2,145 posts

Is this a normal price??? ¥4,000?? rclxub.gif

TSOM
post Jan 26 2016, 12:12 AM

2,145 posts

RM 2k per night?? That means your salary should be at least RM4k per day to justify this splurge!! brows.gif

so RM 120k per month salary?? icon_idea.gif
TSOM
post Jan 26 2016, 11:18 AM

2,145 posts

but according to the video, have to queue at 5.30am. rclxub.gif

crazy!!

but kaiten sushi how many michelin stars?
TSOM
post Jan 26 2016, 12:25 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Jan 26 2016, 11:55 AM)
this stall is damn famous due to the freshness of the seafood and location
i dont think it worth to queue such long time

kaiten sushi is those cheap sushi running on belt, just like sushi zamai in MY sweat.gif
QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 26 2016, 12:13 PM)
trust me, u dont wan to queue at 5:30

best time to queue is at 4:30 to 4:45
urghhh... rather pay more and eat somewhere else.
TSOM
post Jan 26 2016, 12:26 PM

2,145 posts

if they are so good, why don't they expand??
TSOM
post Feb 6 2016, 06:21 AM

2,145 posts

Do Japanese ATM machines accept malaysian ATM cards?

Any charge incurred by these ATM machines?

and if we use Credit card, do they use signature or pin?
TSOM
post Feb 7 2016, 07:21 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(AeronBabe @ Feb 6 2016, 02:18 PM)
hory sheet, i went there after the tuna auction, arrived 6.15, only ate at 11.30am, that 5 hours wait was really an experience of a lifetime  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
wah!! What did you do from 6.15 until 11.30am?? Just stand there and waste time??

they should issue numbering system like in banks... sad.gif

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Feb 7 2016, 07:12 AM)
If round trip to Narita RM1307, is it cheap or expensive?
AA or other airlines??
TSOM
post Feb 7 2016, 10:42 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Feb 7 2016, 07:27 AM)
All Nippon Airlines... Ok, the exact conversion to MYR in the ANA website is RM1287.90. Checked AAX for same period, add in luggage, 1 meal and seat selection also around nearly same price, RM1310. But that's arriving and departing in Haneda.
if AA, then too expensive; but for ANA, this is quite a standard price.

Last time I went to Korea for about the same price with MAS.
TSOM
post Feb 7 2016, 12:35 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(AeronBabe @ Feb 7 2016, 12:17 PM)
lol ya , actually the queue didnt look that bad when we arrived, i predicted 2-3 hours max. dono what happen until we got served quite late.
probably because we were in a group of 5, and they keep ushering single diners to eat first, even when they are behind us during queue

our feets so sore + body aches, until we scrap all the plans after market n go home rest

our timeline that morning,

04:00 arrived the market
04:05 received our vest, we were around number 70+ , so we got assigned to the 2nd tour of the auction session, 1st tour 5.25am, 2nd tour 5.45am
05:45 after waiting for almost 2 hours we finally head for the tuna auction halls
05:55 arrived the auction hall,waited for 5minutes for it to start, man yells for 3 mins, and it ended
06:05 made our way to sushi dai
06:15 arrived sushi dai and got in queue, already got 2 rows there when we arrived
11:30 got in and ate
11:55 finished, and went home

it was  3 degrees in the morning when we queue, sun came up around 7:30, and the temperature increased a little to around 9-10 degrees(thank god).
our breakfast became lunch  tongue.gif went to buy some onigiri nearby, and hot drinks from vending machine.

4,000 yen for Omakase course, 10 sushi + 1 of your choice, + 1 sushi roll, + 1 tamago + 1 miso soup + 1 hot green tea.

my friend joke and said, sushi dai's trick is to make everyone tired and hungry, once u enter with hungry stomach and eat theirs, it will taste like heaven

MY experience:  the tuna auction is a waste of time, barely see anything so if you wanna go to sushi dai, pls go direct there b4 it opens, so ur max waiting time also 1 hour only. I hesitated a very long time whether to see the tuna auction, but since its going to relocate end of the year, might as well see it for the last time in Tsukiji  biggrin.gif
end of the year, means now it's already not there lah??

and must follow guided tour??

and 4am in the morning, got subway running meh??
TSOM
post Feb 8 2016, 02:41 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(mercindustries @ Feb 8 2016, 02:29 PM)
yes, make sure you activate international withdrawal first. I usually do my withdrawals at 7-i atms but i think any international banks should be able to (citibank, hsbc). Never had luck with Japanese native ATMs. Charges wise there is I can't recall how much on top of exchange rate.

Malaysian credit cards have pin? I usually sign off on my purchases.
thanks!!

Maybank now allows customers to set pin for their CC. I usually use signature, but I know some countries prefer using pins.

I think as long as it doesn't say (on the machine) that there's a fee, then that means ATM machine doesn't charge any fees. If you don't remember, then I guess it's free lah?? hmm.gif

thanks again! Was thinking about bringing ATM cards only. May not bring a single ¥ since I got no time to find a good money changer here.
TSOM
post Feb 9 2016, 10:36 AM

2,145 posts

about tax refund, do we need to buy above 10,000¥ in a single receipt??
TSOM
post Feb 9 2016, 06:47 PM

2,145 posts

Thanks for the info about using ATM machines and VAT refund. smile.gif
TSOM
post Feb 10 2016, 10:50 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(midnightsunray @ Feb 9 2016, 11:35 PM)
I found a cheaper place to get Japan Rail Pass. I haven't gotten mine yet as I'm only travelling in April. Here is the link: http://www.ylholidays.com.my/japan-rail-pa...n%20rail%20pass

how much cheaper?? brows.gif
TSOM
post Feb 11 2016, 05:20 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(tripovo @ Feb 11 2016, 12:30 PM)
you can also refund 5,000 yen if you plan to buy consumables or food items, as long as it is in the same shop during the same day. Some shops like Don Quixote and 100 yen shops are VAT Free already, so they remove the tax already when you purchase, just don't forget to bring your ORIGINAL passport when purchasing. I made this mistake and I lost 1,000 yen of savings T.T

The 10,000 yen is usually for electronics, gadgets or antiques. And you can easily claim it in the airport, but last time I was there the queue is not that bad, I waited for 15 minutes, I guess?

And oh, don't forget to not overbaggage. They will charge you in the boarding gate if you have more than two bags. Serious!
Thanks for the info!!

but for food and consumables, you must also show them at the airport? So cannot put in check-in baggage?

what about books??
TSOM
post Feb 21 2016, 06:15 PM

2,145 posts

Is it possible to ask for cash-back in Japan?

Like when buying things in grocery store and pay with debit cards. Say it's 5000¥. So they charge to my card ¥10k so that they give me cash ¥5k.

In this way, I don't have to withdraw money from ATMs.
TSOM
post Feb 21 2016, 06:33 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 21 2016, 06:18 PM)
I dont think so. Have you done this before at other places?
I did this in the UK and some European countries. It worked.
but it must be debit cards lah, CC sure cannot.

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 21 2016, 06:29 PM)
No Such Thing. And Grocery Store don't take Credit cards payment. 
Card payment only Pasmo or Suica
Big grocery stores (like those as big as Tesco or Carrefour in M'sia) also cannot use CC/debit cards? rclxub.gif

then where can use CC??
TSOM
post Feb 22 2016, 02:34 AM

2,145 posts

I see, so is it better to change money here or wait until I go to Japan and exchange there?
TSOM
post Mar 13 2016, 10:04 AM

2,145 posts

the JR pass has to be sent to us once we ordered it??

they can't just send me an email and I redeem it in Japan??
TSOM
post Mar 18 2016, 11:07 AM

2,145 posts

when buying the JR pass online, do we need to state the date which we want to start using?? what if I'm still undecided?
TSOM
post Mar 18 2016, 07:07 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(look416 @ Mar 18 2016, 11:38 AM)
Require verification from other sifus.
If I recall correctly, JR rail pass starts from the day you claim the ticket from the counter.
Since you are just holding the voucher and exchange it into tickets from the counter, you are basically set the start date on your own.
QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Mar 18 2016, 03:20 PM)
When purchasing a rail pass, you will receive a voucher that has to be exchanged to the actual pass inside Japan and within three months of the date you purchase.
The voucher can be exchanged at designated major JR stations across Japan
Hand your voucher and passport (photocopy not accepted) to the ticket counter staff. After some processing, you will receive your Japan Rail Pass.
When you exchange your voucher to the actual pass, you do not need to start using the pass from the same date. You can select any date within a one month period as your starting date. However, once the actual pass is issued, the starting date cannot be changed.

source: http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2361.html
Thanks for the info.

When I tried buying through an online agent, they asked me for 2 dates: (1) date leaving to Japan, (2) date starting to use. So, I was confused.

It's ok, I'll buy it through another agent.

0.0634sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:19 AM