AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion

sivanathan04
post May 20 2016, 05:18 AM

701 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 20 2016, 01:55 AM)
Remember, only the v581 and above has Atmos.
Also consider the fact that 5.x.2 Atmos is really only viable in a small room. If you have medium sized room, 5.x.2 isn't immersive enough, even if you have 6.5" wide dispersion drivers as your overheads. That's my IMO at least, having experimented with them.

So, unless you'll always have a small room setup, consider the fact that getting a budget receiver isn't a long term investment.
5k isn't enough for an SVS Ultra LCR setup though, they would cost around RM8.5k+ or more. Just a pair of Ultra Bookshelfs, then perhaps.
The SVS Prime Bookshelf + Prime Center on the other hand is possible with a 4-5k setup.

B&W 685 series has always been popular, I'm not exactly sure of the pricing but they are a good choice to check out as well. Some other I can recommend are Klipsch if you like clarity and sparkly trebles, their horn tweeters man... they're good stuff as long as you don't find them fatiguing.

KEF Q series bookshelfs too, they aren't bad. I used to own a pair of Q100 and Q200 as LCR, found them pretty good all rounders for many things but falls short of standing out.
As explained, if you only have a budget of an entry-level AVR, go Yamaha. Onkyo and Pioneer are alternatives, but you only need to make 1 search about their reliability reports and you'll understand why they aren't recommended below their high-end stuff.
Noted 😋 thank you...one more doubt pre amp is for more better music output its like avr connected to pre amp

This post has been edited by sivanathan04: May 20 2016, 05:20 AM
sonerin
post May 20 2016, 07:13 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ May 19 2016, 10:50 PM)
Owh, got xls in demo there? Thanks for the info. Anyway, do you have any suggestions?
What's your budget and usage ?
barjoyai
post May 20 2016, 07:40 AM

PoisonRoses
726 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ May 20 2016, 07:13 AM)
What's your budget and usage ?
Budget is around 4k,can go max 5k for speakers. For HT usage only. Planning to add svs pb1000 later on, but not sure whether I should get cheaper speakers and bought the sub within that budget.
barjoyai
post May 20 2016, 07:46 AM

PoisonRoses
726 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ May 20 2016, 12:54 AM)
Xls encore have good review but im having same problem is it a good buy 😋
Yes that's the thing. If possible, I don't want to pour so much money, lol. For rm2k plus with xls encore, it's definitely a good buy if they can rival the other expensive speakers.
sonerin
post May 20 2016, 08:22 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ May 20 2016, 07:40 AM)
Budget is around 4k,can go max 5k for speakers. For HT usage only. Planning to add svs pb1000 later on, but not sure whether I should get cheaper speakers and bought the sub within that budget.
If that is the case SVS will be a good choice for HT purpose
bad2928
post May 20 2016, 11:03 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ May 19 2016, 06:46 PM)
I've been monitoring this thread for quite some time and thanks to all here for the good info. I myself is in my way to upgrade my home theater speakers as I ventured into HT 3, 4 years ago. As we all know that KLIAV 2016 is just around the corner, I would like to have some suggestions and recommendations of speaker packages, so I can have a shortlist of speakers that I can look out during the show. I depend totally on forums and internet review; I bought stuffs based on Whathifi award, LOL. As a beginner myself, now only I realized that center speaker is very important; previously I bought a 3.0 setup with Wharfedale 10.2 and Wharfedale 10cs connected to Yamaha RX-A810. I just bought the center so that i have a center channel and it's cheap, tongue.gif  but after times, now I know it lacks clarity and positioning. Now that I have changed the Wharfedale 10.2 to Wharfedale 121, I think they sound worse and is like didn't match each other,  sweat.gif
Now that if I have a budget of rm4k-5k for a new left right and center speakers, what good speaker package can I have that can be considered a significant upgrade? i'm thinking of SVS prime/ultra line, B&W 685 series, Q acoustics line (but as far i remembered, they sound a little thin). I am also considering the XLS encore setup but not sure whether it's a good upgrade or not as no place to demo.
hi bro,i think svs ultra bookshelf is best upgrade from wharfedale,but is out of budget to get matching center together

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ May 19 2016, 11:01 PM)
Any Denon avr users here?  hmm.gif
denon user here thumbsup.gif
barjoyai
post May 20 2016, 11:37 AM

PoisonRoses
726 posts

QUOTE(bad2928 @ May 20 2016, 11:03 AM)
hi bro,i think svs ultra bookshelf is best upgrade from wharfedale,but is out of budget to get matching center together
denon user here :thumbsup:
Thanks for the suggestion, I'm trying to get a very good center channel first as I find my current center is lacking. Then slowly upgrade the left right and adding in sub. I knew the svs ultra bookshelf has many good review and it's not cheap but is the svs ultra center is very good as well for its price?
dirtrun
post May 20 2016, 01:28 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ May 20 2016, 05:18 AM)
Noted 😋 thank you...one more doubt pre amp is for more better music output its like avr connected to pre amp

Its not all about music..

A pre / processor oso leaves de hard work of powering the spkrs to the power amps.. I run a Marantz 7002 with a Rotel pwr amp n even thou on paper my amp outputs only 100 wts / channel while my supposedly more powerful avr , at [ l tink , forget liao.. ] 130.. my spkrs still sing.. heck l personally tink its more all rounded as in its got more heft at midrange..
Wat l am trying to say is tat avr power figures are best considered wif a grain of salt - power amp figures on the other hand is more trustworthy.. so look for a pre function for ur avr instead of being tied dwn wif one tat is wifout..

D

SSJBen
post May 20 2016, 01:51 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ May 20 2016, 05:18 AM)
A pre/pro is simply just that, a pre-amp and processor. It doesn't power the speakers.
An external power amp is usually connected to a pre/pro so that all an amp will do is drive the speakers and nothing else. The pre/pro handles all the signal processing, decoding, video passthrough and so on.

A pre/pro + power amp setup is usually the best way to driver power into the speakers. As already explained by bro dirtrun, the power specs on receivers these days are mostly bs marketing. Receiver companies love to inflate numbers by rating the power handling at ridiculously high THD or at low impedance, and in Onkyo's case, rate it at 1 channel driven because bigger number = better right???!

Then they have all these stupid specs like PMPO or JEITA (yeah Yamaha, looking at you) which makes absolutely zero sense.

At the end of the day, once you get to a certain decent wattage, it is difficult to go higher to get more volume. Example, if a 100w per channel amp can drive a speaker up to 85db output and peaks of 110db, it'll take more than TWICE the power just get another +3db. Volume is not linear, it's logarithmic.

So don't be too invested into the whole power ratings game on receivers. A receiver with 100w into 2 channels at 8ohms, under 0.010% THD isn't going to sound louder at all in comparison to an 80w into 2 channels receiver. 20w is nothing.

The final thing to understand about the power tests done by sites like Sound and Vision. They do full-channel testing which shows certain receivers (particularly Yamaha) having much lower wattage than its competitors. But a full channel test is not a real-world representation of how power is used because there are ZERO movies, games or music that will blast speakers with the same signal for more than a minute. Power is always dynamic, volume is always dynamic.

QUOTE(barjoyai @ May 20 2016, 11:37 AM)
Thanks for the suggestion, I'm trying to get a very good center channel first as I find my current center is lacking. Then slowly upgrade the left right and adding in sub. I knew the svs ultra bookshelf has many good review and it's not cheap but is the svs ultra center is very good as well for its price?
The ultra center is as good as the bookshelfs, they are equally matched. Same sized drivers, same refined tweeters, a very decent 4" midrange just for the vocals. Best of all, it adheres to the best center channel design which is a 3-way WTMW, off-axis lobing will not be an issue vs the more common MTM design.

You do however will need a decent amount of space for the ultra center, it's dual ported at the back so you're going to want to have a good 2-3 ft. off the wall. It's also pretty hefty, so the use of sturdy stands are recommended.

That said, why not just get a pair of ultra bookshelfs first? Get the center later. I kidd you not, the ultra bookshelfs to my ears are equal and in some aspects better than more expensive well reknnown bookshelfs like the KEF LS50 or the Sonus Faber Venere 1.5. I've compared them for lengthy periods, I always go back to the ultras at the end, phenomenal speakers.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: May 20 2016, 03:40 PM
sivanathan04
post May 20 2016, 10:31 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ May 20 2016, 07:46 AM)
Yes that's the thing. If possible, I don't want to pour so much money, lol. For rm2k plus with xls encore, it's definitely a good buy if they can rival the other expensive speakers.
Yup that's true 😋
sivanathan04
post May 20 2016, 10:36 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ May 20 2016, 01:28 PM)
Its not all about music..

A pre / processor oso leaves de hard work of powering the spkrs to the power amps.. I run a Marantz 7002 with a Rotel pwr amp n even thou on paper my amp outputs only 100 wts / channel while my supposedly more powerful avr , at [  l tink , forget liao.. ] 130.. my spkrs still sing.. heck l personally tink its more all rounded as in its got more heft at midrange..
Wat l am trying to say is tat avr power figures are best considered wif a grain of salt - power amp figures on the other hand is more trustworthy.. so look for a pre function for ur avr instead of being tied dwn wif one tat is wifout..

D
QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 20 2016, 01:51 PM)
A pre/pro is simply just that, a pre-amp and processor. It doesn't power the speakers.
An external power amp is usually connected to a pre/pro so that all an amp will do is drive the speakers and nothing else. The pre/pro handles all the signal processing, decoding, video passthrough and so on.

A pre/pro + power amp setup is usually the best way to driver power into the speakers. As already explained by bro dirtrun, the power specs on receivers these days are mostly bs marketing. Receiver companies love to inflate numbers by rating the power handling at ridiculously high THD or at low impedance, and in Onkyo's case, rate it at 1 channel driven because bigger number = better right???!

Then they have all these stupid specs like PMPO or JEITA (yeah Yamaha, looking at you) which makes absolutely zero sense.

At the end of the day, once you get to a certain decent wattage, it is difficult to go higher to get more volume. Example, if a 100w per channel amp can drive a speaker up to 85db output and peaks of 110db, it'll take more than TWICE the power just get another +3db. Volume is not linear, it's logarithmic.

So don't be too invested into the whole power ratings game on receivers. A receiver with 100w into 2 channels at 8ohms, under 0.010% THD isn't going to sound louder at all in comparison to an 80w into 2 channels receiver. 20w is nothing.

The final thing to understand about the power tests done by sites like Sound and Vision. They do full-channel testing which shows certain receivers (particularly Yamaha) having much lower wattage than its competitors. But a full channel test is not a real-world representation of how power is used because there are ZERO movies, games or music that will blast speakers with the same signal for more than a minute. Power is always dynamic, volume is always dynamic.
The ultra center is as good as the bookshelfs, they are equally matched. Same sized drivers, same refined tweeters, a very decent 4" midrange just for the vocals. Best of all, it adheres to the best center channel design which is a 3-way WTMW, off-axis lobing will not be an issue vs the more common MTM design.

You do however will need a decent amount of space for the ultra center, it's dual ported at the back so you're going to want to have a good 2-3 ft. off the wall. It's also pretty hefty, so the use of sturdy stands are recommended.

That said, why not just get a pair of ultra bookshelfs first? Get the center later. I kidd you not, the ultra bookshelfs to my ears are equal and in some aspects better than more expensive well reknnown bookshelfs like the KEF LS50 or the Sonus Faber Venere 1.5. I've compared them for lengthy periods, I always go back to the ultras at the end, phenomenal speakers.
Now I understand very detail... thumbup.gif Thank you ...i will look for Yamaha rx 479 for now
barjoyai
post May 20 2016, 11:32 PM

PoisonRoses
726 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 20 2016, 01:51 PM)

Thanks for the input. I'll go and demo the svs ultra later.. Seems like this svs is really an excellent speakers. But I don't have big space for HT, the best I can make is about 1.5 ft off the wall.

This post has been edited by barjoyai: May 20 2016, 11:44 PM
SSJBen
post May 20 2016, 11:56 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ May 20 2016, 11:32 PM)
Thanks for the input. I'll go and demo the svs ultra later.. Seems like this svs is really an excellent speakers. But I don't have big space for HT, the best I can make is about 1.5 ft off the wall.
Should be okay, just crossover higher than the usual 80hz.
LLawliet
post May 21 2016, 01:56 PM

37 posts

Hi all~ smile.gif planning to get myself a sound system mainly for console gaming and movies in a small room...but may shift the audio system to living hall in future to upgrade the audio system furthermore~ My budget around RM2000- RM2500 for now...Any suggestion for any type of audio system? cool2.gif (Planning to get soundbar but scare sound quality may not as good as AVR + speaker and is not upgradable) hmm.gif
sonerin
post May 21 2016, 04:44 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(LLawliet @ May 21 2016, 01:56 PM)
Hi all~ smile.gif  planning to get myself a sound system mainly for console gaming and movies in a small room...but may shift the audio system to living hall in future to upgrade the audio system furthermore~ My budget around RM2000- RM2500 for now...Any suggestion for any type of audio system? cool2.gif  (Planning to get soundbar but scare sound quality may not as good as AVR + speaker and is not upgradable)  hmm.gif
When you say sound quality what exactly you looking for ?
LLawliet
post May 21 2016, 05:06 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ May 21 2016, 04:44 PM)
When you say sound quality what exactly you looking for ?
Looking for sound quality that can produce better surround and bass and clearer dialogue than general HTIB or soundbar that available in the market? Anything that are suitable for gaming and movie purposes will do... Heard that sony RT-5 is a good option for soundbar? Is AVR will be better since im planning to upgrade it in future~ hmm.gif
sonerin
post May 21 2016, 06:07 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(LLawliet @ May 21 2016, 05:06 PM)
Looking for sound quality that can produce better surround and bass and clearer dialogue than general HTIB or soundbar that available in the market? Anything that are suitable for gaming and movie purposes will do... Heard that sony RT-5 is a good option for soundbar? Is AVR will be better since im planning to upgrade it in future~  hmm.gif
Is better you something now and next time buy new again
ktek
post May 21 2016, 09:01 PM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

QUOTE(LLawliet @ May 21 2016, 05:06 PM)
Looking for sound quality that can produce better surround and bass and clearer dialogue than general HTIB or soundbar that available in the market? Anything that are suitable for gaming and movie purposes will do... Heard that sony RT-5 is a good option for soundbar? Is AVR will be better since im planning to upgrade it in future~  hmm.gif
ok. quite complete info u given. are u running hdmi device?
yes -pick avr and 5"-6" bookshelf stereo spk given ur budget unable to buy center and surround spk at once. dont worry u wont miss them after proper placement and tuning.

no -maybe a mini stereo receiver from cambridge one or denon ceol enough.

both type can add sub in the future.
LLawliet
post May 21 2016, 09:28 PM

37 posts

Yes im running mostly hdmi device~ wink.gif ~ Any recommended bookshelf and avr ? Prefer new models if can biggrin.gif
sonerin
post May 21 2016, 09:53 PM

8,739 posts

Yamaha coming with new models. Try XLS encore for speaker or q acoustic

119 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0344sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:12 AM