Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v27, Need New Notebook? Post follow format.
Jan 3 2016, 02:28 AM
1,526 posts Joined: Jul 2015 |
Wahh no active for a few days and V27 come out liao. Congratzzz!
Jan 10 2016, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(X_F@cT0R @ Jan 10 2016, 07:53 AM) you can try take a look at Lenovo Ideapad Y700, not bad after sales service, long lasting battery that can last up to 6 hours for browsing, and has a good cooling system but i cant guarantee that 960m can be a future proof till 3 years unless it was 970m or 980m that can be future proof till 3 years Lenovo aftersales service is very bad. Not like what they used to be in the previous 2-3 years time. if u insist to have a very good after sales service, Dell Inspiron 15 7559 is the answer but bear in mind this laptop doesn't come with IPS panel. |
Jan 10 2016, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(kingsley is man @ Jan 10 2016, 02:25 PM) I am considering Acer Aspire V 15 Nitro VN7 572G 57N0 GTX950M is one of the best graphic card you can get at the 3k budget. The model is still new, hence not much review. Assuming that the review that you found is Acer Aspire V 15 Nitro VN7-572G-72L0 which comes with a i7 6500U, the model that you mention comes with a skylake i5-6200U only. Spec: Intel Core i5-6200U processor (2.3 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M Windows 10 4GB RAM 1TB HDD Battery life up to 8 hour 15.6" FHD 2.4 kg Price: RM3099 I would like to ask does this laptop best for its price? I don't found any review about this spec of model just found other same model but the spec is different than this. 4GB RAM is not gonna be enough for gaming and windows 10 imho. Upgrade the laptop to at least 8GB and you are good for gaming. |
Jan 10 2016, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(asdzxcyyy @ Jan 10 2016, 04:28 PM) Hi all, I am looking new laptop, prefer slimmer one and a SSD 250GB Dell 7559 has one empty M.2 slot. You can get a 256GB M.2 SSD for less than RM500 to fit into the 7559. 1. Preferred Brand: any 2. Budget: 4k - 5k 3. Usage: assignment like program compilation, web surfing 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15" or bigger Actually have research on Dell 7559, but it dont have SSD option, and the dell online sales agent ask me to to ask spare part unit on dell for that, and I lazy do it, anyone have try buying a dell and change to SSD without void the warranty? Another options is Illegear, either z5 or q5, prefer q5 because slimmer, but z5 is using GTX 960M 4GB , q5 using 2GB, I do some research about VRAM, usually I use my laptop as desktop which connect it to monitor, so I pick 4GB one better(z5), but z5 quite thick, 3cm, hmm... Also Asus ROG GL552VW is quite similar, but only have SSD 128GB, same with dell, don't know can change it to 250GB without void the warranty, and anyone has know the metallic cover version is available in Malaysia? Or any other recommended laptop models, thank you very much. |
Jan 10 2016, 05:59 PM
Jan 11 2016, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 10 2016, 11:22 PM) user of dell 7559 here How much was the SSD damage to you? RM500? yes from the dell website or reseller don't have ssd option, but you can add one yourself is much cheaper compare to build in, the ssd it using is m.2 sata slot, I am getting the samsung evo 850 250gb as for warranty, don't worry it won't void, same goes to add extra ram (already ask dell staff through online chat and call) yes why not, if want swipe dvd drive out, just buy a caddy case |
Jan 11 2016, 01:25 AM
Jan 11 2016, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 11 2016, 09:29 AM) Ya after install os and frequent used software left not much Not really okay. Ssd is 232gb usable, after install those software left around 180gb for me But 120gb is fine, tried install some stuff on your hdd lor But I'm putting everything into my external 1TB HDD. How I wish I can afford 512GB SSD. My photos and those Adobe software eat up so much space. Don't even have a single game in my SSD. |
Jan 17 2016, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(kyox88 @ Jan 17 2016, 09:16 AM) hi sifus please advice me Can, but the stock laptop within 2k budget doesn't come with SSD. Upgrade the SSD yourself or you can ask the dealer to upgrade that for you. This laptop costs less than RM1,800. brand: cincai Budget: below 2k Usage: work ( office, surfing net) Other preference: at least i3, SSD. good cooling system ada ka? HP 14-ac140TU 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i3-5005U, 4GB, 1TB, AMD R5 M330, W10) If you wanna ignore the SSD, you can opt for a i5 liao. Acer Aspire E5-474G-50URb 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-6200U, 4GB, 1TB, NV 920M, W10H) Asus X554LJ-XX104D 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-5200U, 4GB, 500GB, NV GT920M, NO Windows) QUOTE(xtrm_cdr @ Jan 17 2016, 01:24 PM) Hi guys i need a laptop/tablet for myself. Within your budget, not much choices. 1. Preferred Brand: any, looking for tablet type. 2. Budget: 1k 3. Usage: movies, downloads , online, edit & view office document. 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : <14", looking for tablet type. Acer One 10 S1002-17Y5 10.1" Laptop/ Notebook (Z3735F, 2GB, 32GB Storage, Intel, W10H+Office) The following is the hybrid laptop + tablet in RM1,300 range. HP Pavilion x2 Detachable 10-n118TU 10.1" Laptop/ Notebook (Z8300, 2GB, 32GB Storage, Intel, W10H) Asus Transformer Book T100HA 10.1" Laptop/ Notebook (x5-Z8500, 2GB, 64GB, Integrated, W10H) Hope this helps a bit. |
Jan 17 2016, 07:08 PM
QUOTE(ray9292 @ Jan 17 2016, 06:25 PM) Hi guys i need a budget Laptop mostly for coding like php, c# and android. 2.2k is a bit too low for a high performance laptop for photo editing and programming. 1. Preferred Brand: any brand except acer and hp 2. Budget: 2.2k 3. Usage: programming, maybe photoshop too 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : prefer larger screen and light weight and 4gb ram thanks But if really no choice, you can only get an i5 and 4gb ram laptop. 8GB ram would give a better performance in photo editing. Asus A455LF-WX063T A-Series 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-5200U, 4GB, 1TB, NV GT930M, W10H) |
Jan 17 2016, 09:59 PM
Jan 17 2016, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(ray9292 @ Jan 17 2016, 10:56 PM) i see, thanks for your advice. i wish to buy a lower budget laptop is because im still a student and due to my previous 5 yo laptop is death, now only do decent programming for my final year project. Only change to better laptop after working. 5 years? Good to hear that yo. Do you do maintenance on your laptop? Regular maintenance will definitely last your laptop longer. Totally understand that student will have hard time buying a high performance laptop. A student here too. An upgrade to 8gb ram will help you more in rendering the photos in photoshop. |
Jan 18 2016, 01:48 AM
QUOTE(iceandmilo @ Jan 17 2016, 11:08 PM) I only dota and csgo no other game, also not that frequently. IMHO, Razer blade is really is overpriced. Good battery life, any brand, at least i5? Good screen, typing experience and last above average speaker. Razer blade stealth caught my eye too wondering is that value for price or u guys have any other recommendation? Thx! You can always get a better specs with much lower price. Not really worth the price personally. If you don't have to haul your laptop to class everyday, you can consider getting the Dell Inspiron 7559. Decent battery life around 6 hours, GTX960M for ultra settings in D2 and CS:GO, speaker tuned professionally with MaxxAudio® by Waves, FHD anti-glare screen, and superb after sales service. Very gooding. QUOTE(ray9292 @ Jan 17 2016, 11:09 PM) does the previous adviced laptop is upgradable to 8gb? Regular cleaning to remove dust, defragmentation, re-paste thermal paste, and etc will definitely help to last longer. seriously, i seldom do maintenance on my laptop. I only reformatted 2-3 times for 5 years. @@ Most stock laptops come with a single ram card. There should be another empty slot for you to upgrade. Shouldn't be a problem. |
Jan 21 2016, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(lanarshad @ Jan 20 2016, 11:13 AM) Need suggestions for laptop Personally, I think that Apple macbook pro is better than the dell xps15. The screen and keyboard made the difference. The keyboard on the mac is more comfortable for the long run. Usage : Video editing, Autocad, graphics editing Considering between Apple rMBP 13 inch 256GB VS Dell XPS15 |
Jan 21 2016, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jan 21 2016, 05:31 PM) for graphical works.. mac os better lo.. but the heat issue still persist in mac till now rite...both ultrabook not suitable for intense graphic card for me.... too easy hot liao Some people still prefer to work in starbucks one. I see a lot of them editing photos and videos with mac. Macam trend liao |
Jan 21 2016, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(babienn @ Jan 21 2016, 06:44 PM) 1. Preferred Brand: Any brand. You can pretty much ignore the Lenovo Z40-75. If you have the budget, go for the Lenovo Z50-70. Higher performance in the i7 dual core will do better in CAD and engineering software. It is worth in investing on one good laptop. You can even do gaming with this laptop. The JBL speakers are powerful enough for movies. Worth to get one imho. 2. Budget: 2.2K 3. Usage: CAD, mild engineering software, web browsing. 4. Preferred laptop/screen size: No 5. Other preferences: I'm looking for something cheap yet powerful. Best bang for the buck. Right now I saw online there are a few cheap laptops that suit my requirement: HP 15-ac169TX RM1979 i5-5200U Processor 8GB DDR3L-1600 SDRAM 1TB SATA Hard Drive AMD Radeon R5 M330 2GB DDR3 15.6" diagonal HD WLED-backlit (1366 x 768) LENOVO Z40-75 RM1849 AMD QUAD CORE A10-7300 PROCESSOR 8GB DDR3 1600L MEMORY 1TB SATA 5400RPM AHRD DRIVE 2GB DDR3 AMD RADEON R6-M255DX GRAPHICS 14" FULL HD 1980X1020 LED DISPLAY LENOVO Z50-70 RM2379 (slightly overbudget) Intel 4th Generation i7-4510U 2.0GHz Turbo up to 3.1GHz, 4MB Cahce Processor 4GB DDR3 1600L Memory (2 RAM slot) 1TB SATA Hard Disk 2GB DDR3 dedicated NVIDIA GT840M graphics 15.6" FHD Slim LED 1920x1080 Display I like the Lenovo for its FHD display, but I prefer the i5-5200 than the APU. Anyone got better options for me? Happy hunting! |
Jan 23 2016, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Jan 22 2016, 04:26 PM) Hi, I am getting a new laptop. i hope u could recommend a few laptops to consider. I don't need super hi-performance and fancy laptop. Was considering Lenovo Z5070, but can't find them in lowyat plaza. Hello there! If you about to use that laptop to play D2 and older version of GTA, then a normal dedicated GPU will suffice. If you are going to play GTA V with it, you will definitely need a better GPU for it. But if you don't mind playing it in a low settings, then you can consider laptops with GT940M/GT840M. If you wish to go slightly better in term of graphic performance, consider a laptop with GTX card. I will still recommend Dell Inspiron 7447 since that model used to be extremely hot in the market 3-4 months ago before the Skylake release. The GTX850M and also the Dell superB quality build/after sales service makes this model ahead of the other similar specs laptops in the market. But might a bit hard to get this laptop anymore, since lack of stock.1. Preferred Brand:Any brand. 2. Budget: 3K MAX... 3. Usage: Massive downloading, watching movies and play game like dota 2, GTA 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14 or larger.. 5. Personal preference: Good screen, lightweight and won't overheat. Thanks. GT940M laptops below 3k. Asus A555LB-XX410T A-Series 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i7-5500U, 4GB, 1TB, NV GT940, W10H) HP Pavilion 14-ab123TX Laptop/ Notebook (i5-6200U, 4GB, 1TB, NV 940M, W10H) GTX cards laptop around 3k. Dell Inspiron 14 7447-21454G-W8 Laptop/ Notebook (i5-4210H, 4GB, 500GB, NV GTX850M, W8.1) Acer Aspire V Nitro VN7-572G-57N0 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-6200U, 4GB, 1TB HDD, NV GTX950M, W10H) Hope this helps a bit. |
Jan 24 2016, 01:16 AM
QUOTE(HayateAyakasi8 @ Jan 23 2016, 07:12 PM) You can get a laptop with GTX970M with that budget. Go for Illegear. This model comes with no OS, but you can get the genuine key of Windows 10 Home for less than RM100 in the garage sales. Gooding yo! ILLEGEAR S7 17.3" Full HD Laptop/ Notebook (i7-6700HQ, 8GB, 1TB, NV GTX970M, NoWindows) RM6.3k/- QUOTE(alcatrez @ Jan 23 2016, 10:46 PM) 1. Preferred Brand:Any brand. 1k budget with i5 and lightweight can only be available in refurbished laptops. If the budget is a constraint, Lazada is a good choice. If it is not, better avoid buying IT gadgets from Lazada, you will have problems claiming the warranty service if the product really costs problems to you. 2. Budget: 1K 3. Usage: Work. Handling large volume of data on excel and for mobile purposes 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 13.3 or smaller.. 5. Personal preference: Good screen, lightweight. i5 and more than 4 hours battery life. I was thinking of LAzada refurbished laptops. Any opinions? |
Jan 24 2016, 01:19 AM
QUOTE(Strik37 @ Jan 23 2016, 10:58 PM) Hi guys, looking for recommendation for a budget but reliable enough laptop for work. If you want a laptop that is equipped with a FHD panel screen, then you need at least RM2.5k. Preferably to have the following criteria: 1. Preferred Brand: Any brand but Acer. 2. Budget: Preferable below 2k. Somewhere between 1.5K would also be nice. 3. Usage: Browsing webpages and streaming from sites like Youtube. Spreadsheet work and other office applications. 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : At least 14 inch or larger. 5. Personal preference: Don't care about gaming much, as long as it's able to stream and playback HD or full HD video smoothly. The following models price are around RM1.7k. Both comes with HD screen and it should work good for your job HP 14-ac140TU 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i3-5005U, 4GB, 1TB, AMD R5 M330, W10) Asus X455LJ-WX319T X-Series 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i3-5010U, 4GB, 500GB, NV GT920M, W10H) |
Jan 26 2016, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(Shiokz @ Jan 25 2016, 09:48 PM) Dear Sifus, XPS13. Super gooding! Thank you for sharing your time & expertise here, it is really helpful for noobs like me to make better and more informed choice I originally thought to get Illegear Z5 due to its relative value and positive reviews, however after further consideration i realize i probably won't be a heavy gamer, combined with the windows o/s purchase costs, the total costs became much higher than anticpated. Recently the PORTABILITY of ultrabooks seem quite appealing to me while seemingly capable machines in their own right ASUS Zenbook (high value for it's cost) HP Spectre (the brown and champagne one just looks sexy) DELL XPS13 (good reviews for windows ultrabook) I'm still open to getting a laptop with larger screen instead of an ultrabook and my intended needs are as follows: USAGE Primarily Office Work with many tabs open, video streaming and it would be a nice bonus play the occasional casual DOTA2 (Max settings not a must) It has to serve as my personal media hub, connecting multiple bluetooth devices and other hardware such as bluetooth headphones, monitor screens, speakers, keyboard and mouse, therefore the ability to control and switch between my devices is important (a good docking solution would be an option, the Dell Thunderbolt supported XPS seemed interesting) Keyboard and Trackpad SCREEN High quality screen, 4k not really a must (unless it's highly advisable to get it) Preferably Anti-Glare and Matte Touch screen is nice bonus but not a must CPU Probably looking for at least an i5, but willing to consider the lower powered M-Chips RAM At least 8 GB GPU Dedicated GPU would be nice PORTS Ideally more than 2 USB ports and good built-in bluetooth HDD 250 GB m2 SSD 500 GB SATA (not a must) LOOKS & FEEL Either sleek and subtlly sexy or more personality I don't quite like the Lenovo Thinkpad look BUDGET 5 - 6k and if interest free installment plan is attractive, can go abit more O/S must be included preferably with MS office as part of the deal If include good, capable Docking Solutions even better, can consider increasing the budget O |
| Change to: | 0.0250sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:33 AM |