Insurance Talk V3, Anything and everything about insurance

BuddyALSJ
post Apr 26 2016, 09:12 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Apr 25 2016, 08:17 PM)
How is that superior to RM1.5 million annual limit, every single year with no lifetime limits, no-coinsurance?
Good question. There's no best medical card or best plan for someone.
So long your liking favors how the insurance company packages their plan.

Some would love an annual limit of RM1.5million from XYZ company.
Some would prefer ABC company even if it's RM2million lifetime limit.

On a personal level, what is your opinion on someone undergoing treatments that would cost nearly RM1million?
lifebalance
post Apr 26 2016, 09:35 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(BuddyALSJ @ Apr 26 2016, 09:12 AM)
Good question. There's no best medical card or best plan for someone.
So long your liking favors how the insurance company packages their plan.

Some would love an annual limit of RM1.5million from XYZ company.
Some would prefer ABC company even if it's RM2million lifetime limit.

On a personal level, what is your opinion on someone undergoing treatments that would cost nearly RM1million?
laugh.gif since you said like this, why share "P" medical card only ?

The reason for a high annual limit now is so that the medical card will be able to handle the inflating medical cost in the future. The treatment at current time might not exceed RM1 mil. But in the next 30 - 40 years, maybe.

The insurance company are giving a good benefit right now in terms of giving such a high limit. Yet consumers complain why so high. Whereas, previously, it's just up to RM200k annual limit, they keep asking why so low.

There is no perfect line to please everyone as consumers will continue to want the best product in the market.

So instead of "best medical card", get the 1 that fits your budget instead.
5p3ak
post Apr 26 2016, 09:51 AM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

Quick question usually when signing up for insurance will there be a client's copy of what he/she has signed? unsure.gif

Also does insurance cover treatment in other countries?
spreeeee
post Apr 26 2016, 10:07 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

any existing old aia agent can advise and summarize this please? it is an old policy since year 1994. payment semi-annual rm400.00, i.e. per year rm800.

This post has been edited by spreeeee: Apr 26 2016, 10:08 AM
BuddyALSJ
post Apr 26 2016, 10:11 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Apr 26 2016, 09:35 AM)
laugh.gif since you said like this, why share "P" medical card only ?

The reason for a high annual limit now is so that the medical card will be able to handle the inflating medical cost in the future. The treatment at current time might not exceed RM1 mil. But in the next 30 - 40 years, maybe.

The insurance company are giving a good benefit right now in terms of giving such a high limit. Yet consumers complain why so high. Whereas, previously, it's just up to RM200k annual limit, they keep asking why so low.

There is no perfect line to please everyone as consumers will continue to want the best product in the market.

So instead of "best medical card", get the 1 that fits your budget instead.
Ohh jeez. I didn't know that post would make you guys feel so intimidated.
I’m just merely sharing a medical card that I’m familiar with. sweat.gif

So, I'd like to ask you to suggest me a new medical card in the market..

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Apr 25 2016, 08:17 PM)
How is that superior to RM1.5 million annual limit, every single year with no lifetime limits, no-coinsurance?
Now I get your question lol
But seriously, you guys gotta calm down tho sweat.gif

JIUHWEI
post Apr 26 2016, 10:22 AM

1,322 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Apr 26 2016, 09:51 AM)
Quick question usually when signing up for insurance will there be a client's copy of what he/she has signed? unsure.gif

Yes there is.
The entire application form will be printed in your policy booklet, just like how our signatures are on each and every S&P document. If you don't know where it is, come to my office, I'll show you exactly where it is.

Yes insurance does cover treatment in other countries BUT it is up to the reasonable and customary charges in Malaysia.

lifebalance
post Apr 26 2016, 11:13 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Apr 26 2016, 09:51 AM)

Your policy book is the receipt, meaning 2 weeks later after you sign up, the agent will deliver you the policy.

Insurance will cover treatment done in other countries depending on your insurance package.

Some insurance policy you have to pay first and claim later.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Apr 26 2016, 11:14 AM
lifebalance
post Apr 26 2016, 11:15 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Apr 26 2016, 10:07 AM)
any existing old aia agent can advise and summarize this please? it is an old policy since year 1994. payment semi-annual rm400.00, i.e. per year rm800.

I don't think I can advise you on this without reading the policy book as I wasn't an agent back in 1994. Will be good to meet up and read that book for you.
lifebalance
post Apr 26 2016, 11:17 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(BuddyALSJ @ Apr 26 2016, 10:11 AM)
Ohh jeez. I didn't know that post would make you guys feel so intimidated.
I’m just merely sharing a medical card that I’m familiar with.  sweat.gif

So, I'd like to ask you to suggest me a new medical card in the market..
Now I get your question lol
But seriously, you guys gotta calm down tho  sweat.gif
biggrin.gif was calm then and still calm right now.
BuddyALSJ
post Apr 26 2016, 11:53 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Apr 26 2016, 11:17 AM)
biggrin.gif was calm then and still calm right now.
Haha! blush.gif
Could you also share a new medical card that in the market
lifebalance
post Apr 26 2016, 11:58 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(BuddyALSJ @ Apr 26 2016, 11:53 AM)
Haha!  blush.gif
Could you also share a new medical card that in the market
sorry le I'm not into product selling. I'm more of a consultant. You should ask those that like to compare the products but end of the day become undecided.
Ryannate
post Apr 26 2016, 12:03 PM

157 posts

Medical card are suggested for severe sickness...I would think main cater for cancer treatment as 2016 in can easily go up to 500k.

When choosing a medical plan, do not think of how much you can pay monthly but what's the most expensive sickness cost.

Every 4 to 5 years review your medical protection, for standalone is easy and for ILP you need to keep add rider.

Nowadays more and more people is getting no annual limits. As annual limits is more important than lifetime limits.

Example..when you dine in a restaurant, bill comes and cost 700 but you noticed inside your wallet only have cash 300 even though your bank acc got 10k.

Try substitute,
bill cost = hospital bill
Cash in wallet = annual limit
Bank acc = lifetime limit.

Never think of lifetime limits when admitted to hospital. Do not think of going government hospital if you got medical protection. What's the point having medical protection but still go GH? If your r&b not enough to admit to private hospital, then why do you still buying it?

Most insurance from Malaysia can use it in oversea providing,
1. Less than 90 days
2. Malaysia doesn't have specialist or facilities
3. Emergency treatment.

When talking about above, then most of insurance company will have a limit. Some are rm 50k, some usd1mil per case.

This post has been edited by Ryannate: Apr 26 2016, 12:04 PM
BuddyALSJ
post Apr 26 2016, 01:20 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Apr 26 2016, 11:58 AM)
sorry le I'm not into product selling. I'm more of a consultant. You should ask those that like to compare the products but end of the day become undecided.
Yeah, people want to know what new medical cards are out there ma.
You dont have any idea meh?

QUOTE(Ryannate @ Apr 26 2016, 12:03 PM)
Medical card are suggested for severe sickness...I would think main cater for cancer treatment as 2016 in can easily go up to 500k.

When choosing a medical plan, do not think of how much you can pay monthly but what's the most expensive sickness cost.

Every 4 to 5 years review your medical protection, for standalone is easy and for ILP you need to keep add rider.

Nowadays more and more people is getting no annual limits. As annual limits is more important than lifetime limits.

Example..when you dine in a restaurant, bill comes and cost 700 but you noticed inside your wallet only have cash 300 even though your bank acc got 10k.

Try substitute,

Never think of lifetime limits when admitted to hospital. Do not think of going government hospital if you got medical protection. What's the point having medical protection but still go GH? If your r&b not enough to admit to private hospital, then why do you still buying it?

1. Less than 90 days
3. Emergency treatment.

When talking about above, then most of insurance company will have a limit. Some are rm 50k, some usd1mil per case.
Good share.
cherroy
post Apr 26 2016, 01:24 PM

25,802 posts

It is like telling people go to restaurant, do not see the menu price, just order the best food and don't worry about the bill. rclxms.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 26 2016, 01:45 PM

11,554 posts

Try substitute,

1. Less than 90 days
3. Emergency treatment.

When the medical cases that goes out of hand in private hospital, the patient will still being sent to government hospital.
If a policy needs to be reviewed or renew once every few years, this means we are not properly being protected or the right phrase to be used is : what we pay is not what we get.
Ryannate
post Apr 26 2016, 01:59 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 26 2016, 01:45 PM)
When the medical cases that goes out of hand in private hospital, the patient will still being sent to government hospital.
If a policy needs to be reviewed or renew once every few years, this means we are not properly being protected or the right phrase to be used is : what we pay is not what we get.
Major reason sent back to GH is no money to stay private. Private hospital are more advance now but luckily Malaysia government impose certain rules that specialist Doctor must serve in GH in order to obtain their license.

Nothing related to not properly protected but technology getting advance and need to replace time to time, Doctor studies more expensive, facilities are better, inflation, rigging weak and etc..

No idea of what you pay is not what you get.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 26 2016, 02:18 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Ryannate @ Apr 26 2016, 01:59 PM)
Major reason sent back to GH is no money to stay private. Private hospital are more advance now but luckily Malaysia government impose certain rules that specialist Doctor must serve in GH in order to obtain their license.

Nothing related to not properly protected but technology getting advance and need to replace time to time, Doctor studies more expensive, facilities are better, inflation, rigging weak and etc..

No idea of what you pay is not what you get.
Well, before my case happened, I do believe private hospital gives better service, but when things gets dirty, nope, GH still the only way I have to go.
I still remember when I lost my first son, the O&G doctor in private hospital do have very advance equipment, 4D ultrasonic scan, wow we was very happy to see the photos. But that doctor never do basic important checks and this lead to complications and 1 life are gone. Medical card? We have, but the ambulance fee we cannot claim and I have to settle it before my wife can be sent to GH.
As for what you pay is not what you get, it is we are paying premium, but at the end,certain claims we cannot claim, as it falls under their general term on the exclusion.
Ryannate
post Apr 26 2016, 02:31 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 26 2016, 02:18 PM)
Well, before my case happened, I do believe private hospital gives better service, but when things gets dirty, nope, GH still the only way I have to go.
I still remember when I lost my first son, the O&G doctor in private hospital do have very advance equipment, 4D ultrasonic scan, wow we was very happy to see the photos. But that doctor never do basic important checks and this lead to complications and 1 life are gone. Medical card? We have, but the ambulance fee we cannot claim and I have to settle it before my wife can be sent to GH.
As for what you pay is not what you get, it is we are paying premium, but at the end,certain claims we cannot claim, as it falls under their general term on the exclusion.
That's hit you really bad. I can understand what you been through is really sour. Most things happened because of human errors or carelessness.

ambulance fee should be covered by most medical protection except of inter hospital hopping. there are very few that provide inter hospital transfer if that hospital no required facilities or Doctor.

I would say your cases coincidently human errors.
kokkit3
post Apr 26 2016, 04:43 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(sohwenwen @ Apr 20 2016, 12:57 AM)
Need some advice,

1. Me, a 19 y/o student, if I want to be protected, what should i buy? accident insurance, saving plan, or medical card?

Please explain to me the main difference between each of them, and the price range.

2. I am thinking that i should get medical card to cover medical expense if any, while the other plans are perhaps better for me to sign up later when I am more capable of. Is it right? Hope someone can enlighten me with any idea.

3. My mom bought an insurance for me but only for accident, 100k if death, seems pretty useless to me because if i die or forever be cripple, the 100k won't be mine to use anyway. Is there a better plan to cover sickness and accident together?

Thanks!
Dear,

1. At such a young age its good to start early. There are plans that covers the above mention in one plan. Accident, savings, medical.

Accident - Only able to claim when meet in an accident, known as Personal Accident (PA)
Saving plan - An invest link saving plan where part of the premium paid is to purchase investment funds, thus you will have return from the investment.
Medical card - Able to claim for health service example hospitalization charges.

2. Medical card is yearly it does matter if you say the sentence "When i am more capable" It is the basic coverage for insurance. You can take up a plan with medical and savings.

3. Yes you are right, accident is useless for other sickness like dreaded diseases.

Welcome!
zest168
post Apr 26 2016, 04:58 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 26 2016, 02:18 PM)
I am sorry to hear of your loss. However, I could see that you are getting very much educated on life and medical insurance. That's good as consumer we need to know what we are buying and do our homework.

Recently on one of the morning I heard an interview over BFM, try to search their potcast if you want to listen. They are saying that many senior and experience doctors and surgeons are moving to private practice for obvious reasons. No doubt GH may be good, but it will be long queue and some illness cannot wait.

So really get yourself and your loved ones protected.

128 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:50 PM