127 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

sunauto
post May 8 2007, 02:06 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Very true, the 1080p hype is nothing but a marketing gimmick, hardly noticeable for 40 inches and below. I guess the most important thing is the overall PQ, how well it accepts SD signals and the accuracy of the colours displayed. These three criteria will be more important in choosy your ideal HDTV panel.

For those who bought a Sony Bravia X or Samsung M8 , they will be disappointed to know that your set is not future ready as the 1080p signal is divided to 1080p 24fps or 60fps so the latest models due out end of this year, will support 1080p 24fps so imagine if you got a full HD set now, you'll be disappointed to know you have wasted RM15,000 on something which isn't future ready, no doubt Blu-Ray or HD-DVD players can output at 1080p 60fps but the actual movie is encoded at 1080p 24fps. When all players can output at 1080p 24fps, you'll be sitting there crying that your panel is unable to do it. It doesn't affect others owning a normal 1366 x 768 HDTV panel as the panel's native resolution is just 720p so setting anything above 720p will not see any dramatic differences.

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 7 2007, 10:25 PM)
Yup... its new gimmicks that make people think there is such improvement but basically they pay for other things instead. Like what you said... Contrast and brightness.

In terms of pixels, I don't think you can tell the difference.
TStimothyy
post May 8 2007, 09:11 AM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ May 8 2007, 02:06 AM)
Very true, the 1080p hype is nothing but a marketing gimmick, hardly noticeable for 40 inches and below. I guess the most important thing is the overall PQ, how well it accepts SD signals and the accuracy of the colours displayed. These three criteria will be more important in choosy your ideal HDTV panel.

For those who bought a Sony Bravia X or Samsung M8 , they will be disappointed to know that your set is not future ready as the 1080p signal is divided to 1080p 24fps or 60fps so the latest models due out end of this year, will support 1080p 24fps so imagine if you got a full HD set now, you'll be disappointed to know you have wasted RM15,000 on something which isn't future ready, no doubt Blu-Ray or HD-DVD players can output at 1080p 60fps but the actual movie is encoded at 1080p 24fps. When all players can output at 1080p 24fps, you'll be sitting there crying that your panel is unable to do it. It doesn't affect others owning a normal 1366 x 768 HDTV panel as the panel's native resolution is just 720p so setting anything above 720p will not see any dramatic differences.
Wowl... I didn't know about the 24fps thingy. Well, I guess at points, Malaysians are rich and easily becoming a water fish... if you know what I mean.
Even in this forum, its only a fraction of the population that is keen on knowing what they are buying. The rest just leave to their pocket to do the search.

htkaki
post May 8 2007, 09:17 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I am not too sure about others. But, I do like the Pioneer plasma. Its PQ is very good even on Astro's signal. However, the price is just too out of reach at about RM14K for a 42", which I can buy 2 42" LCD tvs
saiga
post May 8 2007, 11:32 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

need advice here.

Now i connect my astro box to my digital av receiver (panasonic xr700) using composite and then connect it to my tv also using composite (my tv dun have s-video connection).Can i change the connection from astro to amp using s-video and then from amp to tv using hdmi?The manual stated to use the same connection if using the amp as 'bridge' hmm.gif . If can is there any improvement to the picture quality?

htkaki
post May 9 2007, 03:15 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

unless, ur amp can to 'upconversion' or 'upscaling', then you can connect it in tis way.
htkaki
post May 9 2007, 03:41 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Another thing is that I wonder whether how many of them actaully know what is 1080p and 1080i at the first place when buying the unit.
murphyslaw
post May 9 2007, 07:42 PM

65 posts

What happens to the picture if feeding BD or HDDVD to 1080p 60 fps set? Any bad effects?

And the difference to 24fps set?

QUOTE(sunauto @ May 8 2007, 02:06 AM)
TStimothyy
post May 10 2007, 09:15 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 9 2007, 03:41 PM)
Another thing is that I wonder whether how many of them actaully know what is 1080p and 1080i at the first place when buying the unit.
Many of them don't even know what is 480 or 720 or 1080, i or P...
They just buy the most expensive one and assume they got the best.

For example... how many ppl know Sharp got one of the best LCDs in the market?

If we go and do a survey, I'd say most people will choose Sony or Samsung as they do the most advertisement.

saiga
post May 10 2007, 10:57 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 10 2007, 09:15 PM)

If we go and do a survey, I'd say most people will choose Sony or Samsung as they do the most advertisement.
Agreed. That's why i let my eyes do the job and finally get the sharp tongue.gif
sunauto
post May 11 2007, 01:37 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 9 2007, 03:41 PM)
Well, most people will notice that the set is HDTV ready and that's good enough for them. sweat.gif

QUOTE(murphyslaw @ May 9 2007, 07:42 PM)
What happens to the picture if feeding BD or HDDVD to 1080p 60 fps set? Any bad effects?

And the difference to 24fps set?
All HD movies are shot in 1080p 24 fps per second so if your player or HDTV set only accepts 1080p 60 fps, it has to perform a process known as 3:2 pull-down (or reverse 2:3 pull-down) so that the movie runs at 1080p 24 fps. This process will often result in motion judder in fast movie or sport scenes, like not smooth and laggy. This do happen to normal dvds running in progressive scan mode on a cheap dvd player with an inferior deinterlacing chip. For HD movies, if you can get the player to output at 1080p 24 fps and with your display capable of accepting 1080p 24 fps, no pull-down process will be involved so you'll be getting a much clear and smoother picture. Currently, most blu-ray and hd-dvd players output at 1080p 60fps except for Pioneer's blu-ray player, it is capable to output at 1080p 24 fps but that baby costs a bomb. For the PS3, XBOX 360, high end pcs with HDMI output, they can output at 1080p 60fps because most games are running at 60fps so no pull-down conversation is needed, except for movies.

Currently, getting a display capable of doing 1080p is not future ready yet until they're able to do accept 1080p 24 fps and also 100% HDMI v1.3 compliant, able to output in 36-bit colour (currently not possible with LCD tvs). Hopefully, that's about it for the HD format as there might be other newer things that might pop up in a year or two but I can prefer much say that we're safer to watch our dvd movies on an upscale dvd player, at least the dvd technology has matured and there won't be anymore addition changes to it for good.

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 10 2007, 09:15 PM)

To most people, expensive means better so if Proton Perdana is more expensive than Toyota Vios, that means a Perdana is better. sweat.gif That's why there are a lot of waterfish out there, people lack the product knowledge, they can't simply buy something based on the price tag, brand or those marketing gimmicks / hype. That's a big no no when shopping for the stuff that you want.
TStimothyy
post May 11 2007, 01:50 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ May 11 2007, 01:37 AM)
Well, most people will notice that the set is HDTV ready and that's good enough for them.  sweat.gif
All HD movies are shot in 1080p 24 fps per second so if your player or HDTV set only accepts 1080p 60 fps, it has to perform a process known as 3:2 pull-down (or reverse 2:3 pull-down) so that the movie runs at 1080p 24 fps. This process will often result in motion judder in fast movie or sport scenes, like not smooth and laggy. This do happen to normal dvds running in progressive scan mode on a cheap dvd player with an inferior deinterlacing chip. For HD movies, if you can get the player to output at 1080p 24 fps and with your display capable of accepting 1080p 24 fps, no pull-down process will be involved so you'll be getting a much clear and smoother picture. Currently, most blu-ray and hd-dvd players output at 1080p 60fps except for Pioneer's blu-ray player, it is capable to output at 1080p 24 fps but that baby costs a bomb. For the PS3, XBOX 360, high end pcs with HDMI output, they can output at 1080p 60fps because most games are running at 60fps so no pull-down conversation is needed, except for movies.

Currently, getting a display capable of doing 1080p is not future ready yet until they're able to do accept 1080p 24 fps and also 100% HDMI v1.3 compliant, able to output in 36-bit colour (currently not possible with LCD tvs). Hopefully, that's about it for the HD format as there might be other newer things that might pop up in a year or two but I can prefer much say that we're safer to watch our dvd movies on an upscale dvd player, at least the dvd technology has matured and there won't be anymore addition changes to it for good.
To most people, expensive means better so if Proton Perdana is more expensive than Toyota Vios, that means a Perdana is better.  sweat.gif  That's why there are a lot of waterfish out there, people lack the product knowledge, they can't simply buy something based on the price tag, brand or those marketing gimmicks / hype. That's a big no no when shopping for the stuff that you want.
Nice explaination there bro. Now I know why the screen is jittery when it moves. When I was in ESH electrical shop few months back, one of the salesman was promoting a Philips model that can produce a smooth screen. He played the same movie on 4 LCDs at the same time tested it in front of us. And yeah... it was smooth compared to others.
sunauto
post May 11 2007, 02:02 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 11 2007, 01:50 AM)
Nice explaination there bro. Now I know why the screen is jittery when it moves. When I was in ESH electrical shop few months back, one of the salesman was promoting a Philips model that can produce a smooth screen. He played the same movie on 4 LCDs at the same time tested it in front of us. And yeah... it was smooth compared to others.
When the movie is not smooth, then it's time to troubleshoot, is it the player's fault or the display's fault or both. It's like using our Sony 76H, on certain LCD tvs, when you output in 1080i, the picture is fuzzy and jerky but when you drop to 720p, the movie comes alive at this resolution. Sometimes, you need to tweak the settings for the best picture quality. If your display has 720p native resolution, there's no point feeding it with 1080i/p resolutions because your display is limited to 720p and it has to scale down to 720p if you feed it with a higher resolution signal. The LCD tv's built in video scaler is of inferior quality so the upscaling and downscaling of a source will often give a big impact to the picture quality. Most of the shops that I've went to, had their dvd players set to 1080i but the LCD tvs are only capable of displaying 720p in actual fact so it resulted very jerky and poorly saturated colours as well.

saiga
post May 12 2007, 12:48 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ May 11 2007, 02:02 AM)
When the movie is not smooth, then it's time to troubleshoot, is it the player's fault or the display's fault or both. It's like using our Sony 76H, on certain LCD tvs, when you output in 1080i, the picture is fuzzy and jerky but when you drop to 720p, the movie comes alive at this resolution. Sometimes, you need to tweak the settings for the best picture quality. If your display has 720p native resolution, there's no point feeding it with 1080i/p resolutions because your display is limited to 720p and it has to scale down to 720p if you feed it with a higher resolution signal. The LCD tv's built in video scaler is of inferior quality so the upscaling and downscaling of a source will often give a big impact to the picture quality. Most of the shops that I've went to, had their dvd players set to 1080i but the LCD tvs are only capable of displaying 720p in actual fact so it resulted very jerky and poorly saturated colours as well.
How to know what the display lcd tv capable of displaying? Check the product specs? How about Sharp PX5M?
TStimothyy
post May 12 2007, 08:40 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(saiga @ May 12 2007, 12:48 AM)
How to know what the display lcd tv capable of displaying? Check the product specs? How about Sharp PX5M?
For sure you got to check the product spec.

shipal
post May 12 2007, 10:12 AM

Validating
247 posts

For smooth picture, no need to wait for powerful display... just get good dvd player that handles deinterlacing/chroma/etc problems well. Refer to SECRETS for ratings and studies results.

If someone gets a 1080p display but pair with cheapo dvd player, wat to expect.
TStimothyy
post May 12 2007, 01:05 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(shipal @ May 12 2007, 10:12 AM)
For smooth picture, no need to wait for powerful display... just get good dvd player that handles deinterlacing/chroma/etc problems well. Refer to SECRETS for ratings and studies results.

Yup! Kinda...
Something like Do Your Homework before you buy...
piscesguy
post May 12 2007, 01:13 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(shipal @ May 12 2007, 10:12 AM)

You need get 1080p display with HDMI v1.3, make sure u have BR or HD-DVD player to send 1080p coz..normal HDMI player will not give u TRUE HD.
ccschua
post May 21 2007, 09:04 PM

1,630 posts

hi guys, i got a problem. my daughter just use the color penil to color my lcd tv. now so sakit and luka. just wonder can i put lcd tv protector or not (the transparent plastic sheet glue on.
htkaki
post May 21 2007, 10:07 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ May 21 2007, 09:04 PM)
hi guys, i got a problem. my daughter just use the color penil to color my lcd tv. now so sakit and luka. just wonder can i put lcd tv protector or not (the transparent plastic sheet glue on.

One thing for sure, it will look ugly and reflective. sweat.gif

cyew86
post May 21 2007, 11:05 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ May 21 2007, 09:04 PM)
so what happen to ur tv now? scratched? scarred? or u edy clean it up?

127 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:46 AM