Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

munkeyflo
post Jan 5 2016, 01:25 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jan 4 2016, 09:57 PM)
just so share. you may actually open a GIA-i account via Maybank2u. No promo rate of 4.5% but 4% instead. as usual minimum 5k for 1 month and 1k for the rest. still higher than normal board fd rate for those who don't mind regarding PIDM
Thanks for sharing. I'm looking more into eFDs these days for convenience.

Does TS update the first page with eFD promotions? I know there's a section for eFDs but not for the promotion I think? Like last month got that CIMB eFD promo thingy.
munkeyflo
post Jan 5 2016, 05:51 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Just received call from Kuwait.

CNY FD Promo for minimum fresh funds of RM10k.
12 months - 4.25%
*interest is paid up 1 week after your FD is placed.

Then if your initial placement is huge, interest is huge, then can place another round with them. If you do this (min initial placement 250k, then you get interest of 10k+), then the effective rate is about 4.43%.

Promo until April but first come first serve apparently. Anyone else heard of this?
munkeyflo
post Jan 5 2016, 06:48 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 5 2016, 06:15 PM)
Today was busy and no time to go to HL to place another round of 6 mth 4.5%. So at about 6pm just now, transferred fund (IBFT) to my MACH account and placed the 6 mth 4.5% FD.

Convenient and no need to go to bank, moreover it is 6.10pm already !  biggrin.gif

Can see it immediately in my HL online account ! First time to do it for my MACH account though have it for almost 1 year already.  rclxms.gif
My MACH account already dormant and dunno how many years Liao. A bit lazy to go activate it sweat.gif
munkeyflo
post Jan 5 2016, 09:21 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 5 2016, 07:03 PM)
dude, any idea if i place it for only 20 days? do I entitle for 4% p.a as well?
If I'm not mistaken, you should be able to get as well. Counted daily or something.

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 5 2016, 08:13 PM)
That means the MBB GIA-i still available and running.
I got caught last year. Every 6 mths must have acct activity. Have tried to activate it and the CS called me to confirm it as money sent in not shown until CS activated the MACH acct.  sweat.gif
Not sure about it.  hmm.gif
You went to their branch to reactive ah? MACH so long no promo so I also withdrew everything and left RM2 inside lol.
Maybe this weekend head to their branch to reactive. sweat.gif
munkeyflo
post Jan 5 2016, 09:25 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jan 5 2016, 09:22 PM)
Nice, thanks for the link and promo flyer.
4.28% is the junior one. Good for those who has kids. laugh.gif

munkeyflo
post Jan 5 2016, 11:54 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 5 2016, 10:34 PM)
No need to go to the branch. I think they have something like "Re-activate my acct" link. You have to click it. It will ask u to deposit fund to the MACH acct. But after I xfer from other banks to the MACH acct, it did not appear there. Then their CS called me saying am I activating the MACH. I said yes.

Anyway check the online acct and no need to visit MACH branch to re-activate.  biggrin.gif

Every 6 mth has to do some activity there !
Ooh okie. Tomorrow I login and check. Thanks notworthy.gif
munkeyflo
post Jan 6 2016, 12:06 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 6 2016, 12:03 AM)
Not very attractive rates also.... tongue.gif still hlbb is the best for now.
Yea I realize that also after I posted tongue.gif
HLB shorter term somemore haha. But just sharing for others who may be interested to put some funds there I guess. laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Jan 6 2016, 10:09 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 6 2016, 12:10 AM)
Can buy me lunch after you get your interests from KFH then! rclxm9.gif
Hahahaha. I think I'll go for Mach placement la. But I have to get my account activated first. And I tried login in to HLB connect but completely forgotten my password lol. sweat.gif
munkeyflo
post Jan 6 2016, 10:26 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 6 2016, 10:21 AM)
Use a program like lastpass. It can generate password and store them for you and can even aurofill for you. It's free.
Nah, I don't really trust softwares to create passwords and store them somemore. sweat.gif

No biggie, lucky HLB Mach all online, just have to reset my password. Had to look for my ATM card though haha. Almost thought I misplaced it already.

All done now and reactivated the moneybox account, just transferred some money into it.
bbgoat how long it took you before you called their CS? Or did they call you?
munkeyflo
post Jan 6 2016, 11:24 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 6 2016, 10:49 AM)
Mach is the way for internet savvy young people like us.  tongue.gif

Conventional banking is for oldies.  laugh.gif

Btw, HLBB still offers the highest interest for FD right now. No other better interests rates ATM.
Yaaaa. Which is why I'm reactivating my money box account laugh.gif

I love how we don't have to go to bank to activate it (or reset my forgotten password) thumbup.gif
munkeyflo
post Jan 6 2016, 11:43 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 6 2016, 11:35 AM)
They have a nice lounge for you to sit and hang around too.... brows.gif Btw, when can I expect the lunch from your FD interests ar?
Haha. Dinner first. Lunch talk later. Anyway continue in PM. Later admins no happy thread derailed. tongue.gif
munkeyflo
post Jan 6 2016, 12:03 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(dannyw @ Jan 6 2016, 11:48 AM)
After transfer the money in, can't put the promo FD directly?

How to go about? it will list down in the FD list?

Btw, to open the Mach account, what do I need to bring? Just walkin like that?
1. Hm, you need an account to transfer the money into, then you can put it into the promo FD once your funds are shown in the account.

2. I don't really understand this. There will be an FD account open for you to place your FDs. If you have a few FDs, it'll all be listed there, all the different amount and maturity dates.

3. Walk in to any Mach branch and bring your IC with you. Just tell them you wanna open account. And some cash also, I remember banking in about RM50 or less via their cash deposit machine when I open my account. It's immediate if I'm not mistaken. They will also give you a debit/ATM card. Which you can then use it to register your HLB connect account, transfer the money in and place into FD.
munkeyflo
post Jan 6 2016, 12:22 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(dannyw @ Jan 6 2016, 12:16 PM)
Sorry, I didn't clarify in details.
I'm already have HLB account, even have conventional FD with them. Recently saw they do have e-FD. Just the rate is so so, even lower than MBB.

That's why I wonder how should I go about for this MACH. I do have the Hello Kitty ATM card with me at the moment.  blush.gif
Ohh. They do have similar FD promo for their conventional accounts right?

Mach account is marketed to be all online and stuffs. Their account names are slightly different. Their saving account is called the Money Box Deposit Account. I remember last time there was quite some discussion about this when they also had pretty good rates for their Mach FD. If I recall correctly, you have to open the money box account at their Mach branches.

https://www.machbyhongleongbank.com/frequen...#/tab/money-box
Question 10:
How do I apply for a Money Box?
The Money Box can be applied at Mach by Hong Leong Bank branches. You must present your MyKAD, and proceed to fill in the prescribed e-application form provided at the branch.

And their branches: https://www.machbyhongleongbank.com/branches/

Hope this helps. biggrin.gif
munkeyflo
post Jan 6 2016, 12:34 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(dannyw @ Jan 6 2016, 12:31 PM)
So means I just have to walk in to the Mach branch, then they need RM50 to open the Money Box, and right after, I just need IBG in money, and can choose the promo FD in the e-FD list?
Yup. You'll have to open a Mach FD account, which can be done online on the HLB connect website.
Then you can start placing Mach FDs in that FD account.
munkeyflo
post Jan 6 2016, 01:16 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(dannyw @ Jan 6 2016, 12:43 PM)
doh.gif  can cancel one-ah?

I remember long time ago the branch not allow to, and ask me to change somemore, that's why I have the Kitty ATM.
I already get them charge for many years....
Not sure. But I don't remember getting charge RM8 per year for the past year. I think I had my Mach account opened in 2014.
munkeyflo
post Jan 6 2016, 02:39 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 6 2016, 02:37 PM)
The CS called me. Have you transferred fund to the Moneybox to activate it ? The re-activation similar to what I said before ?  biggrin.gif
How long did it take for them to call you?

Ya, I reactivated it online this morning, key in TAC number and all.
And transferred RM100 first to the account after that. So far nothing yet. biggrin.gif
munkeyflo
post Jan 6 2016, 03:13 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 6 2016, 02:44 PM)
I think is the second day after I xfer'ed the money. It was shown immediately in the Moneybox. But I think hrs later, it disappeared. Then the next day the CS called me.

So check your money few hrs later. It may disappear ! tongue.gif

Anyway that was like 4 or 5 mths ago. Not sure the same thing will happen. They may have improved their procedure.  biggrin.gif
Should've done it yesterday when CIMB extended that free instant IBG thingy until yesterday. sad.gif
I cheapskate use normal IBG this morning. So it will most likely go in by late afternoon today. lol.

Still nothing in the account yet. Will have to check tomorrow. If tomorrow still nothing then will call CS and ask. smile.gif
munkeyflo
post Jan 7 2016, 09:43 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 6 2016, 02:44 PM)
I think is the second day after I xfer'ed the money. It was shown immediately in the Moneybox. But I think hrs later, it disappeared. Then the next day the CS called me.

So check your money few hrs later. It may disappear ! tongue.gif

Anyway that was like 4 or 5 mths ago. Not sure the same thing will happen. They may have improved their procedure.  biggrin.gif
My IBG got rejected. vmad.gif Wasted paying the transfer fees.

Looks like I have to call them up anyways.

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 6 2016, 10:45 PM)
I didnt get charged for my ATM card with Mach. Anyway, I dont understand the fuss about the Rm8 for the atm card. For goodness sake, its Rm 8 only.
Yea I don't remember getting charge RM8 for my ATM card either. Not sure why though.
munkeyflo
post Jan 7 2016, 02:49 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 7 2016, 02:34 PM)
Wasai, my IBFT went inside the MACH acct immediately. But as I said it disappeared a few hours later. Your IBG not successful ? Was there a  message send by originating bank (the bank u used to send to MACH acct) ? Maybe it is like my case the money not shown in the acct. But on the next day the MACH CS called me and put back the money.  biggrin.gif
Ya I receive SMS when I woke up this morning saying that my IBG was not successful and the funds have been credited back into my account. vmad.gif

I tried calling the CS number stated in the HLB Connect website (at the bottom right always got that "call us at ...") but it went straight to engage tone few times or it will say "Harap maaf, the number you have dial is not reachable at this moment, blah blah blah". Have been trying since this morning so I fed up and send them an enquiry thru their HLB Connect also. They say will response within 1-4 working days. sad.gif
munkeyflo
post Jan 7 2016, 02:57 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 7 2016, 02:52 PM)
sweat.gif I guess I was lucky then. The IBFT done, fund disappeared few hrs later. But since did not receive notice that it was returned to originating bank, take it easy. The next day, MACH CS called me, then everything settled. That was 5 or 6 mths ago.

Hope you can get it sorted out soon.

One more thing, did you try to transfer fund between your normal HL acct to MACH acct ?
Unfortunately, I don't have a normal HL acct. Only got MACH acct and my CC. sad.gif

Guess I'll just wait for the CS to response to me.

0.0492sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:06 AM