Big 4 Recruitment Drive_v3

Oklahoma
post Jul 27 2020, 11:22 AM

-
878 posts

Update:

E&Y delayed my friend's onboarding from Sept to December this year due to the covid-19 situation. Position is for associate/junior executive.

Hope this update helps, and good luck.
MdmWSW
post Jul 27 2020, 04:33 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Oklahoma @ Jul 27 2020, 11:22 AM)
Update:

E&Y delayed my friend's onboarding from Sept to December this year due to the covid-19 situation. Position is for associate/junior executive.

Hope this update helps, and good luck.
Would like to add on if it helps the rest.

My employment for KP commences next year July 2021. Audit associate.

edit: Woops, clarified with the HR once again and apparently I could start early once I submit my latest results. The July 2021 one is just a tentative date.

This post has been edited by MdmWSW: Aug 13 2020, 10:26 PM
jenniJenni
post Jul 27 2020, 05:15 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(MdmWSW @ Jul 27 2020, 04:33 PM)
Would like to add on if it helps the rest.

My employment for KP commences next year July 2021. Audit associate.
Afternoon,
could you share when did you apply, please
Did you apply for next year hiring (2021)

In the mean time you have a year until your employment commencement...
That's long....

Thank you.
woodentiger86
post Jul 28 2020, 08:17 AM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

QUOTE(Bullspike @ Jul 26 2020, 06:04 PM)
Yup, I'm aware that I might sound quite naive, that's why I'm asking for inputs.

Currently I'm holding 2 dormant entity files and doing their FS, aside from assisting my seniors on work done in the main company under a group structure. My performance so far has been quite okay, usually hovering around above expectation/at expectation. I did mentioned that I was open to more responsibilities, but my Performance Manager feels that I shouldn't rush into things and just go with the flow.

Expectations wise, I can't say much since this is my first job. But I think as long as it's doable and the challenge is gradually increased, I'm fine with that
That's a good attitude to have bro.

Continue to do well and excel and the performance reviews will take care of that. Helps if you're adept with your work and also on good terms with your colleagues and seniors.

Can see you're quite capable of handling those smaller FS on your own so I'm sure eventually your seniors/managers will start giving you some more stuffs to do. I guess a good point is if you find yourself done and probably have some time to spare, try asking around your team to see if they have other tasks that could be assigned out? Every little helps.

MdmWSW
post Jul 28 2020, 08:28 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(jenniJenni @ Jul 27 2020, 05:15 PM)
Afternoon,
could you share when did you apply, please
Did you apply for next year hiring (2021)

In the mean time you have a year until your employment commencement...
That's long....

Thank you.
I applied for this year in my cover letter, perhaps they gave me a later commencement date due to covid situation as I heard forumers saying that big4 have frozen their hiring process for this year.

I'm grateful enough to have received the offer already since I'm just a degree fresh graduate. I will use the 1 year gap to finish off my ACCA papers. smile.gif All the best to yours!

edit: Woops, clarified with the HR once again and apparently I could start early once I submit my latest results. The July 2021 one is just a tentative date.

This post has been edited by MdmWSW: Aug 13 2020, 10:26 PM
aMalaysianBOI P
post Jul 29 2020, 10:42 PM

Probation

Hi senpai and sifu , I'm a newbie, may I know roughly wut is the working hour of a new big 4 auditor? Because I saw a lot of people said that first few years of a auditor will work till death, then weekends aso need come to work, is it true guys? Btw I'm now a form 5, I'm pretty much sure that after spm, I will pursue the fastest pathway to acca which is CAT-ACCA(3 years hopefully).
crystalfenix
post Jul 30 2020, 12:59 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(aMalaysianBOI @ Jul 29 2020, 10:42 PM)
Hi senpai and sifu , I'm a newbie, may I know roughly wut is the working hour of a new big 4 auditor? Because I saw a lot of people said that first few years of a auditor will work till death, then weekends aso need come to work, is it true guys?  Btw I'm now a form 5, I'm pretty much sure that after spm, I will pursue the fastest pathway to acca which is CAT-ACCA(3 years hopefully).
Everyone is different. If you’re good with your boss. Can be working hours pun chilling.

If you like normal worker, then hardlife lo.

If you amoi, I know some dumb guy seniors help you do pun Ada. Amoi just sit at home. Lol

So which category you think you are?
aMalaysianBOI P
post Jul 30 2020, 01:41 PM

Probation

I also not so sure, tax or audit gua.....

aMalaysianBOI P
post Jul 30 2020, 02:18 PM

Probation

I also want to ask about what's the difference lifestyle, working hours and working environment between an auditor and tax in busy season and non-busy season( details if can) , and how constantly do an auditor travel with the team?
woodentiger86
post Jul 30 2020, 04:34 PM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

QUOTE(aMalaysianBOI @ Jul 30 2020, 02:18 PM)
I also want to ask about what's the difference lifestyle, working hours and working environment between an auditor and tax in busy season and non-busy season( details if can) , and how constantly do an auditor travel with the team?
It's good that you seem to have earmarked a career in audit even whilst in secondary school. So, focus on getting good results for your diploma/degree/CAT-ACCA/Oxford Brookes program and once the time comes - hope you manage to get into Big 4.

Peak and non-peak - well, during my time in audit line, some jobs I had to work till 3-4am... It's tiring for sure but one thing about audit is the people you work with. Stress is there la just how you handle it. Not sure whether audit line now still have those ungodly hours though cos I already left audit many years ago to enter Shared Services/Commercial line.

Just go with the flow.

As for travel, it pretty much depends where your client is based. If it's Klang Valley, then you can either carpool or take public transport etc. Outstation/oversea audits are there too and depends whether you're in those engagement teams. During my time I didn't get to go abroad, but at least I managed to visit places like Langkawi, Kemaman, JB, Labuan etc for stock takes...
crystalfenix
post Jul 30 2020, 05:44 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(aMalaysianBOI @ Jul 30 2020, 02:18 PM)
No situation fits all. If youre like useful, youll get sucked to different ad hoc projects, for example for tax it would be tax investigation projects and for audit IPO projects.

Things such as lifestyle and working hours is defined by yourself not by others.

But the norm for peak season is Jan to May for external auditors and for tax its July to September. Thats why in tax there tends to be more females, for KPMG and Deloitte seems to be 80% female. Hours for peak could be 8.30 - 3/6am. Is it healthy? You decide for yourself. But from my observation, tax dept is usually more humane in that aspect.

There was the case where the KPMG auditor can knock the tree due to over exhaustion and died. So if youre tired, just tell your senior that you want to go home. There are seniors who are selfish, for example ask you shorten your study break in order for you to work for them longer, if youre weak willed which was the case for my fren, youll shorten it, and she did failed her professional paper which I think was super foolish on her end. Nobody cares whether you passed the paper or not. Cause for audit if you dont have professional, youll be stuck at AM level forever. You would need to think for yourself on that.

Non busy season I mostly stayed home, cause big 4 company uses the hot desk policy for their junior staff, even AM dont have designated seats. For tax it should be that everyone has designated seats. So definitely harder to snake lol.
scrubbinpam P
post Jul 31 2020, 01:35 AM

Probation

Can anyone please advise on how to get to EY Menara Millenium from MRT PBD? I heard that the pedestrian walkway is closed due to construction. Are there alternate walking routes or buses? The bus stop for Menara Millenium looks kinda sketchy on Google Maps.
jenniJenni
post Aug 4 2020, 11:33 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(MdmWSW @ Jul 28 2020, 08:28 AM)
I applied for this year in my cover letter, perhaps they gave me a later commencement date due to covid situation as I heard forumers saying that big4 have frozen their hiring process for this year.

I'm grateful enough to have received the offer already since I'm just a degree fresh graduate. I will use the 1 year gap to finish off my ACCA papers. smile.gif All the best to yours!
Evening,

Could you share when did you submit yr applications via their main portal ?
How long it took for them to notify you whether you’re shortlisted or else.
Did you attend face to face IV / group IV (if there’s any)?
Could you kindly share more about it, please?

Thank you!
Thirtythreebugs
post Aug 10 2020, 10:39 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(scrubbinpam @ Jul 31 2020, 01:35 AM)
Can anyone please advise on how to get to EY Menara Millenium from MRT PBD? I heard that the pedestrian walkway is closed due to construction. Are there alternate walking routes or buses? The bus stop for Menara Millenium looks kinda sketchy on Google Maps.
There is a bus that will send you to a parking lot near to MM. But I guess no worries for now since EY doesn't encourage its staff to work in office. All onboarding and work assignment will be done online.
KleenGuy P
post Aug 10 2020, 03:11 PM

Probation
13 posts

FYI KPMG applicants

I applied Associates (Governance and Sustainability) end of July. Got a call and did my online assessments. Waited for a week and called back... TADA. HR told me they suspended all fresh grads positions for the time being but not for TAX and AUDIT.

So, those who applied and waiting for an email invitation to interview, better call them up and ask about your application status. sad.gif

Best of luck smile.gif
JN18
post Aug 18 2020, 01:38 PM

21 posts

Has anyone received a phone screening from EY HRs? I applied for their Grad Programme - Technology Consultant Associate on the 7th of August, and saw that the date on my Taleo submission has been updated on the 12th August, with the withdraw button still on. How long does it usually take to hear back from EY? Thank you
Bigstapler
post Aug 19 2020, 02:21 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(JN18 @ Aug 18 2020, 01:38 PM)
Has anyone received a phone screening from EY HRs? I applied for their Grad Programme - Technology Consultant Associate on the 7th of August, and saw that the date on my Taleo submission has been updated on the 12th August, with the withdraw button still on. How long does it usually take to hear back from EY? Thank you
I thought EY has frozen the hiring cycle for non audit and tax? But this is gooooood sign tho rclxms.gif
JessicaAlba
post Aug 19 2020, 04:29 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(Bigstapler @ Aug 19 2020, 02:21 PM)
I thought EY has frozen the hiring cycle for non audit and tax? But this is gooooood sign tho  rclxms.gif
They are still hiring for tech consulting.
JN18
post Aug 24 2020, 05:49 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Bigstapler @ Aug 19 2020, 02:21 PM)
I thought EY has frozen the hiring cycle for non audit and tax? But this is gooooood sign tho  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(JessicaAlba @ Aug 19 2020, 04:29 PM)
They are still hiring for tech consulting.
Thank you haha. But it's been almost 2 weeks since the last updated date on Taleo. Not sure if it's worth to wait, but I guess I'll keep applying to other comps. first. The last time I checked is today, and the Withdraw button's still on.
Bigstapler
post Aug 24 2020, 06:35 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(JN18 @ Aug 24 2020, 05:49 PM)
Thank you haha. But it's been almost 2 weeks since the last updated date on Taleo. Not sure if it's worth to wait, but I guess I'll keep applying to other comps. first. The last time I checked is today, and the Withdraw button's still on.
What position you applied for? As in the exact position ("Global Graduate Programme") etc etc

119 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:58 AM