127 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

DigitalTech
post Aug 5 2008, 10:56 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(moviebuff @ Aug 5 2008, 07:30 PM)
Digitaltech, Do you bring in the Monster 1000 HDMI cable and Monster S video 3 cable? If you do, How much? wink.gif
Sorry. I only bring in the Ultra 800 series at the moment.
If got demand only I bring in the 1000 series.

Not everybody willing to pay so much for 1000 series.
silbii
post Aug 5 2008, 11:53 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Aug 5 2008, 08:36 PM)
Both are equally good in playing your fav ahem dvds. As for spare parts, Sony is easier to find.
just now i wanted to play one dvdr. Played it at 2 cap ayam players...film was jerking all the way. Even my old philips dvd recorder could not read the dvdr at all.

But then put in my new 5996 - voila! no problem at all. The whole film ran smoothly....no jerk at all. The SQ was much better too than the 2 cap ayam...

so yeah...go for 5996!

amafz01
post Aug 6 2008, 09:29 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(silbii @ Aug 5 2008, 11:53 PM)
just now i wanted to play one dvdr. Played it at 2 cap ayam players...film was jerking all the way. Even my old philips dvd recorder could not read the dvdr at all.

But then put in my new 5996 - voila! no problem at all. The whole film ran smoothly....no jerk at all. The SQ was much better too than the 2 cap ayam...

so yeah...go for 5996!
totaly agreed...and some more, High speed USB, can play external HDD..the lack of 5996 is just it dosnt came with optical out as some AVR (old model) dont have coaxial input..
azbro
post Aug 6 2008, 01:31 PM

4,403 posts

Please take note of the Philips USB ports, if you plan to get yourself a high capacity stick make sure its a high speed one...rule of the thumb, 4GB or less. 8Gb pendrives are slower....unless its a corsair GT, Kingston X, Ducatti series etc.
Normal 8GB stick will make scenes jerky. I've tried with 8GB Sandisk Micro Cruzer and 8GB Kingston Data Traveller...both a bit jerky when come to high graphic intense scenes.
sunauto
post Aug 7 2008, 11:36 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Aug 6 2008, 01:31 PM)
Please take note of the Philips USB ports, if you plan to get yourself a high capacity stick make sure its a high speed one...rule of the thumb, 4GB or less. 8Gb pendrives are slower....unless its a corsair GT, Kingston X, Ducatti series etc.
Normal 8GB stick will make scenes jerky. I've tried with 8GB Sandisk Micro Cruzer and 8GB Kingston Data Traveller...both a bit jerky when come to high graphic intense scenes.
The Ducatti thumbdrive is slightly cheaper now and it's worth getting it, it's freaking fast and I'm using one now. Of course, the Contour is also good enough too.
arremie
post Aug 7 2008, 11:40 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Aug 7 2008, 11:36 AM)
The Ducatti thumbdrive is slightly cheaper now and it's worth getting it, it's freaking fast and I'm using one now. Of course, the Contour is also good enough too.
How fast is fast? If double speed than normal one (in real application not on paper) then consider good enuf.
sunauto
post Aug 8 2008, 12:31 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 7 2008, 11:40 AM)
How fast is fast? If double speed than normal one (in real application not on paper) then consider good enuf.
I have thrown the box away but it's considered the fastest thumbdrive in the world after Contour. Those cheapo thumbdrives have inaccurate specs, they might claim 10mb/s but when you benchmark them, the actual speed is only 6mb/s or so. You have to be careful of this. I know many people are tempted to buy them because of the price, sometimes, they sound too good to be true. Ducatti might cost a bomb but I'm happy that I've bought something which really works as claimed, it's very speedy. Even watching WMV-HD clips, it was very smooth. Of course, you can consider the Contour too, it's cheaper and slightly slower than Ducatti. The reason why Ducatti is more expensive, it's because it's a licensed product and it's limited as well.
arremie
post Aug 8 2008, 01:25 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Alrighty then. Will go and buy 4GB one. Thanks dude thumbup.gif
azbro
post Aug 8 2008, 03:33 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 8 2008, 01:25 PM)
Alrighty then. Will go and buy 4GB one. Thanks dude thumbup.gif
Yup, by 4GB also get a good one.

To know whats hot and whats not for pendrives:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=191462&hl=

thread goes back 2005...so read the few last pages to know the latest and the fastest.

Its good to invest on a 4gb Sandisk Ducati if you are using it for Vista ready boost and multimedia for the Philips USB...If I could turn back time...no second thoughts...Sandisk Extreme Contour also for above 4gb.
The rest of the Sandisk Cruzer just dun cut it.

This post has been edited by azbro: Aug 8 2008, 03:48 PM
s6xs9x
post Aug 8 2008, 04:39 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

Lets go back to HDMI DVD Players.
Anyone running Yamaha Players? Need some feedback on whick models are best in Yamaha range and within 500bucks
iman_210
post Aug 8 2008, 04:50 PM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Aug 8 2008, 04:39 PM)
Lets go back to HDMI DVD Players.
Anyone running Yamaha Players? Need some feedback on whick models are best in Yamaha range and within 500bucks
yamaha dvd players? never come across so far...
arremie
post Aug 8 2008, 05:13 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Yammy DVD Players biggrin.gif
s6xs9x
post Aug 8 2008, 05:24 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

any good with them??? I wanna order my 663 or maybe a 1800 see if can get good price together with a DVD player.
S661 good? vs Pioneer
aiz1j
post Aug 8 2008, 05:43 PM

156 posts

Which AV shops sell the Yamaha DVD Player? A bit difficult to find shops selling range of Yammy's AV components. A lot of 2008 Yamaha AV equipments are in the online catalogue, but cannot find in Malaysia

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Aug 8 2008, 05:24 PM)
any good with them??? I wanna order my 663 or maybe a 1800 see if can get good price together with a DVD player.
S661 good? vs Pioneer
arremie
post Aug 8 2008, 07:14 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

I know 1700 got 5 stars from What Hifi but don't know how it is in real life. Its in the same class as Denon 1930 or 1940. Price also about that range I think around 1.5k.

This post has been edited by arremie: Aug 8 2008, 07:16 PM
swimfish
post Aug 9 2008, 10:44 AM

42 posts

why does some of my dvd shows as 480i and some at 576p?
is this due to the dvd itself or the dvd player?

was playing around with my dvdp settings and i changed from
interlaced to progressive (recommended??)

does the "i" means interlaced and "p" for progressive?

Added on August 9, 2008, 1:34 pmthe HDMI cable that comes with 5996.. is it HDMI 1.3a??

This post has been edited by swimfish: Aug 9 2008, 01:34 PM
MyDevil
post Aug 9 2008, 01:47 PM

7,480 posts

If I'm not mistaken, 480 normally NTSC and 576 PAL.
htkaki
post Aug 9 2008, 06:13 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(MyDevil @ Aug 9 2008, 01:47 PM)

Yes, spot on smile.gif

callmevil
post Aug 9 2008, 06:48 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(MyDevil @ Aug 9 2008, 01:47 PM)
any visual difference?
s6xs9x
post Aug 9 2008, 09:56 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 8 2008, 07:14 PM)
I know 1700 got 5 stars from What Hifi but don't know how it is in real life. Its in the same class as Denon 1930 or 1940. Price also about that range I think around 1.5k.
kinda expensive rite for a dvd player. I was only thinking of the 661 only i think it's the same as the pioneer 410

127 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:34 PM