AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion

stilo10
post Sep 18 2016, 08:46 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ Sep 15 2016, 07:18 PM)
It was sold by AV123. Now, they are licensed to be distributed by Curve Acoustics.

This is the X-series models:  x-mtm, x-ls and x-cs. The Encore is the 2nd revision (aka mk2), improvement of tweeter and cross-over.

The x series was designed by Danny Ritchie.

Unlike branded, this Xls encore has not advertised anywhere, all by piece of mouth. There were more than 2000 pairs sold in USA alone.
Tq fyi.
zoozooka
post Sep 18 2016, 09:14 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ Sep 18 2016, 05:08 PM)
Then, they are ok for you setup.
Thanks for your advise
TSjovigrunge
post Sep 21 2016, 09:12 PM

2,607 posts

Sry guys no idea why my thread was locked. Well maybe I accidently lock it? doh.gif
TSjovigrunge
post Sep 21 2016, 09:21 PM

2,607 posts

I didn't know about this promotion. Yamaha RX-V581 looks damn cheap plus with Dolby Atmos! bangwall.gif
sivanathan04
post Sep 21 2016, 11:47 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Sep 21 2016, 09:21 PM)

I didn't know about this promotion. Yamaha RX-V581 looks damn cheap plus with Dolby Atmos!  bangwall.gif
😁Looking for avr too...you are too interested in dolby atmos 😋..denon x1300 have too
fx20
post Sep 22 2016, 06:51 AM

817 posts

QUOTE(zoozooka @ Sep 18 2016, 09:14 PM)
Thanks for your advise
Get those sand-filled stands, you can then filled the amount accordingly.

zoozooka
post Sep 22 2016, 07:54 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ Sep 22 2016, 06:51 AM)
Get those sand-filled stands, you can then filled the amount accordingly.
That's pro. Didn't know of this.
TSjovigrunge
post Sep 22 2016, 08:02 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Sep 21 2016, 11:47 PM)
😁Looking for avr too...you are too interested in dolby atmos 😋..denon x1300 have too
I seriously think you should go for Yammy AVR..... nod.gif
kanasai
post Sep 30 2016, 05:30 PM

43 posts

I'm planning to set up a 5.1 home theater system in the living room of my new condo unit but I know nuts about setting up one. I'd like to seek some advice and recommendations from you guys here.

My living room is just about 12ft x 10ft. My couch will be up against the wall and the distance at the sitting position to the TV is probably about 8-9ft. On one side of the living room will be the glass sliding door to the balcony and the other side will be some open space to kitchen and main door entrance. Since my unit is small and it is a high rise unit, I just need an entry level setup will do, although I will consider spending a fraction more if the sound experience is considerably better. I have a budget of around 6-7K.

AVR
I'm pretty much set on Yamaha for AVR, either the RX-V481 or V581. I need the 4K for the TV, just contemplating whether I would want to future proof with Atmos or not.

L/C/R Speakers
I'm leaning towards the Sony CS3 floor standing speakers and CS8 center speakers since they are cheap with decent performance and good value, based on tons of reviews on the web and some of the earlier comments in this thread. Any others that are better with a similar price point? The other one that caught my attention based on reviews is the Elac. Are the Elac F5 or F6 worth the extra over the Sony CS3/5/8?

Sub-woofer
I have no idea on this one. Any recommendations?

Surround Speakers
I have no idea on this one as well. Since my couch is pretty much against the wall, so I'll be placing the surround speakers on the left and right of the couch. Is the Sony CS5 bookshelf speakers good for surround?

Any suggestions and recommendations will be greatly appreciated.
sonerin
post Oct 1 2016, 07:54 AM

8,739 posts

Since you already wanted Sony, just stick with it for all the same. For sub, try SVS
TSjovigrunge
post Oct 1 2016, 09:26 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(kanasai @ Sep 30 2016, 05:30 PM)
I'm planning to set up a 5.1 home theater system in the living room of my new condo unit but I know nuts about setting up one. I'd like to seek some advice and recommendations from you guys here.

My living room is just about 12ft x 10ft. My couch will be up against the wall and the distance at the sitting position to the TV is probably about 8-9ft. On one side of the living room will be the glass sliding door to the balcony and the other side will be some open space to kitchen and main door entrance. Since my unit is small and it is a high rise unit, I just need an entry level setup will do, although I will consider spending a fraction more if the sound experience is considerably better. I have a budget of around 6-7K.

AVR
I'm pretty much set on Yamaha for AVR, either the RX-V481 or V581. I need the 4K for the TV, just contemplating whether I would want to future proof with Atmos or not.

L/C/R Speakers
I'm leaning towards the Sony CS3 floor standing speakers and CS8 center speakers since they are cheap with decent performance and good value, based on tons of reviews on the web and some of the earlier comments in this thread. Any others that are better with a similar price point? The other one that caught my attention based on reviews is the Elac. Are the Elac F5 or F6 worth the extra over the Sony CS3/5/8?

Sub-woofer

Surround Speakers
I have no idea on this one as well. Since my couch is pretty much against the wall, so  I'll be placing the surround speakers on the left and right of the couch.  Is the Sony CS5 bookshelf speakers good for surround?
Any photos you can provide on how your living hall looks like before we give our thoughts? hmm.gif
kanasai
post Oct 3 2016, 01:23 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Oct 1 2016, 09:26 PM)
Any photos you can provide on how your living hall looks like before we give our thoughts?  hmm.gif
I don't have a good actual photo with full view of my living room. Here's the 3D rendering by my ID and what I have so far of my actual living hall, which should be good enough to give you an idea on the space. Overall, it isn't very spacious and it is a constraint.

3D Rendering

Actual photo with partial view. The edge on the right hand side of the picture is pretty much where the wall is, which my couch will be up against it.

sonerin
post Oct 3 2016, 08:36 AM

8,739 posts

Using bookshelf near the seating need to be careful not to knock your head
OPT
post Oct 5 2016, 02:11 PM

Wee wang wang
2,065 posts

QUOTE(kanasai @ Oct 3 2016, 01:23 AM)
I don't have a good actual photo with full view of my living room. Here's the 3D rendering by my ID and what I have so far of my actual living hall, which should be good enough to give you an idea on the space. Overall, it isn't very spacious and it is a constraint.

3D Rendering
Actual photo with partial view. The edge on the right hand side of the picture is pretty much where the wall is, which my couch will be up against it.
Ini macam guna SVS...the tenant below your unit will hate you tongue.gif
SSJBen
post Oct 5 2016, 05:07 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kanasai @ Sep 30 2016, 05:30 PM)

AVR

L/C/R Speakers

Sub-woofer

Surround Speakers
I have no idea on this one as well. Since my couch is pretty much against the wall, so  I'll be placing the surround speakers on the left and right of the couch.  Is the Sony CS5 bookshelf speakers good for surround?
If your budget is 6-7k of which includes the TV, you're not going to have enough at all for this entire setup. If it's 6-7k for the audio portion, then read on;

Speakers
The Sony CS are fine speakers for the price indeed. The ELACs are IMO worth the extra. Another alternative to check out is Q Acoustics 3000 series speakers, they seriously good stuff too but of course more expensive than the Sony CS. Weigh your options and as many will tell you; get the best LCR speakers your budget allows instead of cheaping out on it.

Sub
SVS, it's simple. Yes, it's a little bit on the pricey side but buy 1 sub, live with it for years. Don't buy a fart box and throw it out in 6 months. If you absolutely cannot get an SVS, at least get an ELAC S10EQ at the very least.

Surround Speakers
The least important of them, especially when you are on a budget cap. Honestly if you have to sacrifice your LCR speakers and sub just to include surround speakers within your budget cap, then my suggestion is that you don't bother. Your space and sitting location isn't really that optimal for surround speakers to begin with.

Otherwise, if you absolutely want to then just get a pair of cheap small bookshelf speakers. Look for some second hand QA 2020 or even a pair of Jamo satellites. Again, I highly suggest that you put the majority of your budget into your LCR speakers first, sub second then worry about the surround speakers dead last.
zoozooka
post Oct 5 2016, 05:11 PM

309 posts

Where can i buy SVS subwoofer at the best price?

Online or the malaysia dealer HTKAKI?
SSJBen
post Oct 5 2016, 06:04 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(zoozooka @ Oct 5 2016, 05:11 PM)
Where can i buy SVS subwoofer at the best price?

Online or the malaysia dealer HTKAKI?
Htkaki and his other partners.
ktek
post Oct 5 2016, 07:48 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Oct 3 2016, 08:36 AM)
Using bookshelf near the seating need to be careful not to knock your head

i kena this doh.gif hahaha
sonerin
post Oct 5 2016, 09:53 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 5 2016, 07:48 PM)
i kena this doh.gif hahaha
Yeah I kena too. That is why now I use very slim speaker
zoozooka
post Oct 6 2016, 03:21 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 5 2016, 06:04 PM)
Htkaki and his other partners.
SVS SB1000 now sells for RM3650. Price increased so much over the last few years. It's 700USD on amazon.

119 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0466sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:20 PM