Fundsupermart.com v13, Merry X'mas and Happy 牛(bull!) Year

Ramjade
post Feb 13 2016, 11:49 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 13 2016, 11:32 AM)
There are some issues you must take note before you think of ASX FP as a replacement to Libra Asnita Bond:

I) The NAV of ASX is fixed and it is not reflective of the actual value of the fund. I have spoken at length about my opinion on ASX; I do not wish to repeat them.

II) ASX is from a different company. It is like asking Can I use Pub-Mut Bond as my fixed income portion? Sure you can, but you forget about the logistic hassle. Say for example when you need to move money into FSM's ESISC; you need to liquidate the fund from Pub-Mut which will take T+10, then write a cheque or IBG which will take another T+3 days to get into ESISC. In total your money will be in transit and doing nothing for 14 days. Is it efficient?

III) Don't forget, when you move from Pub-Mut or ASX or whatever; each time you move from a different platform you need to pay sales charge.

IV) This is what I call smart in theory / book but not so street-smart.

Xuzen
Thanks for the reply. Appreciate it. Was thinking like this.

Go to bank, withdraw straight from ASX FP (instant redemption) into my account. Then use the money from the bank account to buy say ESISC. No charges on ASX FP part. They have no sales charge. Only kena charge 2% SC from FSM.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 13 2016, 12:03 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 13 2016, 11:53 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 13 2016, 11:20 AM)
Long time you no tok-kok™ here hor...

But why so muram during this CNY?

Your Viet-Moi(s) no give you hunneh?

Xuzen
I busy with girlfriend and her family wub.gif
river.sand
post Feb 13 2016, 12:11 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 13 2016, 11:53 AM)
You went to Mekong?
According to news, police raided Kuchai Lama many recently.
xuzen
post Feb 13 2016, 01:15 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 13 2016, 11:41 AM)
The reason I am asking here is I am planning to use that and I want to know the calculations for it. Different breed of UT still a UT.

Bro xuzen can it be done? Can that be be taken into the account of IRR if we combine it with other funds?
Before I answer you this; I want more data.

Tell which ASX FP fund specifically you want to use as the Fixed income portion? I ask because I know there are a few right? So which one you wanna use?

Next give me their historical dividend yield for the past ten years.

Oh! And one more thing, let's assume you sell your ASX FP and masuk say ESISC; then when the it is time to take profit from ESISC you want to buy back ASX FP. But you run a risk of not being able to buy because all units sold out already. Is that going to be a real or imaginary problem?

Xuzen

Ramjade
post Feb 13 2016, 01:38 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 13 2016, 01:15 PM)
Before I answer you this; I want more data.

Tell which ASX FP fund specifically you want to use as the Fixed income portion? I ask because I know there are a few right? So which one you wanna use?

Next give me their historical dividend yield for the past ten years.

Oh! And one more thing, let's assume you sell your ASX FP and masuk say ESISC; then when the it is time to take profit from ESISC you want to buy back ASX FP. But you run a risk of not being able to buy because all units sold out already. Is that going to be a real or imaginary problem?

Xuzen
Asw or asm. What difference does it make as they generally give the same returns of 6.x%/p.a?

7 years can?
For asw2020
2009 - 7.00
2010 - 6.30
2011 - 6.50
2012 - 6.60
2013 - 6.70
2014 - 6.60
2015 - 6.40

For ASM
2009 - 6.25
2010 - 6.30
2011 - 6.38
2012 - 6.80
2013 - 6.50
2014 - 6.60
2015 - 6.60

About not being able to buy back, yeah that is a real problem. However one can keep trying for 3 days straight. Sure masuk by 3rd day. Have never experienced really sold out. The amount I try is always ~rm5k and so far my success rate of buying is 100%.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 13 2016, 01:45 PM
adamdacutie
post Feb 13 2016, 02:07 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 13 2016, 12:08 PM)
Asw or asm. What difference does it make as they generally give the same returns of 6.x%/p.a?

7 years can?
For asw2020
2009 - 7.00
2010 - 6.30
2011 - 6.50
2012 - 6.60
2013 - 6.70
2014 - 6.60
2015 - 6.40

For ASM
2009 - 6.25
2010 - 6.30
2011 - 6.38
2012 - 6.80
2013 - 6.50
2014 - 6.60
2015 - 6.60

About not being able to buy back, yeah that is a real problem. However one can keep trying for 3 days straight. Sure masuk by 3rd day. Have never experienced really sold out. The amount I try is always ~rm5k and so far my success rate of buying is 100%.
seriously ... FSM platform is for FSM , as simple as that ! you can always PM to discuss bout u knw ...whatever ... Why don't you start gold investment and stock trading stuff here also ?
kswee
post Feb 13 2016, 03:54 PM

577 posts

rhb gold increase 16% wew,evr one is buing gold.

kimyee73
post Feb 13 2016, 04:17 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Feb 10 2016, 04:43 PM)
There are 2 schools of thoughts.
The first one is 'buy low sell high';
The second one is 'buy high sell higher', also known as 'don't catch the falling knife'.

Investors from the first school would be happy to buy when the economy/market is bad; whereas those from the second school would sell.

We really can't tell you whether it is good time to buy. You have to make up your mind.
Incorrect description of "buy high sell higher." It means you wait until the market confirm going up, i.e., bottom is over, then you buy on the way up. The concept is buying into strength, not into weakness.
SUSyklooi
post Feb 13 2016, 04:21 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Feb 13 2016, 04:17 PM)
kimyee.....take note of your Am precious metal upward trends.....getting ready to jump off?
impressive entry you got there... rclxms.gif
Kaka23
post Feb 13 2016, 05:00 PM

8,259 posts

Time for new Version!!
T231H
post Feb 13 2016, 05:31 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Feb 13 2016, 05:00 PM)
Time for new Version!!
innocent.gif ...see below post....

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 13 2016, 11:53 AM)
SUSDavid83
post Feb 13 2016, 05:50 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 13 2016, 05:31 PM)
innocent.gif ...see below post....
Girlfriend? Or dong-friend? whistling.gif
SUSSarah Jessica
post Feb 13 2016, 06:56 PM

622 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Feb 13 2016, 05:00 PM)
Time for new Version!!
now lyn server can support more than 2,500 post
kimyee73
post Feb 13 2016, 07:34 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Feb 13 2016, 04:21 PM)
kimyee.....take note of your Am precious metal upward trends.....getting ready to jump off?
impressive entry you got there... rclxms.gif
Need to wait for it to going down first. They said let profit runs.
kswee
post Feb 13 2016, 08:00 PM

577 posts

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/g...eds-fear-mounts

Friday news.
IvanWong1989
post Feb 13 2016, 09:08 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 13 2016, 10:03 AM)
Some mental jotting:

I) I am exposed to three equity based funds: Titan, Ponzi 2.0 & ESISC.

II) If you look at the chart, Titan & Ponzi 2.0 have been on the uptrend for the past three years. It was only the past two months the funds have slid downwards. If you have done DCA on them, your lost should be still within a single digit percentage. If you do lump sum.... god help you.

III) ESISC is inverse to Titan & Ponzi 2.0; whenever they go down, ESISC goes the other way. If you, like me are invested in the three funds, then your loss in Titan & Ponzi 2.0 will be somewhat mitigated by the reversal of ESISC.

IV) If you have invested also in fixed income; your loss would have been even more mitigated by the fixed income fund's slow climb upwards.

V) The lessons is still true, buy funds that are poorly correlated with each other. Include a stable fixed income fund like Libra Asnita bond to make your portfolio more resilient to the volatility swings.

VI) The above are the golden rule of investing in UT.

VII) In times like this; stay strong & let diversity rules.

VIII) If you have already done point IV) to V); then stay away from looking at your portfolio for a few weeks. Let the bad weather pass. Read a book, go do something else.... just don't look at your portfolio for the time being.

Xuzen

p/s Note to self, no more topping up or DCA for the time being.
Yello Sifu Xuzen.

No moar DCA for the time being? blink.gif So u foresee that markets will go down the long windy road full of bears?

xuzen
post Feb 13 2016, 09:47 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 13 2016, 01:38 PM)

7 years can?
For asw2020
2009 - 7.00
2010 - 6.30
2011 - 6.50
2012 - 6.60
2013 - 6.70
2014 - 6.60
2015 - 6.40

For ASM
2009 - 6.25
2010 - 6.30
2011 - 6.38
2012 - 6.80
2013 - 6.50
2014 - 6.60
2015 - 6.60

Looks like the 6.X% return is quite consistent. So let's take 6% as the expected outcome. Since its unit price is fixed and an expected return of 6%; yeah you can take this as the risk free rate portion when constructing your portfolio. The unit price does not move at all, hence you can safely say that is has zero correlation with all the other asset class.

But, as a caveat, this message is targeted for you alone as You are quite adamant to queue up for three days at the bank to buy the ASX FP products. Not so many people are so lucky to be so FREE!

Xuzen

xuzen
post Feb 13 2016, 09:51 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Feb 13 2016, 09:08 PM)
Yello Sifu Xuzen.

No moar DCA for the time being?  blink.gif  So u foresee that markets will go down the long windy road full of bears?
I don't know whether the market will be bear or bull. I don't want to speculate.

I am certain that the volatility will continue.

Since I am not sure, it is better I do nothing and watch from the sideline first. Please note that this advise is specific to me as I am very near my intended target asset allocation. For those who have just started DCA or at the accumulation stage; continue DCA to reach your targeted asset allocation before thinking like I do.

Xuzen
IvanWong1989
post Feb 13 2016, 10:15 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 13 2016, 09:51 PM)
I don't know whether the market will be bear or bull. I don't want to speculate.

I am certain that the volatility will continue.

Since I am not sure, it is better I do nothing and watch from the sideline first. Please note that this advise is specific to me as I am very near my intended target asset allocation. For those who have just started DCA or at the accumulation stage; continue DCA to reach your targeted asset allocation before thinking like I do.

Xuzen
Alright. Different situation then. haha.

Not speculating. Just continue DCA-ing. Saw your post and wondering why. Now I know. smile.gif Thanks!!!
cherroy
post Feb 13 2016, 10:23 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 13 2016, 01:38 PM)

A repeat reminder, please post at ASx thread on ASx issue. Ty

144 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:39 AM