Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

adele123
post Dec 22 2015, 06:16 PM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(matow @ Dec 22 2015, 04:26 PM)
I just received a call from Hong Leong Bank sales person. She claims to be offering a new type of Savings Account whereby they can guarantee interest rates of 7 to 8% per annum but with some terms and conditions applied. She requested for a meeting with me tomorrow for a presentation at my office.  I also clearly asked her if this was investment link type of savings but she said no, this is pure savings (almost like FD type) and no risk. I'm intrigued and said that I'll meet her and listen without obligation.
Anyone else got such telephone call from Hong Leong Bank?
sounds more like insurance... no bank staff will go to your office lo...

my guess is insurance... so... beware.
adele123
post Dec 31 2015, 02:42 PM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(Plutoman @ Dec 31 2015, 02:04 PM)
Same with what I encountered with HLB when wanna open saving account. I dont want atm card because I only need saving account just for FD placement.

Well.. HLB not the only bank around, I just put else where..
just to add, i am maintaining a savings account with HLB, without a debit card. i cancelled the debit card about 1.5 years ago when it stopped being my salary account.

just managing the account via online.

EDIT: i realised in your case you are referring to new account opening. which in my case is not the same as yours

anyway, you can always request for basic savings account which doesn't charge the RM8 but limits your withdrawal frequency to 4 times or something. can refer to HLB website.

This post has been edited by adele123: Dec 31 2015, 03:28 PM
adele123
post Jan 4 2016, 09:02 PM

4,724 posts

just out of curiousity, cause i have not done this before...

if i have a FD maturing under Bank A. i brought it to another bank, Bank B to place promo.

then i went to Bank A sometime later (because i have extra money) to place another FD promo.

so, is it fresh fund in this case? what if this sometime later is 3 months from now or 2 weeks from now, what's their definition of fresh?

adele123
post Jan 7 2016, 09:58 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Jan 7 2016, 07:59 AM)
Can I know how to cancel the debit card? Just go to any branch and request to cancel?
yup, i was told i had to cancel in person at any HLB branch. not do-able via phone. but that was 1.5 years ago.
adele123
post Jan 11 2016, 09:08 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 4 2016, 12:45 PM)
With online instant transfer facility available nowadays, will this circumvent the fresh fund requirement?

eg:
Uplift from Bank A, instant transfer to Bank B. Login Bank B, transfer it back to Bank A. To play safe, add or subtract some small amount to avoid same figure.
QUOTE(??!! @ Jan 4 2016, 11:26 PM)
I've done this before, just to test the system. Didn't even add/minus amount.
It works!  smile.gif
er... don't the banks check? or they close one eye?
adele123
post Jan 12 2016, 09:10 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(safilo @ Jan 11 2016, 05:41 PM)
In summary, HLB Mach, placement and withdrawal can be done online without concern of fresh fund etc and you get your interest credited to your saving a/c monthly.

sorry. answered found. just want to check, this means by placement being done online, they can't verify the fresh fund thing, correct?

This post has been edited by adele123: Jan 12 2016, 09:15 AM
adele123
post Jan 13 2016, 09:22 PM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(~HL~ @ Jan 13 2016, 09:06 PM)
hey members,

wanna ask a simple and newbie question regarding FD rates :

I'm eyeing on the RHB 3 months 4.5% FD promo,

The min fund required is RM10,000.

Does that mean if I deposit RM10,000 for the RHB FD, after 3 months of maturity, the total amount will be RM10,450 ?

Do correct me if I'm wrong , ty wink.gif
interest rates are quoted on a per annum basis (meaning per year)

so... bank calculates this way... if you place FD today 13th Jan 2016, it will mature 3 months later which is 13th April 2016. so you place the money for 91 days with the bank.

so... the formula is...

91/365*0.042*10000=104.71

that's the interest you get. btw, RHB 3months is 4.2% not 4.5%
adele123
post Feb 9 2016, 11:43 PM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(edwardccg @ Feb 9 2016, 08:22 PM)
for the RHB 15 months - 4.4% p.a,
is there any T&C from their website? I can't seems to find any.
I want to know more detail on their definition of fresh fund.
i.e IBG from other bank to RHB CASA within 7 days consider fresh fund? or it strictly require a cheque?
You can do transfer (IBG/instant). the bank staff at my branch said 2-3 days they are okay to take it as fresh fund.

Aside from min 10k and fresh fund, that's about the important T&C

and no, RHB don't display promo FD on their website, unlike MBB, HLB.

QUOTE(cantopop @ Feb 9 2016, 07:16 PM)
Hi sifus,

My parents just sold off some land in sabah and  received a big sale proceeds.

You have already laid out the pros and cons... for ANYONE to suggest any option, would be if they can predict the future (ie interest to go up or not), which i think no one on this thread dares to predict.

but 5% p.a. for FD? i seriously doubt it... then again... i could be wrong.

This post has been edited by adele123: Feb 9 2016, 11:49 PM
adele123
post Feb 10 2016, 10:30 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(edwardccg @ Feb 10 2016, 08:04 AM)
Thanks a lot. I will try to ibg one day before i going to the branch.
Any RHB branch will have the promo, right?
Use instant transfer lo... Just pay another 42 cents...

Yes. Any rhb branch.
adele123
post Feb 12 2016, 02:25 PM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(edwardccg @ Feb 12 2016, 02:21 PM)
so RHB now will have 2 promo which end on same 31 March 2016?
Seems like the 12 month one would replace the 15 month promo for additional 0.05%

- 15 month step up FD - effective 4.4%
- 12 month FD 4.45%
i reckon both still applicable. the 15-month fd has a plus point is that it pays interest every 3 months, and no penalty if withdrawal during any of those 3-month period.

the 4.45% 12 months sounds like the straightforward one. Didn't manage to ask at RHB branch. Will ask when i pass by.
adele123
post Feb 20 2016, 09:07 AM

4,724 posts

Does maybank insist on cheques for fresh fund?

Can I just ibg in?

I've been placing rhb, and they are ok with 2-3 days old ibg funds.

0.0248sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:10 PM