QUOTE(Jason @ Jan 16 2016, 02:45 PM)
Yea I think the panel is too bright more suited to places with lots of lights.The price is pretty close to the 630x but bigger by 2", I went for the 630 as I couldn't accept the black levels of the 90x.
Battle of the +/- rm7k TVs, + Discussion on Sharp UE630X
Jan 17 2016, 08:34 AM
5,220 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jan 17 2016, 09:09 AM
3,783 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Just a brief update, booked my Sharp UE630X yesterday at Taipan USJ.
One of the shop had a canopy promoting Sharp TV's and I saw the unit. Happy with the PQ after they play back some of my sample video and all the features, so just grab it. Didn't bother with the Sony anymore bcos it is more expensive. Unit arriving on Monday evening |
Jan 17 2016, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(Longshot @ Jan 17 2016, 09:09 AM) Just a brief update, booked my Sharp UE630X yesterday at Taipan USJ. Congratulations, which size did u get and was it a good price? One of the shop had a canopy promoting Sharp TV's and I saw the unit. Happy with the PQ after they play back some of my sample video and all the features, so just grab it. Didn't bother with the Sony anymore bcos it is more expensive. Unit arriving on Monday evening There's one shop there offering 5 years warranty at the time, asking for rm5.3k for 58". Should have gotten from there as they had the stock to deliver next day, but only found out after I bought mine. If you find out any good calibration settings pls share too! This post has been edited by DannyOP: Jan 17 2016, 10:46 AM |
Jan 17 2016, 10:51 AM
1,010 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 15 2016, 10:31 PM) Never trust demo videos, as they are specially designed for the TV and do not represent actual footage you watch. Better bring your own files and play the same file over a few tvs you have chosen. Then the results will be very different. The JS7200 in Malaysia is a different model from the JS7000 in the US. The panel native refresh rate for Msia model is 100hz, equivalent to the US 120hz. The US model is 60hz. Only North American use 60/120, the rest of the world use 50/100.I like the Samsung JS 8000/9000 series but the price is too close to Oled so I didn't consider them. If not mistaken close to rm7k for 55" and rm15-20k for 65", while 55" 7000 series have very poor contrast due to IPS panel - see http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/js7000. The US version also comes with old smart function, not Tizen. Difficult to find info about the Msian model, but its definitely not the same as the US model. I tested some of my own videos and they look great, both 1080p and 4k videos downloaded from YouTube. The difference is obvious compared to JU6400. Tried to test the UE630x but the shop people couldn't get it to detect my hdd. This happened in 2 shops, hoe huat and one living. They complained about the remote and thar the tv is still in demo mode. Don't know what happened here. @DannyOP Need your feedback on your experience when testing this tv coz maybe the salesmen were purposely trying to make the sharp look bad to sell me the samsung. |
Jan 17 2016, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 17 2016, 10:30 AM) Congratulations, which size did u get and was it a good price? Yup, I bought from that shop for rm5.3k for 58".There's one shop there offering 5 years warranty at the time, asking for rm5.3k for 58". Should have gotten from there as they had the stock to deliver next day, but only found out after I bought mine. If you find out any good calibration settings pls share too! The addition 3 years warranty makes it more worth then the other shop selling at Rm5k. Another guy was there and was also looking at the same deal. In the end both of us grab this as we feel paying rm300 plus for additional 3 years of warranty is worth it. So got a 2 + 3 years warranty. Total 5 years warranty. Somemore the warranty is direct from the Manufacture. Also bought a gas stove to replace a faulty one at home. So got maximum discount on that. Will share later the week once I get it on Monday. Rgds |
Jan 17 2016, 02:49 PM
83 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Congrats on your new tv, usually the extended warranty is by thrid party insurance company... parhaps u want to double check the term and condition. Btw, do u get the freebies from sharp?
This post has been edited by bond: Jan 17 2016, 02:50 PM |
Jan 17 2016, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(Longshot @ Jan 17 2016, 12:24 PM) Yup, I bought from that shop for rm5.3k for 58". Wise choice, great u got the same tv, can share some tips after playing around with it.The addition 3 years warranty makes it more worth then the other shop selling at Rm5k. Another guy was there and was also looking at the same deal. In the end both of us grab this as we feel paying rm300 plus for additional 3 years of warranty is worth it. So got a 2 + 3 years warranty. Total 5 years warranty. Somemore the warranty is direct from the Manufacture. Also bought a gas stove to replace a faulty one at home. So got maximum discount on that. Will share later the week once I get it on Monday. Rgds |
Jan 17 2016, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(Longshot @ Jan 17 2016, 12:24 PM) Yup, I bought from that shop for rm5.3k for 58". Congrats on your new tv! Many forummers seem to like this model. What was the factors that made you choose this instead of the others?The addition 3 years warranty makes it more worth then the other shop selling at Rm5k. Another guy was there and was also looking at the same deal. In the end both of us grab this as we feel paying rm300 plus for additional 3 years of warranty is worth it. So got a 2 + 3 years warranty. Total 5 years warranty. Somemore the warranty is direct from the Manufacture. Also bought a gas stove to replace a faulty one at home. So got maximum discount on that. Will share later the week once I get it on Monday. Rgds |
Jan 17 2016, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(jdgobio @ Jan 17 2016, 10:51 AM) The JS7200 in Malaysia is a different model from the JS7000 in the US. The panel native refresh rate for Msia model is 100hz, equivalent to the US 120hz. The US model is 60hz. Only North American use 60/120, the rest of the world use 50/100. Ic then it should perform well, only thing that prohibit will be the price, so close to OLED. The US version also comes with old smart function, not Tizen. Difficult to find info about the Msian model, but its definitely not the same as the US model. I tested some of my own videos and they look great, both 1080p and 4k videos downloaded from YouTube. The difference is obvious compared to JU6400. Tried to test the UE630x but the shop people couldn't get it to detect my hdd. This happened in 2 shops, hoe huat and one living. They complained about the remote and thar the tv is still in demo mode. Don't know what happened here. @DannyOP Need your feedback on your experience when testing this tv coz maybe the salesmen were purposely trying to make the sharp look bad to sell me the samsung. |
Jan 17 2016, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(jdgobio @ Jan 17 2016, 03:30 PM) Congrats on your new tv! Many forummers seem to like this model. What was the factors that made you choose this instead of the others? The main factor was my TV at home is out of order It's already been more than a week. Parent and kids are pressuring me to get a new one So i told the sales guy I buy what's available in stock.... Not really an audio/visual guy, just wanted something with good PQ and preferably with 4K to future proof it. Was looking at Sony when a friend to me to consider Sharp. Then saw Sharp had a canopy promoting their UE630 and was very happy with the PQ. Took some of my BRay CD for them to play back and it was really nice. guess Sharp was at the right place and right time to attract me. Thinking of getting the 50" but since my existing one is already 50" decided to for the 58". Moreover, 50" don't have the extra 3 years warranty. The warranty cert i got clearly states 2+3 years for my model. So i guess it covers exactly what the initial 2 years cover is for the extra 3 years. Anyway, i hope i never need to use it but if it comes, i'll know if this is worth it or not. So 5 years warranty, acceptable PQ, available stock, only slightly over budget (was thinking to spend rm4.5k oni) and from a reputable Japanese brand, i was told the panels comes direct from Japan, fully features pack, i guess it should be good enough for me... now, maybe have to upgrade my unifi bandwidth and sign up for Netflix..... |
Jan 17 2016, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 17 2016, 03:35 PM) Managed to find the 55" for rm5500 which is why I am considering it. The 60" is rm6900, seems like too much for an extra 5". Only thing I am worried about is samsung's panel lottery. The LG EC930T is rm7.6k, so this is still much cheaper.The JU6400 also looks reasonably nice, but not much discount for it. Anyway, to be honest once the tv is in the house, I think it won't make a difference as its all an upgrade over my old ccfl lcd. |
Jan 17 2016, 07:54 PM
QUOTE(jdgobio @ Jan 17 2016, 06:02 PM) Managed to find the 55" for rm5500 which is why I am considering it. The 60" is rm6900, seems like too much for an extra 5". Only thing I am worried about is samsung's panel lottery. The LG EC930T is rm7.6k, so this is still much cheaper. 6.9k still reasonable. On paper 55-60 is 5in but actual screen size is a lot bigger. If you can afford the 60 do go for it. Even 58in to 60 there is a difference but more marginal.The JU6400 also looks reasonably nice, but not much discount for it. Anyway, to be honest once the tv is in the house, I think it won't make a difference as its all an upgrade over my old ccfl lcd. Btw today is Harvey Norman warehouse sale at Citta Mall last day. They got a 8000 series Samsung Plasma 64in going for rm6k. Maybe worthwhile for those who want good picture quality. This post has been edited by DannyOP: Jan 17 2016, 08:22 PM |
Jan 17 2016, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 17 2016, 07:54 PM) 6.9k still reasonable. On paper 55-60 is 5in but actual screen size is a lot bigger. If you can afford the 60 do go for it. Even 58in to 60 there is a difference but more marginal. Still thinking about it. Right now with hdr coming this year don't want to spend too much yet. Maybe will upgrade again in 3 years if there is a big difference in picture quality. Btw today is Harvey Norman warehouse sale at Citta Mall last day. They got a 8000 series Samsung Plasma 64in going for rm6k. Maybe worthwhile for those who want good picture quality. That's a nice price for an 8 series plasma and very good size as well. I am not into plasma due to the reflective screen not suitable for living room. |
Jan 18 2016, 12:44 AM
QUOTE(jdgobio @ Jan 17 2016, 08:48 PM) Still thinking about it. Right now with hdr coming this year don't want to spend too much yet. Maybe will upgrade again in 3 years if there is a big difference in picture quality. Hdr will bring led tv closer to Oled, but new tech won't come cheap, it took 2 years for a rm30k 55in oled to drop to 7k+ and we still think it's expensive for 55in. That's a nice price for an 8 series plasma and very good size as well. I am not into plasma due to the reflective screen not suitable for living room. Hopefully in a few years 4k projectors will be more affordable too, it will be nice having a 120in 4k screen for movies. |
Jan 18 2016, 01:49 AM
8,738 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 18 2016, 12:44 AM) Hdr will bring led tv closer to Oled, but new tech won't come cheap, it took 2 years for a rm30k 55in oled to drop to 7k+ and we still think it's expensive for 55in. The new JVC x5000 is quite reasonable priceHopefully in a few years 4k projectors will be more affordable too, it will be nice having a 120in 4k screen for movies. |
Jan 18 2016, 03:43 AM
QUOTE(sonerin @ Jan 18 2016, 01:49 AM) Read the review already, http://www.trustedreviews.com/jvc-dla-x5000b-w-reviewIt still uses 1080p panel and priced above rm20k. This post has been edited by DannyOP: Jan 18 2016, 03:44 AM |
Jan 18 2016, 07:07 AM
8,738 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 18 2016, 03:43 AM) Read the review already, http://www.trustedreviews.com/jvc-dla-x5000b-w-review Is not native 4K but is almost the sameIt still uses 1080p panel and priced above rm20k. |
Jan 18 2016, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 18 2016, 12:44 AM) Hdr will bring led tv closer to Oled, but new tech won't come cheap, it took 2 years for a rm30k 55in oled to drop to 7k+ and we still think it's expensive for 55in. Yup, Oled is still expensive and HDR will be too for a few years to come. That's why I feel there is no point in waiting unless can wait for a few years Hopefully in a few years 4k projectors will be more affordable too, it will be nice having a 120in 4k screen for movies. |
Jan 19 2016, 07:57 AM
Got my TV last night around 9.00pm.
Delay by the rain. Had trouble also with the wall mounting bracket screws. They are too big and won't fit the sharp tv screw holes. Had to setup the TV on the tv cabinet and it barely fit. Will need to look for screws...sigh So far very happy with the PQ using Hypptv from unifi. PQ on Dreamworks HD channel is great and the kids love it. Haven't play with any setting yet. Just setup the google account and the process was smooth. The remote with touch pad is nice to use and quite responsive. Overall |
Jan 19 2016, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(Longshot @ Jan 19 2016, 07:57 AM) Got my TV last night around 9.00pm. Nice to know, looking forward to receiving mine tomorrow Delay by the rain. Had trouble also with the wall mounting bracket screws. They are too big and won't fit the sharp tv screw holes. Had to setup the TV on the tv cabinet and it barely fit. Will need to look for screws...sigh So far very happy with the PQ using Hypptv from unifi. PQ on Dreamworks HD channel is great and the kids love it. Haven't play with any setting yet. Just setup the google account and the process was smooth. The remote with touch pad is nice to use and quite responsive. Overall Hopefully can fit the wall mount. This post has been edited by DannyOP: Jan 19 2016, 08:47 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0256sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:19 PM |