post deleted.

This post has been edited by tankwek: Jul 11 2017, 01:47 AM
tankwek
post Jul 6 2017, 12:08 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(kanikani @ Jul 3 2017, 04:42 PM)
hi all,

i applied for PwC around at the start of june and received a reply that says that they're reviewing my application 2 weeks later. since it was raya holidays, i gave them few more days but i havent heard from them sad.gif

so i decided to be more proactive (ok only after reading this thread) i called twice just now and got through! (caught me by surprise bc i thought no one would pick up like the first time before lunchtime)

the lady who picked up my call sounded friednly and asked for my name to search in their database. she even asked me to spell my name lol. then she said 'i'll ask the recruiter to call you back". i was still shocked and too nervous at this point.. so i said great and thanks for your help (something like that). END

does that mean i will get a call? or is that just a nice way to say i got rejected? (i called this afternoob and i know maybe she might be too busy to get back today but im so freaking nervous!)
HR currently is having its peak season(july), so they might not able to review on your application. You can try call back on August to ask for further progress.
tankwek
post Jul 10 2017, 08:46 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(kanikani @ Jul 10 2017, 01:01 PM)
thanks for the reply smile.gif my bf is telling me stay positive on it but my parents are telling me to giv up on PwC.. i already feel like i'm being rejected when i saw the above post on going for the pwc interview sad.gif
usually for big4, they will have 2 main intake per year which is Sept and April. However, there are adhoc intakes, and this is usually before the peak period as they need more headcount. So if you are interested in audit, they usually will consider take in people from Aug to Dec so that they have the manpower to audit the December year end companies. smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif

tankwek
post Jul 10 2017, 10:25 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Sasuke95 @ Jul 10 2017, 09:20 PM)
Hi guys, I would like my situation to be analyzed, here goes:

Objective: Audit associate position in PWC

Situation:
My degree CGPA is currently around 3.1, in my final semester I failed 1 paper (so close to become a graduate) due to absurd exam questions being set by the stubborn lecturer.

My total resit count will be 2, after including the paper in final semester, I cleared my previous resit, the last resit will be in Sept.

On the other hand, I've passed my P123, the result for the remaining 2 papers will be known on 17th July (1 week left).
Questions:
1. Assuming I passed all ACCA papers, is it likely for PWC to accept me? Even I haven't completed my degree?

2. Assuming I finished both ACCA and degree, will my low CGPA affect my chance?

3. Assuming I failed ACCA (1 or 2 paper remaining), which means I neither have ACCA nor degree, can I still shamelessly apply for it and get through it? My friend advised me that I may get through by showing confidence (eg: telling them surely I will pass the remaining papers sooner or later anyway). Is it true?

4. How long should I expect to wait for them to accept me? (I'm told around 4/5 months)

5. Can I expect to find a girlfriend during my time in PWC?
1. ACCA > degree, so generally yes if base on education.

2. Not really.

3. U can still apply for it. But I will recommend you to complete either ACCA or degree 1st because your starting salary is strongly affected by this factor. Most graduate don't really able to complete their professional paper before joining big4. plus big4 usually will have ACCA annual subscription( need further confirmation).

4. Once applied, you can occasionally call to HR to ask for progress.

5. you can meet a lot of people but no time for dating. LOL
tankwek
post Jul 10 2017, 11:10 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Sasuke95 @ Jul 10 2017, 10:44 PM)
Thank you for the reply, appreciated it.

1. As an ACCA holder, will my starting salary higher than those went in with only Degree?

2. I will have no time to the extent that even weekends are not my days? (what's the point of life), so likely single until leave big 4 for corporate/commercial world?

3.  Should I be careful of office politics?

4. Anything useful you can tell me? I wish to know.
1. yes and you will have more free time compare to other degree graduate as All Big4 require their graduate to attend classes on weekend to pass their ACCA.

2. I assume that you don't do enough background research of big4 culture in Malaysia. Joining big4 is for exposure and learning. It is common that being an auditor wont give you much free time especially during peak season. Most people can't withstand the workload and time-pressure and eventually resign after few years of working. Even your hiring manager will ask about your readiness to work late during your interview. If you need those work-life balance, better don't apply for big4.

3. Be good to everyone. That's it.

4. read this forum. It contains a lot of useful information that you need to know if you want to become one of the Big4 member.
tankwek
post Jul 11 2017, 11:22 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(Sasuke95 @ Jul 11 2017, 02:43 AM)
1. How much do you think I will be getting?

2. I understand. Currently what I have in my mind is that after I worked for 3 years and get that ACCA membership, I will leave for corporate world for a good jump in salary. In your opinion is it advisable? If no, how long would you suggest? Kindly draw both an ordinary path and an optimal path for me.
1. depend on which big4 you applied. starting salary for ACCA + degree graduate in KPMG is 3k. others should be around this range. Without both of the qualification will only entitle for 2k above.

2. In fact, most of the people do so. They just spend all their time in 1st few years learning and studying in big4, trying to get as much experience and exposure as possible. After that, they leave for work-life balance company. "good jump in salary" for corporate world is true, however, for short-term benefit. The salary being big4 after 10 years of service is huge different compare to 3 years of big4 + 7 years of corporate service. This is really up to personal decision that which factor you care the most: corporate world with higher chances of life and sufficient income or big4 with little life and great income.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
tankwek
post Jul 11 2017, 08:17 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Sasuke95 @ Jul 11 2017, 03:47 PM)
Thank you for replying my questions patiently up to this point, appreciated it, not all people are willing to entertain my never-ending-question attitude.
As you know, I'm always hunger for knowledge, and I'm willing and daring to ask, not sure if this is a good thing though.
I would say I'm still digging continuously for info related to big 4, it'll help tremendously if I directly ask you here:

1. If that's the case then too bad, but I asked 1 of my ex-tutor and she told me ACCA overrides degree, and I will be getting as much as 3300 as starting, not true? It is very very sad if the damned degree dragged me down even if I have my ACCA.

2. Hmm I would need an estimation of the figures of both options after 10 years to justify my decision, how big is the difference? Personally for now I would favor more on health because health cannot be bought, there is no point of earning high while your body is damaged beyond repair. I'm told that working until 2am is normal. It is only acceptable to me if my workload reduces as I become more senior in big 4.

3. I saw somewhere saying that the bonus is great, as great as a few months salary , I wish to know more on this, maybe certain condition has to be fulfilled, I'm not sure.

4. I'm told that a car is a must if want to work in big 4 as you have to travel to client's office often. I'm also aware that people work as a team in big 4. My question is, if all of my team members have car, who's gonna drive? We drive separately? And what about those without car?

5. How do we actually do our work there? By excel or some other software? I saw some people have godlike speed in doing excel, do we actually have to be that fast?

6. I'm aware that advisory line give much better salary than audit, so at the  end which is better? audit or advisory?
1. That's true. ACCA more better than degree in term of education. Starting salary usually will fix at 2.8k and small portion of increment for professional paper completed. If big4 able to give up to 3.3k , meaning that the candidate must be extremely excellent candidate like getting awards in his/her professional paper.

2. 5 digit and 4 digit. imagine yourself. working until 2am is common during peak season only. If everyday work until 2am, all masuk hospital already. laugh.gif

3. few months salary only for those manager level and above. Don't care so much on this factor, focus on learning.

4. depend on your team. Usually fresh entries won't go and work alone at client's office.

5. not everyone work like godlike speed at the beginning. However, you must able to grow and work at a very fast pace.

6. My advise: Never chose career by comparing their salary. Pick what you like to do. Not only advisory, Tax associate also receive higher salary compare than audit. Are you going to switch to tax ? A kind remainder for you: one can't switch his/her career after few years of service in particular line as what you learn in that particular line is totally different with other field of service. thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by tankwek: Jul 11 2017, 08:20 PM
tankwek
post Jul 11 2017, 08:25 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(misscrystal @ Jul 11 2017, 05:56 PM)
hi, i am a degree holder and left 3 acca p papers. i applied for kpmg but i didnt meet their requirement for audit associate and they suggest me to apply for audit admin. should i really go for audit admin then hoping to transfer to audit associate once i complete all the p papers? is there any chances they will allow me to transfer in future? biggrin.gif
Do you ask for feedback from KPMG on which requirement you don't meet ? Audit admin seems like internal audit for me (internal audit can be very boring). If possible, try go for audit associate, at least you can travel to other place and enjoy makan at different place. Can try apply for other big4. laugh.gif laugh.gif
tankwek
post Jul 11 2017, 11:13 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Sasuke95 @ Jul 11 2017, 10:14 PM)
1. No problem to pass ACCA for me, but very unlikely to get past 60 marks. Am I still getting the same pay as others?

2. Ah I see, I guess it depends whether I can still take it or not, I will leave as soon as I can't take it, minimum will stay for 3 years though.

3. Just curious how much bonus I will be having.

4. To me, tax is definitely out because I'm not interested, left audit and advisory. I know what is audit since I did it during intern, but not sure how advisory works, I did some research and knew that advisory has many types. What is your say on advisory?

5. Will I get accepted faster than others because I completed ACCA first? Majority from my course haven't completed it yet, most of them apply using their degree. I don't have a degree though, kinda funny, I'm not sure what to say to them about my degree.

6. Actually, you still working there? How long? Otherwise you'll not be able to provide so much info to me.
1. Education is only one tiny factor that affect your starting salary. Even if you score well in ACCA like getting 90mark for all paper, you will still get the same salary as normal ACCA graduate student. They need someone who can do work + score well , not score well + cannot do work.

4. not much info on advisory line as I'm not one of them. So far I observed is they need to do a TONS of research study.

5. If you mean get an invitation for interview, then probably yes. Your previous co-curricular activities also play important parts as well.

6. I and my friends interned in all the big4 before. Some of my friends stay and continue as big4 member while I accept offer to oversea company .
tankwek
post Jul 11 2017, 11:51 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(SmallPenguin @ Jul 11 2017, 11:41 PM)
Could this kind sir enlighten me for a few words for Post#929? smile.gif
Not sure whether got sponsor or not. It is easy to say that you want to continue ICAEW after ACCA but once you start work as big4 member, you MIGHT give up of this matter because it is not easy to study while working full-time. Some senior associate actually take years just to pass their last 2 ACCA professional paper. Don't too focus on education, later they will ask you some technical question during your interview since you are so care about your education. If you can't answer it, then they will know that you are merely an ACCA titleholder but can't apply what you had learn. laugh.gif
tankwek
post Jul 12 2017, 12:42 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(SmallPenguin @ Jul 12 2017, 12:14 AM)
Looks like I have to strengthen my basis unsure.gif

Just another quick question, I know co curricular activities is another important thing the employers looking for.
But being an ACCA student in a small college rather than university(but has platinum status), co curricular is not a thing here.
The number of students is small, so students treat this place as "tuition centre" rather than a college.
Yes they are clubs, but they are all just a name. Rarely has any activities, if it does, people don't usually give a damn to it. Just come over here to attend class, once class over, everyone back to home.

So I'm looking for another way, hopefully to cover this part up.
AFAIK, ACCA course doesn't have internship. So can I get an/or a few internship(s), not as an excuse for not participating in any activities, but you get what I mean. sad.gif
Just tell the interviewer the truth. Most of the pure ACCA graduate also don't have much co-curricular activities compare to local university as well as internship opportunity ( they have FYP instead ). Just pass all your ACCA test and I believe the your application will be highlighted. However, you need to prepare well for interview as well~~ thumbup.gif
tankwek
post Jul 12 2017, 12:59 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(SmallPenguin @ Jul 12 2017, 12:50 AM)
Phew, now this really makes me feel better. I was nervous how to find something to fill up that missing content.

And the last thing, what is FYP actually? I'm currently a pure ACCA student like you said, but never heard of this term. Or damn am I start losing memory xD

I will give my best shot when that day comes nod.gif
Final year project.
tankwek
post Jul 12 2017, 01:10 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(SmallPenguin @ Jul 12 2017, 01:02 AM)
Eh, I don't remember my ACCA course has that thing. Did you mean the project in order to get the Oxford Brooke's degree? Or is it something else?
I'm from local University so I went for internship instead of FYP. I think is depend on the private college/university whether their course consists of FYP or not. One of my friends taking ACCA course from Sunway College mentioned that he didn't went through internship but FYP instead. hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
tankwek
post Jul 12 2017, 12:41 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Sasuke95 @ Jul 12 2017, 01:28 AM)
I see, thanks for everything sir, I think I'm out of questions currently.

Wow you're working in overseas now, how long you've been working already? Things going great?

Also, I found out this quote while doing my research, it's called "don't shit where you eat", is it really that dangerous? Would like to hear your personal opinion on this.

I think I will be finding a partner during my big 4 days, since people there are like-minded.
define your "don't shit where you eat". This quote got several meaning.

tankwek
post Jul 12 2017, 06:53 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Sasuke95 @ Jul 12 2017, 04:32 PM)
I thought it has only 1 meaning?

It means don't get a love partner in your own working place, it may jeopardize your career if things go wrong, that's the warning I got during my course of research.
You should only worry on this matter after you get your offer letter from Big4. If you can't pass the 3 stages of interview, you can't even have your big4 life. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by tankwek: Jul 12 2017, 06:58 PM
tankwek
post Jul 12 2017, 09:48 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Sasuke95 @ Jul 12 2017, 08:57 PM)
Plan things ahead is my habit, I can't resist.

Also I'm confident I can go in, priority is pwc, but will apply all 4 anyway, I'm sure 1 of them is going to accept me.

What are the 3 stages of interview anyway? You make it sound like very difficult.
confident is good. But never over-confident. Everytime they invited 20-30+ candidate for interview, all of them are well-qualified. However, more than half of the candidates fail during their interview. Not going to share their interview stages. If you can pass the interview, meaning that you are capable to work for them. bruce.gif bruce.gif bruce.gif
tankwek
post Jul 12 2017, 09:49 PM

85 posts

double post - deleted

This post has been edited by tankwek: Jul 12 2017, 09:54 PM
tankwek
post Jul 13 2017, 06:39 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Spiderman99 @ Jul 13 2017, 04:10 PM)
Hey there,

May I know how long is your travelling time to office? Is an hour of travelling time to KL using LRT is consider long for you?
And do you encounter any problem when you work overtime (e.g: OT until mid night, LRT has closed)?

This is my main concern regarding working in KL. I don't mind working long hour, just that if I was to OT until midnight, how am I going back home?

Ya I have done my research on the company location before I sent I application as I don't possess my own transport.

Thank you for the information btw  biggrin.gif
1 hour is still consider normal for some of the working people.

Sleep at your office. Auditor often do so. nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif

Don't pick your career just because your career is near to your current place. You will regret later. IF you really WANT to become auditor, go for audit firm, aim for the highest. At least next time your resume is LOT better than others.

This post has been edited by tankwek: Jul 13 2017, 06:49 PM
tankwek
post Jul 13 2017, 07:26 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Spiderman99 @ Jul 13 2017, 07:14 PM)
Then should I wait for the reply from the application I sent to medium firm and reject the interview at MNC? I personally have strong passion in audit and the obstacles is that I don't own a car.
You should go and take this opportunity to familiar yourself with interview. Take this interview as your practice and You might actually understand which part of your interview need to improve.

Give yourself a range of period (6 month/ 9 month / 1 year).Within these period, apply only the audit firm that you keen to work with and wait for their reply. If you don't get it, then only consider to enter other company. Don't keep throwing your resume everywhere because you will often face this kind of dilemma. FYI, big firm like big4, their whole process of intake can last up to 3 month (screening 1 month, 1st interview 1 month, 2nd interview 1 month). ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

So unless you got financial problem that you need to work ASAP, if not better wait for the best option. ~ CHEER ~

This post has been edited by tankwek: Jul 13 2017, 07:35 PM
tankwek
post Jul 13 2017, 07:29 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Sasuke95 @ Jul 12 2017, 10:43 PM)
Wow even well qualified still can fail to go in, I've heard of cases like this too, my friend 3.9 and got rejected.

I hope i don't fck up the interview, any tips?
I already know basic interview techniques, just need interview techniques specifically for big 4.
Also, in case if i failed, can i shamelessly try again in next round?
Not going to share any interview technique or tips before you get the invitation of big4 for interview.

0.0624sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:22 PM