Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only
SUSlowya
Dec 29 2015, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 28 2015, 11:39 AM) Called up RHB Bank. Have one 6 figure FD due on Friday 1/1. If withdraw on 4/1, will lose 3 days interest. After some talking, agreed to pay me the 3 days interest if I withdraw on the Monday. Last time the manager just said cannot pay the weekend interest. After I read one "nice" forummer's post, talked to RHB manager again. Initially still asking me to continue to their step-up 4.4% FD, but later still agreed to pay me the 3 days interest even if I withdraw.  already banned RBH in my list, service lousy, branch manager empty vessel, ask question they tell you to call their hotline, damn slow processing. nothing good about them.
SUSlowya
Jan 11 2016, 09:13 AM
waiting to take out MBB GIA without penalty and put in 5% rate when it arrives.
SUSlowya
Jan 15 2016, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Jan 15 2016, 08:13 AM) Sifus for FD if I put in 50k, shud it be in 1 certificate of 50k or multiple certificate of 10k or 20k. What are the difference? Which is more practical? for liquidity reason, put yr 50k into 10, 20, 30 in case you need to forfeit 1 of them for emergency use. Besides no extra cost for doing so.
SUSlowya
Feb 4 2016, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Feb 3 2016, 11:03 AM) But do not know interest rate will go up or down in next 6 months..?  2 ways to cope with future unknowns without getting locked in too long: go for step up promo or maybank GIA.
SUSlowya
Feb 5 2016, 02:28 PM
If Inflation is high, interest rate will be raised to slow down the economy.
Higher rates mean higher cost to borrow money, higher cost on the monthly credit card bills, higher cost to buy a home, etc… The economy will slow down, growth will be controlled, and thus inflation will be controlled.
If inflation is low, the opposite is done, rates are lowered, borrowing will be encouraged, economy will be stimulated, therefore inflation will be higher.
SUSlowya
Feb 8 2016, 01:11 PM
[quote=kyenli,Feb 6 2016, 06:20 PM] Do you know if there's any catch? 4.8% for 15 mths from rhb[QUOTE] [/quote] in fact, plenty of catch here. Bank negara if truly doing it's work should regulate all misleading advertising from banks like these. All ads should shows only effective p.a. rates. This post has been edited by lowya: Feb 8 2016, 01:11 PM