Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Bonescythe
post Jan 4 2016, 02:22 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 4 2016, 01:44 PM)
The only time I got a 9.18% FD from CB is with UT promotion in 2015. They does not seem to bother with pure FD promo.

In fact they are raising the AUM for CItigold from 200k to 350k. That is even higher than OCBC's 300k for PB but lower than UOB's 500k.  biggrin.gif
Signs of Malaysia currency going down the drain

bbgoat
post Jan 4 2016, 02:28 PM

6,614 posts

Today planning for FD musical chair. whistling.gif Called UOB and OCBC as mentioned earlier.

Went to RHB to uplift FD matured on last Friday. RHB normally do not pay interest over Sat/Sun and holidays. But this time as the amt is big, have asked them last week. Today went to see the officer. She calculated and paid me the 3 days interest. rclxms.gif Thanks to our lady. notworthy.gif Rentas out the whole FD amt to CB. Rentas RM5.30.

Noticed long queue of people in RHB to update their ASNB passbook (this is for those kaki invetsed in ASNB, they are active in both FD and ASNB threads. I have some eggs there also tongue.gif ).

The officer introduced the new branch manager and she gave me a RHB desk top calendar. The previous BM was there only 1 year plus.

The RHB FD promo with eff rate of 15 mth 4.4% till end March still running but their 3 mth 4.2% is until 31/1 only.

Then went to HL to place for 6 mth 4.5% with mthly interest. thumbup.gif

Went in to see AmBank BM. He said their current promo of 6 mth 4.08% and 12 mth 4.18% (I have reported this last week) is for retention purpose only. They know it is not competitive. He told me their CNY FD promo will come out soon. Lets see. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 4 2016, 02:31 PM
cklimm
post Jan 4 2016, 02:42 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(filage @ Jan 4 2016, 11:48 AM)
The CIMB eFD promo page still accessible. Does it mean still can subscribe?
forget bout that, its over.

This post has been edited by cklimm: Jan 4 2016, 02:50 PM

TSOM
post Jan 4 2016, 03:13 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 4 2016, 02:28 PM)
RHB normally do not pay interest over Sat/Sun and holidays. But this time as the amt is big, have asked them last week. Today went to see the officer. She calculated and paid me the 3 days interest. rclxms.gif Thanks to our lady. 
the 3 days interest based on the promotional rate??
bbgoat
post Jan 4 2016, 03:17 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 4 2016, 03:13 PM)
the 3 days interest based on the promotional rate??
Hahaha, good question ! The FD was a step-up one with the last step-up to 5.38%. I already know that they will not give me the 5.38% rate. In system, the FD was auto renewed to another 3 mths cycle. So the system generated and calculated the interest for the 3 days at 3.2%.

So I got the interest which I can go for good dinner for 2. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

So lesson is always ask especially if the FD amt is large. biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Jan 4 2016, 06:21 PM

- student of human nature -
26,522 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 31 2015, 05:59 PM)
He is unable to confirm when I asked on the fee for pure FD upliftment so he will get back to me on Monday. I further tell him that the figures in the first email are very specific ie.

Cheque processing fee -  RM0.50 + RM0.03(gst)
Stamp duty RM0.15

so where did the CS pluck this numbers from. Coincidentally, I have one UOB FD maturing on the coming Tuesday. So if he doesn't come back with a reply on Monday, I will continue to pay what I have in black and white.
Received the follow up call. He is saying that the fee is the same for BC regardless whether it is from FD or not. They only have one FD fee. When I asked where the CS obtained the exact number in her email, he said the CS just assumed that numbers and refused to reveal further.
bbgoat
post Jan 4 2016, 06:31 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 4 2016, 06:21 PM)
Received the follow up call. He is saying that the fee is the same for BC regardless whether it is from FD or not. They only have one FD fee. When I asked where the CS obtained the exact number in her email, he said the CS just assumed that numbers and refused to reveal further.
So still RM2.80 for the BC ? hmm.gif
TOMEI-R
post Jan 4 2016, 06:32 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 4 2016, 02:42 PM)
forget bout that, its over.
The brochure says 31/12/15.
TOMEI-R
post Jan 4 2016, 06:35 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Jan 4 2016, 01:21 PM)
http://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/personal-bankin...tion-dual-offer

hsbc 4.38% pa for 6 months, but for premier only sad.gif
Still lower than HLBB. They say fresh funds only. So I guess we can take out the funds and put it back in. rolleyes.gif

Silly rule to that. So much for customer retention. doh.gif
Human Nature
post Jan 4 2016, 06:38 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 4 2016, 06:31 PM)
So still RM2.80 for the BC ?  hmm.gif
Yes, I find it hard to believe that the CS is able to conjure that numbers.
bbgoat
post Jan 4 2016, 07:16 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 4 2016, 06:38 PM)
Yes, I find it hard to believe that the CS is able to conjure that numbers.
Confirmed Pg and Ipoh side RM0.68 for the BC. UOB unable to standardize between the various location/branches ! shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 4 2016, 07:17 PM
Human Nature
post Jan 4 2016, 07:19 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 4 2016, 07:16 PM)
Confirmed Pg and Ipoh side RM0.68 for the BC. UOB unable to standardize between the various branches ! shakehead.gif
Tomorrow going to UOB for maturing FD. I am sure he has conveyed this to the branch to charge me RM2.68 back. Poor CS takes the blame.
adele123
post Jan 4 2016, 09:02 PM

4,724 posts

just out of curiousity, cause i have not done this before...

if i have a FD maturing under Bank A. i brought it to another bank, Bank B to place promo.

then i went to Bank A sometime later (because i have extra money) to place another FD promo.

so, is it fresh fund in this case? what if this sometime later is 3 months from now or 2 weeks from now, what's their definition of fresh?

!@#$%^
post Jan 4 2016, 09:57 PM

Safe Trader
17,497 posts

just so share. you may actually open a GIA-i account via Maybank2u. No promo rate of 4.5% but 4% instead. as usual minimum 5k for 1 month and 1k for the rest. still higher than normal board fd rate for those who don't mind regarding PIDM
SUSMNet
post Jan 4 2016, 10:25 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jan 4 2016, 09:57 PM)
just so share. you may actually open a GIA-i account via Maybank2u. No promo rate of 4.5% but 4% instead. as usual minimum 5k for 1 month and 1k for the rest. still higher than normal board fd rate for those who don't mind regarding PIDM
4.5% pa. finished quota?
Human Nature
post Jan 4 2016, 10:32 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 4 2016, 09:02 PM)
just out of curiousity, cause i have not done this before...

if i have a FD maturing under Bank A. i brought it to another bank, Bank B to place promo.

then i went to Bank A sometime later (because i have extra money) to place another FD promo.

so, is it fresh fund in this case? what if this sometime later is 3 months from now or 2 weeks from now, what's their definition of fresh?
Yes, will be considered as fresh promo in your case. Need to read the T&C for specific definition of fresh fund. for example, in one of standard chartered promo: “fresh funds” means funds in Ringgit Malaysia which do not originate from any account held with either SCBMB or SCSB.

Others banks like UOB and OCBC do consider funds from SA as long as it is within 7 days.
!@#$%^
post Jan 4 2016, 10:36 PM

Safe Trader
17,497 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 4 2016, 10:25 PM)
4.5% pa. finished quota?
that promo over the counter only if i'm not mistaken
TSOM
post Jan 4 2016, 10:53 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jan 4 2016, 09:57 PM)
Maybank got 4% for 1month placement?
!@#$%^
post Jan 4 2016, 11:12 PM

Safe Trader
17,497 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 4 2016, 10:53 PM)
Maybank got 4% for 1month placement?
not guaranteed. it's maybank gia-i. not fd per say but many of our forumers went for their 4.5% promo.

Source
??!!
post Jan 4 2016, 11:26 PM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 4 2016, 12:45 PM)
With online instant transfer facility available nowadays, will this circumvent the fresh fund requirement?

eg:
Uplift from Bank A, instant transfer to Bank B. Login Bank B, transfer it back to Bank A. To play safe, add or subtract some small amount to avoid same figure.
I've done this before, just to test the system. Didn't even add/minus amount.
It works! smile.gif

125 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0185sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:54 PM