119 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Bottom

Big 4 Recruitment Drive_v3

JN18
post Aug 24 2020, 06:41 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Bigstapler @ Aug 24 2020, 06:35 PM)
What position you applied for? As in the exact position ("Global Graduate Programme") etc etc
EY Graduate Programme - Technology Consulting Associate (Technology Risk)
Bigstapler
post Aug 24 2020, 06:52 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(JN18 @ Aug 24 2020, 06:41 PM)
EY Graduate Programme - Technology Consulting Associate (Technology Risk)
Okayy wondering if they takes in experienced hires for consulting confused.gif console.gif
JN18
post Aug 24 2020, 07:02 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Bigstapler @ Aug 24 2020, 06:52 PM)
Okayy wondering if they takes in experienced hires for consulting  confused.gif  console.gif
Haha you should give it a try! Or maybe they have experienced roles up for applications on their website?
EY's mainly focused on Advisory consulting afaik; if you're into management consulting, MBB firms are highly recommended
Bullspike P
post Aug 25 2020, 10:53 AM

Probation

Hey everyone, I've got a thought that just crossed my mind.

Would it be considered as career suicide if I were to jump from Big 4 audit to a mid tier firm (ie Crowe, Mazars) for another role?

I was looking through job vacancies on websites, and some of the positions offered looked quite interesting, like financial accounting advisory since an internal transfer within my current firm isn't possible.

My current situation is that I'm 10 months into the job, and currently holding 3 audit files on my own (2 dormant, 1 active). I don't mind the working hours but it's been getting repetitive imo. Would like to know y'all opinions.
woodentiger86
post Aug 26 2020, 09:46 AM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

QUOTE(Bullspike @ Aug 25 2020, 10:53 AM)
Hey everyone, I've got a thought that just crossed my mind.

Would it be considered as career suicide if I were to jump from Big 4 audit to a mid tier firm (ie Crowe, Mazars) for another role?

I was looking through job vacancies on websites, and some of the positions offered looked quite interesting, like financial accounting advisory since an internal transfer within my current firm isn't possible.

My current situation is that I'm 10 months into the job, and currently holding 3 audit files on my own (2 dormant, 1 active). I don't mind the working hours but it's been getting repetitive imo. Would like to know y'all opinions.
Just go for it if the job scope is something you're keen on.

Big 4 is still Big 4. Image, prestige, job exposure etc but who's to say you can't get an even more rewarding exposure/challenge in your next role?

Btw, 10months in your current role, or 10 months overall in your first job? If you do stay on, wouldn't the chances of getting promoted to the next level seem more attainable?
Bullspike P
post Aug 26 2020, 02:47 PM

Probation

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 26 2020, 09:46 AM)
Just go for it if the job scope is something you're keen on.

Big 4 is still Big 4. Image, prestige, job exposure etc but who's to say you can't get an even more rewarding exposure/challenge in your next role?

Btw, 10months in your current role, or 10 months overall in your first job? If you do stay on, wouldn't the chances of getting promoted to the next level seem more attainable?
Oh hi again,

10 months in my current role/first job. I'm due for a promotion in the next promotion cycle. I agree with you, but there's always that small voice of doubt saying "don't leave" haha
woodentiger86
post Aug 26 2020, 03:17 PM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

QUOTE(Bullspike @ Aug 26 2020, 02:47 PM)
Oh hi again,

10 months in my current role/first job. I'm due for a promotion in the next promotion cycle. I agree with you, but there's always that small voice of doubt saying "don't leave" haha
That's good to hear. Probably wait a bit longer until you get your promotion, and with that, a potential salary jump, then look out?

Hopefully things are better once you start climbing up too.

It's ok, hence the dilemma you're having isn't it?

I would probably advise you to stay on just a lil' bit longer and get that promotion first, and hope things work out from there onwards.

If there's one thing, never regret whatever decision you opt/didn't opt for cos I'm sure things will work out eventually, one way or another.

Good luck!
gandalfthegrey P
post Sep 10 2020, 06:33 PM

Probation

Did any of you manage to apply and get an interview from KP (Penang) recently?
MasBoleh!
post Sep 11 2020, 03:27 AM

3,599 posts

How long does PWC process the application? So far online assessment completed, interview completed. Interviewer informed that if all goes well, shall hear from HR within 2 weeks. But so far Kirk..Kirk..Kirk..
JN18
post Sep 11 2020, 09:48 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 11 2020, 03:27 AM)
How long does PWC process the application? So far online assessment completed, interview completed. Interviewer informed that if all goes well, shall hear from HR within 2 weeks. But so far Kirk..Kirk..Kirk..
I applied on the 28th of August, and have done the online assessments + phone screening a week after that. So far I've not heard back from them yet, but the programme starts in the first week of October. Not sure if it's still in the running in my case but fingers crossed!
MasBoleh!
post Sep 11 2020, 09:52 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(JN18 @ Sep 11 2020, 09:48 AM)
I applied on the 28th of August, and have done the online assessments + phone screening a week after that. So far I've not heard back from them yet, but the programme starts in the first week of October. Not sure if it's still in the
running in my case but fingers crossed!
What program is that and how do you know it starts in the first week of October?
JN18
post Sep 11 2020, 01:38 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 11 2020, 09:52 AM)
What program is that and how do you know it starts in the first week of October?
tax, i was notified during the phone screening stage
JessicaAlba
post Sep 11 2020, 04:36 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 11 2020, 03:27 AM)
Fresh hire or experienced hire?
MasBoleh!
post Sep 11 2020, 06:32 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(JN18 @ Sep 11 2020, 01:38 PM)
tax, i was notified during the phone screening stage
I see

QUOTE(JessicaAlba @ Sep 11 2020, 04:36 PM)
Fresh hire or experienced hire?
Experienced
forever14yay P
post Sep 12 2020, 11:32 AM

Probation
23 posts

Hi everyone, currently I'm an audit intern in a mid firm. To be honest, I don't have much interest in audit. I choose audit because many people said that audit can learn more things.

Now the thing is, I will definitely switch to commercial in future. So now I am wondering my career pathway after my internship. I have two options and everyone can give me advice on the options:

1. After internship, work as audit associate for 2 years, then switch to commercial / MNC

2. After internship, straight away apply for MNC / commercial

Thanks in advance.
tankwek
post Sep 13 2020, 11:25 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(forever14yay @ Sep 12 2020, 11:32 AM)
Hi everyone, currently I'm an audit intern in a mid firm. To be honest, I don't have much interest in audit. I choose audit because many people said that audit can learn more things.

Now the thing is, I will definitely switch to commercial in future. So now I am wondering my career pathway after my internship. I have two options and everyone can give me advice on the options:

1. After internship, work as audit associate for 2 years, then switch to commercial / MNC

2. After internship, straight away apply for MNC / commercial

Thanks in advance.
Personal Opinion : I always told my Juniors. If possible, stay until you get promoted to become a senior and go through AT LEAST one peak season.
Honestly speaking you will not learn much during associate level ( 1-2 years ) because you will not in charge of significant/complex accounting treatment (most of the time and mostly blindly follow instruction from Senior).

How are you going to tell your future company that you have solve/overcome your difficulties in your role if you are just an associate ?

Ok back to your question, to maximize your career progression, i will suggest you to pick :

Option 1 if you can stay until senior rank like i mentioned above

OR

Option 2 if you think you will left before promoted to senior (Key point here is senior rank, not number of years served) because is pretty much pointless and your insufficient experience in audit sometime might drag you down in your next career. (Few of my junior get assign to deal with auditors after they leave big4 and join commercial company. Imagine if you don't understand the flow of audit and explanation of auditors and your boss is staring at you. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

Again, this is just a kind advise for your reference.

Good luck ~ biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tankwek: Sep 13 2020, 11:26 PM
KappAmir
post Sep 17 2020, 04:35 PM

58 posts

Hello. Just wanted to check with my fellow accountants here. I applied for PwC's Jr Xplorers Programme (Jan 2021 intake) earlier this year. I contacted HR about a month ago, and they said we should get further updates on the program sometime in September. Well, we've passed the halfway point for September already, and I'm just wondering if anyone here who applied for the same program has had any recent contact with HR regarding this program.

I tried calling them a bunch of times already this week. Cant ever seem to get the right timing.

This post has been edited by KappAmir: Sep 17 2020, 04:38 PM
tankwek
post Sep 17 2020, 05:03 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(KappAmir @ Sep 17 2020, 04:35 PM)
Hello. Just wanted to check with my fellow accountants here. I applied for PwC's Jr Xplorers Programme (Jan 2021 intake) earlier this year. I contacted HR about a month ago, and they said we should get further updates on the program sometime in September. Well, we've passed the halfway point for September already, and I'm just wondering if anyone here who applied for the same program has had any recent contact with HR regarding this program. 

I tried calling them a bunch of times already this week. Cant ever seem to get the right timing.
Should be fine if you passed all the interview process (online assessment, face to face interview/social media interview).
Recruitment for next year will be tough because apparently a lot of staffs remain this year compared to prior years (due to covid where less opening for job market).

Should be either January 2021 or March 2021.

Pray for your luck ~

icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by tankwek: Sep 17 2020, 05:04 PM
KappAmir
post Sep 17 2020, 06:41 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(tankwek @ Sep 17 2020, 05:03 PM)
Should be fine if you passed all the interview process (online assessment, face to face interview/social media interview).
Recruitment for next year will be tough because apparently a lot of staffs remain this year compared to prior years (due to covid where less opening for job market).

Should be either January 2021 or March 2021.

Pray for your luck ~

icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
I appreciate the support. thumbsup.gif
No, I havent gone through any of the online assessment or interview yet. I just wanna confirm that I'm not missing out on PwC's Jr Xplorers program.

I'm weighing my options at the moment. I currently have an opportunity to join a different Xplorer program which starts in October and ends in April 2021 (6 months). However, this Xplorer program is NOT Accounts-related...(Its more of a "me following my dreams" kinda thing biggrin.gif ). I'd like to be certain on the status of my application with PwC so I can make a more informed decision. As much as I like to be a dreamer and join next month's program, the realist in me is leaning more towards getting the experience in Auditing first. It wont look good if I joined one program and then quit halfway to join PwC's program.
SUSsunbearau
post Sep 20 2020, 06:29 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(KappAmir @ Sep 17 2020, 04:35 PM)

This is the program they started a few years back right? Im actually curious how well its been implemented in MY.

The HK version of it was pretty meh I would say. The associates I knew that were on it kept on saying they get put on random jobs and at the end of 2 years didn't even know where they wanted to go to.

119 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:46 AM