AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion
sonerin
Feb 15 2021, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(VeeJay @ Feb 15 2021, 02:16 PM) I know...there is nno argument between woofer and subwoofer,  but since I have 4 12in woofer, I would like to drive with it first. After getting my new amp, if it cant drive it, then I may consider a sub. This is the speaker I have http://www.nrpavs.co.nz/archive/Sold_htm/TechnicsSB-A28.htmI guess is for you to spend. Just my opinion to max out your potential with the purchase. I will rather keep the AVR simple and spend on subwoofer. Good luck with it.
dwRK
Feb 15 2021, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(VeeJay @ Feb 15 2021, 02:16 PM) I know...there is nno argument between woofer and subwoofer,  but since I have 4 12in woofer, I would like to drive with it first. After getting my new amp, if it cant drive it, then I may consider a sub. This is the speaker I have http://www.nrpavs.co.nz/archive/Sold_htm/TechnicsSB-A28.htmQUOTE(voscar @ Feb 15 2021, 03:14 PM) This kind of speaker got good bass? I had something similar before, sansui speaker, 3 way the woofer cone so huge 12.xx", but still need tone control maxed in order to screw out the mid bass, and it's not going deep low below 40Hz tho... Good for hall disco usage, but not for movie watching taste, haha. no real bass. these type of 12" is typically used to manage sensitivity and linearity vs spl...
marky
Feb 16 2021, 11:23 AM
Svs pb2000, pb2000 pro or sb3000? Think sb3000 is the max i would go..
Topet
Feb 16 2021, 11:56 AM
dual PB2000 Pro
marky
Feb 16 2021, 01:37 PM
Lol.. didnt buy topglove stocks last year, cant afford dual
By the way, room is 13.5'L×10.5'Wx8.5'H
SSJBen
Feb 16 2021, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(marky @ Feb 16 2021, 01:37 PM) Lol.. didnt buy topglove stocks last year, cant afford dual By the way, room is 13.5'L×10.5'Wx8.5'H Small room. Don't really need to go ported unless you're an absolutely insane bass head. My suggestion, dual SB2000 Pro. If cannot get duals now, buy 1 SB2000 Pro first, can always buy another when got money.
marky
Feb 16 2021, 07:16 PM
Now u got me thinking about dual sb2000 non pro. Rm2k difference from pro..
Sometimes just miss the boomyness of ported lol not sure how much low i will be missing..
SSJBen
Feb 16 2021, 10:42 PM
I had dual SB2000s previously in a room that is roughly the size as yours, just couple feet wider and higher. It was certainly good enough down to 20hz. Obviously ported will give you even more output, but you have to also balance it out otherwise you'll be exciting too many room modes and end up with muddy bass.
ktek
Feb 17 2021, 12:47 AM
i curious. expensive avr use 0db not same with regular avr 0db meh ? compare between same brand same gen after calibrate
chilskater
Feb 17 2021, 07:14 PM
can i ask here: i have new Philips TV connect tok TX6 via HDMI & Edifier speaker to TV via optical cable...is this ngam OR should the speaker connect to android box... OR audio cable from android box to TV
i watch Netflix using TV apps and streaming using android box apps..
marky
Feb 17 2021, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 16 2021, 10:42 PM) I had dual SB2000s previously in a room that is roughly the size as yours, just couple feet wider and higher. It was certainly good enough down to 20hz. Obviously ported will give you even more output, but you have to also balance it out otherwise you'll be exciting too many room modes and end up with muddy bass. Curious, what did you change to?
kevinlim001
Feb 18 2021, 09:01 AM
QUOTE(marky @ Feb 17 2021, 08:39 PM) Curious, what did you change to? - HT Setup - LG OLED C9 77" SVS Ultra Bookshelf (L/R) | SVS Ultra Center SVS Prime Bookshelf (Surrounds) | SVS Prime Elevation (Atmos) | Dual SVS SB3000Emotiva A500 | Yamaha RX-A3080 | Parasound A52+ - HiFi Setup - STAX SRL700 | Wharfedale Evo 4.2 STAX SRM353X| JDS Labs EL DAC | Parasound Hint 6 kekeke
kevinlim001
Feb 18 2021, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(chilskater @ Feb 17 2021, 07:14 PM) can i ask here: i have new Philips TV connect tok TX6 via HDMI & Edifier speaker to TV via optical cable...is this ngam OR should the speaker connect to android box... OR audio cable from android box to TV i watch Netflix using TV apps and streaming using android box apps.. if i m not wrong 90% of chances ur edifier doesnt support hdmi in.. what you are doing is correct and simple.. you can also connect your tv box to speaker directly using RCA but it doesnt makes a lot of different from what i see audio cable if you mean is RCA cable then i dont think is possible.. your TV most likely doesnt provide RCA in / Digital In
kevinlim001
Feb 18 2021, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 17 2021, 12:47 AM) i curious. expensive avr use 0db not same with regular avr 0db meh ? compare between same brand same gen after calibrate boss ur ref level not ref ka?
ktek
Feb 18 2021, 01:26 PM
my idea is 0db = equal. i wonder other ppl answer how
SSJBen
Feb 18 2021, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 17 2021, 12:47 AM) i curious. expensive avr use 0db not same with regular avr 0db meh ? compare between same brand same gen after calibrate AFAIK there are certain AVRs where at -5db = reference. This was long time ago on some Yamaha models. Now a days I believe everyone follows the standard of 0db = reference. QUOTE(marky @ Feb 17 2021, 08:39 PM) Curious, what did you change to? Upgraded to dual SB3000.
sonerin
Feb 18 2021, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Feb 18 2021, 09:01 AM) - HT Setup - LG OLED C9 77" SVS Ultra Bookshelf (L/R) | SVS Ultra Center SVS Prime Bookshelf (Surrounds) | SVS Prime Elevation (Atmos) | Dual SVS SB3000Emotiva A500 | Yamaha RX-A3080 | Parasound A52+ - HiFi Setup - STAX SRL700 | Wharfedale Evo 4.2 STAX SRM353X| JDS Labs EL DAC | Parasound Hint 6 kekeke  Yamaha kaki as well
VeeJay
Feb 18 2021, 10:07 PM
QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Feb 18 2021, 09:01 AM) - HT Setup - LG OLED C9 77" SVS Ultra Bookshelf (L/R) | SVS Ultra Center SVS Prime Bookshelf (Surrounds) | SVS Prime Elevation (Atmos) | Dual SVS SB3000Emotiva A500 | Yamaha RX-A3080 | Parasound A52+ - HiFi Setup - STAX SRL700 | Wharfedale Evo 4.2 STAX SRM353X| JDS Labs EL DAC | Parasound Hint 6 kekeke  Bro, whats your opinion on A3080 compared to Denon/Marantz? Im looking at it as well  Thanks
kevinlim001
Feb 19 2021, 05:30 AM
QUOTE(VeeJay @ Feb 18 2021, 10:07 PM) Bro, whats your opinion on A3080 compared to Denon/Marantz? Im looking at it as well  Thanks u gonna check with SSJBen
sonerin
Feb 19 2021, 06:42 AM
QUOTE(VeeJay @ Feb 18 2021, 10:07 PM) Bro, whats your opinion on A3080 compared to Denon/Marantz? Im looking at it as well  Thanks What model are you comparing ? A3080 has a unique feature of surround AI that marantz and Denon don’t have.