Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

BoomChaCha
post Dec 17 2015, 12:36 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(ywbl330 @ Dec 16 2015, 05:48 PM)
I just got offer from OCBC (masjid Jamid branch), placement of 20k FD for 6 months @5.1%.
I just called OCBC, these 5.1% for 6 months or 5.5% for 3 months deals
need to buy insurance or investment products..
No free lunch in the world lah.. sad.gif

OCBC Customer Service Leng Lui, took this picture few days ago..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Dec 17 2015, 12:37 PM
BoomChaCha
post Dec 17 2015, 01:16 PM

2,490 posts

Received a call from SCB RM and offered a bond:

Product name: Bond Paper
Tenure: 2 Years
Return: 5.5% return is guaranteed
Principal: Minimum RM 250K, principal is guaranteed
Risk: Only if Standard Chartered bankrupt or close down

Can consider this or not?? hmm.gif

BoomChaCha
post Dec 17 2015, 01:23 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Dec 17 2015, 01:16 PM)
It is good effort of you to find out the truth. Either these green guys just listen half or they are from Ocbc and trying to get people PM them for more info.

You can take picture inside bank?
I took the picture quietly without flash light lah.. biggrin.gif
But I think the OCBC Leng Lui in the picture maybe suspect me to take
picture.. sweat.gif

Actually there were 2 more OCBC Leng Lui but unfortunately
because of the angle problem, I was unable to take the picture,
next time will try again if got chance..

Oh... If OCBC find out I take picture in side the bank, will OCBC call police
to put me in custody..? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Dec 17 2015, 01:26 PM
BoomChaCha
post Feb 3 2016, 10:50 AM

2,490 posts

Just called to Affin Bank to confirm this FD promo:

4.5% for 12 months
minimum placement RM 10K
Interest will pay upon FD maturity
Valid until 29 Feb 2016

QUOTE(babysiew @ Feb 3 2016, 08:59 AM)
thats why i dont dare to put in bsn. lousy service. government protected means not protected la. and 5 yrs is too long for me lol

thumbup.gif Ha Ha..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Feb 3 2016, 11:17 AM
BoomChaCha
post Feb 3 2016, 10:55 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(babysiew @ Feb 3 2016, 10:53 AM)
is affin bank ok so far ah?
Yes, so far okay.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(michaelho @ Feb 2 2016, 06:07 PM)
called up BSN , different branch different info.

1) branch A told me 5 years @ 4.75% interest upon maturity .
2) branch B told me 5 years @ 4.75% , interest every month into BSN savings account , for senior citizen extra 0.25% which makes it 5% for 5 years .

WHICH BRANCH TO BELIEVE ? That is the million dollar question...lol
3) branch C told me 5 years @ 4.75%, interest will pay each 4 months.., rclxub.gif the Malay leng lui staff will call me
back to confirm: for senior citizen extra 0.25% which makes it 5% for 5 years

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Feb 3 2016, 10:59 AM
BoomChaCha
post Feb 3 2016, 11:03 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 3 2016, 10:58 AM)
OT:

BCC Boss, long time no see. Glad to see you back  thumbup.gif
Oh.. Thank You... notworthy.gif
I need to get blood pressure to stabilize first then can come back here..

QUOTE(michaelho @ Feb 2 2016, 06:07 PM)
called up BSN , different branch different info.

1) branch A told me 5 years @ 4.75% interest upon maturity .
2) branch B told me 5 years @ 4.75% , interest every month into BSN savings account , for senior citizen extra 0.25% which makes it 5% for 5 years .

WHICH BRANCH TO BELIEVE ? That is the million dollar question...lol
Okay.. BSN Branch C just called me back (after the leng lui staff called to HQ) about the 5 years FD at 4.75%:

If place below RM 50K, interest will pay each 4 month
If place above RM 50K, interest will pay monthly
*Minimum placement is RM 1000

About the extra 0.25% for senior citizen, BSN Branch C said there is no such offer.
This 5% was offered few years back when it called "Sukut"..

QUOTE(babysiew @ Feb 3 2016, 10:57 AM)
then affin rate is the best so far...
Yes, Affin is the best so far for 1 year FD at 4.5%..
I still have existing 15 months FD there at 4.33%, the best rate at that time..
Now considering to put there for this 4.5%.. hmm.gif

But do not know interest rate will go up or down in next 6 months..? doh.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Feb 3 2016, 11:21 AM
BoomChaCha
post Feb 3 2016, 12:25 PM

2,490 posts

Just received one SMS from BR:

Kadar keuntungan AK. Deposit - i Bjangka 4.55% p.a. & peluang hadiah pilihan anda. Layari www.bankrakyat.com.my
Hubungi 0326173800 utk info lanjut
BoomChaCha
post Feb 3 2016, 01:42 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Feb 3 2016, 12:25 PM)
Just received one SMS from BR:

Kadar keuntungan AK. Deposit  - i Bjangka 4.55% p.a. & peluang hadiah pilihan anda. Layari www.bankrakyat.com.my
Hubungi 0326173800 utk info lanjut
Very sorry... Correction.. doh.gif

The above BR 4.55% FD promo is for 2 years tenure..
BoomChaCha
post Feb 4 2016, 10:10 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Feb 3 2016, 11:50 PM)
btw, cimb fresh fund 12 mths is 4.3% now

and sbd mentioned affin 12 mths 4.5% but after checking only 3.7% (quoted by affin jln ipoh KL)
QUOTE(babysiew @ Feb 4 2016, 09:08 AM)
affin 3.7%? but someone said 4.5%... confusing sad.gif
QUOTE(TANjb @ Feb 4 2016, 09:45 AM)
Anyone into Affin FD ? Can comfirm - 3.7% or 4.5% ? Tqvm.
I just placed Affin FD 4.5% for 12 months yesterday, please see picture:

QUOTE(cj7lee @ Feb 4 2016, 09:52 AM)
BR also does not issue banker cheque...
According to BR staff, if the amount is big like RM 200K and above, then Yes, BR will issue a banker's check..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Feb 4 2016, 10:37 PM
BoomChaCha
post Feb 4 2016, 10:22 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Clement1001 @ Feb 4 2016, 11:54 AM)
Went in to BSN and open another FD, told them about the monthly interest for 60months, and they said impossible. Told them to check , and reluctantly they call and confirm with other branch and still say upon maturity. Told them again to check with HQ, after 10 minutes they told me it's actually every 6month for 60months tenure only. Gonna Vomit blood.
BoomChaCha
post Feb 4 2016, 10:40 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 4 2016, 10:18 PM)
Not sure about others in my branch. For my case, they can issue BC regardless of the amount. Sometimes just 10k or so. But maybe an exception coz been banking with them for quite some time.
Oh.. Thanks for the info..
So it means the BR staff was not telling the truth.. bruce.gif
BoomChaCha
post Feb 4 2016, 10:49 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(pearl_white @ Feb 4 2016, 10:23 AM)
lo and behold...late last evening without prior notice, there were a few of BR staff incl. the branch manager who dropped by to hand deliver this to me in my office.

Looked like some Eu Yang Sang thing....

I requested 1 year 4.8% for year FD and they said they will call HQ and told me it should not be a problem.  Fingers crossed.   biggrin.gif

Wah.. 4.8% for 1 year thumbup.gif
Would you mind telling what is the the minimum deposit amount? Thanks notworthy.gif
Just tell us the rough figure also appreciate it..

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Feb 4 2016, 09:38 PM)
finished lunch with BR manager

tomorrow morning decide to put 300k extra cash lock for 1 yr @ 4.6% he promise me will give me 2 hampers will take picture once he deliver 2 hampers as promised + 1 dinner + lucky draws
Wah... Ah Sir.. this leng lui is breaking your record 1 yr @ 4.6%... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 3 2016, 06:17 PM)
Your BR branch may be late in the gift. Will show mine in another post.

But it cannot be compared with your CIMB one.  biggrin.gif
The BR 2 yrs 4.55% has been mentioned before. Min. 50k.
BR called so went there to collect this gift.
Quite surprise it is much better than before.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Feb 4 2016, 11:09 PM
BoomChaCha
post Feb 4 2016, 11:16 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Clement1001 @ Feb 4 2016, 11:06 PM)
Yeah that's exactly what i told them about, but they laugh about it and say no such thing. I just hope there's additional numbers appear in my saving account after a month or 6 months later.
You can call Cik Nor at BSN Bandar Sri Permaisuri branch 03-91739601 to confirm,
this is what she told me:

http://www.mybsn.com.my/location.xhtml?menuId=6
BoomChaCha
post Feb 4 2016, 11:21 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Clement1001 @ Feb 4 2016, 11:19 PM)
Ok, will call her up tomorrow. Thanks  thumbup.gif
Her service is quite good and quite friendly.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Feb 4 2016, 11:08 PM)
the branch manager also called to HQ for approval. but need 300k amount.. so since they offer me good freebies theres no reason for me to decline  tongue.gif

your friend got 4.8% .. how to win him?  tongue.gif
4.8% for 1 year is for sure over one or two million.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Feb 4 2016, 11:26 PM
BoomChaCha
post Feb 4 2016, 11:30 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Feb 4 2016, 11:26 PM)
fresh fund requirement?
Yes..fresh fund..minimum 10K
I placed with a banker's check and mixed with cash for one FD cert ..

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Feb 4 2016, 11:28 PM)
not really comfortable if go for 1 million ..

i am interested for their freebies actually lol.. cheapskate me  tongue.gif
Don't forget to ask for monthly interest and open iRakyat online account,
BR Coop ATM card is still free so far..

Everybody should ask for freebies, not cheapskate, but this is our FD depositors' right... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Feb 4 2016, 11:41 PM
BoomChaCha
post Feb 5 2016, 11:46 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 5 2016, 05:28 AM)
wah ... how much deposit with BR to receive this gift??  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Not much lah... Mine is 5 years FD..

QUOTE(kochin @ Feb 5 2016, 08:15 AM)
i see 3 cans of goodies there.
abalone kah?
I will open the warp and show each item inside hamper later..

QUOTE(babysiew @ Feb 5 2016, 08:26 AM)
BoomChaCha, thanks for the picture. Do u need to open an acct with Affin if u r not their customer be4? as in savings so that the interest can be deposited? Thanks!

Happy CNY in advance all!
I have Affin saving account.
But when I placed my 4.5% FD, Affin did not mention about saving account.

I will ask Affin bank and let you know next week.

I think Affin Bank is checking my source of income, I will need to go back there to
fill out a form next week.

But my FD amount is only RM 66,000.00, this amount also need to check
source of income meh..?

Happy Chinese New Year to you and everybody in advance too.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 5 2016, 08:40 AM)
You're back thumbup.gif
Recently I see so many leng lui here, so I have to show up.. lust.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Feb 5 2016, 11:48 AM
BoomChaCha
post Feb 5 2016, 04:37 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Clement1001 @ Feb 5 2016, 04:22 PM)
Boomchacha kor, I've called Cik Nor, apparently she make a mistake and they check with HQ that it's confirm once every 6 month only.
Oh.. Clement Tai kor..
Really..? doh.gif
I do not think I heard it wrongly because I wrote down everything she said on the spot

I think can put small amount to BSN, big amount need to consider first... hmm.gif

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 5 2016, 02:13 PM)
yeah, already moved out 880... maybe this reason la no news so far.
but if go by the total  deposits remain, by right they should still send me.
if call and ask again malu la as i will move out more for the BSN 4.75%.
If you do not mind about PIDM, I suggest you to negotiate with BR again before
you move to BSN, try to ask for 5.3% for 5 years since one member reports he can get
4.8% for 1 year, some more leng lui intrepidity85 can get 4.6% for 1 year at RM 300K.

I expect you can get in between 4.9% to 5.2 % for your 5 years FD in BR. Good Luck.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Feb 5 2016, 04:49 PM
BoomChaCha
post Feb 5 2016, 05:01 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Feb 5 2016, 04:41 PM)
do they have ibg/ibft otc? since no BC, for large amount at least to do otc ibg/ibft after fd matured..
Oh.. I have no idea about this part from BSN..

I think this is very inconvenience to use IBG (except IBFT), because we would not know what time
the money will reach the destination bank, we are taking risk to lose one day interest if using IBG.

So, I still prefer banker's check..
BoomChaCha
post Feb 5 2016, 05:13 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Feb 5 2016, 12:03 PM)
>rm50k they will request you to fill form. well, i skip for the form part. perhaps the manager fill for me herself

wow you lock in for 5 years.. so long...
Couple months ago, RHB also asked me to sign a form.

Banks want to know all my personal info, I do not feel secure this way.. sweat.gif

My 5 years FD will mature next year...time is passing by like a rocket..
I was a disco king, now become Ah Pek already.. cry.gif

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Feb 5 2016, 05:03 PM)
i take the risk by carrying pile of cash inside my laptop bag

so ppl will think it's laptop wahaha !
Oh..Please do not think this way.

I read a last year news that a woman got robbed of her recycle bag..

QUOTE(yygo @ Feb 5 2016, 05:07 PM)
i mean pipu said bsn do not issue bc. so the only way is to do otc ibg/ibft once fd matured.
I will try to stay away from bank that can only use IBG, but IBFT is ok since it is instant transfer.

Last time my sister lost 3 days interest (from RM 600K) because MBSB branch had no money to issue a
banker's check on the spot, then MBSB branch had to get the HQ to wire transfer the money to my sister.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Feb 5 2016, 05:20 PM
BoomChaCha
post Feb 5 2016, 05:36 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Feb 5 2016, 05:15 PM)
hmm i guess must be aim by someone else.. i always take precautions step.. all my notes are 100 .. so not so obvious lo.

Those drug addicts will rob whoever they think are easy to rob..

yes nowadays most of banks will ask u fill form if u deposit >50k over counter

if u deposit via ATM, then wont have such issue
I see... notworthy.gif

may i know how much interest u got last time for 5 yrs?
4.75%

0.0285sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:16 AM