246 Pages « < 200 201 202 203 204 > » Bottom

LG OLED TV Discussion Thread, OLED TV

TongCN
post Sep 19 2022, 10:20 AM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,643 posts

Hmm.. any one has Apple TV + LG TV having this "screen change" symptom when watch Youtube? (FYI, i also posted in Apply TV post)

My situation with all firmware updated:
1) Apple TV 4K (2021) - TVOS16
2) LG OLED CX

My Apple TV default setting is 4K SDR 60hz only with match frame rate & contents ON

Whenever i watch or exit a video in youtube, the screen will turn black for few seconds (similar to how we watch video with Dolby vision / HDR that moment) but here it doesnt change from SDR to HDR/DV.

The video stays SDR only but dunno why the "black screen"
SSJBen
post Sep 19 2022, 12:50 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Sep 19 2022, 10:20 AM)
Hmm.. any one has Apple TV + LG TV having this "screen change" symptom when watch Youtube? (FYI, i also posted in Apply TV post)

My situation with all firmware updated:
1) Apple TV 4K (2021) - TVOS16
2) LG OLED CX

My Apple TV default setting is 4K SDR 60hz only with match frame rate & contents ON

Whenever i watch or exit a video in youtube, the screen will turn black for few seconds (similar to how we watch video with Dolby vision / HDR that moment) but here it doesnt change from SDR to HDR/DV.

The video stays SDR only but dunno why the "black screen"
HDCP handshake.
TongCN
post Sep 20 2022, 11:32 AM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,643 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 19 2022, 12:50 PM)
HDCP handshake.
sweat.gif ouch .. kinda annoying but hopefully can get some patch/fix

SSJBen
post Sep 20 2022, 03:18 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Sep 20 2022, 11:32 AM)
sweat.gif ouch .. kinda annoying but hopefully can get some patch/fix
There is no fix because that's simply the way it works.

HDMI 2.1 QMS would alleviate that (bringing the 3-8 seconds black screen down to 1-2 seconds), but no display supports QMS anyway so that feature is pointless at this time too.
splinter
post Sep 22 2022, 08:55 PM

New Kid In Town
2,120 posts

Now the C1 sound time.

Is AI sound advice to turn on? Currently is off and using cinema mode. Sound Netflix movies sound macam low. If AI sound on playing PS5 sound look weird. Like we use PS5 virtual sound.

Ai acoustic has been calibrate

This post has been edited by splinter: Sep 22 2022, 08:57 PM
overfloe
post Sep 23 2022, 08:32 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Sep 22 2022, 09:55 PM)
Now the C1 sound time.

Is AI sound advice to turn on? Currently is off and using cinema mode. Sound Netflix movies sound macam low. If AI sound on playing PS5 sound look weird. Like we use PS5 virtual sound.

I use Music for dialogue clarity in movies. AI turned off.
Andrewtst
post Sep 23 2022, 10:18 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,767 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Sep 22 2022, 08:55 PM)
Now the C1 sound time.

Anything AI from LG is better turn off.
SSJBen
post Sep 23 2022, 04:45 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Sep 22 2022, 08:55 PM)
Now the C1 sound time.

You have a good TV.

Why you want to make the experience shit with using the TV speakers? Get yourself at least a soundbar or preferably a pair of bookshelves.
splinter
post Sep 23 2022, 10:39 PM

New Kid In Town
2,120 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 23 2022, 04:45 PM)
You have a good TV.

Why you want to make the experience shit with using the TV speakers? Get yourself at least a soundbar or preferably a pair of bookshelves.
For PS5, YouTube, Netflix purpose chilling. When watching HBO max or Disney + will use my 5.1.2 system 😎
mois
post Sep 27 2022, 11:33 AM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Sep 23 2022, 10:39 PM)
For PS5, YouTube, Netflix purpose chilling. When watching HBO max or Disney + will use my 5.1.2 system 😎
Bro you should be using your system for youtube and netflix
Andrewtst
post Sep 27 2022, 03:06 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,767 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Sep 23 2022, 10:39 PM)
Seriously what logic is that?!???

Disney+ and HBO MAX using Sound System?

But Netflix + YouTube + PS5 using TV speaker??? 🤔

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Sep 27 2022, 03:07 PM
splinter
post Sep 28 2022, 11:25 AM

New Kid In Town
2,120 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 27 2022, 03:06 PM)
Seriously what logic is that?!???

Disney+ and HBO MAX using Sound System?

But Netflix + YouTube + PS5 using TV speaker??? 🤔
Logic is wife complaint too Loud, so will only use HT during weekend for movie/music. And Netflix mostly watching drama, YouTube also is for show and PS5 wife dont like the guns sound haha.

Because we live in condo, so if all the time on my kid and wife will be mad.gif . Wait until I can afford to have a HT room so it will be peace of mind console.gif
Andrewtst
post Sep 28 2022, 02:46 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,767 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Sep 28 2022, 11:25 AM)
Logic is wife complaint too Loud, so will only use HT during weekend for movie/music.  And Netflix mostly watching drama, YouTube also is for show and PS5 wife dont like the guns sound haha.

Because we live in condo, so if all the time on my kid and wife will be  mad.gif . Wait until I can afford to have a HT room so it will be peace of mind  console.gif
Your Netflix only watch Korean drama? Then make a little bit sense. 😅
ben3003
post Sep 29 2022, 07:30 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 28 2022, 02:46 PM)
Your Netflix only watch Korean drama? Then make a little bit sense. 😅
i do switch to internal speaker when watch kdrama biggrin.gif but there are some with dolby atmos and DV, that is when i switch to AVR.
Andrewtst
post Sep 29 2022, 09:19 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,767 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 29 2022, 07:30 AM)
i do switch to internal speaker when watch kdrama biggrin.gif but there are some with dolby atmos and DV, that is when i switch to AVR.
I already forgotten LG TV came with speaker. 😅

If too late, I will use Headset instead. 🙂
kanasai
post Sep 29 2022, 03:20 PM

43 posts

Any idea or words on if and when the 42” Flex LX3 will be available in Malaysia?

Finally found the ultimate device for me to be used as a TV and gaming monitor on a desk.
Purpleheaven
post Oct 3 2022, 10:27 PM

33 posts

Whats the recommendation for an LG OLED 65" TV?

Whats the ideal range i should go for as i feel the top of the range got alot of features that might not be important for me.

My requirements are just the usual watching TV, no gaming. Sounds should be decent as i have no intention on getting a sound bar. Like i read oled vs oled evo is just brighter screen, but brightness not priority for me because my wife has a pretty low threshold. Most of the times phones at auto brightness is too bright for her. So, higher max brightness not essential at all. So, probably choosing oled screens because it seem more comfortable than the lcd ones Also, how much of a different between a7 vs a9 processor?
SSJBen
post Oct 3 2022, 10:43 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Purpleheaven @ Oct 3 2022, 10:27 PM)
Whats the recommendation for an LG OLED 65" TV?

Whats the ideal range i should go for as i feel the top of the range got alot of features that might not be important for me.

My requirements are just the usual watching TV, no gaming. Sounds should be decent as i have no intention on getting a sound bar. Like i read oled vs oled evo is just brighter screen, but brightness not priority for me because my wife has a pretty low threshold. Most of the times phones at auto brightness is too bright for her. So, higher max brightness not essential at all. So, probably choosing oled screens because it seem more comfortable than the lcd ones  Also, how much of a different between a7 vs a9 processor?
Uhm that's not the way brightness works.

LCDs have more headroom in peak brightness for obvious reasons (LEDs are bigger, easier to drive brighter than individual organic pixels at a lower power consumption and heat). But calibrated properly, all SDR content should show no more than 100 nits for a display anyway. In other words, an OLED can also be too bright for SDR content if you don't calibrate it.

HDR content is of course a little bit different. Because LCDs can get brighter, they get to resolve more detail in very bright highlights in comparison to OLEDs. Again, just because LCDs are brighter doesn't mean they are uncomfortable. An OLED can also be uncomfortable if it isn't calibrated properly.

Audio and decent doesn't belong in the same sentence when you talk about TV speakers. So whatever you choose, you're not getting "decent" audio either ways. Acceptable or not of course is a subjective thing.
Purpleheaven
post Oct 4 2022, 10:03 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 3 2022, 10:43 PM)
Uhm that's not the way brightness works.

LCDs have more headroom in peak brightness for obvious reasons (LEDs are bigger, easier to drive brighter than individual organic pixels at a lower power consumption and heat). But calibrated properly, all SDR content should show no more than 100 nits for a display anyway. In other words, an OLED can also be too bright for SDR content if you don't calibrate it.

HDR content is of course a little bit different. Because LCDs can get brighter, they get to resolve more detail in very bright highlights in comparison to OLEDs. Again, just because LCDs are brighter doesn't mean they are uncomfortable. An OLED can also be uncomfortable if it isn't calibrated properly.

Audio and decent doesn't belong in the same sentence when you talk about TV speakers. So whatever you choose, you're not getting "decent" audio either ways. Acceptable or not of course is a subjective thing.
Then i guess its fine. Now is just whether the upgrade between different models worth or not.

If TV audio all also same same lousy, then it wont affect my decision too. Whats the a, c or g series about? Or is there any other series? I assume g series is the "flagship", but whats the target audience for the a or c series?
mois
post Oct 4 2022, 12:43 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

https://www.techradar.com/news/lgs-27-inch-...but-at-ces-2023

Oh year 27 inch & 32 inch oled Q1 2023. Wondering if 27inch version is 1440p or 4k.

246 Pages « < 200 201 202 203 204 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:56 PM