128 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V3, Anything and everything about insurance

lifebalance
post Apr 24 2016, 04:06 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(kyone @ Apr 24 2016, 04:01 PM)
For those who works in sg and have company's medical card, buy insurance in msia / sg, which is better
Depends on how frequent you are in SG

Whether in the long run you'll be staying in Singapore more or Malaysia.

Then decide to take the policy in that country
lifebalance
post Apr 24 2016, 04:08 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 24 2016, 04:05 PM)
It can turn out to be a misleading statement.

You cannot claim double for medical card.
You claim either one, and only from 2, if one of them is insufficient.
Yeap thanks for adding on the statement that one card must have insufficient amount then only you can claim balance from the other cars

E.g 100k claim

Company medical card limit 30k. Personal card 100k

Claim 30k on company first, then the balance 70k pay first and file a claim under personal card.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Apr 24 2016, 04:08 PM
thefryingfox
post Apr 24 2016, 04:09 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

i plan to take great eastern insurance....
lifebalance
post Apr 24 2016, 04:11 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Apr 24 2016, 04:09 PM)
i plan to take great eastern insurance....
biggrin.gif ok, why not go engage an agent then
ExpZero
post Apr 24 2016, 05:28 PM

1,522 posts

For those who works in sg and have company's medical card, buy insurance in msia / sg, which is better
Usually personal medical card are covering for serious illness like cancer, heart attack etc. For not-so-serious illnesses like dengue, minor accident etc, you might be well covered from your company card(Check with your HR).

If that's the case, you might as well ask yourself if and only if there is some serious illnesses, will you rather to get treated in Singapore or Malaysia? Since you might not be living there while recovering, would it be a burden to do post-hospitalization in Singapore? Would it be burden for your family member to travel to Singapore to take care of you?

If you are living in Johore and you think it's not a big problem or if there is serious illness and you think you will still can continue rent and live in Singapore to get treated, I'd advise you to get Singapore medical card nod.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 24 2016, 06:43 PM

11,554 posts

Basically you need to check the medical treatment policy in that country and your citizenship status in that country.
Next have to see the medical benefit on the company you work.
Like now GH in Malaysia are charging extra when foreigner seeking treatment.
SUSMNet
post Apr 24 2016, 07:19 PM

11,954 posts

Any new medical card plan in market?
I'm exploring on this.
flintbatu
post Apr 24 2016, 07:43 PM

29 posts

Hi everyone,

Need some clarifications on deductible. I'm having a medical card with a 50k annual limit. Would like to buy a second MC from AXA SmartOptimum plan with a 20k deductible as it offers a 50% discount on premium. Not sure about how it works? Based on the following scenario, per calendar year

Hospitalization 1 used RM10k
Hospitalisation 2 used RM15k

Can I claim for the 5k which is above the deductible (if I don't choose to utilize my first Medical Card). Secondly any subsequent hospitalization, can I claim from the AXA?

For the outpatient kidney dialysis or cancer treatment, does it also subject to the 20k deductible too.

Thank you in advance all sifus.

lifebalance
post Apr 24 2016, 08:05 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(flintbatu @ Apr 24 2016, 07:43 PM)
Hi everyone,

Need some clarifications on deductible. I'm having a medical card with a 50k annual limit. Would like to buy a second MC from AXA SmartOptimum plan with a 20k deductible as it offers a 50% discount on premium. Not sure about how it works? Based on the following scenario, per calendar year

Can I claim for the 5k which is above the deductible (if I don't choose to utilize my first Medical Card). Secondly any subsequent hospitalization, can I claim from the AXA?

For the outpatient kidney dialysis or cancer treatment, does it also subject to the 20k deductible too.

You can only claim from 1 medical card at any point of time, you can't separate medical bill. You can only claim from the 2nd medical card should you reach above the annual limit.

In this case,

You will have to claim from the 50k medical card limit first for the 1st and 2nd hospitalization, as your per hospitalization each doesn't exceed the 50k limit, you can't utilize the 2nd card which has 20k deductible

e.g
50k limit, you've used up 30k previously for claim purpose, now another surgery cost 35k, you can claim the 20k left from your first medical card then the 15k from the 2nd card.

However if your limit on the first card is left 15k, same scenario, you can claim the remaining 15k limit, pay 5k from your own pocket, and then balance 15k claim on the 2nd card. As your 2nd card requires at least 20k to be paid as deductible first.
flintbatu
post Apr 24 2016, 08:30 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Apr 24 2016, 08:05 PM)
You can only claim from 1 medical card at any point of time, you can't separate medical bill. You can only claim from the 2nd medical card should you reach above the annual limit.

In this case,

You will have to claim from the 50k medical card limit first for the 1st and 2nd hospitalization, as your per hospitalization each doesn't exceed the 50k limit, you can't utilize the 2nd card which has 20k deductible

e.g
50k limit, you've used up 30k previously for claim purpose, now another surgery cost 35k, you can claim the 20k left from your first medical card then the 15k from the 2nd card.

However if your limit on the first card is left 15k, same scenario, you can claim the remaining 15k limit, pay 5k from your own pocket, and then balance 15k claim on the 2nd card. As your 2nd card requires at least 20k to be paid as deductible first.
Thank you so much to Keith for the kind explanation. Really appreciate it.

It seems that 'deductible' has also its limitations too. How can I enhance my protection as I'm really worry that my annual limit is on the lower side given the rising cost of health care. I'm currently 47 with a toddler and a wife as dependants.

Life coverage is only RM80k currently with lifetime limit of 1 million and coinsurance of RM300. Any suggestion would really be appreciated.

Thank you everyone!
lifebalance
post Apr 24 2016, 08:31 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(flintbatu @ Apr 24 2016, 08:30 PM)
Thank you so much to Keith for the kind explanation. Really appreciate it.

It seems that 'deductible' has also its limitations too. How can I enhance my protection as I'm really worry that my annual limit is on the lower side given the rising cost of health care. I'm currently 47 with a toddler and a wife as dependants.

Life coverage is only RM80k currently with lifetime limit of 1 million and coinsurance of RM300. Any suggestion would really be appreciated.

Thank you everyone!
I can help to perform a policy review and see how you can go about it.
almeizer
post Apr 24 2016, 08:36 PM

941 posts

Advisable to buy both Msia and SG. Company medical card coverage is limited and once your employment is ended then that's it.

Get the sufficient medical plan in SG (MediShield). In Msia get the minimal plan so you are covered from the beginning, later you can upgrade it when you plan to go back Msia. If you are not covered since beginning and touch wood diagnose with any illness, then it's hard for you to buy again in Msia.
sinned.dennis
post Apr 25 2016, 03:09 AM

20 posts

Hey all. I'm new to insurance and would like to look for a plan that leans more on Critical Illness/Disability coverage and Medical. Tried looking around the web but couldn't find any website that would show side by side comparisons with premiums calculated. Do you have any recommendations?
lifebalance
post Apr 25 2016, 07:43 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(sinned.dennis @ Apr 25 2016, 03:09 AM)
Hey all. I'm new to insurance and would like to look for a plan that leans more on Critical Illness/Disability coverage and Medical. Tried looking around the web but couldn't find any website that would show side by side comparisons with premiums calculated. Do you have any recommendations?
Hi

Premium is very subjective. The lower your premium goes there will be a drawback in how long ur policy will last especially if it's an investment link policy.

Of course I can guide you through by doing a financial health check to see how much you need to cover
JIUHWEI
post Apr 25 2016, 10:01 AM

1,325 posts

The rates are all very compatible across the board.
You won't get any real difference unless you manage to find an agent with just "cheap" as their only selling point.

Local cars are cheap.
Japanese cars pricier but offers more performance, better safety features, better durability.
Continental cars offer luxury, prestige, very expensive to buy, very expensive problems too.

But everybody who can afford is rushing to buy a continental car.
Everybody who can't afford a continental car prefers a Japanese car.
Everybody who bought local cars basically regret buying a local car.

With that said, your insurance needs should be planned around your lifestyle, common ailments within the family, affordability, your own personal goals, and what you want for your spouse and kids, and definitely your affordability.

If cheap things like a car already no good, in the industry based on numbers, the numbers do not run.

This post has been edited by JIUHWEI: Apr 25 2016, 10:08 AM
JIUHWEI
post Apr 25 2016, 12:00 PM

1,325 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 24 2016, 04:05 PM)
It can turn out to be a misleading statement.

You cannot claim double for medical card.
You claim either one, and only from 2, if one of them is insufficient.
Clear description:

Company medical card covers up till 20,000/yr.

Personal medical card covers up till 1mil/year.

Should your bill come up to be 50,000, here is the scenario:

Company card settle 20k.
Balance 30k you can pay in advance with your personal medical card.
The receipt will state: medical card settled 20k, balance 30k charged to credit card.

Take the receipt and itemized bill lah, medical report lah, etc, to claim from your personal medical card.
ExpZero
post Apr 25 2016, 01:46 PM

1,522 posts

Hi everyone,

By right it can be done as per what you wish, however, your existing medical which is having annual limit 50k will straight away pay the total RM15k bill.

Yes, for kidney dialysis and cancer treatment, it do subject to 20k deductible as well.

Why don't you consider to upgrade the whole medical card to high annual limit?
TSroystevenung
post Apr 25 2016, 02:00 PM

2,173 posts

Hi everyone,

No, the Rm5k is not claimable even though you have 10 cards as the deductible amount has not been reached.

Secondly most deductible has this statement "per the same disability per specific period.eg 90days".

Unless your above scenario is of the same disability, then its not claimable.

For outpatient cancer, ipf the deductible is applied, then yes you need to pay for the first Rm20k

BuddyALSJ
post Apr 25 2016, 02:40 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 24 2016, 07:19 PM)
Any new medical card plan in market?
I'm exploring on this.
There would be others out there.
Let me share with you this; PRUvalue med
Company will fully pay the total cost of the chosen benefit with flexible options of open pool of RM1 million, RM1.5 million or RM2,000,000 with no annual limits whatsoever. And even after that, company still pays 80% of your bill.

Recommendations usually start off from where you're supposed to be covered based on your financial status.
And, most importantly.. the monthly commitment that you are comfortable to put aside.
JIUHWEI
post Apr 25 2016, 08:17 PM

1,325 posts

QUOTE(BuddyALSJ @ Apr 25 2016, 02:40 PM)
There would be others out there.
Let me share with you this; PRUvalue med
Company will fully pay the total cost of the chosen benefit with flexible options of open pool of RM1 million, RM1.5 million or RM2,000,000 with no annual limits whatsoever. And even after that, company still pays 80% of your bill.
Recommendations usually start off from where you're supposed to be covered based on your financial status.
And, most importantly.. the monthly commitment that you are comfortable to put aside.
How is that superior to RM1.5 million annual limit, every single year with no lifetime limits, no-coinsurance?

128 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:35 AM