125 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Bonescythe
post Feb 7 2016, 05:52 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Feb 7 2016, 12:35 PM)
This promo should come with a free trolley luggage bag too..
Wow.. so familiar ? You took the saving plan ?
Haha.
Izit 1 to 1 ratio ?

If with free trolley bag, then not bad also after all.

Btw, happy cny to you n the rest. Hope all huat.

esy
post Feb 8 2016, 11:52 AM

160 posts

... Gong Xi Fat Chai and a happy festive holiday to all here ... biggrin.gif ...
SUSlowya
post Feb 8 2016, 01:11 PM

4,821 posts

[quote=kyenli,Feb 6 2016, 06:20 PM]
Do you know if there's any catch? 4.8% for 15 mths from rhb[QUOTE]

[/quote]

in fact, plenty of catch here.

Bank negara if truly doing it's work should regulate all misleading advertising from banks like these. All ads should shows only effective p.a. rates.

This post has been edited by lowya: Feb 8 2016, 01:11 PM
guy3288
post Feb 8 2016, 06:51 PM

5,866 posts

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Feb 5 2016, 06:13 PM)
i think what he says make sense actually..

because different state different limit been set

if you are at subang or kl or big cities at least need to put 1-3 millions to get that rate

but in small city 300k will do and rewards with 2 hampers and rate also attractive liao

this is characteristic for BR so far.

of course, THANKS to forumers here mentioning BR is good for FDs and negotiable rates with free gifts
unfortunately i remember my branch nego rate can increase very little only 0.05% or so.
but the last time i nego was long ago.

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 5 2016, 08:04 PM)
So, I was right. BR was planning a surprise for you ! biggrin.gif

I agreed that 1 year 4.8% is unbelievable to me too. Their current promo for 2 years is 4.55% for min 50k. I think that was the reason they agreed to give me 1 year 4.5% for my FD renewal.

5 years ? 4.9% to 5.2% ? Must be very high millions. Unlikely go to beyond 5%.
yeah right, but it is too small to stop customer moving out.....
a better way is like your branch, offer extra 0.3% for 1 yr FD or something.
how much required to nego extra 0.3% for 1 yr?

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Feb 6 2016, 07:43 PM)
I suggest 2 week before your million FD to become mature, you show BR your million FD
to nego; otherwise BR will not believe you have this amount of money, then BR will serious
to work out the best rate for you.

Second method is top up million FD to nego. Good Luck..
i dont have 1 million/pc. manager must be sleeping la.
let me move out one by one without counter offer.

if really can get 4.9% or more,sacrifice abit also nvm.
I thought FD rate is going down,
why still got 4.9 - 5.2% rates??

bbgoat
post Feb 8 2016, 07:40 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 8 2016, 06:51 PM)
yeah right, but it is too small to stop customer moving out.....
a better way is like your branch, offer extra 0.3% forĀ  1 yr FD or something.
how much required to nego extra 0.3% forĀ  1 yr?
Ya, I have moved out >50% of my eggs in BR over the last 1.5 years or so as their rate was not attractive since then.

Last time for fresh fund I was able to get 0.2% or 0.25% max nego rate. This time it is matured FD and they gave me 4.5%. Though I asked for higher rate but they came out with 4.5% 12 mths is because of their current promo, 2 yrs 4.55%, I think. They wanted me to keep the matured eggs there. tongue.gif

PM u on the amt involved. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 8 2016, 07:53 PM
poor man
post Feb 8 2016, 10:59 PM

217 posts

anyone get renew fd ambank promo can get gift?

T&C

http://www.ambank.com.my/ambank/SiteAssets...paignTnCEng.pdf

wil-i-am
post Feb 9 2016, 10:50 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Feb 7 2016, 02:24 PM)
if cash is consider as fresh funds, then withdraw matured FDs in cash, and place deposit in same bank not consider fresh funds?
Yes subject to placement with different branch of same Bank n slightly different sum
BoomChaCha
post Feb 9 2016, 02:34 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Feb 5 2016, 08:19 PM)
affin bank checking source of income? what form is that?
I have no idea what kind of form, will find out tomorrow sweat.gif

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Feb 7 2016, 05:52 PM)
Wow.. so familiar ? You took the saving plan ?
Haha.
Izit 1 to 1 ratio ?

If with free trolley bag, then not bad also after all.

Btw, happy cny to you n the rest. Hope all huat.
No lah, I did not take this saving plan.
Better stick with FD lah in my personal opinion..

Happy Chinese New Year to Ah Bone Gor and everybody too.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 8 2016, 06:51 PM)
i dont have 1 million/pc. manager must be sleeping la.
let me move out one by one without counter offer.

if really can get 4.9% or more,sacrifice abit also nvm.
I thought FD rate is going down,
why still got 4.9 - 5.2% rates??
I do not know what to say.. sweat.gif

BR 's Victoria seafood hamper: biggrin.gif

Here are all items inside BR hamper:
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This diary was not included in the hamper package.
I asked for it when I collected the hamper.
I think this diary worth in between RM 7.00 to RM 8.00

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Feb 9 2016, 02:52 PM
cantopop
post Feb 9 2016, 07:16 PM

Hi sifus,

My parents just sold off some land in sabah and received a big sale proceeds.

After discussion with several experts, the best investment seems to be fixed deposit for the following reasons.
1. buying a big house for capital appreciation takes alot of time and will also use up half the proceeds. But will enjoy relatives admiration during festive house visitation.
2.buying several condos to collect rent seems to be challenging as demand is low compared to supply and profit is similar to FD rates. However capital appreciation is quite alot if able to cash out.
3.FD will provide stable and re-curring income.

So fixed deposit will suit them as it provides them stable income to pay rental for the place they stay and also money for their living expenses.

So in this case , would like to ask sifus here how to help my parents play the fd musical chair game.

Plan A : put into BR 4.55% 2 year FD ( monthly payment is good however interest rate is likely to go up , so may lose out on interest if FD promotion hits 5% by year end)

Plan B : Afin bank and BSN 4.5% one year FD ( no monthly payment, so need to set aside living expenses for one year. But if fd rates increast year end will benefit)

Plan C : play short term FD musical chair like hlb 6 months 4.5% , alliance ban 3 months 4.35% ( so can benefit from fd rates increase, however if no promotion then will lugi)

Plan D : mixture of plan A,B,C

Any comments will be deeply appreciated as I am very new to the FD markets.

DiamondBar
post Feb 9 2016, 07:25 PM

125 posts

wrong post

This post has been edited by DiamondBar: Feb 9 2016, 07:30 PM
MUM
post Feb 9 2016, 07:50 PM

14,862 posts

QUOTE(cantopop @ Feb 9 2016, 07:16 PM)
........... After discussion with several experts,Ā  the best investment seems to be fixed deposit for the following reasons.
.........Any comments will be deeply appreciated as I am very new to the FD markets.
hmm.gif you had already discussed with 'SEVERAL Experts' , yet you still want to seek comments here (from unknown forummers) ?? doh.gif
ask them to more ideas on how to go about it may be a better option. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by MUM: Feb 9 2016, 07:52 PM
edwardccg
post Feb 9 2016, 08:22 PM

1,311 posts

for the RHB 15 months - 4.4% p.a,
is there any T&C from their website? I can't seems to find any.
I want to know more detail on their definition of fresh fund.
i.e IBG from other bank to RHB CASA within 7 days consider fresh fund? or it strictly require a cheque?

adele123
post Feb 9 2016, 11:43 PM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(edwardccg @ Feb 9 2016, 08:22 PM)
for the RHB 15 months - 4.4% p.a,
is there any T&C from their website? I can't seems to find any.
I want to know more detail on their definition of fresh fund.
i.e IBG from other bank to RHB CASA within 7 days consider fresh fund? or it strictly require a cheque?
You can do transfer (IBG/instant). the bank staff at my branch said 2-3 days they are okay to take it as fresh fund.

Aside from min 10k and fresh fund, that's about the important T&C

and no, RHB don't display promo FD on their website, unlike MBB, HLB.

QUOTE(cantopop @ Feb 9 2016, 07:16 PM)
Hi sifus,

My parents just sold off some land in sabah and  received a big sale proceeds.

You have already laid out the pros and cons... for ANYONE to suggest any option, would be if they can predict the future (ie interest to go up or not), which i think no one on this thread dares to predict.

but 5% p.a. for FD? i seriously doubt it... then again... i could be wrong.

This post has been edited by adele123: Feb 9 2016, 11:49 PM
newbiz2008
post Feb 10 2016, 07:21 AM

102 posts

Bro, if i open hl islamic fd at town a after maturity can i withdrawal at town b?
Ramjade
post Feb 10 2016, 07:54 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(newbiz2008 @ Feb 10 2016, 07:21 AM)
Bro, if i open hl islamic fd at town a after maturity can i withdrawal at town b?
Nope. You need to go back to town a and the same branch.
edwardccg
post Feb 10 2016, 08:04 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Feb 9 2016, 11:43 PM)
You can do transfer (IBG/instant). the bank staff at my branch said 2-3 days they are okay to take it as fresh fund.

Aside from min 10k and fresh fund, that's about the important T&C

and no, RHB don't display promo FD on their website, unlike MBB, HLB.
Thanks a lot. I will try to ibg one day before i going to the branch.
Any RHB branch will have the promo, right?
adele123
post Feb 10 2016, 10:30 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(edwardccg @ Feb 10 2016, 08:04 AM)
Thanks a lot. I will try to ibg one day before i going to the branch.
Any RHB branch will have the promo, right?
Use instant transfer lo... Just pay another 42 cents...

Yes. Any rhb branch.
TSOM
post Feb 10 2016, 10:52 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Feb 7 2016, 12:35 PM)
This promo should come with a free trolley luggage bag too..
sorry, I'm lost here. Which bank gives free trolley bags?

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Feb 9 2016, 02:34 PM)
BR 's Victoria seafood hamper:  biggrin.gif
Looks great. How much is the value of the hamper if you roughly estimate?
edwardccg
post Feb 10 2016, 11:24 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Feb 10 2016, 10:30 AM)
Use instant transfer lo... Just pay another 42 cents...

Yes. Any rhb branch.
Oh yes. Forget about instant is now 53 sens only
naruko85
post Feb 10 2016, 12:56 PM

1,611 posts

Hi, I realize that I just place a wrong FD at Public Bank, I am suppose to place in eFD but placed in Plus FD instead, which means I still need to go to the bank to get the cert. and sign

and the money already credited, so how can I cancel it and redo?

If I dont go back to get the cert, and sign, will it automatically canceled?

125 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:04 PM