Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only
CyberKewl
Jan 5 2016, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jan 5 2016, 11:25 AM) I would prefer Maybank's 4.17% effective interest rate FD for 6 months promo as it also rollsover the principal + interest on a monthly basis which makes it PIDM protected. do you have the link to this promo for maybank? I can't seem to find it
bbgoat
Jan 5 2016, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jan 5 2016, 09:21 PM) You went to their branch to reactive ah? MACH so long no promo so I also withdrew everything and left RM2 inside lol. Maybe this weekend head to their branch to reactive.  No need to go to the branch. I think they have something like "Re-activate my acct" link. You have to click it. It will ask u to deposit fund to the MACH acct. But after I xfer from other banks to the MACH acct, it did not appear there. Then their CS called me saying am I activating the MACH. I said yes. Anyway check the online acct and no need to visit MACH branch to re-activate.  Every 6 mth has to do some activity there ! This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 5 2016, 10:35 PM
munkeyflo
Jan 5 2016, 11:54 PM
Blooop bloop bloop
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 5 2016, 10:34 PM) No need to go to the branch. I think they have something like "Re-activate my acct" link. You have to click it. It will ask u to deposit fund to the MACH acct. But after I xfer from other banks to the MACH acct, it did not appear there. Then their CS called me saying am I activating the MACH. I said yes. Anyway check the online acct and no need to visit MACH branch to re-activate.  Every 6 mth has to do some activity there ! Ooh okie. Tomorrow I login and check. Thanks
TOMEI-R
Jan 6 2016, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jan 5 2016, 09:25 PM) Nice, thanks for the link and promo flyer. 4.28% is the junior one. Good for those who has kids.   Not very attractive rates also....  still hlbb is the best for now.
munkeyflo
Jan 6 2016, 12:06 AM
Blooop bloop bloop
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 6 2016, 12:03 AM) Not very attractive rates also....  still hlbb is the best for now. Yea I realize that also after I posted  HLB shorter term somemore haha. But just sharing for others who may be interested to put some funds there I guess.
TOMEI-R
Jan 6 2016, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(bearbear @ Jan 5 2016, 08:51 PM) MACH where got so hi-tech to know whether fresh or not, as long as money is in your acc you can place FD liao. my acc block already cos inactive, free must visit their brance see can re-active or not. bad thing is this acc charge RM8 per annum. Thats why I find it weird some people keep asking the same question over and over again.
TOMEI-R
Jan 6 2016, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jan 6 2016, 12:06 AM) Yea I realize that also after I posted  HLB shorter term somemore haha. But just sharing for others who may be interested to put some funds there I guess.  Can buy me lunch after you get your interests from KFH then!
TSOM
Jan 6 2016, 12:47 AM
MACH charges RM 8 per annum?
is there any way to not get charged? Can I choose not to have ATM card?
mamamia
Jan 6 2016, 07:15 AM
QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 6 2016, 12:47 AM) MACH charges RM 8 per annum? is there any way to not get charged? Can I choose not to have ATM card? If u r new to HLB.. (No CASA, no credit card etc) Then as I know it is the only way to sign up debit card to gain HL Connect access.
kit2
Jan 6 2016, 07:50 AM
QUOTE(mamamia @ Jan 6 2016, 07:15 AM) If u r new to HLB.. (No CASA, no credit card etc) Then as I know it is the only way to sign up debit card to gain HL Connect access. you don't need a debit card in order to gain access to online banking. of course, with a debit card you can sign up for online banking yourself. without it, the bank has to create an account for you. hong leong mach branches cannot do it, so you have to visit a normal branch.
bbgoat
Jan 6 2016, 08:24 AM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jan 6 2016, 12:06 AM) Yea I realize that also after I posted  HLB shorter term somemore haha. But just sharing for others who may be interested to put some funds there I guess.  I think it is good for those that put large sums that can use the profits for another FD promo placement immediately, getting about 4.43% eff rate. HL 6 mths 4.5% is good but 6 mths only. So if the rates are going down, then 6 mths later we may lose out compared to the 15 mth 4.4% offered by say RHB.
munkeyflo
Jan 6 2016, 10:09 AM
Blooop bloop bloop
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 6 2016, 12:10 AM) Can buy me lunch after you get your interests from KFH then!  Hahahaha. I think I'll go for Mach placement la. But I have to get my account activated first. And I tried login in to HLB connect but completely forgotten my password lol.
Ramjade
Jan 6 2016, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jan 6 2016, 10:09 AM) Hahahaha. I think I'll go for Mach placement la. But I have to get my account activated first. And I tried login in to HLB connect but completely forgotten my password lol.  Use a program like lastpass. It can generate password and store them for you and can even aurofill for you. It's free.
munkeyflo
Jan 6 2016, 10:26 AM
Blooop bloop bloop
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 6 2016, 10:21 AM) Use a program like lastpass. It can generate password and store them for you and can even aurofill for you. It's free. Nah, I don't really trust softwares to create passwords and store them somemore.  No biggie, lucky HLB Mach all online, just have to reset my password. Had to look for my ATM card though haha. Almost thought I misplaced it already. All done now and reactivated the moneybox account, just transferred some money into it. bbgoat how long it took you before you called their CS? Or did they call you?
TOMEI-R
Jan 6 2016, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jan 6 2016, 10:09 AM) Hahahaha. I think I'll go for Mach placement la. But I have to get my account activated first. And I tried login in to HLB connect but completely forgotten my password lol.  Mach is the way for internet savvy young people like us. Conventional banking is for oldies. Btw, HLBB still offers the highest interest for FD right now. No other better interests rates ATM.
Nom-el
Jan 6 2016, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 5 2016, 06:29 PM) Nearly forgotten on my MBB GIA-i interest until guy3288 talked about the 4% 1 mth FD. Checked the interest, it was less by about 5 cent for the 31 days. Calculated the interest for the 1 mth, instead of 4%, it is 3.998%. Hope it is not sign that they are slowly lowering the interest !! Others who have the same GIA-i, please check your interest for this month, likely to be slightly less by cents.  How did you calculate the interest? Remember this year is a leap year.
wesleycjh
Jan 6 2016, 11:23 AM

I want to update on the UOB FD Bank Cheque issue. I have made the official enquiry to UOB customer service via email. And I get the response as below from the CS: Thank you for your email.
We wish to inform that we have forwarded your enquiry to the account-maintenance branch (Pudu) for their further action.
Alternatively, kindly contact the branch at (6) 03-9222 9022 for further information pertaining to banking related enquiry.
In the meantime, please email us again at uobcustomerservice@uob.com.my or contact our Customer Service at telephone number 03-2612 8121 (KL), 04-2401 121 (PNG), 07-2881 121 (JB), 082-287 121 (KCH), 088-477 121 (KK) if you require further assistance or information. Seems like they are clever now, divert the question to the branch instead. And I received the response from the branch: We refer to your email enquiry and would like to confirm that since you have no CASA account with the bank, the only way that you would like to withdraw your Fixed Deposit is by Cashier's Order payable under your own name, the charges for Cashier's Order is RM2.80.
Hope the above clarification is clear to you.
Thanks & regards
Selly Based on above response, I think the Bank Cheque charge is not standardized but on branch basis. Previously I had one FD matured, initially they are going to charge me RM2.80 for BC, but I told them I called CS that only need to pay RM0.68 (actually i didn't call CS, but just based on response from HumanNature and BBgoat to try my luck  ), after several discussion and with my insist, they finally agreed to charge only RM0.68. I got another FD going to mature on mid of Jan, to prevent the argument again, i logged the case above. With above email response seems like no choice but have to pay RM2.80 for my BC on my next visit
munkeyflo
Jan 6 2016, 11:24 AM
Blooop bloop bloop
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 6 2016, 10:49 AM) Mach is the way for internet savvy young people like us. Conventional banking is for oldies. Btw, HLBB still offers the highest interest for FD right now. No other better interests rates ATM. Yaaaa. Which is why I'm reactivating my money box account  I love how we don't have to go to bank to activate it (or reset my forgotten password)
kit2
Jan 6 2016, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(wesleycjh @ Jan 6 2016, 11:23 AM) Based on above response, I think the Bank Cheque charge is not standardized but on branch basis. Previously I had one FD matured, initially they are going to charge me RM2.80 for BC, but I told them I called CS that only need to pay RM0.68 (actually i didn't call CS, but just based on response from HumanNature and BBgoat to try my luck  ), after several discussion and with my insist, they finally agreed to charge only RM0.68. I got another FD going to mature on mid of Jan, to prevent the argument again, i logged the case above. With above email response seems like no choice but have to pay RM2.80 for my BC on my next visit  you seem to have more than one FD with uob. unless your amount is more than 50k each time, why not open a savings account and go e-banking?
TOMEI-R
Jan 6 2016, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jan 6 2016, 11:24 AM) Yaaaa. Which is why I'm reactivating my money box account  I love how we don't have to go to bank to activate it (or reset my forgotten password)  They have a nice lounge for you to sit and hang around too....  Btw, when can I expect the lunch from your FD interests ar?