127 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

swimfish
post Aug 11 2008, 09:12 AM

42 posts

got the 5986 after some hard bargain smile.gif in the setup screen, i can't access
tv type and progressive. it is greyed out. i have set it to 1080p on the HDMI
settings. using it with the pv80h. anyone having similar issues??
Jcsy
post Aug 11 2008, 10:04 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

a question

can i just download a HQ 4.7gb movie of the internet and play it on the TV?

Will i get good picture quality as a dvd player ? biggrin.gif

Anyways, will a PS3 do the job as well ?
swimfish
post Aug 11 2008, 11:27 AM

42 posts

for those using the philips 5986... what is your firmware version?
did anyone tried updating to the V43 from philips website?
ALPS2008
post Aug 11 2008, 01:29 PM

349 posts

I have brought the Pioneer DV410 DVD player.....very good....picture compare to my old JVC unit

With upscaling to HD.....better picture especially watching from my 50' TV

Better sound also...might be this time I connect my DVD player with Audiquest coaxial cable rather using the optical cable....compare both sound....winner will be my new DVD with Coaxial cable.....

Moreover....I am not expected that the DVD410 can play Divx movie from my 4G USB thumbdrive....haaa

I didn't go to survey much....I think I get the reasonable price....$465

flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif

binary
post Aug 11 2008, 02:24 PM

PreBeT_LaPok
1,535 posts

QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Aug 11 2008, 01:29 PM)
I have brought the Pioneer DV410 DVD player.....very good....picture compare to my old JVC unit

With upscaling to HD.....better picture especially watching from my 50' TV

Better sound also...might be this time I connect my DVD player with Audiquest coaxial cable rather using the optical cable....compare both sound....winner will be my new DVD with Coaxial cable.....

Moreover....I am not expected that the DVD410 can play Divx movie from my 4G USB thumbdrive....haaa

I didn't go to survey much....I think I get the reasonable price....$465

flex.gif  flex.gif  flex.gif
Yeah, am using DV410 too and I am very satisfy with it. I am using this player mainly to watch divx movie using my 4GB thumb drive. thumbup.gif
s6xs9x
post Aug 11 2008, 02:42 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

swt, still no yamaha s661 users out there?
arremie
post Aug 11 2008, 02:50 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(swimfish @ Aug 11 2008, 11:27 AM)
for those using the philips 5986... what is your firmware version?
did anyone tried updating to the V43 from philips website?
I updated mine before I sold it. Just download and burn to blank CD then follow instruction.

QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Aug 11 2008, 01:29 PM)
I've been telling people coaxial sounded better that optical tongue.gif

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Aug 11 2008, 02:42 PM)
swt, still no yamaha s661 users out there?
Not something common we can c in shop that's why hard to find anybody use this. Plus it overshadowed by other brands. Just go with Pioneer DV410 la or Philip 5996.
s6xs9x
post Aug 11 2008, 02:53 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

what about 2nd hand unit of 600av at 650/= that one got SACD .. anyway what is SACD leh? super audio ... like dvd > blu ray ? cd > sacd?
ALPS2008
post Aug 11 2008, 02:56 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 11 2008, 02:50 PM)

I've been telling people coaxial sounded better that optical tongue.gif

That's why this time I changed to Coaxial cable...I read your previous comment...Somemore, the guy from shop also said better.... now I confirmed by my own audition....keeee

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
arremie
post Aug 11 2008, 03:01 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

DV600AV highly recommended. PQ is excellent and even better than 5986. I never see any direct comparison between 400/410 with 600AV but AV Forum said 600AV better (only for guidance...don't take it 100% tongue.gif ). SACD is Super Audio CD. Multichannel and suppose to sound better than normal music CD but limited titles and expensive.
s6xs9x
post Aug 11 2008, 03:06 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

then for the price of 650 2nd hand still a grabber?
arremie
post Aug 11 2008, 03:40 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

I bought mine new at 850 so if yours still under warranty then 650 is a bargain.
swimfish
post Aug 11 2008, 03:46 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Aug 11 2008, 02:56 PM)
That's why this time I changed to Coaxial cable...I read your previous comment...Somemore, the guy from shop also said better.... now I confirmed by my own audition....keeee

biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
..but.. if you already have HDMI dvdp.. why still use coax and not HDMI?

s6xs9x
post Aug 11 2008, 03:56 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 11 2008, 03:40 PM)
I bought mine new at 850 so if yours still under warranty then 650 is a bargain.
like that i'd better take a new on .. he claims it wast 1K+ and only 2 months .. i get the yamaha la.
amafz01
post Aug 11 2008, 04:28 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(swimfish @ Aug 11 2008, 03:46 PM)
..but.. if you already have HDMI dvdp.. why still use coax and not HDMI?
u have to understand the use of hdmi and coaxial, coaxial are specialy design to deliver digital sound data from dvdp to ur av processor while hdmi only carry a video to your av processor (what was happened to my 5996 and 506 onkyo)
manchild
post Aug 11 2008, 04:47 PM

110 posts

i thought hdmi carry both video and audio...
ALPS2008
post Aug 11 2008, 04:54 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 11 2008, 03:40 PM)
AIYA...NEW unit only $670 la for Pioneer DV610 DVD player...I rather to buy the new one if $20 different

Picture vise...comparison for DV610 and DV410...same same la..the different is DV610 have decoder for DVD-A and SACD with multichannel output..
Disc for SACD and DVD-A...very expensive la...
Initially , I tot to buy the DV610...but i scrap my plan....even I have two SACD disc....think back...seldom listen to SACD or DVD-A.....
Save a bit and buy a good cable biggrin.gif

Future, when price drop for SACD disc or DVD-A, will consider la

QUOTE(amafz01 @ Aug 11 2008, 04:28 PM)
u have to understand the use of hdmi and coaxial, coaxial are specialy design to deliver digital sound data from dvdp to ur av processor while hdmi only carry a video to your av processor (what was happened to my 5996 and 506 onkyo)
aiya....I use my amp just for music only (My Amp doesn't support HDMI, I choose to buy this cause I plan for my amp just for music, if pay much more for amp with upconversion, not worth, unless much more for amp with upscalling).....therefore, I connenct my HDMI directly to TV and coaxial cable to my receiver..... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(manchild @ Aug 11 2008, 04:47 PM)
i thought hdmi carry both video and audio...
Yes....you are absolute correct.....

This post has been edited by ALPS2008: Aug 11 2008, 05:04 PM
fevercrash
post Aug 11 2008, 05:33 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Aug 11 2008, 03:06 PM)
then for the price of 650 2nd hand still a grabber?
I bought from my brother who initially bought from Htkaki, he sold me for rm600.. biggrin.gif

Added on August 11, 2008, 5:36 pm
QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Aug 11 2008, 04:54 PM)
AIYA...NEW unit only $670 la for Pioneer DV610 DVD player...I rather to buy the new one if $20 different

Picture vise...comparison for DV610 and DV410...same same la..the different is DV610 have decoder for DVD-A and SACD with multichannel output..
Disc for SACD and DVD-A...very expensive la...
Initially , I tot to buy the DV610...but i scrap my plan....even I have two SACD disc....think back...seldom listen to SACD or DVD-A.....
Save a bit and buy a good cable biggrin.gif

Future, when price drop for SACD disc or DVD-A, will consider la
aiya....I use my amp just for music only (My Amp doesn't support HDMI, I choose to buy this cause I plan for my amp just for music, if pay much more for amp with upconversion, not worth, unless much more for amp with upscalling).....therefore, I connenct my HDMI directly to TV and coaxial cable to my receiver..... biggrin.gif
Yes....you are absolute correct.....
DV610 so cheap? R u sure mah? hmm.gif How come new model alot cheaper than old model..weird..

This post has been edited by fevercrash: Aug 11 2008, 05:36 PM
arremie
post Aug 11 2008, 05:40 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Aug 11 2008, 04:54 PM)
Dude...u sure DV-600AV or 610AV can get at that price?
If I not mistaken there are also DV-600K and 600S which are cheaper than 600AV
ALPS2008
post Aug 11 2008, 05:42 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(fevercrash @ Aug 11 2008, 05:33 PM)
I bought from my brother who initially bought from Htkaki, he sold me for rm600.. biggrin.gif

Added on August 11, 2008, 5:36 pm
DV610 so cheap? R u sure mah?  hmm.gif How come new model alot cheaper than old model..weird..
This depend where you buy...I saw the DV610 at Best Denki cost $999 but....
When I went to A&L Armcorp mall, I brought the DV410 for $465 and he offer me DV610 for $670 only

Look for the guy called Alex

127 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:51 AM