119 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v27, Need New Notebook? Post follow format.

cskean
post Jan 10 2016, 10:45 PM

2,551 posts

Hi all, pls recommend the best bang for buck laptop that fits the below requirement

1. Preferred Brand: any
2. Budget: RM 1.5k+-
3. Usage: web surfing, ms office & excel, simple graphic editing, light entertainment.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15" if fits the budget, otherwise min 14"
5. Others : Prefer i5(older version CPU acceptable), graphic card(if possible)

Million thanks for the input.

VinluV
post Jan 10 2016, 11:01 PM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jan 10 2016, 10:36 PM)
Inspiron 5547, 3443, 3543, 5548, 5558. All wif graphic card. problem is hard to find
Thanks. I see those are the previous generation inspiron and cost around rm2800 now.
So far the dell 3443 is around 2.4k but needs some work done as it comes with dos only sad.gif

This post has been edited by VinluV: Jan 10 2016, 11:14 PM
markypcs
post Jan 10 2016, 11:12 PM

574 posts

Yo dudes,

Looking for a simple laptop mainly for web surfing.

Budget below RM2,000, the lower the better
Preferably Dell for their after-sales service
15.6"
XeactorZ
post Jan 10 2016, 11:22 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(asdzxcyyy @ Jan 10 2016, 04:28 PM)
Hi all, I am looking new laptop, prefer slimmer one and a SSD 250GB

2. Budget: 4k - 5k
3. Usage: assignment like program compilation, web surfing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15" or bigger
Actually have research on Dell 7559, but it dont have SSD option, and the dell online sales agent ask me to to ask spare part unit on dell for that, and I lazy do it, anyone have try buying a dell and change to SSD without void the warranty?

Another options is Illegear, either z5 or q5, prefer q5 because slimmer, but z5 is using GTX 960M 4GB , q5 using 2GB, I do some research about VRAM, usually I use my laptop as desktop which connect it to monitor, so I pick 4GB one better(z5), but z5 quite thick, 3cm, hmm...

Also Asus ROG GL552VW is quite similar, but only have SSD 128GB, same with dell, don't know can change it to 250GB without void the warranty, and anyone has know the metallic cover version is available in Malaysia?

Or any other recommended laptop models, thank you very much.
user of dell 7559 here
yes from the dell website or reseller don't have ssd option, but you can add one yourself
is much cheaper compare to build in, the ssd it using is m.2 sata slot, I am getting the samsung evo 850 250gb

as for warranty, don't worry it won't void, same goes to add extra ram (already ask dell staff through online chat and call)

QUOTE(Nursh @ Jan 10 2016, 05:20 PM)
Also, i want to install OS on SSD, currently already own a 128GB SSD, if possible i need laptop that supports 2 hard drive drive(eg:can swipe dvd drive with ssd)
yes why not, if want swipe dvd drive out, just buy a caddy case smile.gif
myway1985
post Jan 10 2016, 11:52 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(markypcs @ Jan 10 2016, 11:12 PM)
Yo dudes,

Looking for a simple laptop mainly for web surfing.

Budget below RM2,000, the lower the better
Preferably Dell for their after-sales service
15.6"
my fren hv inspiron 3558, 5558 i5. rm1850 each.. clearance
myway1985
post Jan 10 2016, 11:52 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Jan 10 2016, 11:01 PM)
Thanks. I see those are the previous  generation inspiron and cost around rm2800 now.
So far the dell 3443 is around 2.4k but needs some work done as it comes with dos only sad.gif
window 8 pro license key i sell RM80 nia.. haha
DS_Legacy
post Jan 11 2016, 12:08 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 10 2016, 11:22 PM)
user of dell 7559 here
yes from the dell website or reseller don't have ssd option, but you can add one yourself
is much cheaper compare to build in, the ssd it using is m.2 sata slot, I am getting the samsung evo 850 250gb

as for warranty, don't worry it won't void, same goes to add extra ram (already ask dell staff through online chat and call)
yes why not, if want swipe dvd drive out, just buy a caddy case smile.gif
How much was the SSD damage to you? RM500? hmm.gif
Nursh
post Jan 11 2016, 12:25 AM

314 posts

Will there be much of a differences if i go for GTX960m with core i5 instead of core i7 in term of FPS?
XeactorZ
post Jan 11 2016, 12:53 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jan 11 2016, 12:08 AM)
How much was the SSD damage to you? RM500?  hmm.gif
ya you got it biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Jan 11 2016, 01:25 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 11 2016, 12:53 AM)
ya you got it biggrin.gif
I wanna upgrade my SSD, 120GB just doesn't make sense. sweat.gif sweat.gif
But still looking for a suitable one. biggrin.gif
XeactorZ
post Jan 11 2016, 09:29 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jan 11 2016, 01:25 AM)
I wanna upgrade my SSD, 120GB just doesn't make sense. sweat.gif  sweat.gif
But still looking for a suitable one.  biggrin.gif
Ya after install os and frequent used software left not much
Ssd is 232gb usable, after install those software left around 180gb for me

But 120gb is fine, tried install some stuff on your hdd lor biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Jan 11 2016, 10:13 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 11 2016, 09:29 AM)
Ya after install os and frequent used software left not much
Ssd is 232gb usable, after install those software left around 180gb for me

But 120gb is fine, tried install some stuff on your hdd lor biggrin.gif
Not really okay. sad.gif
But I'm putting everything into my external 1TB HDD. laugh.gif

How I wish I can afford 512GB SSD. My photos and those Adobe software eat up so much space. Don't even have a single game in my SSD. sweat.gif
XeactorZ
post Jan 11 2016, 10:59 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jan 11 2016, 10:13 AM)
Not really okay. sad.gif
But I'm putting everything into my external 1TB HDD. laugh.gif

How I wish I can afford 512GB SSD. My photos and those Adobe software eat up so much space. Don't even have a single game in my SSD. sweat.gif
why put on external HDD instead internal HDD hmm.gif

as for 512GB SSD too expensive, nearly RM 800 laugh.gif
since I just install frequently used software and OS, others install on HDD
I also don't have any game installed on SSD, all on HDD tongue.gif
kruz
post Jan 11 2016, 01:17 PM

17 posts

Hi all sifus please recommend me a few models that fit the requirements below

2. Budget: 3.5k - 4.5k
3. Usage: gaming, movies, uni work
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14" or 15" FHD
5. Others : With SSD (SSHD also acceptable), good after sales service available in Singapore, high durability, good cooling system/no overheating issue
6. Optional: backlit KB, DoS

Thank you very much in advanced!
cusx
post Jan 11 2016, 03:22 PM

585 posts

1. Preferred Brand: No Acer
2. Budget: 3 -4k
3. Usage: movies, ms office, work. Not really for gaming.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15"
5. Other preference:
a. 6th Gen Intel
b. comes with SSD
c. Good battery life.

Thank you in advance ! notworthy.gif
Nursh
post Jan 11 2016, 04:56 PM

314 posts

Is it worth to buy i7 4200 GTX970m RM5k instead of RM3.3k i5 6300HQ GTX960m?
I will not be playing games at over 1080P (won't play on external 4k monitor), most of the games i play are in ultra setting. I prefer high FPS when gaming. is the RM1.7k really worth it to upgrade the specs of the laptop? Games like GTA 5 Ass. Creed Batman Fallout ETC.
Agent5
post Jan 12 2016, 07:37 AM

89 posts

BUMP ~

Hi Sifus,

Thought of getting a laptop around 2.5k.

1. Preferred Brand: I have few in mind: Toshiba/Dell/Asus/Lenovo but with good reason I welcome all sorts of recommendations.
2. Budget: Around 2.5k. Can re-think with good reasons.
3. Usage: Surfing/Playing high def(including bluray) quality movies(sometime through extended screen)/SideUsage -> Minor gaming:Dota2/D3.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Will look at 14" first. If needed, probably 13" or 15". Full HD if possible.
5. Other preference:
a. Durability (I am stil having Toshiba = durability kinda thought, though Satelite design sucks nowaday)
b. Good/Latest spec possible on Processor/RAM/Storage (not preferred SSD, who knows when it might die on me) which may affect the response of the laptop - have to say this as right now it jerks while typing with company laptop =.= really setting me off sometime.
c. Good warranty / after sale service (thats why I have Dell in mind)
d. Back lit keyboard
e. Comes with Wins 10

Side story:
1) Helped a friend of mine on searching for 2k budget laptop and I got these:
-> Satellite L40-B202GX (PSKQEL-005001)
-> Lenovo G50-80 i5-5200U ver
-> Asus X455LF/LJ
Should be slightly better than these.

2) List so far:
-> Toshiba L50-A100 (Pro:740M/Cons:15"/Wins8/2.4kg)
-> Asus K401UB (6th Gen) (Pro:14"/1.65kg/Wins10/Cons:940M)

Thanks !
myway1985
post Jan 12 2016, 07:42 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(Nursh @ Jan 11 2016, 04:56 PM)
I will not be playing games at over 1080P (won't play on external 4k monitor), most of the games i play are in ultra setting. I prefer high FPS when gaming. is the RM1.7k really worth it to upgrade the specs of the laptop? Games like GTA 5 Ass. Creed Batman Fallout ETC.
Pls edit ur post
celdric
post Jan 12 2016, 09:07 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(Nursh @ Jan 11 2016, 04:56 PM)
Lol, you're asking for ultra yet high FPS of course GTX970M can perform better than GTX960M. Performance benchmark is more than 60%.
kabut0r0
post Jan 12 2016, 11:37 AM

Hello sifus. I need a recommendation for a good 14" laptop around RM2.5k.

2. Budget: around 2.5k
3. Usage: work, MATLAB, Dota 2 optional
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14"
5. Others : lightweight <2kg, good battery life, cool+silent, SSD optional, thin profile optional

Thanks in advance!

119 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:18 AM