145 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Travel Travel to Japan V8, Discovery Japan Start Here

TSOM
post Feb 21 2016, 06:33 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 21 2016, 06:18 PM)
I dont think so. Have you done this before at other places?
I did this in the UK and some European countries. It worked.
but it must be debit cards lah, CC sure cannot.

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 21 2016, 06:29 PM)
No Such Thing. And Grocery Store don't take Credit cards payment. 
Card payment only Pasmo or Suica
Big grocery stores (like those as big as Tesco or Carrefour in M'sia) also cannot use CC/debit cards? rclxub.gif

then where can use CC??
deodorant
post Feb 21 2016, 06:55 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 21 2016, 04:06 PM)

It's starting to get implemented liao, sort of - supposedly the Ota ward already officially adopted the guidelines. It's anyone's guess how soon the other wards follow suit (if at all). Anyway FWIW some people are reporting their AirBnB booking kana cancelled: https://www.reddit.com/r/JapanTravel/commen...one_cancelling/

If wanna be totally safe possibly can go booking.com or agoda and book a fully refundable business hotel. Then a week or so before flying, double check with airbnb host, if OK then cancel the hotel booking.
Human Nature
post Feb 21 2016, 06:58 PM

- student of human nature -
26,530 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 21 2016, 06:55 PM)
It's starting to get implemented liao, sort of - supposedly the Ota ward already officially adopted the guidelines. It's anyone's guess how soon the other wards follow suit (if at all). Anyway FWIW some people are reporting their AirBnB booking kana cancelled: https://www.reddit.com/r/JapanTravel/commen...one_cancelling/

If wanna be totally safe possibly can go booking.com or agoda and book a fully refundable business hotel. Then a week or so before flying, double check with airbnb host, if OK then cancel the hotel booking.
Quite worrying. I have let go and cancel my booking.com last December.
TSRegentCid
post Feb 22 2016, 12:28 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 21 2016, 05:33 PM)
Big grocery stores (like those as big as Tesco or Carrefour in M'sia) also cannot use CC/debit cards?  rclxub.gif

then where can use CC??
Very high End Store only accept CC. Fine Dining Restaurant with payment 30,000 Yen above.
Very High End store in Ginza accept with spending 30,000 Above.

Japan cash note until 10,000 Yen. For them big amount money are starting 100,000 Yen. 30,000Yen below for them was small amount of money only which still no need using Card.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Feb 22 2016, 12:31 AM
TSOM
post Feb 22 2016, 02:34 AM

2,145 posts

I see, so is it better to change money here or wait until I go to Japan and exchange there?
TSRegentCid
post Feb 22 2016, 05:37 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 22 2016, 01:34 AM)
I see, so is it better to change money here or wait until I go to Japan and exchange there?
Change at Malaysia much better. Malaysia give better rate
sacwoc
post Feb 22 2016, 09:11 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 21 2016, 07:33 PM)
Big grocery stores (like those as big as Tesco or Carrefour in M'sia) also cannot use CC/debit cards?  rclxub.gif

then where can use CC??
Actually quite a number of place used CC now. I use my CC in Starbucks, and convenience store. Besides that supermarket chain like Jusco and Maruetsu accept CC even for things less than 1000yen. Of course if you are talking about those grocery own by families, chances are high they dont accept CC.
However I am using a Japan CC, but I guess its the same for non Japanese CC.
stimix
post Feb 22 2016, 09:53 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 21 2016, 06:29 PM)
No Such Thing. And Grocery Store don't take Credit cards payment. 
Card payment only Pasmo or Suica
Hehe. This is the part Japan losing out to Korean. Everwhere in Korea even their foodcourt and just a mere 4000-5000 won food, seldom people pay via cash. All via CC. Sumore over in korea, u either digitally sign it or tap using handphone apps. I do not see this in Japan..still conventional way using pen & lotsa places esp eateries no CC facilities.
porkieporkie
post Feb 22 2016, 10:08 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 20 2016, 01:15 PM)
Yes. If snow was deep. 5 Minute of walk with luggage was very inconvenient. Make sure your Luggage was waterproof
Do u reckon getting those boots like the ones worn by Phua Chu Kang is okay to replace winter boots?
Haha. Just trying to save some cost as going for a budget trip.
fkinmeng
post Feb 22 2016, 10:33 AM

6,373 posts

so, anyone used before visiondata pocket wife? any review/feedback?
sacwoc
post Feb 22 2016, 11:45 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(porkieporkie @ Feb 22 2016, 11:08 AM)
Do u reckon getting those boots like the ones worn by Phua Chu Kang is okay to replace winter boots?
Haha. Just trying to save some cost as going for a budget trip.
Also the floor will be very slippery as well especially when the snow melts. Winter boots normally is a bit spiky to prevent you from falling. Maybe you can use PCK boots plus those non slip cleats that can be put on to your boots. For me I bought a cheap winter shoes in Tokyo which cost me about 6000yen. DOnt think you can use it in Malaysia though as your feet will surely sweat
look416
post Feb 22 2016, 11:48 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Feb 22 2016, 10:33 AM)
so, anyone used before visiondata pocket wife? any review/feedback?
Never used visondata. Currently, I have booked travelrecommends wifi since they are doing promotion at rm15/day on my trip to Japan next month. Will do a review posting once I have tested it. But judging from the screenshot and devices, it should be either au networks or y mobile

fkinmeng
post Feb 22 2016, 11:52 AM

6,373 posts

QUOTE(look416 @ Feb 22 2016, 11:48 AM)
Never used visondata. Currently, I have booked travelrecommends wifi since they are doing promotion at rm15/day on my trip to Japan next month. Will do a review posting once I have tested it. But judging from the screenshot and devices, it should be either au networks or y mobile
RM15/day nett? any hidden charges?
look416
post Feb 22 2016, 11:59 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Feb 22 2016, 11:52 AM)
RM15/day nett? any hidden charges?
Yes, RM15/day nett.
No hidden charges, Unlimited data quota, but you will required to pay RM200 deposit which will be refunded later and you can collect from KLIA terminal or they will send the device to your home few days before your departure.

This post has been edited by look416: Feb 22 2016, 12:00 PM
fkinmeng
post Feb 22 2016, 12:04 PM

6,373 posts

QUOTE(look416 @ Feb 22 2016, 11:59 AM)
Yes, RM15/day nett.
No hidden charges, Unlimited data quota, but you will required to pay RM200 deposit  which will be refunded later and you can collect from KLIA terminal or they will send the device to your home few days before your departure.
thanks, i'm going next month too, don't think can wait for your review.

maybe will just take the plunge. brows.gif
deodorant
post Feb 22 2016, 12:34 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

TSOM I guess in Tokyo (at least) nowadays it's not as bad as what daikor RC describe ba. My experience is closer to what sacwoc described. Restaurants in malls, ¥4k use credit card they also Ok.

But outside of Tokyo then I dunno. Certainly in Nozawa Onsen credit card hardly accepted (I even had to pay for my hotel / inn with cash - ¥42k for 3 nights).
lee90
post Feb 22 2016, 01:12 PM

Ozibala
1,004 posts

any1 know which restaurant should i go to try long leg crab in osaka? i know shinsaibashi there got a lot but which is the best and worth to try in Osaka? and price wise? is Kani Doraku the best? Thank You.
TSRegentCid
post Feb 22 2016, 04:04 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Feb 22 2016, 12:12 PM)
any1 know which restaurant should i go to try long leg crab in osaka? i know shinsaibashi there got a lot but which is the best and worth to try in Osaka? and price wise? is Kani Doraku the best? Thank You.
Those long Leg Crab sure very expensive.
Most Powerful are Alaska King Crab. One leg need around 7000 Yen (Market Price) Restaurant Price around 10000Yen
2nd was Fukui Crab ((Echizen)). 3 Crab Leg around 6500 Yen (Market Price) Restaurant price around 8000 Yen
3rd will be Hairy Crab. Almost same as Chinese Mitten Crab. This one one whole crab course meal around 4500 - 7000Yen
That the Huge price gap diffrence.

Kanidoraku honten Osaka still the best but alot of people. Price most wise with most variety of crab meal.
One person around 5000 Yen.
Most people going Kandoraku eating thier set meal. Most price wise but comes with hairy crab. Still very delicious.

Compare to Echizen....still far off...LOL ~~~

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Feb 22 2016, 04:20 PM
stimix
post Feb 22 2016, 04:07 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

People normally crowding that crab restaurant & also the glico man advertisement @ dotonbori for photo session instead of makan haha.

lee90
post Feb 23 2016, 08:24 AM

Ozibala
1,004 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 22 2016, 04:04 PM)
Those long Leg Crab sure very expensive.
Most Powerful are Alaska King Crab.  One leg need around 7000 Yen (Market Price) Restaurant Price around 10000Yen
2nd was Fukui Crab ((Echizen)). 3 Crab Leg around 6500 Yen (Market Price) Restaurant price around 8000 Yen
3rd will be Hairy Crab. Almost same as Chinese Mitten Crab. This one one whole crab course meal around 4500 - 7000Yen
That the Huge price gap diffrence.

Kanidoraku honten Osaka still the best but alot of people. Price most wise with most variety of crab meal.
One person around 5000 Yen.
Most people going Kandoraku eating thier set meal. Most price wise but comes with hairy crab. Still very delicious.

Compare to Echizen....still far off...LOL ~~~
ok! thanks sifu for the info rclxms.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 22 2016, 04:07 PM)
People normally crowding that crab restaurant & also the glico man advertisement @ dotonbori for photo session instead of makan haha.
I think i will do the same whistling.gif

145 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:55 AM