Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only
yygo
Jan 3 2016, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 3 2016, 08:29 PM) Who cares about inactivity? You just contact the bank they will restore your account. Now the 7 years one is more Complicated. You need to run here and there. Contacting the bank will not solve your problem. change topic again? inactive sa acct is 1 year. period. dun talk non sense. the 7 years is a diff issue mainly for fd on auto renewal. pal, still same old u.
TANjb
Jan 3 2016, 09:41 PM
QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 3 2016, 05:42 PM) UOB still better ma at 4.40% for 12 months! UOB 4,4% for 12 month still on ? May I know the promotion period?
Kaka23
Jan 3 2016, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(TANjb @ Jan 3 2016, 09:41 PM) UOB 4,4% for 12 month still on ? May I know the promotion period? I am not sure if it is still on, but definately still on end of Dec. You can try to ask, but if u ask me it is still on..
TOMEI-R
Jan 3 2016, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 3 2016, 05:44 PM) Those were days when banks offering 8% FD, while 7% FD would be frowned upon. I will say that 4.xx% is "healthy" That time, car loan interests were 10% too.
TOMEI-R
Jan 3 2016, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 3 2016, 07:12 PM) you're right lo ... my parents don't trust online banking. Won't do FD without cert. don't know how to convince them. You can screenshot and print out your online account for them to view.
TOMEI-R
Jan 3 2016, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 3 2016, 06:27 PM) Loan to deposit ratio generally goes up across recently which is widely reported in the news media, not something surprise situation. FD grabbing won't last forever, that's why banks run promotion FD instead raise their board rate to attract fund. As using promotion method, they can limit how much the want to grab fund through higher rate, and a lot of time, banks do state once reach x limit of deposit, the promotion ceased etc. which signalled that. Also, due to new Basel III in the pipeline, some banks may need to get more long term deposit to meet the new banking standard. Bro.. if you could read in Chinese. Im also banana. This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jan 3 2016, 10:35 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
cherroy
Jan 3 2016, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 3 2016, 10:34 PM) Bro.. if you could read in Chinese. Im also banana.  Not that serious as the headline... Loan to deposit ratio for banks generally run at 80~90%, but recently the number breached 90%. Both deposit and loan still growing, just the pace of deposit rising cannot match with loan growth. Deposit growth recently is about 5%, while loan growth is about 9%. So deposit cannot catch up the loan given out. While Basel III requirement for banks means the treatment of accounting issue prompt banks to attract more deposit as well. It was reported in the news before. http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...sits/?style=biz
TSOM
Jan 3 2016, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 3 2016, 10:28 PM) You can screenshot and print out your online account for them to view. no use lo ... they are worried that money might disappear without trace. Like no proof etc. so they usually go to branch for FD, which waste a lot of time and money.
TSOM
Jan 3 2016, 10:57 PM
I got FD expiring soon... now looking for places to park my money for 3 or 6 months.
TOMEI-R
Jan 3 2016, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 3 2016, 10:48 PM) Not that serious as the headline... Loan to deposit ratio for banks generally run at 80~90%, but recently the number breached 90%. Both deposit and loan still growing, just the pace of deposit rising cannot match with loan growth. Deposit growth recently is about 5%, while loan growth is about 9%. So deposit cannot catch up the loan given out. While Basel III requirement for banks means the treatment of accounting issue prompt banks to attract more deposit as well. It was reported in the news before. http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...sits/?style=bizOn laymen terms, people are borrowing more than saving. I am a car dealer and have this issue with people buying cars way over their means and to make it worst, they ask for full loans and maximum loan periods like 9 years. These are the type of would be be loan defaulters which contributes to rising NPLs. Rising NPL are causing banks to me more stringent on giving loans to applicants like what is happening nowadays.
TOMEI-R
Jan 3 2016, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 3 2016, 10:55 PM) no use lo ... they are worried that money might disappear without trace. Like no proof etc. so they usually go to branch for FD, which waste a lot of time and money. Time and effort only. QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 3 2016, 10:57 PM) I got FD expiring soon... now looking for places to park my money for 3 or 6 months. HLBB 4.5% for 6 months. Promotion till 31/01/16 only. This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jan 3 2016, 11:03 PM
Human Nature
Jan 3 2016, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 3 2016, 10:55 PM) no use lo ... they are worried that money might disappear without trace. Like no proof etc. so they usually go to branch for FD, which waste a lot of time and money. i understand you man as I experienced the same thing. so all my FDs come with cert. luckily I am active in FD musical chair, so I am okay with it
debbieyss
Jan 3 2016, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 3 2016, 11:03 PM) Time and effort only. HLBB 4.5% for 6 months. Promotion till 31/01/16 only.  Can share more about the HLBB promotion? I couldn't search it from the website.
MUM
Jan 3 2016, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 3 2016, 11:26 PM) Can share more about the HLBB promotion? I couldn't search it from the website. try see in Post# 1
TOMEI-R
Jan 3 2016, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 3 2016, 11:26 PM) Can share more about the HLBB promotion? I couldn't search it from the website. Mach FD promotionsBy the way, im just letting you know only. Am no agent whatsover for hlbb.
cklimm
Jan 3 2016, 11:36 PM
Latest from Citibank: "Time Deposit interest rates will be revised wef 22 January 2016." https://www.citibank.com.my/global_docs/pdf/Timedeposit.pdf I believe they are the only bank, who has the guts to do this
Cherry16
Jan 3 2016, 11:41 PM

Interested in Mach FD promotion. I already have HL connect but no savings or current account. I need to open a savings account and then can perform Mach FD online?
bee993
Jan 3 2016, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 3 2016, 11:26 PM) Can share more about the HLBB promotion? I couldn't search it from the website. Min rm10k.
debbieyss
Jan 3 2016, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 3 2016, 11:36 PM) Latest from Citibank: "Time Deposit interest rates will be revised wef 22 January 2016." https://www.citibank.com.my/global_docs/pdf/Timedeposit.pdf I believe they are the only bank, who has the guts to do this So low....
cklimm
Jan 4 2016, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 3 2016, 11:55 PM) They have the guts This post has been edited by cklimm: Jan 4 2016, 12:29 AM