Folding Bicycles v5 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion
tiewgine8039
Sep 22 2016, 01:36 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 22 2016, 10:33 AM) Dahon Dash used to be a popular and a good in between folding bike but our models here are getting ridiculous!  First they came our with disc brakes then reverted back to V-brakes and added a funny looking rear carrier and even worse, the importer here brought in just the 'S' size and many riders looks funny riding the small bike. Anyway it is a good bike, me being one of the former user of it but the earlier model. It folds bigger though. The MU is also a good proven bike, the dolphin shaped frame which is copied by most brands nowadays. Started off as the 16 inch Dahon Curve then to the MU 20 incher and now comes with better specs and paired with 451 wheelsets. Now is the time to go check out Kimbell Jaya as they are having warehouse sale.  Dahon MU looks good. Dahon vigor and MU, any opinion? where is Kimbell Jaya? they do posting?
azamunekurone
Sep 22 2016, 06:58 PM

QUOTE(mizi28 @ Sep 22 2016, 11:38 AM) Hi i just bought a used dahon speed p8 yesterday. It came with so many aftermarket part. I just want to confirm the handlepost type from each generation of p8.mine is t-bar non telescopic.i suspect previous owner change the handlepost as well because i never seen p8 with fixed handlepost height. Anyone can confirm? u bought the speed with dropbar right?that one has change the handlepost. all speed p8 comes with adjustable telescopic handlepost
mizi28
Sep 22 2016, 08:17 PM
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 22 2016, 06:58 PM) u bought the speed with dropbar right?that one has change the handlepost. all speed p8 comes with adjustable telescopic handlepost Ya..it came with dropbar.the tbar and dropbar is quite sturdy anyway. seems like it was changed.i wonder what brand it is.sked if it is some low quality china stuff
etigge
Sep 22 2016, 09:49 PM

QUOTE(mizi28 @ Sep 22 2016, 08:17 PM) Ya..it came with dropbar.the tbar and dropbar is quite sturdy anyway. seems like it was changed.i wonder what brand it is.sked if it is some low quality china stuff No worries lah.  Yet to hear any post failing, even 'chokia' ones. My guess if he modded to dropbar, most probably will be a good one. There are many who wants like yours and changed their telescopic ones because rigid ones are , as mentioned more rigid!
small_fish18
Sep 23 2016, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 22 2016, 09:49 PM) No worries lah.  Yet to hear any post failing, even 'chokia' ones. My guess if he modded to dropbar, most probably will be a good one. There are many who wants like yours and changed their telescopic ones because rigid ones are , as mentioned more rigid!  Any source to get the head post other that online? Any shop at kiang valley selling them? There's an option to choose to fold inner and outer right?
azamunekurone
Sep 23 2016, 01:22 PM

QUOTE(mizi28 @ Sep 22 2016, 08:17 PM) Ya..it came with dropbar.the tbar and dropbar is quite sturdy anyway. seems like it was changed.i wonder what brand it is.sked if it is some low quality china stuff so far, the fixed handlepost (non telescopic) are better than adjustable coz of the stiffness and rigid.besides, urs are fold outside right?i think the owner had mod it for easier fold with dropbar.. AFAIK, the fixed handlepost are all good one. not some cheap and lousy one. QUOTE(small_fish18 @ Sep 23 2016, 01:02 AM) Any source to get the head post other that online? Any shop at kiang valley selling them? There's an option to choose to fold inner and outer right? i had ask billybike shop and he said can oder the handlepost. the problem when u choose fold out one theres no telescopic, either t-bar type org qr but got height either 29cm, 35cm or 39cm. while the telescopic one all fold inside. the price is above rm150. maybe jimmy from kimbell jaya can oder for u..
ate
Sep 23 2016, 05:46 PM
Hi anyone can anyone identify what type of bike is this for me and the estimate cost of it.  it looks like a foldable bike but its not. Parts are evanda, XDS, Shimanos, one 3 four, not sure what the model is. Got it as a gift.
TSH2D
Sep 23 2016, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(ate @ Sep 23 2016, 05:46 PM) Hi anyone can anyone identify what type of bike is this for me and the estimate cost of it.
if u can see xds then is xds brand, evanda is the company tht put xds together... style is something like this...  go bbs look for minivelo with the same spec, then u can agak the price... remember to sell cheaper so ppl will wana buy...
fatani
Sep 24 2016, 02:31 AM

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 22 2016, 09:33 AM) Dahon Dash used to be a popular and a good in between folding bike but our models here are getting ridiculous!  First they came our with disc brakes then reverted back to V-brakes and added a funny looking rear carrier and even worse, the importer here brought in just the 'S' size and many riders looks funny riding the small bike. Anyway it is a good bike, me being one of the former user of it but the earlier model. It folds bigger though. The MU is also a good proven bike, the dolphin shaped frame which is copied by most brands nowadays. Started off as the 16 inch Dahon Curve then to the MU 20 incher and now comes with better specs and paired with 451 wheelsets. Now is the time to go check out Kimbell Jaya as they are having warehouse sale.  Anyone's been here yet? Got any offers for foldies?
fatani
Sep 24 2016, 06:52 PM

Im at kimbell now..
Bought myself dahon speed d8 for less than 2k!!
Woohoo!!
ate
Sep 26 2016, 08:28 AM
QUOTE(H2D @ Sep 23 2016, 10:37 PM) if u can see xds then is xds brand, evanda is the company tht put xds together... style is something like this...  go bbs look for minivelo with the same spec, then u can agak the price... remember to sell cheaper so ppl will wana buy...  hi thanks man, i couldnt get an accurate price, because they mesh the thing alltogether into 1 piece.
wke002
Sep 30 2016, 10:52 AM

Sifu and Sifu's..... My Dahon Speed D8 is now more than a year. looking at upgrade and need help here in term of cost.
Current original using SRAM x7, 8 speed.
Which would be a better enjoyment ride. Based on original, mainly use gear 7-8, not much usage on 1-6 so need more 9,10,11......
1. To change double chainring in front to have 16 gears. a) front chainring set b) new front shifter c) apa lagi....
2. To change cassette from 8 to 11 (ultegra 6800) a) chain b) rear shifter c) apa lagi....
lastly boil down to cost also, which of the above set up would be cheaper or same same.
etigge
Sep 30 2016, 12:01 PM

QUOTE(wke002 @ Sep 30 2016, 10:52 AM) Sifu and Sifu's..... My Dahon Speed D8 is now more than a year. looking at upgrade and need help here in term of cost. Current original using SRAM x7, 8 speed. Which would be a better enjoyment ride. Based on original, mainly use gear 7-8, not much usage on 1-6 so need more 9,10,11...... 1. To change double chainring in front to have 16 gears. a) front chainring set b) new front shifter c) apa lagi.... To change double chainring, you only need to buy the 39T chainring. Shimano sells just the chianring alone. Take out the bash guard of the original and throw it away and fit the chianring onto it, the original chainring (52T) onto the bash guard seating and the new 39T chainring onto the former chianring space using the same 5 bolts.
Usually shifters sells in pairs so most probably you change both sides. But an 8 speed shifter is not expensive.
You need an FD and the FD adapter.
You also need to get a set of cable and housing for the FD.2. To change cassette from 8 to 11 (ultegra 6800) a) chain b) rear shifter c) apa lagi.... To change from 8 to 11 speed will most definitely cost more ! Chains is a must since 11 speed chains are narrower. Like I mentioned before, shifters are sold in pairs. The Ultegra flat bar shifters for 11 speed is Shimano RS-700 shifters which lbs here sells about RM500, just the pair of shifters for Ultegra. For 11 speed, that the only flat bar shifters for road bike components. Next step down is 10 speed. The highest level now which is 10 speed is the Tiagra which is actually the 105s which has inherited the technology since 105s are already 11 speed as well now. The 10 speed shifters are Shimano SL-R780 or the Tiagra.
If 11 speed , you need to change the hubs as well since 11 speed uses different hubs or change the whole wheelset.
Last but not least, why go for 11 speed? Is 10 speed not enough for you? If you use the 11 speed, the biggest cog is 34 or 32 teeth. Usually 10 speed goes to 32 teeth. Both starts from 11 teeth. So, a 10 speed can also go to 34 teeth if you buy the Shimano SLX mountain bike cassette, provided you use the new Tiagra RDs (longer cage) or the old 105 RDs. So, you save changing the wheelset and also use cheaper shifters like the SL-R780 which is about RM420 or the Tiagra which is about RM320 nowadays.
lastly boil down to cost also, which of the above set up would be cheaper or same same. Thanks.
tcb2010
Sep 30 2016, 01:31 PM

[quote=wke002,Sep 30 2016, 10:52 AM] Sifu and Sifu's..... My Dahon Speed D8 is now more than a year. looking at upgrade and need help here in term of cost.
Current original using SRAM x7, 8 speed.
Which would be a better enjoyment ride. Based on original, mainly use gear 7-8, not much usage on 1-6 so need more 9,10,11......
U ride primarily 7-8..? Presumably that's the larger side of cogs...and u need more large cogs?...Either u are riding uphill most of the time...or u prefer spinning a lot without moving much...or I may have gotten the wrong meaning of ur post.
What etigge suggested on option 1 looks tempting to me as well...as my set up is like urs too..
fatani
Oct 1 2016, 12:47 AM

Daheck..my one week old speed d8 use acera..why spec different aa..
Can add oni chainring ka sifu..I asked one reputable kedai in melaka say cannot..dem.
etigge
Oct 1 2016, 02:57 AM

QUOTE(fatani @ Oct 1 2016, 12:47 AM) Daheck..my one week old speed d8 use acera..why spec different aa.. Can add oni chainring ka sifu..I asked one reputable kedai in melaka say cannot..dem. If you see 5 bolts on your chainring, then it is possible just to add another smaller chainring. Don't mistake the mountain bike chainring which has 4 bolts and the newer roadbike also have 4 bolts. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9fGqCO8xH4Y
etigge
Oct 1 2016, 03:09 AM

For those who wants to upgrade their front gears to double chianrings or triple for that matter BUT don't want to get a new pair of shifters, you can actually buy those cheapo shifters usually found on China made bikes with lousy shifters. USually the 200 bucks or 300 bucks mountain bikes. That is if you don't mind 'chapalang' look on your handlebar. Many, many years ago.............when road bike went 3 or 4 or 5 gears, they have this shifter on the bottom tube, yes at the bottom tube and then they moved it to the stem area, like what is used on the Nexus steel mini velo now. Those days, shifters are not indexed......meaning they just pull or release the cable with NO indents or stops. You have to adjust the length yourself judging from the RD's movement. That goes the same way when they started the FD and triple chainrings. The pull is also limited to the space between the FDs or RDs limiting screws. My point is, those cheap shifters on the China made bikes, although looks like triggers, they are still without indexing. So, you can actually buy that cheap shifter and use it on the front chainrings. Just limit the distance on the FDs and the amount of pull and release on the cheap shifter will also limit. Afterall, it only 2 speed and only a small pull or release, not really release actually, you need to shift the other way. This post has been edited by etigge: Oct 1 2016, 03:10 AM
desastar
Oct 1 2016, 06:52 AM
QUOTE(wke002 @ Sep 30 2016, 10:52 AM) Sifu and Sifu's..... My Dahon Speed D8 is now more than a year. looking at upgrade and need help here in term of cost. Current original using SRAM x7, 8 speed. Which would be a better enjoyment ride. Based on original, mainly use gear 7-8, not much usage on 1-6 so need more 9,10,11...... 1. To change double chainring in front to have 16 gears. a) front chainring set b) new front shifter c) apa lagi.... 2. To change cassette from 8 to 11 (ultegra 6800) a) chain b) rear shifter c) apa lagi.... lastly boil down to cost also, which of the above set up would be cheaper or same same. Thanks. Do you need higher gears? ie to go faster? If so why bother with double front chainrings? You just need a bigger chainring, say 56t or 60t. That way you are sacrificing lower gears for higher gears. You wont need to go Ultegra RD unless youve got money to burn. Tiagra or 105 will do the job and you wont notice any difference. If you want more lower gears. ie climbing, then refer to sifu's comments.