8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

TStimothyy
post Dec 13 2006, 10:55 AM, updated 18y ago

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

OK guys...

I need your "guru" advise here.

I've been searching for a good affordable HDMI DVD Player in the market but seems like no electrical shop is willing to assist to test them. This include Harvey Norman.
Haiz...

I need a player that can play *ahem* DVDs, warped DVDs, not sensitive and also with great HDMI picture output quality. Sound as long as I can get DTS and 5.1 channel good enuff.

These are the choices... for low budget

1) Panasonic DVD-S52

2) Philips DVP5965K/98

3) Pioneer DV-490V-S

4) Sony DVP-NS76H

5) Samsung HD-860

Slightly Higher Budget

1) Sony DVP-NS92V

2) Samsung HD-950

For higher budget

1) Pioneer DV-989AVi-G

2) Denon DVD-1730

3) Denon DVD-1930

Tolong tolong.... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by timothyy: May 12 2007, 11:57 PM
TStimothyy
post Dec 13 2006, 12:23 PM

4,504 posts

wowowo...

Thanks so much. I've been thinking of this player since many good reviews on international webpages. But all local shops say it is sensitive...

So, I hold back...
TStimothyy
post Dec 13 2006, 12:45 PM

4,504 posts

Kakaka... Ah Lek... no problem... I wait for yitbunchai...
TStimothyy
post Dec 13 2006, 08:38 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(zas3 @ Dec 13 2006, 03:22 PM)
I've both Sony DVP-NS76H & Philips DVP5965K/98. Using HDMI on the same display, I found the DVP-NS76H produces more natural colours compared to the philips. Also on relatively fast motions, the sony player showed smoother pictures, compared to the philips which kinda judders a bit.

Sound wise, I prefer the sony player as well. Somehow its sound has more punch, especially on both the surround satellites.

Sensitivity wise, the philips player plays basically everything. Not fussy at all. I had a couple of DVDs which skips a little on the sony, but no problem playing the rest.
Hmmm.. nice test.... I went to Sony shop in The Curve but they didn't even bother to test it out the difference for me between the 76 and 92... Wat a service...

But heck... ur review helps me rethink... blush.gif

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Dec 13 2006, 04:20 PM)
oppo DV-981HD? biggrin.gif
I wish... if only got agent in Malaysia. Anyone wants to do a bulk?

QUOTE(spoonkin @ Dec 13 2006, 04:24 PM)
i using pioneer 490v
very good player
but u need a decoder that can decode DTS for it
Have you tested with the HDMI? I just don't understand... seems like every review in the internet says its not good on the HDMI picture quality... sad.gif

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 13 2006, 07:09 PM)
Low Budget
Pioneer 490

Slightly higher budget
Sony Ns92

Big moola
Pioneer DV-989AVi-G

I've both the sony and the pio 490 and they certainly look a tad better than the Sony ns76 they replaced. But the pioneer 989 is still king even among more expensive models. Been reviewed many times. All reviews were positive.
You have compared the NS92 and NS76 side by side before? I'll have to go to Best Denki to test it out again... haiz... I hate it that Malaysian's electrical shop never bothered about DVD players. They main reason... they are not making money...
But even for the Pioneer 490... in internet, ppl are selling below USD100, and Malaysia is selling RM6xx. And still complain not making money.

Anyway, found a place in Puchong sellin the 696 for RM780...

TStimothyy
post Dec 13 2006, 08:55 PM

4,504 posts

As long a I can get hold of Oppo... I'll just get the 971 is more than enuff...
TStimothyy
post Dec 13 2006, 09:10 PM

4,504 posts

shocking.gif blink.gif shocking.gif blink.gif

Singapore got Oppo ah?

I asked my friend in Singapore to look for it and seems like those AV shop never even heard of it... U got the contact?
TStimothyy
post Dec 13 2006, 09:14 PM

4,504 posts

hmmm... OK... Hope they will help.
TStimothyy
post Dec 14 2006, 12:01 PM

4,504 posts

Hey sunauto, you are referring to the Sony NS76 right?

Everywhere is not keeping the unit. And everywhere when I asked... they say they don't test DVD players. Heck...!
TStimothyy
post Dec 14 2006, 12:33 PM

4,504 posts

Just called up SLT Technologies Ltd, reseller for Oppo Digital DVD player, according to them, their stock is coming end of the month or early next month. Wowo...

And the price is "just over 400..." meaning just over S$400.00

Wow... its cheaper than Sony NS92. Kekekeke...
Worth considering.

TStimothyy
post Dec 14 2006, 06:54 PM

4,504 posts

I am going to wait for Oppo 981. Gonna order from them or ask them to reserve... kekeke... If fail, then I go for this Sony.
TStimothyy
post Dec 15 2006, 11:44 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 15 2006, 12:56 AM)
Well, I don't think Oppo is that great and it might not play warped dvds if your collection consists mostly ahem dvds. It's up to you lah Bro.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Well, that's what I worry too. But I donno... seems like every American says its good.

Ha! HA! So...

Anyway, may be I'll buy it and at the same time have my JVC standby using component video.

I'll try and let u guys know.
TStimothyy
post Dec 15 2006, 01:17 PM

4,504 posts

I am targetting the 981. Nope. I don't have one yet.
TStimothyy
post Dec 16 2006, 08:59 AM

4,504 posts

How about you? What DVD player are u using then? Issit good?

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Dec 15 2006, 01:24 PM)
was asking sunauto

btw timothyy - you know the 981 does not have component outputs right? just in case

its got composite, s-video and hdmi
Thanks for the info. I didn't know until you told me. He! He! But I guess my main concern is HDMI...

This post has been edited by timothyy: Dec 16 2006, 09:02 AM
TStimothyy
post Dec 17 2006, 10:26 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 16 2006, 08:04 PM)
Bro,

If you really wanna get an Oppo, choose a poor quality authored dvd to give it a real stress test. No, don't use a RM12 ahem D9 dvd to test it, preferable those from China one or those cheap D5 titles. Get what I mean? That's what I did before ended up buying the Sony, I really wanted to make sure that it reads poor quality discs. Just my advice to you but if you're mostly buying originals, then no need to test lah, just go ahead and buy.  rclxms.gif
Iguess the price of Oppo in Singapore is kinda reasonable for me to try it out. He!

If many have talk good about it.... there must be something good about the player.

TStimothyy
post Dec 17 2006, 02:08 PM

4,504 posts

SG299? So cheap? Cannot be la... USD also selling 229...

I called ST up and they say its around S$400

TStimothyy
post Dec 17 2006, 08:57 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Dec 17 2006, 03:52 PM)
sorry! i meant the 970HD is SG$299

dunno pricing for 981 - who is ST?
ST is the reseller in singapore..

TStimothyy
post Dec 18 2006, 10:08 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Dec 18 2006, 09:28 PM)
almsot all the players can be hacked to region free. Google them.
Just in case... where to find Oppo hack site?
TStimothyy
post Dec 19 2006, 10:41 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Dec 19 2006, 01:54 AM)
Oppo? Never heard of it. Someone mind giving the skinny on the hype surrounding it?
YOu can check www.oppodigital.com or search AVS forum or any other AV forum. It is the talk of the HDMI player other than the Denon and Pioner 989...
TStimothyy
post Dec 20 2006, 11:10 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 20 2006, 10:31 AM)
Unless if they do some marketing here, nobody will know that Oppo is not a Cap Ayam brand. The name sounds pretty much like those Made In China dvd players.
Kakaka... but it is a brand that does not build to impress on the outerlook but more on what is inside.

I am getting my friend to buy. If got, I will do some screen shots here.
TStimothyy
post Dec 20 2006, 03:44 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Dec 20 2006, 12:30 PM)
these days there is less excuse for remaining ignorant, especially if you post on online forums such as this one. if you Google Oppo 970HD you will come across the huge amount of words and resources expended by people who know AV anywhere in the world

there is no excuse for the name, but if we hadn't been exposed to TOYOTA we'd think it was a silly name. Even they themselves spawned off LEXUS for a classier sounding name
True... very true..

All I did was Google Search "HDMI DVD Player Review" and sooooooooo many Oppo name came out...
It has more review than any other brand...

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0396sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:29 PM