156 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Bottom

Lets talk salary v7

xdyxrixzmxn
post Jul 5 2017, 08:31 AM

QUOTE(najihah922 @ Jul 5 2017, 07:57 AM)
Try find new job. better job. sometimes you can also find big company, even though they given you small salary but given you medical , claim etc might help you. My father used to work at GLC company, with gaji 1.8k on early 90, but manage to survive until now, the salary increase to 3x now. its worth , bcoz medical for you and your children are cover also.
I got the iv on 8th. Just idk what to do yet. Never go to a formal iv. Didnt get a chance back then. Any advices?
najihah922
post Jul 5 2017, 10:35 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(xdyxrixzmxn @ Jul 5 2017, 08:31 AM)
I got the iv on 8th. Just idk what to do yet. Never go to a formal iv. Didnt get a chance back then. Any advices?
confident. try to said that you willing to learn, somehow people searching for your courage on the job itself. its ok if you dont have the required skill. People will see potential in you if you hardworking and fast learner..
AstonCheah
post Jul 5 2017, 03:26 PM

383 posts

hello guys,

i am 38, current job as a Service Manager(Car workshop, salary RM7k). i have been studying android apps developments for the past few years and have my own apps publishing in google play store. recently took and graduated from an online course Android Developer Nanodegree from Udacity(the Course is Co-created by Google).

now thinking of a career change in my crucial age into Android Apps Developer. i can work in Malaysia and willing to relocate to SG, AU(my ideal location:)), NZ.

anyone have any similar experience like me?

Belphegor
post Jul 5 2017, 03:55 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(xdyxrixzmxn @ Jul 4 2017, 10:18 PM)
Should i do a calculation? Maybe a bit could help.

Basic 1k (26xrm38.48, pay by day)
Add on minyak moto allowence rm50
Overtime sometimes have sometimes dun have.
Restday sometimes can work, sometimes cannot.
Get advance on 20hb every month rm200
Gross salary cincai rm1100
Minus rm200 advance, minus epf socso rm70-100
Net salary, rm800-900.

Palm oil mill. General worker. Lowest level.
Wan buy 2nd car sometimes also difficult. But have proton wira buy cash.
Eventho im not married yet, well, also hve commitment for helping family. Idk lah bro. 4 years i live with this kind of work. Had continue study before, but family cond making me and all members suffer bcs that time only my fathers work and only him have to support 6 ppl (mom, me and other 4 sibling) with that kind of salary. I cant think abt study and just failed and come back home to work and reduce burden. Idk lah bro. Sometime im envy with ppl who hve a good salary. I wish i hve a good pay too. But ppl only with spm sure gonna have a bad time to find a good work with a good salary. Exp without cert is hard you know.
No cert is not an issue as long as you know your passion and strive hard to work on your passion. I also without cert since I only graduated from SPM and didn't manage to graduate from college. But try to sharpen your skills and what you know into generating income from it. You'd be surprise how far you can go.

Offer service, offer your skills to people who need your expertise.
honesty tan
post Jul 5 2017, 04:27 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Jul 5 2017, 03:55 PM)
No cert is not an issue as long as you know your passion and strive hard to work on your passion. I also without cert since I only graduated from SPM and didn't manage to graduate from college. But try to sharpen your skills and what you know into generating income from it. You'd be surprise how far you can go.

Offer service, offer your skills to people who need your expertise.
The thing is, Cert is still important as the deciding factors comes from Employers (they are the decision makers). Unless, the skills are applied in Entrepreneurship. I have seen many cases for those without certs or just diploma, they actually perform better than Degree graduate. However, their pay is limited by the scale / system hence no way for them to grow further till they advanced the studies. Cruel but real in many MNCs. blush.gif
Belphegor
post Jul 5 2017, 05:25 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(honesty tan @ Jul 5 2017, 04:27 PM)
The thing is, Cert is still important as the deciding factors comes from Employers (they are the decision makers). Unless, the skills are applied in Entrepreneurship. I have seen many cases for those without certs or just diploma, they actually perform better than Degree graduate. However, their pay is limited by the scale / system hence no way for them to grow further till they advanced the studies. Cruel but real in many MNCs.  blush.gif
Yes that is one sad truth that is happening in Malaysia. We are still developing country hence many things we still based on paper instead of looking at skills and ability to solve problem. But many entrepreneur are going to the bold move, going the daring line and start to use people with caliber instead of certs.

I am about to get my double degree soon. Let's hope everything goes well. Been 3 years I suffer without a degree to find a job. But my hardwork pays off. Got into a big retail company in Malaysia. Bersyukurlah for what I got and what I've been through.

honesty tan
post Jul 5 2017, 05:56 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Jul 5 2017, 05:25 PM)
Yes that is one sad truth that is happening in Malaysia. We are still developing country hence many things we still based on paper instead of looking at skills and ability to solve problem. But many entrepreneur are going to the bold move, going the daring line and start to use people with caliber instead of certs.

I am about to get my double degree soon. Let's hope everything goes well. Been 3 years I suffer without a degree to find a job. But my hardwork pays off. Got into a big retail company in Malaysia. Bersyukurlah for what I got and what I've been through.
You are right as how Malaysia should attract and keep talents beyond paper valuation. Business acumen and entrepreneurship spirit are something undergraduates won't exposed to, by just attending classes. Good luck bro for future endeavors and possibility thinking will definitely bring you to greater heights! smile.gif
xdyxrixzmxn
post Jul 5 2017, 08:14 PM

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Jul 5 2017, 05:25 PM)

I really got inspired with this. Thanks ppl. U all just give me ideas to move forward. Long ago just stuck with lame mindset of i cant go any bcs im a loser without any paper. Haha. Stupid me duh.
nihilistpuppy
post Jul 6 2017, 02:54 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(honesty tan @ Jul 5 2017, 04:27 PM)
The thing is, Cert is still important as the deciding factors comes from Employers (they are the decision makers). Unless, the skills are applied in Entrepreneurship. I have seen many cases for those without certs or just diploma, they actually perform better than Degree graduate. However, their pay is limited by the scale / system hence no way for them to grow further till they advanced the studies. Cruel but real in many MNCs.  blush.gif
You're right. Certs are important, but they are not essential to landing a good job and good salary. Take me for example. I dropped out of university cause I felt like the stuff I was studying wasn't relevant to what I wanted to do. So I joined advertising. I'm 27 now, earning a salary of 8k. There have also been talks of a lot of start-ups dropping the cert requirement because of how dated the hiring practice is. Ultimately, it's not the end of the world if you're not a degree holder.
lyrilmaki
post Jul 6 2017, 10:00 AM

964 posts

QUOTE(iamihaveto @ Jul 3 2017, 01:21 AM)
Hi guys, i am struggling between two options now.

I am drawing 8.5k MYR per month, work life balance, good boss, and friendly colleagues. (Got time to develop my apps and web-site, intent to start my own co. if there is a chance)

But recently, i got a SG job offering me 5.5k SGD,  By the look of the director and the speed they process my job application. I think it will be a BIG NO work life balance + heavy workload.

I know the final decision is always lied on my hand but i would like to hear some opinions from the forumers here. Thank you.

*I am a IT programmer
I will stay at your current company with 8.5/month..

Most importantly have work life balance and times to explore own idea.. biggrin.gif
mr.thinkpad
post Jul 6 2017, 04:26 PM

Enrich Traveller
558 posts

QUOTE(lyrilmaki @ Jul 6 2017, 10:00 AM)
I will stay at your current company with 8.5/month..

Most importantly have work life balance and times to explore own idea..  biggrin.gif
depends if he prefer to be rich, get more challenging job
nadja2
post Jul 6 2017, 04:38 PM

90 posts

Net salary, rm800-900.

Eventho im not married yet, well, also hve commitment for helping family. Idk lah bro. 4 years i live with this kind of work. Had continue study before, but family cond making me and all members suffer bcs that time only my fathers work and only him have to support 6 ppl (mom, me and other 4 sibling) with that kind of salary. I cant think abt study and just failed and come back home to work and reduce burden. Idk lah bro. Sometime im envy with ppl who hve a good salary. I wish i hve a good pay too. But ppl only with spm sure gonna have a bad time to find a good work with a good salary. Exp without cert is hard you know.
Try to find a job that pays better. You can try customer service line since you have good English, it will help. Don't let the lack of having a degree and such keep you from getting a brighter future. Just having an SPM cert does not mean "the end". Don't look back at what caused that but look forward on improving. Best of luck!
mr.thinkpad
post Jul 8 2017, 03:55 PM

Enrich Traveller
558 posts

true.. if spm also can excel in life.. just make sure u are hardworking and proven to be useful to the company u are working for... be honest in work and make good friend with workmates sure will excel and get promoted
Skinny01010
post Jul 8 2017, 08:43 PM

38 posts

^ What about picking up a construction trade? I don't know how how feasible is it for you, but do look into things like welding or even being a crane operator.
zellleonhart
post Jul 9 2017, 03:13 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Hi all, I need some help here.

I am technically not a fresh graduate (graduated in June 2015), but for 2 years I worked in a non-profit organization as executive level, one year in Malaysia and one year overseas. Both years salary were way below average (below RM2000) because I mainly work for my self development and contribution.

Now I am finishing and going for a "real" corporate job, and since I am not really a fresh grad, how should I tell my expected salary?

My concerns below:
1. Even though I have 2 years working experience, it's in a youth-run non-profit so it's not giving me the same experience as working in companies, so I can't say I am better or same level as others who worked for 2 years.
2. Even so, I wish to apply some jobs that are not targeted for fresh grad with 0 experience, because I want to challenge myself more and I think I can cope with it quickly (then, it comes to concern #3 below).
3. Since my past 2 jobs gave me low salary but I am applying for non-fresh-grad jobs, how should I tell my expected salary? Some jobs I am applying are offering RM4k and above, should I tell my expected salary as fresh grad (2.7~3k?) or just slightly below the estimated offer (3.5k)?

Thanks in advance for your help!
Belphegor
post Jul 10 2017, 03:35 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Jul 9 2017, 03:13 PM)
Hi all, I need some help here.

I am technically not a fresh graduate (graduated in June 2015), but for 2 years I worked in a non-profit organization as executive level, one year in Malaysia and one year overseas. Both years salary were way below average (below RM2000) because I mainly work for my self development and contribution.

Now I am finishing and going for a "real" corporate job, and since I am not really a fresh grad, how should I tell my expected salary?

My concerns below:
1. Even though I have 2 years working experience, it's in a youth-run non-profit so it's not giving me the same experience as working in companies, so I can't say I am better or same level as others who worked for 2 years.
2. Even so, I wish to apply some jobs that are not targeted for fresh grad with 0 experience, because I want to challenge myself more and I think I can cope with it quickly (then, it comes to concern #3 below).
3. Since my past 2 jobs gave me low salary but I am applying for non-fresh-grad jobs, how should I tell my expected salary? Some jobs I am applying are offering RM4k and above, should I tell my expected salary as fresh grad (2.7~3k?) or just slightly below the estimated offer (3.5k)?

Thanks in advance for your help!
You can try applying jobs that are doing what you did in previous work. Something like sustainability or corporate social responsibility. Then you can ask for the salary you deserves without thinking if your experience could put to use. wink.gif
zellleonhart
post Jul 10 2017, 03:40 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Jul 10 2017, 03:35 PM)
You can try applying jobs that are doing what you did in previous work. Something like sustainability or corporate social responsibility. Then you can ask for the salary you deserves without thinking if your experience could put to use. wink.gif
Thanks for your reply. Hmm even though I was in non-profit, my job was involving a lot of operations, market expansion, and eventually HR and people development. So I would like to foray into these fields instead of sustainability or CSR (because I didn't really work on those job descriptions).
god2077
post Jul 10 2017, 03:45 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Jul 10 2017, 03:40 PM)
Thanks for your reply. Hmm even though I was in non-profit, my job was involving a lot of operations, market expansion, and eventually HR and people development. So I would like to foray into these fields instead of sustainability or CSR (because I didn't really work on those job descriptions).
Just be confident in interview and ask for the value that you think you match . You may put 2 year experience in your resume. I think its not about fresh gradute or not when come to working field
NeoMnemonic
post Jul 10 2017, 04:08 PM

760 posts

First off all you need to believe in yourself. Nothing is achieved without determination & hard work. My cousin bro not good in his studies failed in SPM, work for an aircon company learn from there, now have own business selling & service aircon.

QUOTE(xdyxrixzmxn @ Jul 4 2017, 11:18 PM)

Net salary, rm800-900.

Mr Gray
post Jul 11 2017, 07:10 PM

926 posts

Net salary, rm800-900.

My friend worked in 99 speedmart. He said he got between rm1500- RM 2000. Depending on overtime. Have u tried your luck there? I believe there are other jobs that are paying better than your current job. Good luck bro. Do your best in the upcoming interviews. Be confident.

156 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:46 AM