Troller
post Nov 24 2015, 10:59 AM

24 posts

language is the next religion !
treblecase
post Nov 24 2015, 11:03 AM

IHI
779 posts

Not like the "pendatangs" will get tongkat if they are fluent in BM whistling.gif
hoimangkuk
post Nov 24 2015, 11:05 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ Nov 24 2015, 11:03 AM)
Not like the "pendatangs" will get tongkat if they are fluent in BM  whistling.gif
sure? look at mamak and indonesia here....
SUSs2peMocls
post Nov 24 2015, 11:14 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Nov 24 2015, 10:14 AM)
That mindset just betrays the problem. By "people" do you mean the non-Malays specifically? Granted you don't see that many sasterawan negara who are non-Malays, but the majority of non-Malays in our country have functional mastery of Malay. We don't make a big deal about it, nor do we fuss that much about speaking English vs Mandarin vs Hokkien vs Cantonese in daily life. I don't see that among my Indian friends either. I'd say most would switch between languages as needed. On the other hand, there seems to be stigma among Malays about speaking anything but Malay. A collective lack of self-esteem perhaps? I don't have the answer to that, but this is where a government that has correctly identified the needs of the nation would take effective steps to address it, political expediency be damned. Too much political interference and lack of incompetence in our education system is the problem.

Maybe it's because the non-malays are multilingual, but the malays are not?
oe_kintaro
post Nov 24 2015, 04:17 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(s2peMocls @ Nov 24 2015, 11:14 AM)
Maybe it's because the non-malays are multilingual, but the malays are not?
The whole language debate is in need of a reframing. Most Malaysians seem to be stuck in a rut and falling the same arguments, whether it's English vs Malay, English vs Chinese, ad nauseum. It's not A vs B or B vs A, but "why not A + B + C + D, and what what can we do to make that happen?"

The most sensible article I have come across about the whole language debate was surprisingly, not from any of the regular nonsense news portals, but a car website:

Benarkah Industri Automotif Jepun dan Korea Maju Tanpa Bahasa Inggeris?

This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: Nov 24 2015, 04:17 PM
oe_kintaro
post Nov 24 2015, 04:33 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(Table Fan @ Nov 24 2015, 04:22 PM)
because if trying to score 9As is already difficult....why add another subject to it?
scoring 9As is rightly supposed to be difficult. That's the whole point. That's how we decide who is really smart and deserving. But if every Ali and Ah Kau can score 9As and crowd out the university placements / scholarship places for Medicine (thereby allowing MCA/The Star to do the yearly charade of "defending" the oppressed students denied a place in Medicine) that simply means the barriers are not high enough. However, that is a different story not within the direct scope of this debate.
mrg220t
post Nov 24 2015, 04:34 PM

177 posts

Got question. The word Berbeda is Malay or Indonesian?
Today listen to news hear our TPM keep using the word berbeDa instead of berbeZa.
If our TPM also donno BM how la?
RottoManual
post Nov 24 2015, 04:42 PM

QUOTE(s2peMocls @ Nov 24 2015, 10:11 AM)
1. BM has the formal variant, and the pasar variant, and the kelantanese/terengganu variant. My experience is that malays rarely use 100% malay language, it's mostly a BM mix English. The village BM speakers rarely use the formal variant, and has heavy jargons, rendering conversation with others difficult.

2. Well... if lets say someone who represents you is an embarrassment, you'd have to be in denial not to be, right?

3. No, the question was someone who would rather speak other languages over malay language, not someone who despises it, that's question no.2

4. I'm pretty sure everyone who grew up in this country learned the national language. Whether they use it or not is an entirely different issue. Your concern is no doubt why are there so few non-malays using the malay language, and the reason is very simple. Relevance.

I'm sure the malays have PLENTY of issues with other ethnic's "conduct", and vice versa. There are 2 major differences between the camps. One imposes their standards on the other, the other camp doesn't. I'm sure you know which camp is which.
1. everywhere in the world you will find different variant from different languages,it's the nature of languages. but the people still need to understand the language. it's not a reason not too. yes, these days the malays are exposed to western media and their malay are mixed with english sometimes, but it is not as if they can't speak full bahasa, it is not as if they can't converse in bahasa or change to formal bahasa when the situation arises.

2. the language trancends the user. even if the politicians you consider to be an embarrassment it does not mean the people need to be embarrassed to speak the language.. if this is the way then everytime a new unpopular japanese prime minister is elected, the citizen question the use of it's national language?

3. it's no problem if you'd like to speak other languages. but do be able to speak bahasa should the situation arise.

4.I understand that relevance trumps all. if you consider it to be irrelevant than it's up to you. but what makes a thing relevant should be properly considered as well.

5.it's not just about the majority rule, there is subtlety in relations between people, things that are unspoken but is a problem. things you don't directly see as a problem. I have a few ideas in this regard, but I will not say. but honestly in my opinion, majority rule is usually the way to go. As long as it doesn't hinder too much on the minority. since you are referring to the malays, what are some of their standards that you are not content with? this so that I would have a bit of an understanding on yourself. Not to start a new discussion or anything.

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Nov 24 2015, 10:14 AM)
That mindset just betrays the problem. By "people" do you mean the non-Malays specifically? Granted you don't see that many sasterawan negara who are non-Malays, but the majority of non-Malays in our country have functional mastery of Malay. We don't make a big deal about it, nor do we fuss that much about speaking English vs Mandarin vs Hokkien vs Cantonese in daily life. I don't see that among my Indian friends either. I'd say most would switch between languages as needed. On the other hand, there seems to be stigma among Malays about speaking anything but Malay. A collective lack of self-esteem perhaps? I don't have the answer to that, but this is where a government that has correctly identified the needs of the nation would take effective steps to address it, political expediency be damned. Too much political interference and lack of incompetence in our education system is the problem.
my experience is different. I can't comment too much since you are speaking out of your experience.

This post has been edited by RottoManual: Nov 24 2015, 04:44 PM
TSOM
post Nov 24 2015, 04:44 PM

2,145 posts

so popular!!!!!!!! Until 27 pages. sad.gif

tl;dr.
oe_kintaro
post Nov 24 2015, 04:44 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(Table Fan @ Nov 24 2015, 04:35 PM)
Yes..that's what i am trying to say..if scoring 9A is already very difficult, why add on another level of difficulty? I dont remember many students that wanted to make things more difficult in their life....there were the odd few...but that's all....
Kids these days are living in a society that worships straight "A"s. The whole idea behind the new School Based Assessment which many parents don't get, is to get away from the mugging / rote-learning culture focused on getting As, and to promote creative, more critical thinking skills. That is totally different issue altogether, (and please, don't let me get started on that. shakehead.gif ). If you made it your student life's goal to get 9As that's for you to decide, but ideally it shouldn't mean that you should have to be shamed for getting less.

Where language is concerned, if a child wants to pick up multiple languages in school he should be allowed to do so and be provided the infrastructure.
The problem with the current language debate is that it takes energy, brain power and resources away from being able to focus on the needful.
RottoManual
post Nov 24 2015, 04:46 PM

QUOTE(TSOM @ Nov 24 2015, 04:44 PM)
so popular!!!!!!!! Until 27 pages. sad.gif

tl;dr.
tldr:

most don't mind on speaking malay(when need to), but doesn't want it to be a requirement in examinations.
fair enough I think.

This post has been edited by RottoManual: Nov 24 2015, 04:49 PM
oe_kintaro
post Nov 24 2015, 05:00 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(Table Fan @ Nov 24 2015, 04:48 PM)
It's good for your explanation..but the point is still majority of students wouldnt bother themselves with additional subj if they dont have to.

You're preaching to the wrong individual.
Yes I know, the majority of Malaysians are blinded by racial rhetoric and pride and can't see the forest for the trees. Our politicians are stupid because we were stupid enough to elect them in the first place, and they put in place policies which made us stupider still so that we continue to elect them to office. The way language issues are debated in the public sphere is reflective of our inability to think clearly and critically. A sign perhaps, of our low educational standards?

I know I'm a lone and unpopular voice but some things still need to be said.
oe_kintaro
post Nov 24 2015, 05:17 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(Table Fan @ Nov 24 2015, 05:07 PM)
Well, all i can give is, you do what you think is right bro.. nod.gif
Well, nothing I can do, except make sure my own kids can speak multiple languages in the future.
oe_kintaro
post Nov 24 2015, 05:28 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(Table Fan @ Nov 24 2015, 05:18 PM)
Aint gonna force them..but i will let them know the advantages of speaking multiple languages..since i can converse half broken in Korean, Japan and Hakka and Tamil..apart from the typical English, Malay, Mandarin, Hokkien & Cantonese...
try not to leave it broken: it may get you a few yen or won off when haggling while traveling on a package tour, but it won't open doors of opportunity like speaking a foreign language fluently does.
wanvadder
post Nov 24 2015, 05:31 PM

94 posts

"If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his language, that goes to his heart"

If someone can't even speak proficiently in a certain language yet brags he scored A on the paper regarding it, might as well get the fuck out.
jwrx
post Nov 24 2015, 05:39 PM

515 posts

malay has no hope in modern world..it has roughly 50k words, english has over 180k.

If u look at the latest dewan pustaka words, u will laugh...

Ori, establisymen, fenomena, Bersinonim, tesaurus, leksikon, glosari, , ensiklopedia...might as well just speak english rite?

briantwj
post Nov 24 2015, 05:41 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(mrg220t @ Nov 24 2015, 04:34 PM)
Got question. The word Berbeda is Malay or Indonesian?
Today listen to news hear our TPM keep using the word berbeDa instead of  berbeZa.
If our TPM also donno BM how la?
TPM? u mean our timbalan PM? he budak indon ma. u x tau kah. kek
wanvadder
post Nov 24 2015, 05:50 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Nov 24 2015, 05:39 PM)
malay has no hope in modern world..it has roughly 50k words, english has over 180k.

If u look at the latest dewan pustaka words, u will laugh...

Ori, establisymen, fenomena, Bersinonim, tesaurus, leksikon, glosari, , ensiklopedia...might as well just speak english rite?
You see, its not about the quantity of the words, its about the quality. Sure, the current DBP copypaste the English words everywhere into their Malay translation, but there are certain things which stays with a language. For example, the proverbs, pantun, syair and the such. How does this equates to the modern world? Literature.

Just try translating a pantun and the its meaning into English by how it is conveyed and worded in the pantun. It shows that each language is unique and such, learn to speak (not just scoring A's) and understand it. Nobody loses something when learning language. He will gain something from it.

Belum pernah aku dengar orang rugi belajar bahasa Jepun, Mandarin, Pashtun, Perancis.
oe_kintaro
post Nov 24 2015, 05:51 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(Table Fan @ Nov 24 2015, 05:30 PM)
the time needed vs the few yen/won jst doesnt justify.

i learn them as hobby only though..jst for fun..
The best way to learn is when you are having fun. What started as hobby for me became a profitable sideline. When my colleagues found out I spoke a foreign language, it also transformed my career and afforded me opportunities I never imagined. Heck, even meeting my fiancee was an indirect result....
chisel_bloke
post Nov 24 2015, 05:56 PM

Hahaha...tok sampai bersembur mulut oso can't change a damn thing 😂

27 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 >

0.0179sec    0.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:51 PM