64us or 64ms? According to TechARP, keeping the refreshes longer is better.

But thanks for the tip, I'll try it out later. smile.gif

@kabukiawie
I was just about to mention that. So is 64 or 128 better? laugh.gif Anyway where is this 'slic' you are mentioning about?

By the way guys, whoever who got PAT enabled or partially enabled, what are your differences in 3DMark03? I do not see any gain or loss from a PAT disabled setup. sad.gif
i not sure what is that an even i google for it, tons of unrelated information comming up. sad.gif

actually i saw it from this thread:
http://keznews.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6...der=asc&start=0

a little boost when enable it. but weird thing is that the bandwidth reduce aftrer i enable it. hmm....recomfirm it tonight.

=======
got the rough idea about SLIC, its actually a hack on the bios to emulate the oemID. Its useful for Vista activation.

wao...bios modding the SLIC....super complicated. laugh.gif
http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/03/12/w...comment-page-2/
=======
QUOTE(GCI99 @ Aug 22 2007, 05:13 AM)
i need to make some survey for the items that maybe i will sell first week september...

my fren want to sell some part of his item.. he is S478 user and now upgrade to S775..

1. Asus P4C800-E Deluxe

2. ASUS P4P800 Deluxe

3 PNY 1GB (2X512) PC4200 533MHz DDR2

4. Pentium4 2.4GHz processor (hyper-thread capable) Includes heatsink & fan

5. Pentium 4 3.4 Ghz Socket 478 - extreme edition

6. 256 Mb PNY Video Card -gigabyte dunno either fx5500 or what.

7. Sapphire RADEON X1600 PRO 512MB GDDR2 AGP Graphic Card
he got 2 rig and want to sell some of the item..

we are the S478 user.. he ask maybe we know what will be HOT is i help him sell in lowyat.net.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

* this is second extreme cpu i will missed (budjet not enough) maybe i will take 1 of the mobo only.. icon_question.gif
coooool.....nice stuffs there...too bad i out of budget. haha...if not i will grab the p4c800-E dlx. now pocket really dry dry....haiz.. doh.gif

This post has been edited by kabukiawie: Aug 22 2007, 10:29 AM

126 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0283sec    1.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:46 PM