post Dec 8 2015, 07:16 AM

6,420 posts

Thanks for your effort, @Ah Siang
mamamia
post Dec 16 2015, 02:48 PM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 16 2015, 02:30 PM)
I will never ever place a FD with SCB again. Went to the branch to uplift the 4.25% 15 months FD and was yold that they do not issue any BC. The only 2 options are cash or credit to SA. Didn't want to credit to SA because I don't have any SA with my next placement banks, OCBC or UOB. By this time I already got the manager to come.

So I said I want cash from the uplifted FD and few thousdand more from my SCB SA. The teller said I need to fill up some forms to uplift FD to SA. I straight away said why need to fill up forms when they said SCB is going paperless. I am being a pain here. So the teller fill up the form and get me to sign. Guess what, she only withdraw the cash from SA. Even the manager heard that I want both FD and SA in cash. Okay, done.

Next I said I want to change the standing instruction for all my other 7 certs to principal + interest credit to SA because if no BC is issued, I do not want to be there physically.

Manager said cannot be done but I said can. Upon checking, it can be done. So they teller filled up 7 forms and since I did not bring along the other 7 certs, wanted me to sign under a stamped remark: FD receipt misplaced by customer, uplifted without receipt. I told them, that is a fraud attempt because it said I am uplifting my FD and that I have lost my cert. I told them I am able to change my standing instruction through phone call previously.

And since both the teller and the manager also seemed blur, I refused to sign and cancelled the instruction as they keep talking about the base rate. The last thing I want is for them to mess up my promo rate and every 6th month credit interest.

So when the next cert matures, I need to think on how to transfer as it is a larger sum than today for cash. The only way that I can think of is to credit to SA and then do online IBG. Anyone know what is the max IBG limit per day?

Okay, so with the cash I went to OCBC for 4.5% 12 months placement and decided to open a SA for future convenient sake. I asked for a SA that has no fee, no ATM and the banker proposed 360 account. So I proceed to deposit the min opening amount RM200. I made it clear that I already have an existing online account with OCBC under my credit card (now terminated) and I want to be able to do online transfer with the new SA. She said no issue. FD was smooth this time.

Then now I login my OCBC account and tried to perform fund transfer but failed. It said I need to open a new deposit account. So I clicked and followed the steps and now end up with a second 360 account but zero deposit. I thought need to maintain RM20 but now zero amount, will there be any penalty?

Any idea how to enable fund transfer function? early closure will incure RM20 fee.
Which branch is it?
mamamia
post Dec 22 2015, 12:47 PM

6,420 posts

https://www.machbyhongleongbank.com/assets/...-450-tnc-en.pdf

HLB MACH 4.5% FD 6 months T&C
mamamia
post Jan 5 2016, 08:14 AM

6,420 posts

For MACH moneybox, u must inform the staff that u don need any debit card which is chargeable at RM8 per annum. As long as u're existing HL Connect user, either credit card or other saving acc with HLB, u can choose not to take the debit card. My colleague force to get debit card due to she doesn't has any acc or card with HLB
mamamia
post Jan 5 2016, 06:18 PM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 5 2016, 06:16 PM)
1 month FD at MBB 4.0%, found out by accident.
Over the counter? Any requirement
mamamia
post Jan 6 2016, 07:15 AM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 6 2016, 12:47 AM)
MACH charges RM 8 per annum?

is there any way to not get charged? Can I choose not to have ATM card?
If u r new to HLB.. (No CASA, no credit card etc) Then as I know it is the only way to sign up debit card to gain HL Connect access.
mamamia
post Jan 6 2016, 06:40 PM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Jan 6 2016, 07:50 AM)
you don't need a debit card in order to gain access to online banking. of course, with a debit card you can sign up for online banking yourself. without it, the bank has to create an account for you. hong leong mach branches cannot do it, so you have to visit a normal branch.
Then, I should rephrase as HLB MACH.. Coz my colleague went to HLB MACH and she has to get the debit card.. But as far as I know, for HLB account opening, u r required to open an CASA with them with RM8 charges with debit card, I'm not sure which branch allow only online banking (HL Connect) without any product (such as CC, loan, CASA)with them. Can u advise how is the procedure?
mamamia
post Jan 7 2016, 07:22 AM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Jan 6 2016, 09:32 PM)
i have mach and i opened mine at pavillion without getting any card. you can try your luck at the main branch too. i don't need card as hl has cardless withdrawal. some staff might use scare tactic to force you get atm/debit card so you need to be firm and insistent. some people reported they got atm card for free so your negotiation skill is important too smile.gif
U mean u don have HL Connect or any HL product b4 u open MACH? My colleague also open at pavilion. For my case, I told them I don need the ATM card coz I'm existing HLB CC holder with HL Connect. But, I also got HL saving with the hello kitty card which they force me to take too. Now I read someone reported that I can cancel it, gonna do it by this week to avoid giving free money to bank every year. That ATM card sitting nicely in my wallet, never use it for past few years after I opened the acc.
mamamia
post Jan 7 2016, 07:59 AM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Dec 31 2015, 02:42 PM)
just to add, i am maintaining a savings account with HLB, without a debit card. i cancelled the debit card about 1.5 years ago when it stopped being my salary account.

just managing the account via online.

EDIT: i realised in your case you are referring to new account opening. which in my case is not the same as yours

anyway, you can always request for basic savings account which doesn't charge the RM8 but limits your withdrawal frequency to 4 times or something. can refer to HLB website.
Can I know how to cancel the debit card? Just go to any branch and request to cancel?
mamamia
post Jan 7 2016, 06:52 PM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 7 2016, 11:28 AM)
Drat, kena DBKL saman when placing HLB FD, there goes my 1 week interest... does it need to be paid?
Out of topic: the trick to avoid paying summon:
1st, if is due to didn't pay parking ticket, u should immediately go to pay for the ticket if it is auto pay machine n go to DBKL at the same day to appeal stating u queuing up to pay the parking while DBKL officer come and issue summon.
2nd, u can choose not to pay since is DBKL or wait till their promotion period only pay.
3rd, u should go straight to DBKL at the same day and appeal for lower fee.
mamamia
post Jan 11 2016, 05:45 PM

6,420 posts

OT: I successfully cancel my Hello Kitty HLB debit card today. Walk in to branch n tell the staff I want to cancel. They gave me the form to fill up n cancel straight away n they cut the card in front of me.
mamamia
post Jan 14 2016, 02:36 PM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(TANjb @ Jan 14 2016, 01:55 PM)
I think EPF will give a 5.5 - 6 % this round ( the last was 6.75%).
4.5 to 5.2% only

mamamia
post Jan 20 2016, 09:19 AM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jan 20 2016, 09:17 AM)
pls do update if the 4.5% HLB 6 months FD promotion is indeed over.
i have a FD maturing end of this month. thought wanna catch it.
u gotta call the branch that u intend to go... most branch stop accepting the placement under this promo.
mamamia
post Jan 25 2016, 08:58 PM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Jan 25 2016, 06:13 PM)
hello guys, would like to inform all that the HLB 4.5@6 months is still available . also is there anyway to make them suspend my debit/atm card? im not using. also i was told that min balance in current acc must be at least 200 or they will charge Rm5, is this common with all banks?
I've cancel my debit card with them. U can try to walk in n tell them u want to cancel the card. For me, they gave me a form to fill in n cancel immediately
mamamia
post Jan 26 2016, 11:08 AM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 26 2016, 08:40 AM)
But what if you need to withdraw money?
Now I also in the same boat on this situation, too many cards in my wallet.
You are speculating? Nobody can tell, except for the banks them self. As they need certain reserve before releasing a loan.
If they can't release loans, they can't make money. So as long as economy condition does not really improves, we can still enjoy high FD rates flex.gif
I normally use IBG to transfer n my HLB saving acc come with passbook. My HLB debit card nvr use before for past few years since account opening until I cancelled it few week back.
mamamia
post Jan 26 2016, 02:40 PM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Jan 26 2016, 11:14 AM)
went over this morning.. according to them can cancel only after 6 months ..... doh.gif
so, at least u just pay 1 year RM8..
mamamia
post Jan 29 2016, 10:05 PM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Jan 29 2016, 10:03 PM)
thanks for the reply!

no CASA with HLB /Mach.

can't seems to find Mach offering basic saving account, guess I have to visit HLB first, then only mach..  rclxub.gif
if u r existing HLB customer with HL Connect access (eg, credit card), u dont need to get their debit card.. MACH money box just need a HL Connect access then u can create your own MACH FD account via online.
mamamia
post Jan 29 2016, 10:11 PM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jan 29 2016, 10:06 PM)
still need to open acct in mach branch, bro.
yes, need to open MACH account at MACH branch/kiosk, but, he is asking about the debit card/ ATM card.. So, I'm telling him no need to get debit card if he is existing HL Connect user.. cool2.gif , so, maybe my statement on MACH FD creation confuse u.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mamamia: Jan 29 2016, 10:12 PM
mamamia
post Jan 29 2016, 11:11 PM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jan 29 2016, 10:40 PM)
kikiki, ur statement misleading, bro, kikiki:

"MACH money box just need a HL Connect access then u can create your own MACH FD account via online."

not just me, whoever read the above will also say the same thing,  tongue.gif
Ok, I shall rephrase it as, when you go to open MACH Money Box at any HL MACH branches, you don't need to take the debit card if you're exisitng HL Connect user. After you open the MACH Money Box account, u can access to your HL Connect and create the MACH FD account online to do e-FD placement. Very fast (within 10 min) and simple (just fill up FATCA form) to open a MACH Money Box than conventional HLB account.
mamamia
post Jan 30 2016, 10:49 AM

6,420 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jan 30 2016, 08:17 AM)
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

tat is clear.  thumbup.gif unlike someone here, die die oso no admit error and argue, change topics till end of world. kikiki  tongue.gif
Lol, we r here to share info / knowledge.. Not finding fault..

But I rmb someone mentioned, even u don own any product, u can still get them to do online banking access to u to access HL Connect without credit card/debit card. I guess this is useful for MACH account which mainly for online banking usage..
For HL conventional bank, die die u must have passbook/debit card /ATM Card even u have HL Connect to open their CASA.

0.0477sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:11 PM